3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » February 7th, 2008, 9:25 am

^extra $400???

xsi body is $799 as pre-order price on amazon
xti body is currently $597 on amazon.

Difference of $200.

My dilemma is between 30d and 40d ($1125) now...trying to decide if i want liveview. When XSI was announced I had wanted 30D, but then saw the DIGIC3 processor of the XSI, and i already have a bunch of SD cards. The XSI is too slow for my tastes though, with only 3.5fps burst. The 30D is 5fps, and 40D is 6.5fps (not much difference between 30d and 40d for my range...i could live with 5fps for sure). However between the XTI and XSI, I think the image quality of the XSI will be better with the bigger CMOS and better processing.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 7th, 2008, 10:41 am

Postby RASC » February 7th, 2008, 10:49 am

flatline wrote:^extra $400???

xsi body is $799 as pre-order price on amazon
xti body is currently $597 on amazon.

Difference of $200.

I use www.pricegrabber.com
I'm seeing a $300 price difference.
http://cameras.pricegrabber.com/digital/m/24712312
Rebel XTi Body Only~$509.00
...Either way that's a $300 difference :?

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » February 7th, 2008, 11:00 am

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?sku_id=BDL10002052&logon=&langid=EN

i'm going with the sigma 18-200mm lens, so I'm interested in the body only. Futureshop rocks though 8-)

HUTRINI, my bad...clicked the wrong one on amazon just now. The price for XTI above includes the 18-55mm lens XTI body is $529 there, so on amazon itself, a difference of $270

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 7th, 2008, 11:06 am

There are jsut a few shops you can get brand new 30Ds,they are really pushing the 40D here,one here called Vistek, but I dont like their prices.

Rensh

Postby Rensh » February 7th, 2008, 1:19 pm

I lost sleep over making a decision on which slr to get. Bigger camera, no lens. Smaller camera, everything with it, etc.

Always add like a $150 more to whatever camera yuh buying eh. Because you'll need certain accessories with whichever one you choose. Extra battery, bigger mem card, and a bag. Some say a bag not important yet, but after bussing pocket to buy a camera, you'd want to protect it.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » February 7th, 2008, 1:44 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 7th, 2008, 1:46 pm

As a 40D owner I can tell you its a damn great camera - very fast, very capable and high end professional grade - it is referred to as a baby 1D Mark III which is Canon's flagship - the 1D is US$4200 without a lens and no flash.

However unless you take alot of pictures or do photography part time, shelling out US$1100 for a camera-back alone without a lens is pricey.

There was not much difference between the 20D and 30D except for a bigger screen and tougher more weather proof body - it was the same 12bit, 8MP Digic II as the 20D - 5FPS

The 40D was a huge jump from the 30D - 14bit, 10MP Digic III as the 1D (the 1D has 2 processors and so allows for 10.5FPS) - the 40D also had a 3" LCD and LiveView which allows you to shoot from the LCD screen (with most SLR cameras you have to look through the small viewfinder) However dont let that live view fool you too much - you can't auto focus with it on which makes LiveView great for product shots/ studio shoots, but maybe not action/sport photography.

I know Most 40D owners don't use the liveview, instead they buy the 40D as a sport photography camera for it's sheer speed. Besides the 6.5 FPS burst, the camera starts up in about 0.15-second from OFF and ready to shoot. It can buffer 75 full res shots in burst mode and has a high-speed mirror drive for up and down movement which means even faster shutter release response. It can also use the new Extreme III compact flash cards that read data at 20MB/sec, even if you are shooting RAW and each photo is 16MB in size this camera will write the file so quickly there is no delay between shots, even in burst.

However all of this is great and all but it comes at a much higher price. Extra money that can be better spent on a good lens and/or external flash.
I justified the cost of me buying a 40D because photography is a major part of the content on the pages of trinituner, which is my daily grind. If I was just interested in photography, I'd go with the XSi.

Canon has replaced the 30D with the 40D in their intermediate SLR range, however the XSi does not replace the XTi; They will still continue to make and sell the XTi. The XSi will be a step up from the XTi in their amateur SLR range.

Here's why I'd buy the XSi if photography is just a hobby:
Really and truly the speed of the 40D is only noticed under rigorous use. Most times your camera will be on when you are ready to shoot and you will take time to compose etc etc. 3.5FPS is faster than most point and shoot burst modes and will capture any action that you might want to catch. Plus with burst mode on you will find that even tryin to snap one photo will fire off three just consuming space on your memory card with the same shot. I usually turn off the burst mode on the 40D (the 40D also has a 3.5FPS low speed burst mode too which can be more manageable).
The bigger 3" screen on the XSi is a much much more usable feature than the small 2.5" screen on the 30D. The XSi has liveview and the 30D doesn't.
The XSi is easier to walk around with since it is smaller and lighter than the 30D - the 30D is lighter than the 40D!
The XSi battery lasts considerably longer than the 30D and 40D - at US$50 per battery this longer lasting battery is a godsend for casual photographers in that they only need one battery for a day of shooting - professional photographers wont mind spending money on spare batteries since they make it back on their photos.
The XSi has a larger and brighter view finder than the 30D which is better for learning photography as you can put more effort to composing your shot before you shoot.

Bottom line:
If you plan to make back money from your photography then 40D is for you.
If you want to spend less than the 40D but get good performance and 90% of your photos are of high speed action in dusty, weathery conditions, very active photography then the 30D is your best buy.
If you are lookin at gettin into SLR photography and want cutting edge technology, great photos and easy learning curve at an affordable price - the XSI is for you. Or even the XTi, XT or Rebel depending on what you want to spend for bells and whistles.

Footnote: if you are a loner and hate sharing, buy a Nikon. :lol:

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 7th, 2008, 2:25 pm

Footnote: if you are a loner and hate sharing, buy a Nikon

Haters revealed boy Duane

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 7th, 2008, 3:02 pm

^
I'm not a hater, I'm a bandwagonist

Dragist

Postby Dragist » February 7th, 2008, 7:55 pm

Notorious Scullman

NEW GLASS!!!!!!

Postby Notorious Scullman » February 8th, 2008, 9:50 am

NEW GLASS!!!!
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

So I bought one of these:

And one of these:

Now I definitely appreciate what others have been saying about spending more on lenses rather than concentrating on the body as much.

Here are some carnival shots:

f4 L GETTIN ORN!!!

Roast corn shot from a moving music truck....Loving the L series more every second

Missed the wide angle of my trusty old 18-55mm so I got a few like these.

Long exposures with the 28-135mm

Love these devils!

Last edited by Notorious Scullman on February 11th, 2008, 7:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 8th, 2008, 9:58 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:As a 40D owner I can tell you its a damn great camera - very fast, very capable and high end professional grade - it is referred to as a baby 1D Mark III which is Canon's flagship - the 1D is US$4200 without a lens and no flash.

However unless you take alot of pictures or do photography part time, shelling out US$1100 for a camera-back alone without a lens is pricey.

There was not much difference between the 20D and 30D except for a bigger screen and tougher more weather proof body - it was the same 12bit, 8MP Digic II as the 20D - 5FPS

The 40D was a huge jump from the 30D - 14bit, 10MP Digic III as the 1D (the 1D has 2 processors and so allows for 10.5FPS) - the 40D also had a 3" LCD and LiveView which allows you to shoot from the LCD screen (with most SLR cameras you have to look through the small viewfinder) However dont let that live view fool you too much - you can't auto focus with it on which makes LiveView great for product shots/ studio shoots, but maybe not action/sport photography.

I know Most 40D owners don't use the liveview, instead they buy the 40D as a sport photography camera for it's sheer speed. Besides the 6.5 FPS burst, the camera starts up in about 0.15-second from OFF and ready to shoot. It can buffer 75 full res shots in burst mode and has a high-speed mirror drive for up and down movement which means even faster shutter release response. It can also use the new Extreme III compact flash cards that read data at 20MB/sec, even if you are shooting RAW and each photo is 16MB in size this camera will write the file so quickly there is no delay between shots, even in burst.

However all of this is great and all but it comes at a much higher price. Extra money that can be better spent on a good lens and/or external flash.
I justified the cost of me buying a 40D because photography is a major part of the content on the pages of trinituner, which is my daily grind. If I was just interested in photography, I'd go with the XSi.

Canon has replaced the 30D with the 40D in their intermediate SLR range, however the XSi does not replace the XTi; They will still continue to make and sell the XTi. The XSi will be a step up from the XTi in their amateur SLR range.

Here's why I'd buy the XSi if photography is just a hobby:
Really and truly the speed of the 40D is only noticed under rigorous use. Most times your camera will be on when you are ready to shoot and you will take time to compose etc etc. 3.5FPS is faster than most point and shoot burst modes and will capture any action that you might want to catch. Plus with burst mode on you will find that even tryin to snap one photo will fire off three just consuming space on your memory card with the same shot. I usually turn off the burst mode on the 40D (the 40D also has a 3.5FPS low speed burst mode too which can be more manageable).
The bigger 3" screen on the XSi is a much much more usable feature than the small 2.5" screen on the 30D. The XSi has liveview and the 30D doesn't.
The XSi is easier to walk around with since it is smaller and lighter than the 30D - the 30D is lighter than the 40D!
The XSi battery lasts considerably longer than the 30D and 40D - at US$50 per battery this longer lasting battery is a godsend for casual photographers in that they only need one battery for a day of shooting - professional photographers wont mind spending money on spare batteries since they make it back on their photos.
The XSi has a larger and brighter view finder than the 30D which is better for learning photography as you can put more effort to composing your shot before you shoot.

Bottom line:
If you plan to make back money from your photography then 40D is for you.
If you want to spend less than the 40D but get good performance and 90% of your photos are of high speed action in dusty, weathery conditions, very active photography then the 30D is your best buy.
If you are lookin at gettin into SLR photography and want cutting edge technology, great photos and easy learning curve at an affordable price - the XSI is for you. Or even the XTi, XT or Rebel depending on what you want to spend for bells and whistles.

Footnote: if you are a loner and hate sharing, buy a Nikon. :lol:

great analysis...lol...im leanin towards the Xsi now...just hadda convince the parents..lol...
and later on buy the long lense..lol

Postby Maserati » February 8th, 2008, 11:36 am

Notorious Scullman,good pics.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » February 8th, 2008, 11:43 am

Great shot's scully what body you using ?

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » February 8th, 2008, 11:45 am

Thanks.

Rebel XTi

Rensh

Postby Rensh » February 8th, 2008, 12:15 pm

Them pics orn Scully! And welcome to the L-series club. :D

Question... would you be at drags tomorrow. sunday? :P

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » February 8th, 2008, 12:20 pm

Thanks.

Not sure yet...Probably.

Sunday's meh Bday...kinda iffy

wsup?

Rensh

Postby Rensh » February 8th, 2008, 12:33 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:Thanks.

Not sure yet...Probably.

Sunday's meh Bday...kinda iffy

wsup?

Would be a good time to bump shots with that new lens. 8-)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 8th, 2008, 1:32 pm

excellent excellent pics there Scully!

see what ah was tellin you about the L series glass - only problem is 70mm is not helpful in tight spots

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » February 8th, 2008, 1:41 pm

Thanks.

That L series makes the WORLD of difference.

The narrow angle is quite a pain in the arse sometimes, but the results are worth it.

Saw Robert Riley on Carnival Tuesday with what looked like a pair of 40D's one on a Monopod with a 70-200 f2.8L, and the other round the neck with a wide angle L series :shock:

Thas the way to roll! :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 8th, 2008, 1:50 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:Saw Robert Riley on Carnival Tuesday with what looked like a pair of 40D's one on a Monopod with a 70-200 f2.8L, and the other round the neck with a wide angle L series :shock:

Thas the way to roll! :lol:

hmmm
a 40D is US$1150 and you said x2
a 70-200mm IS f/2.8L is US$1,574.88
a 24-70mm f/2.8L is US$1060.00
a professional Manfrotto monopod is US$60.00

TOTAL: TT$31,467.44 without shipping, duty and VAT
and thats only the equipment you saw around his neck!!!

damn
:(

Rensh

Postby Rensh » February 8th, 2008, 3:05 pm

^ WTF :shock:
He wanted to be like this?

I thinking about getting the 10-22mm. Ah want to go even wider. But jah boy.. the price. :(
http://www.amazon.com/Canon-EF-S-10-22m ... 334&sr=8-1

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 8th, 2008, 3:07 pm

whey i catchin mih tail to save up for the cam alone..lol

Dragist

Postby Dragist » February 8th, 2008, 3:10 pm

Is he related to Kerron Riley ?

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » February 8th, 2008, 6:31 pm

I lost my camera somewhere in the house , so no pics from me until I find it.

what happens when you have a camera that is small as a cell phone :(

Postby pugboy » February 8th, 2008, 6:43 pm

nice shots, them colours jumping out
the detail of the black fabric of the whitefaced fella real sharp

Rensh

Postby Rensh » February 8th, 2008, 8:35 pm

SUZUKI SPORTsman wrote:what happens when you have a camera that is small as a cell phone :(

Rel good ninja shots. :D

Dragist

Postby Dragist » February 9th, 2008, 3:32 pm

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » February 9th, 2008, 7:28 pm

Antony, those shots are amazing man.