COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 88944 (+964) cases, 2718 (+37) deaths, 16543 active, 696 recovered in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 1st, 2022, 6:51 pm

paid_influencer wrote:is covid really that bad? I've been told it is mild, by both vaxx and unvaxx persons that recovered

Also talk to people who have been hospitalized.
Depends on how your body deals with it.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 88944 (+964) cases, 2718 (+37) deaths, 16543 active, 696 recovered in T&T

Postby pugboy » January 1st, 2022, 7:01 pm

so how burkie ded?

paid_influencer wrote:is covid really that bad? I've been told it is mild, by both vaxx and unvaxx persons that recovered

Postby redmanjp » January 1st, 2022, 8:05 pm

watch the 'First Wave' documentary on CNC3, see how 'mild' it is. and that is the wuhan strain- the delta strain worse even for younger healthier ppl and children

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 1st, 2022, 8:40 pm

pugboy wrote:the malone chap does not appear to be the sole mrna inventor and he has a checkered record
kinda reminds me of phillip alexander esteemed epidemiologist brother

Yup anyone that doesn't fall in-line with the main narrative is a fraud and should not be taken seriously despite their education and achievements in the field that they are supposed to be experts in.

Only listen to approved sources of info guys, forget anything else.

Postby paid_influencer » January 1st, 2022, 8:51 pm

redmanjp wrote:

watch the 'First Wave' documentary on CNC3, see how 'mild' it is. and that is the wuhan strain- the delta strain worse even for younger healthier ppl and children

sure, but I've been talking to people in worse health than me (and unvaccinated to boot) that got covid and they are telling me it's mild. When I go on about how much money I spent on masks, precautions, etc, it makes me sound insane because they did between jack and shiet to avoid covid, caught covid, and nothing happened. It makes me feel like I am completely overreacting.

I would watch that film, but at the same time, I understand that focusing on the small percentage that do end up in hospital (and further focus on the ones the filmmaker would want to highlight for their agenda) would give an unrealistic idea of what the virus really is like.

tl:dr: it's mild, apparently. :|

Postby pugboy » January 1st, 2022, 9:06 pm

you ain’t talk to anybody whose relative died?
troll on

Postby redmanjp » January 1st, 2022, 9:09 pm

its about 10-20% of all cases that end up in hospital. that's not a small %. but that % does go down in populations which are largely vaccinated. not just health or age, but variant, vax status and perhaps even the viral load u are exposed to determines the severity.

Postby hover11 » January 1st, 2022, 9:20 pm

redmanjp wrote:its about 10-20% of all cases that end up in hospital. that's not a small %. but that % does go down in populations which are largely vaccinated. not just health or age, but variant, vax status and perhaps even the viral load u are exposed to determines the severity.
Co morbidities and lifestyle has a part to play in it as well, long term smokers and drinkers have compromised immune systems. I know unvaxxed persons who don't even have a large intake of water on a daily basis ,eat junk and drink sugary drinks everyday caught covid not once but twice and all they got was diarrhea

Postby Redman » January 2nd, 2022, 8:21 am

pugboy wrote:the malone chap does not appear to be the sole mrna inventor and he has a checkered record
kinda reminds me of phillip alexander esteemed epidemiologist brother

If that's what you got from the 3hrs you've missed a ton.

Postby pugboy » January 2nd, 2022, 9:12 am

boy i don’t have time for 3hrs extra research

Postby alfa » January 2nd, 2022, 9:46 am

paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

sure, but I've been talking to people in worse health than me (and unvaccinated to boot) that got covid and they are telling me it's mild. When I go on about how much money I spent on masks, precautions, etc, it makes me sound insane because they did between jack and shiet to avoid covid, caught covid, and nothing happened. It makes me feel like I am completely overreacting.

I would watch that film, but at the same time, I understand that focusing on the small percentage that do end up in hospital (and further focus on the ones the filmmaker would want to highlight for their agenda) would give an unrealistic idea of what the virus really is like.

You have to do whatever you believe is needed to keep you safe and if it includes all of the above I fully respect that. I just wish society would also respect those of us who don't feel the need to wear a full space suit every time we leave the house. I mean if one is protecting himself by wearing the latest M ninety whatever mask should is really matter to him what the next guy is wearing

Postby timelapse » January 2nd, 2022, 11:59 am

alfa wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

You have to do whatever you believe is needed to keep you safe and if it includes all of the above I fully respect that. I just wish society would also respect those of us who don't feel the need to wear a full space suit every time we leave the house. I mean if one is protecting himself by wearing the latest M ninety whatever mask should is really matter to him what the next guy is wearing
Leave beliefs for religion.
Medical science has no room for belief

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 2nd, 2022, 12:43 pm

alfa wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Because the risk is greatly reduced when both people wear a mask.

Science or Covid doesn’t care what or how you feel.

Postby MaxPower » January 2nd, 2022, 12:51 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Because the risk is greatly reduced when both people wear a mask.

Two years into a pandemic and people still cannot understand this.

Jezus crice this is elementary level understanding.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 2nd, 2022, 1:04 pm

Looks like I have Omicron, tested positive today with an antigen tests. Going for a PCR later, but pretty sure it is as the precision in these antigen tests are 99%.

Almost sure it's Omicron as my friend who learned he had, had delta just 2 months prior. So that's the good news.

So far it feels like a mild cold, no bad symptoms at all. Just a runny nose, slight sore throat and a little tired.

Also it's unbelievable how contagious this virus is, I passed by him to collect something, we chatted outside the car for like 2 mins while we both wore masks.
Last edited by Dohplaydat on January 2nd, 2022, 1:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » January 2nd, 2022, 1:07 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Looks like I have Omicron, tested positive today with an antigen tests. Going for a PCR later, but pretty sure it is as the precision in these antigen tests are 99%.

Pretty sure it's Omicron as my friend who learned he had, had delta just 2 months prior. So that's the good news.

So far it feels like a mild cold, no bad symptoms at all. Just a runny nose, slight sore throat and a little tired.
Where you pick it up bro?
You breach the protocols?

Postby hover11 » January 2nd, 2022, 1:08 pm

Unless the CMO calls and says you have omicron you can't state that

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 2nd, 2022, 1:10 pm

:fadein:
hover11 wrote:Unless the CMO calls and says you have omicron you can't state that

I said it's likely Omicron as the person I got it from had delta just 2 months prior. It would be very unlikely he would have been reinfected with Delta again.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 2nd, 2022, 1:14 pm

wtf wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Looks like I have Omicron, tested positive today with an antigen tests. Going for a PCR later, but pretty sure it is as the precision in these antigen tests are 99%.

Pretty sure it's Omicron as my friend who learned he had, had delta just 2 months prior. So that's the good news.

Where you pick it up bro?
You breach the protocols?

Nope, we both wore masks and the interaction was outdoor and short.

Now it could also be possible I got Massy or Unipet or from Christmas.

But no one I saw over the weekend is positive or has any symptoms.

I saw this guy on Wednesday and last night started to get a sore throat. No fever at all. Seems milder than most colds so far. My friend has a bit worse he has had on and off fever for 4 days now.

Postby hover11 » January 2nd, 2022, 1:16 pm

Just received news Kenny J just passed due to covid he was fully vaccinated

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » January 2nd, 2022, 1:34 pm

DPD

Ent you went and lime all over for xmas?

So you finally get a positive covid tests but without any sort of sequencing you are claiming to have Omicron.

Hoss...ease we up nah.

Just say ya test positive and done. Ease up ya friends to as you can't confirm where you get a virus that is as contagious as covid from. Not having any symptoms is not a sign that those people are not infected especially if they have been vaccinated etc.

Postby X_Factor » January 2nd, 2022, 1:42 pm

Almost sure it's Omicron as my friend who learned he had, had delta just 2 months prior. So that's the good news.

Also it's unbelievable how contagious this virus is, I passed by him to collect something, we chatted outside the car for like 2 mins while we both wore masks.
Ensure u have an oxy meter, non contact thermometer

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » January 2nd, 2022, 1:45 pm

For the football enthusiasts.
Messi has COVID-19 also.

Postby gastly369 » January 2nd, 2022, 2:01 pm

What type of mask had on?

Postby pugboy » January 2nd, 2022, 2:23 pm

how are you sure it is 0micron when your friend whom you say you had contact with was delta?

Postby MaxPower » January 2nd, 2022, 2:32 pm

DPD,

Sorry to hear.

Social distancing is important and you have been around bro.

Happy recovery and stay home to stay safe.

Postby paid_influencer » January 2nd, 2022, 2:32 pm

new preprint dropped
https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101 ... 21268565v1

Conclusions
Two doses of COVID-19 vaccines are unlikely to protect against Omicron infection. While VE against
Omicron infection is substantially lower than against Delta infection, a third dose of mRNA vaccine
affords some level of protection against Omicron infection in the immediate term. However, the
duration of this protection and effectiveness against severe disease are uncertain. Additional tools
beyond the currently available vaccines, such as public health measures, antivirals, and updated
vaccines, are likely needed to protect against Omicron infection.

"This work was supported by the Canadian Immunization Research Network (CIRN) through a grant from the Public Health Agency of Canada and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CNF 151944). "

Postby X_Factor » January 2nd, 2022, 2:33 pm

He just assuming that based on the initial symptoms, the next 7 days can possibly determine which variant based on symptoms etc
based on my estimated period( 10th-14th) of getting the infection and symptoms( high fever, body/joint pains, insane coughing...., its a good change i had the delta variant

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 2nd, 2022, 2:34 pm

gastly369 wrote:

What type of mask had on?

He had a n95 and I had a surgical.

Fellas I not saying it's 100% Omicron, just saying it's likely as he had Covid 2.5 months ago (which was likely delta or p1). Meaning a delta or p1 reinfection would be quite unlikely.

I honestly can't say it's him I got it from, but no one from any of the limes I went over the weekend have tested positive or shown any symptoms..... So far
Last edited by Dohplaydat on January 2nd, 2022, 2:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 2nd, 2022, 2:34 pm

DPD is not the person adamant he had Covid in 2020 without ever testing?