Chiney

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Chiney » September 2nd, 2011, 11:09 pm

LOL wrd...

so.

aeropost charging me 200tt to clear my f0king h100 cooler, fuss i vex!

Postby M_2NR » September 2nd, 2011, 11:15 pm

LOL! sigh... "customs" start back they sheit. last month thing clearing as docs normel. this month i done get hit up for some cellphone accessories. :cry:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 2nd, 2011, 11:22 pm

^^ normal normal

Virus

Postby Virus » September 3rd, 2011, 9:56 pm

Chiney wrote:LOL wrd...

so.

aeropost charging me 200tt to clear my f0king h100 cooler, fuss i vex!

That sounds about right 8-)

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » September 3rd, 2011, 10:12 pm

Built my new computer and it is a Beast...

*Corsair Enthusiast Series 650-Watt 80 Plus Bronze Certified Power Supply
*Intel Core i7-2600K Processor 3.4GHz 8 MB Cache Socket LGA1155
*Antec KUHLER H2O 620 CPU Cooler
*ASUS P8P67 PRO LGA 1155 SATA 6Gbps and USB 3.0 Supported Intel P67 DDR3 2400 ATX Motherboard
*2x Corsair Vengeance Blu 8 GB PC3-12800 1600mHz DDR3 240-Pin SDRAM Dual Channel Memory Kit
*Western Digital 1.5 TB Caviar Black SATA 6 Gb/s 7200 RPM 64 MB Cache Bulk/OEM Desktop Hard Drive
*ASUS Radeon HD 6870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express Dual DVI/HDMI Video Card with Eyefinity EAH6870 DC/2DI2S/1GD5
*Logitech Wireless Illuminated Keyboard K800
*Logitech Wireless Performance Mouse MX for PC and Mac

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » September 4th, 2011, 12:57 am

Rutless Tiida wrote:Built my new computer and it is a Beast...

*ASUS P8P67 PRO LGA 1155 SATA 6Gbps and USB 3.0 Supported Intel P67 DDR3 2400 ATX Motherboard
*2x Corsair Vengeance Blu 8 GB PC3-12800 1600mHz DDR3 240-Pin SDRAM Dual Channel Memory Kit
*Western Digital 1.5 TB Caviar Black SATA 6 Gb/s 7200 RPM 64 MB Cache Bulk/OEM Desktop Hard Drive
*ASUS Radeon HD 6870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express Dual DVI/HDMI Video Card with Eyefinity EAH6870 DC/2DI2S/1GD5

gud build

zcarz

Postby zcarz » September 4th, 2011, 1:18 am

Rutless Tiida wrote:Built my new computer and it is a Beast...

nice.. how much did it cost you?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 4th, 2011, 1:24 am

good build yep!

should hold you for a while

Postby bushwakka » September 4th, 2011, 10:07 am

wah case u chuck it in dan?

Postby Chimera » September 4th, 2011, 8:13 pm

original plan was to put two 32 inch monitors...but ended up using the monitors elsewhere

oh well

Prototype-Tuner

Postby Prototype-Tuner » September 4th, 2011, 10:27 pm

OCZ (which actually stands for Overclockers. pretty cool huh?) yesterday announced the availability of the RevoDrive Hybrid 1TB harddrive. They have combined 100GB NAND SSD flash memory with a 1TB hard drive and their proprietary Dataplex caching technology all on a PCIe card. This combination gives you the best of both worlds, speed and performance and massive storage at an relatively affordable price.

Until we see a drop in price of solid state drives and more widespread adoption this might be the way to go if you need plenty storage. It's the first time I am hearing about the OCZ brand. According to their website OCZ "has built on its expertise in high-speed memory to become a dominant player in the manufacturing and distribution of solid state drives." Hope to see more from them in the future. I wonder how something like this would work in a portable drive using USB3 for example?

Source: http://techtt.hassantt.com/2011/09/ocz- ... d-1tb.html

zcarz

Postby zcarz » September 4th, 2011, 11:05 pm

Prototype-Tuner wrote:OCZ (which actually stands for Overclockers. pretty cool huh?) yesterday announced the availability of the RevoDrive Hybrid 1TB harddrive. They have combined 100GB NAND SSD flash memory with a 1TB hard drive and their proprietary Dataplex caching technology all on a PCIe card. This combination gives you the best of both worlds, speed and performance and massive storage at an relatively affordable price.

Until we see a drop in price of solid state drives and more widespread adoption this might be the way to go if you need plenty storage. It's the first time I am hearing about the OCZ brand. According to their website OCZ "has built on its expertise in high-speed memory to become a dominant player in the manufacturing and distribution of solid state drives." Hope to see more from them in the future. I wonder how something like this would work in a portable drive using USB3 for example?

that is something i will have to get

Prototype-Tuner

Postby Prototype-Tuner » September 4th, 2011, 11:10 pm

^^definitely
but........price
ssd's are already expensive
idk what it will be

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » September 4th, 2011, 11:23 pm

zcarz wrote:
Prototype-Tuner wrote:OCZ (which actually stands for Overclockers. pretty cool huh?) yesterday announced the availability of the RevoDrive Hybrid 1TB harddrive. They have combined 100GB NAND SSD flash memory with a 1TB hard drive and their proprietary Dataplex caching technology all on a PCIe card. This combination gives you the best of both worlds, speed and performance and massive storage at an relatively affordable price.

yuh go buy 1 for me 2 nah..lol

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 5th, 2011, 12:26 am

technology eh sticking we

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 5th, 2011, 4:01 pm

mickey17 wrote:
zcarz wrote:

OCZ is a very popular brand with SSD's. The OCZ Vertex 2 and Vertex 3 are some of the most popular SSD drives today.

The new Intel Z68 boards have this hybrid technology built in. Just get a small SSD and a large HDD and it will set up the hybrid drive basically speeding up the drive and maintaining the capacity. No need for the PCIe card.

of course if you dont have a Intel Z68 board, then you will have to get a PCIe card if you want this. Either way, this hybrid tech will not be as fast as a SSD alone so I opted for a 120GB SSD for OS and apps and a WD 450GB Velociraptor 10,000rpm SATA III drive for storage instead

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 5th, 2011, 4:06 pm

by no means huge, but with the fans i see some bulkiness taking place, very light weight. will see how it performs.. having second thoughts though... the cpu works great at 3.8 on stock voltage/cooler just upped multiplier and well im thinking i cud jus recover some cash and sell the h100 for exactly wat i paid : $950.00

sigh
IMG00023-20110905-1536.jpg
IMG00022-20110905-1536.jpg
IMG00021-20110905-1535.jpg
IMG00020-20110905-1535.jpg
IMG00019-20110905-1534.jpg

5forward

Postby 5forward » September 6th, 2011, 7:49 pm

anyone having problems with far cry on windows 7 concerning the colours?

todd61

Postby todd61 » September 6th, 2011, 7:57 pm

Chiney wrote:by no means huge, but with the fans i see some bulkiness taking place, very light weight. will see how it performs.. having second thoughts though... the cpu works great at 3.8 on stock voltage/cooler just upped multiplier and well im thinking i cud jus recover some cash and sell the h100 for exactly wat i paid : $950.00

sigh

I'll be get one of those h100 myself soon i hope

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » September 6th, 2011, 8:27 pm

5forward wrote:anyone having problems with far cry on windows 7 concerning the colours?

i have another problem...no games i have working on windows 7..............

xaira

Postby xaira » September 6th, 2011, 8:44 pm

YEH, ever since vista, its like certain scenes not rendering properly

Postby M_2NR » September 6th, 2011, 11:01 pm

get far cry 2 :|

i hated far cry 1 though, although far cry 2 was a bit boring, the graphics was :faint:

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » September 6th, 2011, 11:41 pm

Doh have no problems with games on windows 7 and while far cry two was better than one, it becomes very monotonous after a while.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 7th, 2011, 8:31 am

^ same here.... far cry is ballz so i dont play that or kno about that, but other games work flawless!

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » September 7th, 2011, 11:08 am

5forward wrote:anyone having problems with far cry on windows 7 concerning the colours?

The first time I installed this about 1 year ago, and put everything on "On/Max/Enabled" everything looked like a blue/gray fog, and you couldn't see at all. I turned off the graphics options one by one until it looked normal. But when I went outside of the room where you start in, the water was not visible, so I uninstalled it. Maybe by now an updated nvidia driver might solve it, but I never checked since then.

Postby bushwakka » September 7th, 2011, 12:26 pm

i hated far cry too

xaira

Postby xaira » September 7th, 2011, 3:02 pm

u people insane, farcry was mad, when dem lil monsters ganging up on you was stress, its not a driver problem, it just doesnt look good on anything but xp

Postby cinco » September 7th, 2011, 3:12 pm

xaira wrote:u people insane, farcry was mad, when dem lil monsters ganging up on you was stress, its not a driver problem, it just doesnt look good on anything but xp

that would be a direct x problem :|

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » September 7th, 2011, 4:21 pm

mickey17 wrote:
zcarz wrote:

OCZ is a very popular brand with SSD's. The OCZ Vertex 2 and Vertex 3 are some of the most popular SSD drives today.

The new Intel Z68 boards have this hybrid technology built in. Just get a small SSD and a large HDD and it will set up the hybrid drive basically speeding up the drive and maintaining the capacity. No need for the PCIe card.

of course if you dont have a Intel Z68 board, then you will have to get a PCIe card if you want this. Either way, this hybrid tech will not be as fast as a SSD alone so I opted for a 120GB SSD for OS and apps and a WD 450GB Velociraptor 10,000rpm SATA III drive for storage instead

Definitely an interesting technology but mostly beneficial if you still running Sata II connections (as I am :( ) & want a boost in performance otherwise you may as well go your route.
Cah wait to jump on dis train

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » September 7th, 2011, 7:38 pm

SSD drives are currently not being marketed as a storage solution as with larger magnetic hard drives. More emphasis is placed on using it as your primary hard drive on which your OS and installed applications reside to get drastic boosts in system speeds.
When prices do come down and newer technologies and software emerge (like with anything else).....WOW!!