Dohplaydat wrote:Hearing they have PD that ain't even counted yet but PNM declared victory.......very very suspicious
UNC CONCEDES DEFEAT - Gains 1 seat, returns to Opposition
Carolyn Kissoon 39 min ago
The United National Congress (UNC) conceded defeated at the party's election headquarters in Couva tonight, as Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley delivered his victory speech at Balisier House in Port-of-Spain.
UNC political leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar was at her constituency office in Penal.
She did not go to Couva where dozens of supporters had gathered to view the vote count throughout the night.
The UNC won the marginal Moruga/Tableland seat which was held by the PNM.
The PNM won the 2020 general election with 22 seats, the UNC won 19.
The party's executive members, candidates and the media were allowed to enter the Couva South auditorium, while supporters gathered on the grounds outside.
Large television screens were erected outside allowing supporters to view the count.
Incumbent MP for Couva South Rudranath Indarsingh said he was confident of victory. He said, "We are being told that it is looking very good at this time, we are optimistic."
The Siparia constituency was the first to be declared by the UNC at around 9pm. Persad-Bissessar declared the seat for the UNC at her constituency office in Penal.
The controversial Princes Town seat was also declared, with Barry Padarath claiming victory.
The PNM had advised the electorate that Padarath's candidacy was null and void, claiming that his nomination was invalid.
At around 10.41pm, the UNC conceded defeated at the election headquarters.
"I am saddened to report to you that the PNM has declared victory with 22 seats to our 19 seats," the supporters were told.
FrankChag wrote:Unbelievable. 5 more yrs of crime.
VII wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:Hearing they have PD that ain't even counted yet but PNM declared victory.......very very suspicious
And allyuh lil softy heads cant work out how that may be possible?
Listen take 5 more years of opposition for that ok dunce heads..
The chestburn is real...
EFFECTIC DESIGNSS wrote:The_Honourable wrote:Wait... effectic you create a new account and join to go after one tuner? You is redvevo? That pathetic hoss
No, this is my last day on tuner, only 4 more minutes as I can't support a business that silences its political opponents as the UNC Admins have done, so let ZR keep talking out of he cacah0le about PNM admins.
I just wanted to thank Max Power and Mero for their support for the Red Palulu and putting this country back on Track, now that the PNM has WON AND THE Drunk Conspiracy preaching lunatic of the UNC has been defeated, my MISSION is COMPLETE!!!
I bid you farewell to everyone.
GREAT IS THE PNM AND FOR THEY SHALL PREVAIL!!!
Goodby Everyone
redmanjp wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNSS wrote:The_Honourable wrote:Wait... effectic you create a new account and join to go after one tuner? You is redvevo? That pathetic hoss
No, this is my last day on tuner, only 4 more minutes as I can't support a business that silences its political opponents as the UNC Admins have done, so let ZR keep talking out of he cacah0le about PNM admins.
I just wanted to thank Max Power and Mero for their support for the Red Palulu and putting this country back on Track, now that the PNM has WON AND THE Drunk Conspiracy preaching lunatic of the UNC has been defeated, my MISSION is COMPLETE!!!
I bid you farewell to everyone.
GREAT IS THE PNM AND FOR THEY SHALL PREVAIL!!!
Goodby Everyone
yuh geh ban orr?
teems1 wrote:I dunno why alyuh beating up for. Kams didn't want to win.
Inheriting the government right now is a major headache.
Even Rowley ready to pass the baton on. He's going to have to make some hard decisions soon.
The main one will be to make the TTD more competitive by slowly devaluing it. His supporters are going to feel the burn but better something like this happen under PNM than UNC.
That way no one can use the race card and claim one party oppressing a segment of the population.
Dohplaydat wrote:My business secure, my money is earned mainly in USD, my community is gated and my van could handle the potholes.
Express Editorial
ELECTION 2020 has effectively retained the parliamentary status quo with the People’s National Movement surviving in Government with a majority reduced by one seat. Although a victory to be celebrated by the winners, it falls short of the outcome for which the incumbent PNM and the Opposition United National Congress would have hoped.
For the UNC and its political leader, Kamla Persad-Bissessar, the task was to defeat the PNM and return to office; for the PNM the task was to expand its support to a constitutional majority to be able to implement its programme. When compared to the 23-18 victory of the PNM in 2015, yesterday’s 22-19 result can be seen as both a victory and defeat by both parties.
Both parties also experienced defeat in highly-coveted seats where they had made substantial investment. In Chaguanas East, the PNM’s Clarence Rambharat suffered his second consecutive electoral defeat having previously lost in Mayaro in 2015. His concession statement on Facebook which ended with the words “Another road lies ahead” suggests that he may have come to the end of his political run. On the UNC’s side, the PNM’s entrenched support in La Horquetta/Talparo proved too much even for the herculean efforts of Jearlean John.
While the broad outline of victory and defeat indicates which parties will form the next Government and parliamentary Opposition, they do not yet indicate how the smaller parties fared and what impact they may have had, if any, on voting patterns.
For that we will have to await the final figures from the Elections and Boundaries Commission which will show whether the smaller players were able to dent the support of either of the two main parties and make inroads into so-called safe seats.
Another notable statistic will be the turnout of voters. All day yesterday, the biggest buzz was about the extraordinarily long lines of voters. The final figures will show whether more people were actually prompted to go out and vote or whether the lines were the result of social distancing and other Covid-19-related protocols employed by the EBC.
Given the economic and public health challenges now awaiting T&T it is a mark of progress that the country has been able to conduct peaceful elections and settle the question of which political party will be handed the mandate to lead the country. More than a victory, last night’s electoral outcome is to be embraced as a responsibility to a population that has voted for continuity.
Election 2020 was a hard-fought contest conducted under the novel circumstances of a global pandemic in a period of social media primacy. It had its highs and lows and brought out the best and worst of us. Today, as the national attention turns to what’s next in government and parliament, we begin the process of leaving electoral contestation behind us to prepare for a future in an increasingly uncertain world.
For now, we congratulate Dr Keith Rowley and the People’s National Movement and commend all the courageous candidates who entered the fray in the hope of convincing the electorate to support their vision for a better T&T.
https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/edi ... 674e0.html
Dohplaydat wrote:teems1 wrote:I dunno why alyuh beating up for. Kams didn't want to win.
Even Rowley ready to pass the baton on. He's going to have to make some hard decisions soon.
The main one will be to make the TTD more competitive by slowly devaluing it. His supporters are going to feel the burn but better something like this happen under PNM than UNC.
That way no one can use the race card and claim one party oppressing a segment of the population.
In a way I'm glad PNM win, UNC doesn't deserve power and hard decisions will have to be made something Colm relishes so let then raise taxes, devalue and layoff thousands.
My business secure, my money is earned mainly in USD, my community is gated and my van could handle the potholes.
Kewell35 wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:teems1 wrote:I dunno why alyuh beating up for. Kams didn't want to win.
In a way I'm glad PNM win, UNC doesn't deserve power and hard decisions will have to be made something Colm relishes so let then raise taxes, devalue and layoff thousands.
My business secure, my money is earned mainly in USD, my community is gated and my van could handle the potholes.
What kinda business that you could earn in USD in Trinidad?
ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:Is this video legit?
Dohplaydat wrote:Kewell35 wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:teems1 wrote:I dunno why alyuh beating up for. Kams didn't want to win.
What kinda business that you could earn in USD in Trinidad?
Carnival stuff, security and some other stuff I can't disclose here.
ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:Is this video legit?