Government achievement thread (PNM EDITION 2015-2025)

Re: Government achievement thread.

Postby K74T » July 30th, 2017, 8:46 am

Anything for the simple-minded to cackle.

Postby matr1x » July 30th, 2017, 9:39 am

$h@dy wrote:Image

Afros know about condom?

Postby eliteauto » July 30th, 2017, 9:50 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I'm still waiting for something that was positively done by the gov't

Didn't I see you posting in this thread?

viewtopic.php?t=669360

You seemed to be very aware of the residents plight. How come you didn't post an update on their years of neglect?

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » July 30th, 2017, 9:53 am

Please tell me what has this government achieved after nearly two years.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 30th, 2017, 10:57 am

eliteauto wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I'm still waiting for something that was positively done by the gov't

Didn't I see you posting in this thread?

viewtopic.php?t=669360

You seemed to be very aware of the residents plight. How come you didn't post an update on their years of neglect?

why bother?? it's a unc constituency...won't make a difference...only good thing is the road was paved after several protests

Postby eliteauto » July 30th, 2017, 11:55 am

Ahhh so achievements can only exist if done in a constituency of the ruling party? Of course if that happens it feeds the opposition's claims of neglect. Agendas all around. With so many shortcomings by the current government I'm always amused by the amount of made up ones certain groups focus on.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 30th, 2017, 12:06 pm

toyota2nr wrote:Please tell me what has this government achieved after nearly two years.

Reduced the fuel subsides on fuel further!
They also made the tax exemptions Hybrid/elecric and CNG a little better.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 30th, 2017, 12:14 pm

drchaos wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:Please tell me what has this government achieved after nearly two years.

That electric hybrid tax exemption is sheit. We complain about a shortage of foreign exchange but allowing tax free i,portation of luxury hybrid vehicles in that still require 80 and 90k in US$. Basically negating the implementation of the >2.0l displacement luxury tax.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » July 30th, 2017, 12:36 pm

eliteauto wrote:Ahhh so achievements can only exist if done in a constituency of the ruling party? Of course if that happens it feeds the opposition's claims of neglect. Agendas all around. With so many shortcomings by the current government I'm always amused by the amount of made up ones certain groups focus on.

Wait you actually admit that there are shortcomings of the current government?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 30th, 2017, 12:36 pm

eliteauto wrote:Ahhh so achievements can only exist if done in a constituency of the ruling party? Of course if that happens it feeds the opposition's claims of neglect. Agendas all around. With so many shortcomings by the current government I'm always amused by the amount of made up ones certain groups focus on.

by your logic.....an achievement is something when several protests take place before action is taken?...I doh even see paving that road as an achievement....

Postby eliteauto » July 30th, 2017, 2:39 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

by your logic.....an achievement is something when several protests take place before action is taken?...I doh even see paving that road as an achievement....

My logic? I think you need to avail yourself of the many "achievements" posted in this thread over the years. Again the goalpost is moved to facilitate certain agendas. While I won't toot the Gov'ts horn I'm very happy that the entire road was paved as I traverse there often. IMO one achievement I will post is 2 years into a severe economic crunch we've not been forced to go to the IMF or any international lending agency that would implement there severe and draconian policies.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » July 30th, 2017, 4:06 pm

eliteauto wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

My logic? I think you need to avail yourself of the many "achievements" posted in this thread over the years. Again the goalpost is moved to facilitate certain agendas. While I won't toot the Gov'ts horn I'm very happy that the entire road was paved as I traverse there often. IMO one achievement I will post is 2 years into a severe economic crunch we've not been forced to go to the IMF or any international lending agency that would implement there severe and draconian policies.

That is an achievement? Stop drinking that balisier juice. What should be worrisome is that after nearly two years the government has not come up with one way to stimulate the economy or create more jobs. But I guess great is the PNM ent...

Postby eliteauto » July 30th, 2017, 4:20 pm

Your political allegiance won't allow you to acknowledge how important an achievement that is, that is your choice, I agree with you to a point about the Government's inability to stimulate the economy, however I don't hold the view that it's their mandate solely when it comes to creating jobs. If tomorrow the Gov't decided to expand CEPEP, URP .etc 1000% would you come here and extol their virtues? That's job creation right? For too long successive Gov't have pandered to and pampered private enterprise to the point where in Trinidad, forming a company solely to benefit from Gov't contracts is a legitimate business model. Where that is concerned I say let the chips fall where they may, it might actually stimulate private enterprise to be innovative

Postby K74T » July 30th, 2017, 5:30 pm

#freshasfuck

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » July 30th, 2017, 5:34 pm

K74T wrote:Image

#freshasfuck

#uglyashell

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » July 30th, 2017, 5:39 pm

eliteauto wrote:Your political allegiance won't allow you to acknowledge how important an achievement that is, that is your choice, I agree with you to a point about the Government's inability to stimulate the economy, however I don't hold the view that it's their mandate solely when it comes to creating jobs. If tomorrow the Gov't decided to expand CEPEP, URP .etc 1000% would you come here and extol their virtues? That's job creation right? For too long successive Gov't have pandered to and pampered private enterprise to the point where in Trinidad, forming a company solely to benefit from Gov't contracts is a legitimate business model. Where that is concerned I say let the chips fall where they may, it might actually stimulate private enterprise to be innovative

How much could the private sector do at this time?
We don't have skilled labour, thanks to CEPEP and URP.
US dollars is short supply.
Cost of construction high thanks to the PNM.
Government has to be the enabler at this time.
We need to get more people trained in other skills. We don't even have a toenail in the tech sector far less a foot.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 30th, 2017, 6:08 pm

I have said it before and I'll say it again ... Sharon could geh it ...Twice!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 30th, 2017, 6:11 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
eliteauto wrote:Your political allegiance won't allow you to acknowledge how important an achievement that is, that is your choice, I agree with you to a point about the Government's inability to stimulate the economy, however I don't hold the view that it's their mandate solely when it comes to creating jobs. If tomorrow the Gov't decided to expand CEPEP, URP .etc 1000% would you come here and extol their virtues? That's job creation right? For too long successive Gov't have pandered to and pampered private enterprise to the point where in Trinidad, forming a company solely to benefit from Gov't contracts is a legitimate business model. Where that is concerned I say let the chips fall where they may, it might actually stimulate private enterprise to be innovative

How much could the private sector do at this time?
We don't have skilled labour, thanks to CEPEP and URP.
US dollars is short supply.
Cost of construction high thanks to the PNM.
Government has to be the enabler at this time.
We need to get more people trained in other skills. We don't even have a toenail in the tech sector far less a foot.

Actually alot ... The private sector has been too focused on the short term. Most of their business is import and distribution. They need to invest more in sustainable local production and home grown enterprise which has a more long term sustainable outlook for everyone not just themselves.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 30th, 2017, 6:19 pm

drchaos wrote:

That electric hybrid tax exemption is sheit. We complain about a shortage of foreign exchange but allowing tax free i,portation of luxury hybrid vehicles in that still require 80 and 90k in US$. Basically negating the implementation of the >2.0l displacement luxury tax.

Does it matter? The point is to get more Hybrids and electrics on the road vs petrol and toxic diesel cars. So instead of buying a diesel or petrol X5 people now have a better option of buying a Hybrid X5.
The tax exemptions are there to benefit everyone in the society and that is fair.

Postby sMASH » July 30th, 2017, 6:33 pm

And if they had gotten their wish granted and got the loan for the rapid rail....

They didn't try hard to tighten belts. The gate program is a good synapse of their impact. They cut back spending to appear to save money, but that reduces the quality of the citixens, and their potential to contribute and build the country is diminished. Ent they Hadda accept people who have money but not the capability.

Brian Lara stadium, when will be the break even point for just the renovation works?
Cabazon paintings.... well fleck.

Allowing highly specialized workers to go on the breadline. They could have stepped in to work out a deal with employers to keep them employed and spending... it was done with clico and it could have been done on a smaller individual case by case basis. It would be an arrangement similar to ojt but more like cepep.
Why to prop up workforce? Because instead of having 10 people to buy from two doubles man, now u have five people to buy from five doubles man. Every body suffers... except if u are able to subsist of bhagie, bodi, curry alloo, instead of KFC and ruby's and the like.

Letting highly skilled workers go on the breadline or peddle their skills to other countries, while imposing mandatory taxes, based on what people had accrued in the previous lucrative employment is just plain burdensome.
I mean, u forcing people to pay a tax, who aren't gainfully employed anymore.... wtf

Just poor poor decisions for this time.

For they to tax their padnahs who actually have many dollars, they imposed a tax to force people to buy from their already rich padnahs... OPT

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 30th, 2017, 6:37 pm

we might not go to the IMF...but Imbert will tax yuh mc to the grave...just wait for the next budget...I could see personal tax going to 30% plus a raise in the price of gas...

and please give me a real achievement for the last two years??? Rowley boasted of crime plan...3 so called ministers within mns and we still in the same boat...so please continue to water the balisier in yuh backyard

Postby matr1x » July 30th, 2017, 6:45 pm

drchaos wrote:

Resale value of hybrid vehicle is sheit

Postby j.o.e » July 30th, 2017, 7:12 pm

matr1x wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Resale value of hybrid vehicle is sheit

That's only now. The time is coming where people won't even consider buying a regular car used or new. As a car enthusiast just have to realize that's the direction the world is heading and regulations are hastening it.

Postby matr1x » July 30th, 2017, 8:02 pm

Just like European cars and the sheit resale value in Trinidad?

The exemptions are just to placate ppl

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 30th, 2017, 8:06 pm

matr1x wrote:Just like European cars and the sheit resale value in Trinidad?

The exemptions are just to placate ppl

No ... Its actually a good policy. Governments always place incentives on things we should be doing and place penalties on thing we should not be doing.

Postby sMASH » July 30th, 2017, 9:07 pm

PNM is a pack of idiots,,,

Postby eliteauto » July 30th, 2017, 9:32 pm

What does resale value of a vehicle have to do with the government?

Postby matr1x » July 30th, 2017, 10:05 pm

Wonder if you were singing that song during PP years...

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » July 30th, 2017, 10:09 pm

sMASH wrote:PNM is a pack of idiots,,,

good vid

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » July 30th, 2017, 10:19 pm

matr1x wrote:Wonder if you were singing that song during PP years...

He didn't get the song book from balisier house back then...