Re: *** The official car accident thread***

Postby Dizzy28 » October 21st, 2016, 10:43 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Men real over doing it on the pbr these days

Well the Maxis and Police van supposed to be on the PBR, the 4th vehicle (looked like a red Kia Carnival or one of those style of vehicles) didn't appear to have a PBR pass.

There need's to be a more stringent policing of the PBR by non approved users. Its easier money than speed traps for the Government.

Why though?
When the police enforce the law there's an uproar over it.
'mih wife pregnant' 'ah bounce mih toe'

Because I don't want one day to be crossing the PBR on any of the numerous crossings (my street crosses the PBR btw) to be hit by a car/van/suv who broke a red light and was not in possession of a PBR pass. I anticipate the insurance battle thereafter will be a big hassle especially if that person's company refuses to cover due to them being where they should not have been.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 21st, 2016, 10:47 am

Well the Maxis and Police van supposed to be on the PBR, the 4th vehicle (looked like a red Kia Carnival or one of those style of vehicles) didn't appear to have a PBR pass.

There need's to be a more stringent policing of the PBR by non approved users. Its easier money than speed traps for the Government.

Why though?
Lol. Well if your wife as unimportant as your big toe that's on you. The uproar was about the police officer's poor judgement. People concerned that idiots like that are granted power over others. At most people might be in a uproar about driving on the bus route during a medical emergency. I'm curious, what percentage of illegal bus route users are doing so because of a medical emergency?

When has there been an uproar about just driving on the bus route (sans medical emergency of course)?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 21st, 2016, 10:52 am

WRT pregnant woman and PBR issue from last week, I saw on Facebook some Police commenting that in that incident it wasn't "real police" involved and the officer was merely Transit police.
RS....Transit Police is not real Police?? (Serious question, r.e. are they not governed by CoP, eligible to be in Police Welfare Association etc.)

Postby rollingstock » October 21st, 2016, 10:59 am

Slartibartfast wrote:

Why though?
Lol. Well if your wife as unimportant as your big toe that's on you. The uproar was about the police officer's poor judgement. People concerned that idiots like that are granted power over others. At most people might be in a uproar about driving on the bus route during a medical emergency. I'm curious, what percentage of illegal bus route users are doing so because of a medical emergency?

When has there been an uproar about just driving on the bus route (sans medical emergency of course)?

Medical emergency? He was driving an ambulance?
Laws are there for a reason, albeit I don't agree by the approach used by the police in that one instance the fact remains that he was breaking the law. If he took it upon himself to breach the law because of an emergency he should prepare himself to face the consequences, instead we have a bunch of asses with a feeling of entitlement.

Let me share some information that wasn't provided to the public, tuntun head was driving like a cyat on the pbr, overtaking against oncoming traffic etc which may have caused the police to take such a hard stance. I think he got off easy with just a ticket for breach of the pbr and being ordered off. His wife going into labor didn't not give him the right to put others in danger. If he had run off a maxi with one of your family members you would have been singing a different tune.

Postby rollingstock » October 21st, 2016, 11:03 am

Dizzy28 wrote:WRT pregnant woman and PBR issue from last week, I saw on Facebook some Police commenting that in that incident it wasn't "real police" involved and the officer was merely Transit police.
RS....Transit Police is not real Police?? (Serious question, r.e. are they not governed by CoP, eligible to be in Police Welfare Association etc.)

As far as I'm concerned they're police. They have all the powers of police. It's like saying SRP'S aren't police.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 21st, 2016, 11:15 am

rollingstock wrote:Medical emergency? He was driving an ambulance?
Laws are there for a reason, albeit I don't agree by the approach used by the police in that one instance the fact remains that he was breaking the law. If he took it upon himself to breach the law because of an emergency he should prepare himself to face the consequences, instead we have a bunch of asses with a feeling of entitlement.

Let me share some information that wasn't provided to the public, tuntun head was driving like a cyat on the pbr, overtaking against oncoming traffic etc which may have caused the police to take such a hard stance. I think he got off easy with just a ticket for breach of the pbr and being ordered off. His wife going into labor didn't not give him the right to put others in danger. If he had run off a maxi with one of your family members you would have been singing a different tune.
Partially agree with you.

First of all, this may blow your mind, but, medical emergencies can exist outside of ambulance. In fact, several actually do occur, every year.

Second of all. I agree he broke the law. I would argue that there should have be lenience for special cases but no such lenience existed when he broke the law and he should have expected to face the stipulated punishment which should only be a fine. From what I heard (you may be in a position to correct me) is that it took him about half hour to receive the ticket and then was forced to face the morning traffic. Seeing that his wife, who did nothing wrong, had a medical emergency, the officer should have used his judgement to minimize any consequences that she had to suffer. That reasoning and judgement was lacking. That is what the uproar is about. Why not provide the man with an escort and charge him when he reached to the hospital. The officer playing with people's lives over "driving on the wrong road".

Last of all, I agree he had no right to put others in danger. They would have been well within their rights to charge him with reckless driving.

This brings in to question what the police officer's role in society actually is. Are they meant to serve the citizens and protect them from harm? Shouldn't officers be capable of showing empathy to meet these goals? Apparently what we see time and time again is that writing tickets seems to be on the top of the list of police priotities.

NB: I have nothing against police. So far I have been fortunate to have never had to deal with an ignorant officer and personally believe that the ignorant ones are a minority. The problem is that the ignorant ones are becoming the public face of the TTPS. I think there should be an internal outrage anytime an officer does something to harm the reputation of the TTPS.

BTW, if it was me I wouldn't have driven like a kant but I wudda pull back on to the busroute and go my merry way. I rather pay a fine than put my wife and child in danger.

Postby rollingstock » October 21st, 2016, 11:22 am

There is but you cannot fix stupid.
ASP Phillip is an uncaring ass, but you cannot fault someone for doing their job to the letter and how can you judge someone's empathy?

But in any case we only heard one side of the story, from the camera footage it didn't take 30mins to issue the ticket, but there was a long exchange of words, I don't know what was said but it 'may' have contributed to the delay and stance taken.

Postby De Dragon » October 21st, 2016, 9:37 pm

rollingstock wrote:There is but you cannot fix stupid.
ASP Phillip is an uncaring ass, but you cannot fault someone for doing their job to the letter and how can you judge someone's empathy?

But in any case we only heard one side of the story, from the camera footage it didn't take 30mins to issue the ticket, but there was a long exchange of words, I don't know what was said but it 'may' have contributed to the delay and stance taken.

ALL Police is arse............. :lol: :lol:

Postby rollingstock » October 21st, 2016, 9:38 pm

ALL Police is arse............. :lol: :lol:

Yes. But he's an uncaring one.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 22nd, 2016, 12:18 am

the bold part. i've gotten a fixed penalty from him for using said PBR... and NO ONE escapes him..unlike other police that conduct exercise and "lets a partner/bess ting/thick reds who flash a boob" pass.. he charges ALL and sundry. In my instance i was lined up along with an Off-duty occifer in his (then black Crown..interestingly now WHITE with the SAME number..(did spin off the ppl dem road by the airport some months ago) but go leff that there....and is later moggel shell too!! same PBB registra..... whoosah Baznai....whhoooshah)...

uncaring ass he is? Yes. Effective? Very Much so. Years left in service becuz of medical issues? *grins.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby rollingstock » October 22nd, 2016, 1:49 am

Man give me a ticket on the pbr too lol.
Was in a rental unmarked almera on active duty, I came out with a friggin galil in my hand and say I ain't taking no ticket, man watch me steups and stand up and make sure the pc wrote the ticket and give me it.

Postby Morpheus » October 22nd, 2016, 1:57 am

Damn! He that bad? Wheyyy lol

Postby rollingstock » October 22nd, 2016, 1:59 am

I never paid it though :|

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: *** The official car accident thread***

Postby bluesclues » October 22nd, 2016, 2:27 am

rollingstock wrote:Man give me a ticket on the pbr too lol.
Was in a rental unmarked almera on active duty, I came out with a friggin galil in my hand and say I ain't taking no ticket, man watch me steups and stand up and make sure the pc wrote the ticket and give me it.

Lol This sounds like a story from ED.

But i know where he coming from. He treading a straight line to avoid improperly applying his discretion. Have officers like that. They dont use discretion at all.

Postby rollingstock » October 22nd, 2016, 10:56 am

Yeah all that missing is some bayrum and jumping off the roof of the vehicle

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 22nd, 2016, 11:18 am

Haha ed neighbor from the planet krypton yes. .

Postby Morpheus » October 22nd, 2016, 3:57 pm

LoL. Like everybody know ED neighbour and that roof story yes. Lolol

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » October 23rd, 2016, 1:38 pm

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 23rd, 2016, 4:15 pm

Way boy......the cops. Need to slow down but driver should have heard the sirens and should have checked the roadways

Postby Morpheus » October 23rd, 2016, 5:06 pm

Police should have slowed down. His light on red. If it was green I could understand.

Sometimes it's hard to tell which direction the siren is coming from. Crossing that bus route at any point can be dangerous. Low down volume or pause your music, drop you pace a lil and proceed, especially at blind spots(wall, etc at the corner) intersections.

Radio on and glass up can be deadly. Everyone should be cautious.
That lady at the side got away though. Good thing she reacted quickly. Hope everyone is ok.

Postby maj. tom » October 23rd, 2016, 5:35 pm

why the cops needed to slow down? What is the procedure for a civilian when they hear a siren/see flashing lights while driving, especially at an intersection? This not in the driver's test written exam?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 23rd, 2016, 6:52 pm

at least the air bag wukking...

and well that's another one for the auction block

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 23rd, 2016, 7:03 pm

maj. tom wrote:why the cops needed to slow down? What is the procedure for a civilian when they hear a siren/see flashing lights while driving, especially at an intersection? This not in the driver's test written exam?

Unless the driver of the police vehicle is colour blind, a red light is a red light and the Motor Vehicle Act states that VEHICULAR TRAFFIC should come to a stop at a red light so the police didnt need to slow down, they needed to stop..there is no provision in there for police vehicles to break a red light..I combed through said act and didn't find any but I stand to be corrected should someone find contradicting evidence. Someone higher up said the Carnival was wrong to be on the PBR, when it looks like they were crossing the PBR with the green light.

Re: RE: Re: *** The official car accident thread***

Postby Morpheus » October 23rd, 2016, 7:05 pm

maj. tom wrote:why the cops needed to slow down? What is the procedure for a civilian when they hear a siren/see flashing lights while driving, especially at an intersection? This not in the driver's test written exam?

Why? Check the vid again. Regulations eh helping you there. How can you prove they heard AND saw it?

People run AC in their cars now. Radio on etc. How can they hear a siren? Their light on green.

The reality of the situation would have you do exactly that, slow down just a bit to make sure the cross traffic hears you/ stops. I see ambulance drivers do it religiously. Better reach hospital or wherever 30 secs later than multiple deaths before you even reach where you were originally going.

Drivers should also be checking the traffic even BEFORE they get the green light. May have seen the Police jeep a long way off and made a better judgement.

It's just another situation of being right and dead.

At the end of the day, I wasn't there.

TriP

Postby TriP » October 23rd, 2016, 8:16 pm

Sean Marvin Narcis was just involve in a car accident in the vicinity of the Divali Nagar around 3:10am Saturday

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 23rd, 2016, 8:53 pm

He is a footballer isn't he...

TriP

Postby TriP » October 24th, 2016, 12:05 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:He is a footballer isn't he...

31-year-old Lance Corporal attached to the Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force was involved in a motor vehicular accident on Saturday morning.

While the injuries were not said to be life-threatening, it was said that Sean Narcis, who is known for playing the midfielder role for the Defence Force’s football team, was involved in the accident along the Uriah Butler Highway in the vicinity of the Divali Nagar site.

The 31-year-old reportedly received injuries to his head and eye

Postby pete » October 24th, 2016, 8:04 am

Takes a special kind of person to run thru a red light at full speed without showing any regard for their own life or for anyone else's yes. I wonder if they were wearing seatbelts, thank goodness for airbags if not, right.. smh

Postby pugboy » October 24th, 2016, 8:08 am

For sure, no amount of police salary will pay me to chase a bandit
And break a red light

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 24th, 2016, 10:35 am

pugboy wrote:For sure, no amount of police salary will pay me to chase a bandit
And break a red light

See in countries with authorities that have an actual desire to catch criminals (well, the ones that aren't wearing suits and/or are on a platform) and not just score political points from people who are too blind to care, there are multiple systems working together in order to apprehend the bad guys, i.e. functional APB's, working in tandem with CCTV systems and maybe even a helicopter or two (wait..where the blimp?) so even if a red light stops one patrol vehicle from pursuing the getaway vehicle (which, for some reason is always 'seen' but never seen..again),another tail can pick them up..but here? haha..With the wildmen we have in the Protective Services and this is in no way a disrespect to the ones that care about the general public and the greater good..We can't even appoint a Commissioner of Police, so it's given that things like this will happen..plus, you and I will never see the invoice, but we're paying for the repairs, so who cares?? C'est la vie, pass another set of keys.. :roll: