.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby RASC » April 8th, 2015, 2:49 am

RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:
rfari wrote:ZR, I don't think pee-on-emm or the express is the source of ur party's problems unno. Its ish and steve.

Imagine if kamala didn't have that burden? The opposition would have been almost obsolete. UNC would have quite possibly be as popular as in 2010. Think about it

Ish and Steve/Section 34 is the forever dark cloud that looms over this set.

They will never be able to shake that. All the opposition needs to do, is continually remind the populace of this blatant stomp on the countries' integrity.

Section 34 was PNM inspired where they agreed to it

Who do you think the electorate thinks inspired it?

Wells that the propaganda PNM spreads and the gullible PNM folk not knowing any better laps it up.

So you're saying only the PNM voters believe that Section 34 was a huge misstep ?

Furthermore the undecided would just gloss over it?

Zoom Rader-An answer to this question... ?

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2015, 4:15 am

RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:
rfari wrote:ZR, I don't think pee-on-emm or the express is the source of ur party's problems unno. Its ish and steve.

Imagine if kamala didn't have that burden? The opposition would have been almost obsolete. UNC would have quite possibly be as popular as in 2010. Think about it

They will never be able to shake that. All the opposition needs to do, is continually remind the populace of this blatant stomp on the countries' integrity.

Wells that the propaganda PNM spreads and the gullible PNM folk not knowing any better laps it up.

So you're saying only the PNM voters believe that Section 34 was a huge misstep ?

It does appear that the some PNM voters believe it was a misstep.

The undecided tend to be young educated and introverted voters who see themselves in the ideological middle that are caught between life they aren't happy with and an alternative to PNM that they also aren't thrilled about.

These ppl say they are swing voters when in fact they are not. They say this as to not get caught up and involved with rigged Polls, they would like to say they are nuetral.

There is no such thing as undecided voter in Trinidad.

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2015, 4:30 am

RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:They're in extremely deep with the narco traffickers and transshipment ... If PNM were to win, expect kidnappings to skyrocket when they start clamping down. Heads will roll.

A man attempting to justify kidnappings as a necessary result of drug trade clampdowns? :? Oh, I forget. Every single issue plaguing us today started or flourished when non-PNM governments were in power. This is why we will never progress. The politicians have their reasons for blind allegiance to party, but when ordinary people are so blinded, well.........

Where did I say it was a necessary result?
Were you or the people you know a victim?

PNM clampdown on narcotraffickers? Yeah right! They like most, will go after the block men, but the suit wearing "respectable" traffickers will never be touched.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » April 8th, 2015, 4:35 am

Real progress will be the day when a citizen is formally charged and prosecuted for a white collar crime, regardless of which government is in office.

I think the profound effect that will have on the national psyche is severely understated and underestimated.

Postby UML » April 8th, 2015, 5:33 am

1428485572754.jpg

If they can't maintain their own office and neglect it what will they do our country?!!!

Postby 1UZFE » April 8th, 2015, 6:04 am

greggle71 wrote:Real progress will be the day when a citizen is formally charged and prosecuted for a white collar crime, regardless of which government is in office.

I think the profound effect that will have on the national psyche is severely understated and underestimated.

Well if this is your stance u must be an advocate of the PP.

Postby rfari » April 8th, 2015, 6:39 am

rfari wrote:It will be a huge milestone if all political parties can have consensus on a national strategic development plan AND stick to it. Unlike the code of ethical political conduct. That couldn't prevent the hot messes that happened in and out of parliament days after.

And interesting point you raised. Politicians trying to govern a country but can't do the same in their respective parties. When is UNC's internal elections anyway?

You cannot have a strategic development plan and stick to it.
Strategic plans have to be reviewed and changed according to the future atmosphere which depends on a number of factors.
PNM 2020 is a failure and nothing is new with PNM 2030, it has not changed to suit our current and future atmosphere. It is stuck in a time warp and does not benefit the avg tax paying citizen.

It goes without saying ZR that reviews will be made to a strategic plan. Keep up

Postby Redman » April 8th, 2015, 7:11 am

The analogy I have in my head is when Im supervising small man..I give him the boundaries....go out side ,take a ride...but dont go up the hill.

He has discretion to operate within boundaries.

So..in the context of the govt we can develop a National Transport Policy....with goals to be achieved by X date and KPIs along the way matching the election cycle.

The political party in power is tasked with implementation of the policy...and we will judge them based on their success or failure.

What we have now is a 5 year cycle where business shuts down in the year before and after elections and our state enterprises change direction with the change in govt.

The private sector is faced with the business cycle,the economic cycle and the election cycle.

Postby RASC » April 8th, 2015, 7:15 am

RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:

The undecided tend to be young educated and introverted voters who see themselves in the ideological middle that are caught between life they aren't happy with and an alternative to PNM that they also aren't thrilled about.

These ppl say they are swing voters when in fact they are not. They say this as to not get caught up and involved with rigged Polls, they would like to say they are nuetral.

What you're saying is:

Other than PNM diehards NO ONE THINKS SECTION 34 IS OF ANY BOTHER!

?

Postby dougla_boy » April 8th, 2015, 7:22 am

Redman wrote:Any plan is a good one .....in the absence of any other plan.

but is long time ah saying this.....current administration have no plan.....dem doing ting anyhow, all how.....dem only satisfying the short term and not thinking about long term....

all the Haiti zr wah say PNM go put we in, it will happen, cuz by the time the PNM is elected in power, everything done gone array....and trini mentality so ignorant, they will expect it to be fixed as a different party in power arrives.....

Postby rfari » April 8th, 2015, 7:37 am

Redman wrote:The analogy I have in my head is when Im supervising small man..I give him the boundaries....go out side ,take a ride...but dont go up the hill.

He has discretion to operate within boundaries.

So..in the context of the govt we can develop a National Transport Policy....with goals to be achieved by X date and KPIs along the way matching the election cycle.

The political party in power is tasked with implementation of the policy...and we will judge them based on their success or failure.

What we have now is a 5 year cycle where business shuts down in the year before and after elections and our state enterprises change direction with the change in govt.

The private sector is faced with the business cycle,the economic cycle and the election cycle.

In light of the maturity of our society, who do you think should champion the policy?

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2015, 7:48 am

RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:[quote="rfari"]ZR, I don't think pee-on-emm or the express is the source of ur party's problems unno. Its ish and steve.

What you're saying is:

Other than PNM diehards NO ONE THINKS SECTION 34 IS OF ANY BOTHER!

?[/quote]

Where's the thousands and thousands of public outcry for section 34, is only the PNM media and a handful of people that spreading half truths.

When PNM wanted to bring in an unfair housing tax there was an outcry and ppl voted against that.

Postby rfari » April 8th, 2015, 8:11 am

I really don't expect you to understand ZR. As a UNC supporter you can't think objectively because it goes against the caste system of the UNC. Your purpose is to support of the UNC unconditionally and ask no questions because supporters like urself are lower caste.

I understand. If that's ur culture who the hell am I to question it?

Postby eliteauto » April 8th, 2015, 8:29 am

wait wait wait.... so PNM supporters are not citizens of Trinidad and Tobago? Their concerns are not to be addressed, but summarily dismissed as/because PNM?

Ahhhhh WE TIME NOW

Postby rfari » April 8th, 2015, 9:28 am

That's the culture. Pnm ppl are lower castes. All those east Indians who haven't come back 'home' are also low caste. You know what they say about a smiling injun in the pnm? Ask ZR

Postby Habit7 » April 8th, 2015, 9:36 am

rfari wrote:That's the culture. Pnm ppl are lower castes. All those east Indians who haven't come back 'home' are also low caste. You know what they say about a smiling injun in the pnm? Ask ZR

Or according to ZR, one without a Hindi first name or even worst...last name :skurry:

Postby j.o.e » April 8th, 2015, 9:49 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_I_ ... &smobile=y

Mervin Agiste, UWI Guild of Students Officer

The public relations officer (PRO) of the Guild of Students at the University of the West Indies (UWI) has admitted to being paid to write for the bloggers project orchestrated by a group claiming to work for the People's Partnership.

Guild PRO Mervin Agiste, a national of St Lucia, made the disclosure to the Campus Chronicle after an investigation revealed his participation in the project.

He is the first student to be identified as a paid blogger who wrote pro-government comments on newspaper websites and online chat forums.

The organisation which runs the propaganda operation, "tntgoodblogs," also pays students to author comments or blogs that attack the Opposition.

As part of its investigation, the Campus Chronicle obtained an e-mail sent from "tntgoodblogs" to student bloggers on August 6 instructing them to fill out a chart with their contact information. The chart lists their personal e-mail addresses as well as the "fake" e-mail addresses and screen names or aliases they would use to blog.

The chart displays three Hotmail and Yahoo accounts which comprise Agiste's first and last names.

A search on Facebook revealed that one of the e-mail accounts is also associated with his personal Facebook profile.

The Campus Chronicle tracked down at least six e-mail addresses that Agiste used to submit reader comments on the Trinidad Express website, and the Yahoo chat groups "Caribbean Talk" and "theunitedvoice."

One of his screen names, "youngsense86," is displayed as the author of at least 72 comments on the Trinidad Express website.

Other comments were discovered in the Yahoo chat forums under the screen name "mervin.agiste."

In a telephone interview with the Campus Chronicle, Agiste admitted to receiving a payment of $300 after blogging for a week in July. He said he continued to blog for approximately three more weeks, during which time he received a laptop from the young lady who worked for "tntgoodblogs" and who only identified herself as Marsha.

Agiste recalled initially being promised a BlackBerry cellphone, but said "tntgoodblogs" later rescinded the offer since the organisation feared that blogs posted online from the cellphone could be traced.

Asked why he decided to participate in the bloggers project, the guild PRO said, "It was something that I started doing with the hope that it would ease my financial circumstances, because I am paying for my school fees on my own. However, when I realised the implications of it, I did remove myself from the equation. Me as a blogger did not affect or has not affected my role on the Guild."

On the topic of political affiliation, article 18(22) of the constitution of the UWI Guild of Students only prohibits members of the Guild Council – of which the PRO is a member – from being an executive member of a political party or holding office in a political party.

The final-year UWI student said he decided to stop blogging and to forgo additional payments owed to him because he objected to certain instructions from "tntgoodblogs."

"When I began, I was told that, you know, it's patriotic to support (this initiative)…It was after the fact that, when I had started, that instructions would come in to support particular stances.

"Well, my objection was to be told how to attack somebody (supporters of the Opposition) in terms of their blogging…the fact that we were instructed as to the type of blogs, I had issues with that and I did raise objections to those issues.

"When I realised everything that was going on and how difficult (it was) to continue, I did say, you know, well, I want out of it."

The guild PRO said he was not privy to any information regarding the person or persons who managed the "tntgoodblogs" propaganda campaign.

He also said he informed Marsha of his desire to return the laptop to "tntgoodblogs." However, he said he has been unable to do so, as Marsha has not returned any of his calls in the two weeks since the Campus Chronicle exclusively reported on the blogging operation.

Agiste said that to his knowledge, the operation was pushed underground because of the public scrutiny generated by this newspaper's investigative story.

The Campus Chronicle understands that Marsha is a student at the UWI St Augustine campus.

She has been cited by students who applied to the blogging project as the person who supervises student bloggers working for "tntgoodblogs".

Postby rfari » April 8th, 2015, 9:50 am

Hold on. Lemme siddong and read dis

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » April 8th, 2015, 10:05 am

wow, wonder what's his tuner name ?

Postby j.o.e » April 8th, 2015, 10:07 am

Somebody link me with this wuk nah...... I will tear down dem balisier toters for a bess price

Postby rfari » April 8th, 2015, 10:08 am

For 300$ and a laptop? Nah man. Kamala could do better than that

Postby dougla_boy » April 8th, 2015, 10:25 am

300 a week fadda....to say some sheit.....

link me a cell, a lappy...and a lil cash to fund some jansports....i would do it....dead serious....

if Marsha reading this, pm me.....i am dead serious..will say wah ever u want to say

Postby Chimera » April 8th, 2015, 10:29 am

$300 to say wha yuh was gonna say for free lol. Hes an ass to admit it publicly tho. Why people does really believe that the truth will set them free

Postby Redman » April 8th, 2015, 10:33 am

rfari wrote:
Redman wrote:.

In light of the maturity of our society, who do you think should champion the policy?

Individually we are pretty mature...most of us at least.

So we develop a think tank-tasked to set National Policy in all major areas based on best practice world wide.
Maybe under the purview of the President running on a cycle that is different to the election cycle.
Term limits and Mandatory disclosure to the Integrity Commission.
Funded by a mandatory % of the National Budget.
Have all meetings of the Tank viewable on line in real time and podcast.
FULL transparency.
Members of the public are invited to comment and participate.
Technology allows that.

What we need as a country is basic.
Done already we can just copy what we want.

IMHO if it is that we have an apolitical entity that can tell us ...this is what we need as a country..and this is the best way to achieve it based on current info and technology....then we as a people can ask the PiP to account for their time spent in office.
it works with employees,children and animals.
might work with Politicians.

There is a practice in the oil field called Drilling the Technical Limit
Which is based on the belief that with a given equipment set,and Geological,weather personnel realities we should be able to complete this well in x time.
So Technically we should (in a perfect world) be able to do x in y time.

Its proven that if this is done on each well,and its communicated to the drill crews-performance begins to improve and match the technical limits.
In quick time operations become optimized.

This concept needs to be applied in everything we do.

Postby Slartibartfast » April 8th, 2015, 10:37 am

Redman for PM 2015

I was saying the same thing about using technology to get the population more involved. It wont be easy but I'm sure if I was getting paid I could come up with an effective strategy.

Postby rfari » April 8th, 2015, 10:57 am

Redman wrote:
rfari wrote:
Redman wrote:.

Individually we are pretty mature...most of us at least.

So we develop a think tank-tasked to set National Policy in all major areas based on best practice world wide.
Maybe under the purview of the President running on a cycle that is different to the election cycle.
Term limits and Mandatory disclosure to the Integrity Commission.
Funded by a mandatory % of the National Budget.
Have all meetings of the Tank viewable on line in real time and podcast.
FULL transparency.
Members of the public are invited to comment and participate.
Technology allows that.

What we need as a country is basic.
Done already we can just copy what we want.

IMHO if it is that we have an apolitical entity that can tell us ...this is what we need as a country..and this is the best way to achieve it based on current info and technology....then we as a people can ask the PiP to account for their time spent in office.
it works with employees,children and animals.
might work with Politicians.

There is a practice in the oil field called Drilling the Technical Limit
Which is based on the belief that with a given equipment set,and Geological,weather personnel realities we should be able to complete this well in x time.
So Technically we should (in a perfect world) be able to do x in y time.

Its proven that if this is done on each well,and its communicated to the drill crews-performance begins to improve and match the technical limits.
In quick time operations become optimized.

This concept needs to be applied in everything we do.

Excellent idea Redman. An independent performance metric for politicians is a huge ask esp as it will require politicians in charge to initiate, conceptualise and enable it (similar to the formation of the integrity commission by the IPLA which is another story).

Postby Habit7 » April 8th, 2015, 11:03 am

Redman I kinda have to admit that what you are saying is a pipe dream.

The idea that people of disparate political views can sit together and formulate a cohesive national policy is not possible.

An "apolitical entity" normally takes the form of an autocracy. However in our democracy the different political views have to compete to sell their idea of governance. In our 'wine and jam' society ppl arent too interested in the nitty gritty of governance, they just want their services to work, their taxes to be low and their salaries high. Thus all political parties promise to deliver those to varying degrees. When a political party tries to tweek the nitty gritty, the opposition raises an alarm and claims an ulterior motive which may or may not be true and it can draw the public ire.

T&T needs a political party to sell us a plan, we all buy into that plan, successive govts improve upon but not fundamentally change that plan, and we constantly measure how well we are following the plan.

Currently the PP's "Growth Poles" plan is indistinct and is punctuated by unsustainable infrastructure development. The PNM "Vision 2020/2030" is clear but not bought in by everybody because it originates in the PNM and has been caricatured as "tall buildings in POS."

Adversarial politics is here for a while, just buckle up and hold your politicians accountable.

Postby rfari » April 8th, 2015, 11:07 am

Realise that anytime the discussion takes a positive turn, the UNC supporters have no contribution. Only when it goes down on the gutter they most active

Postby Redman » April 8th, 2015, 11:13 am

Excellent idea Redman. An independent performance metric for politicians is a huge ask esp as it will require politicians in charge to initiate, conceptualise and enable it (similar to the formation of the integrity commission by the IPLA which is another story).

To me its an educated qualified transparent apolitical CABINET.
Outside of the politics how is it different?

Habit-

The idea that people of disparate political views can sit together and formulate a cohesive national policy is not possible.

Why not?

What is the Political philosophy that that separates the PNM and UNC?....

I

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2015, 11:17 am

eliteauto wrote:wait wait wait.... so PNM supporters are not citizens of Trinidad and Tobago? Their concerns are not to be addressed, but summarily dismissed as/because PNM?

Ahhhhh WE TIME NOW

Since when Grenadians and St Vincentians the backbone of PNM are citizens of trini.