*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Ted_v2 » April 3rd, 2013, 6:28 pm

Im looking for a plate amp, where locally can i start looking?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 3rd, 2013, 6:43 pm

depends on what you are looking for exactly.

I needed to replace the plate amp in my Klipsch 10" sub and I got an original Klipsch one on ebay. The guy shipped it to my skybox with no problems and I had it in about 5 days after ordering it.

Check this generic one on eBay for US$155
Subwoofer Plate Amplifier 250 W RMS Home Theater Sub Woofer Amp 120 or 240 VAC
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Subwoofer-Plate ... 460a87e185

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 3rd, 2013, 6:44 pm

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » April 3rd, 2013, 6:54 pm

thanks cbh! my main concern was really whether the Yamaha receiver would have delivered adequate power for a clean output signal. Given that the Yamaha is going at a very low cost on amazon, i'm definitely leaning towards purchasing that receiver. Also, you are right wrt the level at which the speakers will be played. Based on the demo of one of the pioneer SP-FS52's, they are quite loud without distortion. So having two should be good for my purpose. Much thanks, that was a good read.

yeah@ pioneer, I believe it's the VSX-522-K model going for $1999

Postby Ted_v2 » April 3rd, 2013, 6:57 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Check this one too
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Subwoofer-Plate ... 43a7480173

i was looking at one of these, really caught my eye. I have to skybox it down? or anywhere locally.

Postby X_Factor » April 3rd, 2013, 9:03 pm

plate amp?,...bleh
get this sucker
http://www.amazon.com/Crown-XLS1000-Pow ... n+xls+1500

but that 522 and a pair of the pioneer floor standers with a decent center channel is a good starter system for anyone!

Postby pioneer » April 3rd, 2013, 9:10 pm

Feel I might cop ah pair of de floorstanders and put in storage for future generation use

reynold1

Postby reynold1 » April 3rd, 2013, 9:19 pm

hi, I have an Infocus projector that needs repairs, can you recommend someone that repair these, thanks

Postby X_Factor » April 3rd, 2013, 10:22 pm

for those who bought it, is it really this Pmart really selling?
http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-SP-FS52-L ... g+speakers

cause if i remember right, the pic on the box only had 2-5.25 speakers

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 3rd, 2013, 10:27 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Check this one too
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Subwoofer-Plate ... 43a7480173

i was looking at one of these, really caught my eye. I have to skybox it down? or anywhere locally.
skybox - its not that big

it fits snug on a subwoofer enclosure

Postby crazybalhead » April 4th, 2013, 10:09 am

Xecutive wrote:thanks cbh! my main concern was really whether the Yamaha receiver would have delivered adequate power for a clean output signal. Given that the Yamaha is going at a very low cost on amazon, i'm definitely leaning towards purchasing that receiver. Also, you are right wrt the level at which the speakers will be played. Based on the demo of one of the pioneer SP-FS52's, they are quite loud without distortion. So having two should be good for my purpose. Much thanks, that was a good read.

yeah@ pioneer, I believe it's the VSX-522-K model going for $1999

No probs. Plenty dotish replies on Tuner, didn't want this to be another.

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » April 4th, 2013, 11:10 am

^^ :lol:

X_Factor wrote:for those who bought it, is it really this Pmart really selling?
http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-SP-FS52-L ... g+speakers

cause if i remember right, the pic on the box only had 2-5.25 speakers

It's the exact ones on amazon with the 3 x 5.25 speakers and one dome tweeter that Pricesmart's selling. Will post a pic later if i get a chance.

Postby X_Factor » April 4th, 2013, 11:24 am

nice!!!!!
what center channel u gonna use them with?

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » April 4th, 2013, 11:56 am

haven't decided fully but was considering the Definitive Technology ProCenter 1000
http://www.amazon.com/Definitive-Techno ... enter+1000

Looking for something with a sleek design that won't occupy much space or look to big but still have the ability to deliver.

What's your view on mixing various brands of speakers? would it make a huge difference?

Or it doesn't matter as long as I ensure that each speaker covers the various frequency ranges so that there aren't any gaps?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 4th, 2013, 2:20 pm

^ correct - brand doesnt matter

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 4th, 2013, 2:28 pm

^actually it might duane, was discussed earlier in this thread.you dont want your front stage to be sounding like

F16-Cessna-F16

frequency response like you said would be the key to mixing brands,but the enclosures and woofer size would be a different story.

Postby X_Factor » April 4th, 2013, 3:04 pm

the klipsch rc42 or the martin logan motion 6 could be good center channel options, and its not too far away from the cost of the DT

Postby crazybalhead » April 4th, 2013, 3:06 pm

Xecutive wrote:haven't decided fully but was considering the Definitive Technology ProCenter 1000
http://www.amazon.com/Definitive-Techno ... enter+1000

Looking for something with a sleek design that won't occupy much space or look to big but still have the ability to deliver.

What's your view on mixing various brands of speakers? would it make a huge difference?

Or it doesn't matter as long as I ensure that each speaker covers the various frequency ranges so that there aren't any gaps?

It does make a difference. Especially when sounds pan from one speaker to the next. Even speakers from the same brand and same family have subtle timbral differences, even more so when mixing brands.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 4th, 2013, 3:37 pm

X_Factor wrote:the klipsch rc42 or the martin logan motion 6 could be good center channel options, and its not too far away from the cost of the DT

klipsch might be a bit to bright honestly,cant speak on the martin logans though.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 4th, 2013, 3:51 pm

^ yeah most audiophiles find klipsch are too bright

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » April 4th, 2013, 3:54 pm

Point noted cbh. Did some research and realized that timbral differences will have a play on tonal effect. However, will the sound be significantly off to a casual listener? or more to an audiophile?

In my opinion, I'm thinking to everyone because of the scenes in a movie which may separate the sound to various speakers (correct me if i'm wrong).

The main components I'm now leaning towards are:
Subwoofer: Polk Audio PSW505 12-inch
Centre Speaker: DT Pro Centre 1000
Satellites: Polk Audio TL2 or DT ProMonitors 800 (DT's are a bit out of budget so really want to go with the TL2s provided that they will match up with the DT Procentre 1000)

Any advice?

Postby crazybalhead » April 4th, 2013, 3:55 pm

I spent a long time with mismatched components. Doh worry, it not that bad at all. The majority of sound comes from the centre anyway (for movies) and left and right (for music).

Postby crazybalhead » April 4th, 2013, 3:58 pm

Please do:

http://www.cnet.com/1990-7386_1-6242474-3.html

A camera tripod will work. You can get a DB meter at radio shack. (not sure about local.)

Postby crazybalhead » April 4th, 2013, 4:00 pm

Reference Level
Reference level is defined for film mixing and movie theaters. Every studio and movie theater is calibrated according to this level. It represents an average of 85dB for the regular speakers on the SPL meter (set on C weighting and Slow) using a band limited (500Hz to 2,000Hz) pink noise at the listening position. The peak level is set 20dB higher at 105db and the LFE peak level is set +10dB higher to a maximum of 115dB. The purpose of the +10 dB gain for the LFE channel is to increase the dynamic range of bass sound such as explosions and crashes. This means when the receiver master volume is set to 0dB, the regular speakers are expected to play a peak level of 105dB and the subwoofer is expected to produce a peak output level of 115dB. This is louder than most people can tolerate, so people normally set the master volume much lower than 0 when watching movies or listening to music. Furthermore, such loud bass level places a heavy burden on the subwoofer and requires multiple high-end subwoofers to produce it accurately.

Because 85dBC test tones can be very loud in a small home theater room and can damage hearing, receiver manufacturers through the encouragement by Dolby and THX decided that a reasonable test-tone level is 75dB and that is the level that most receivers use.

Mathematically,
Reference Level is 1.85v line level = 0dB VU meter = 85db playback level.
105dB Peak level = 0dB (Full Scale).
85dB Average Level = -20dB (Full Scale).
75dB Average Reference Level = -30dB (Full Scale).

http://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread.php?t=38765

Postby Ted_v2 » April 4th, 2013, 7:13 pm

i bought a tv mount for my 42" lg(its a wall mount but can tilt 15 degrees down) , it cant work even tho the box has up to 42". the screw mounts to the back of the tv are further apart than what the mount can hold.

anyone had this problem with any lg televisions? or is it just a problem with the brand/type of mount?

oh and where can i get a good mount? looking for a flat wall mount.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » April 4th, 2013, 9:01 pm

Its not a problem with the TV or the mount. There`s vesa 100 200 and 400 most likely you didn`t buy the corresponding mount to your TV`s bolt pattern

Postby Ted_v2 » April 4th, 2013, 9:03 pm

Bought some universal shiz. I'll read up more about them and see if I could get one.

Postby X_Factor » April 4th, 2013, 10:17 pm

Xecutive wrote:Point noted cbh. Did some research and realized that timbral differences will have a play on tonal effect. However, will the sound be significantly off to a casual listener? or more to an audiophile?

In my opinion, I'm thinking to everyone because of the scenes in a movie which may separate the sound to various speakers (correct me if i'm wrong).

The main components I'm now leaning towards are:
Subwoofer: Polk Audio PSW505 12-inch
Centre Speaker: DT Pro Centre 1000
Satellites: Polk Audio TL2 or DT ProMonitors 800 (DT's are a bit out of budget so really want to go with the TL2s provided that they will match up with the DT Procentre 1000)

Any advice?

what about using the matching pioneer spc22 center channel?
it should blend into the entire system better and when time to upgrade u can sell all matching front stage

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » April 4th, 2013, 11:14 pm

@sound boy 64, check the specs for your hdtv's vesa pattern then get a wall mount to suit. Saw a wall mount in pricesmart but not too familiar with the various brands. Cheetah seems to be getting some favorable reviews on amazon.

X_Factor: Since the home theatre audio is heavily reliant on the type of centre speaker, I really want to go with something more high-end but cost efficient. The DT ProCentre seems to be a good buy.

Thanks again cbh. Will do some further research into calibrating the system.

Postby 16 cycles » April 9th, 2013, 7:51 am

anyone had experience with emotiva equipment?

http://www.emotiva.com/

seeing alot of their adds around....