COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

DTAC

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 82563 (+706) cases, 2486 (+32) deaths, 14583 active, 65494 recovered in T&T

Postby DTAC » December 23rd, 2021, 11:51 am

DMan7 wrote:Omicron is finally the variant we need to achieve herd immunity once it becomes the dominant strain.

Until the next variant comes along obviously. And given how effective it is at reinfecting people how does your mythical Herd Immunity take place?

DMan7

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 82563 (+706) cases, 2486 (+32) deaths, 14583 active, 65494 recovered in T&T

Postby DMan7 » December 23rd, 2021, 12:01 pm

DTAC wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Omicron is finally the variant we need to achieve herd immunity once it becomes the dominant strain.

Until the next variant comes along obviously. And given how effective it is at reinfecting people how does your mythical Herd Immunity take place?

It should, have faith!

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 23rd, 2021, 12:05 pm

Redress10 wrote:

You want it to mutate itself into extinction tbh. Become less infectious etc. Herd immunity doesn't mean less variants. The problem is the constant cycling of the virus we have today wasn't possible a hundred years ago because of air travel etc. When ppl got ill in a village could easily quarantine a whole village and lock them in. Nowadays ppl are constantly on the go.

I'm sure pariah states such as North Korea doing ok

Don't forget the part where everyone has "rights" to everything they want. Go wherever they want. Do whatever they want.

Humans are as a rule, more selfish and self-centered than at any time in history. In the past it was the landed gentry and aristocracy who could be selfish and want the world to revolve around them. Now almost everyone is like that. Every rule and protocol is only adhered to if it's convenient and there is a likelihood of getting caught.

Postby adnj » December 23rd, 2021, 12:13 pm

DTAC wrote:

Herd (or community) immunity is when there are many people immune to a pathogen.

You have nearly 400 trillion viruses and 40 trillion bacteria living in your body at any one time. Most people have acquired immunity to these viruses and bacteria.

Herd immunity is no myth.

https://www.scientificamerican.com/arti ... s-harm-us/

Postby gastly369 » December 23rd, 2021, 12:25 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Update for those who have the virus and battling it at home. Two good friends had it bad, but not so bad to warrant hospitilization. Their respective doctors were using ivermectin, vit c and panadol. Spoke to both parties and they are much better. They are just waiting out the quarantine period. Yes they were vaccinated!
I can add 12 to those 2... All except 1 wasn't vaccinated(66yr old got it little worst that all but recovering)
Family members and 3 friends
By 4th 5th day was normal for the most

Postby redmanjp » December 23rd, 2021, 12:34 pm

DTAC wrote:

herd immunity doesn't have to be against infection, but simply enough to prevent severe and fatal outcomes. antibody levels may wane but T cell immunity lasts longer.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 23rd, 2021, 12:39 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:massy is madness today all over

they have all there christmas sales in one today

black and white 750 ml for $130
johnnie black $215

crowds like wow

I thought massy was a responsible corporate citizen

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 23rd, 2021, 12:41 pm

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
adnj wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:world on fire yo. Every nation is intent to trying to go back to 2019. Governments have the fig leaf of vaccine protection for some, everybody else (including the children and the elderly) could dead.

2022 going to be a massive regression for humanity. Death on a scale we never imagined. Morbidity to such a scale that the institutions (especially the health care sector) will crumble and take generations to rebuild. We going to learn the hard way that the "new normal" is not optional and 2019 never, ever coming back.

:drinking:
The vaccinated will start questioning themselves and their actions if and when they decide to place restrictions again, the idea was take vaccine and get back to normal but this isn't going to process for most. Let's watch and see what they will do, issuing a statement blaming the unvaccinated when the vaccine does not stop the spread of the virus is reckless but sure let's blame them.

really we will? but this has been you all this time looking for validation for your actions on here and relentlessly posting 'against vaccines' crap. you that insecure to project your own issues on other people? LOL

hover11 wrote:if and when they decide to place restrictions again

Beach restrictions
No fresh water bodies
Pool restrictions
Crowd restrictions
School restrictions
Masks
Transportation restrictions, etc.

When were restrictions lifted?

somebody rellll sour they cant get into safe zones. i eh hear from hover how he reach beach yet though...he keep crying for beach.

all that saltiness he prolly doh need to reach beach
Don't you have a booster to take?FB_IMG_1640267845744.jpg

That would be owtu workers when roget done there

Postby sMASH » December 23rd, 2021, 1:46 pm

Half the people I know take the shots got covid after and had it kinda bad. But bad in terms of virus.

No one I know who didn't take the shits got covid that we know. Lil virus symptoms cause weather, but nothing to ssusprct was covid.

Here what Neil de grass Tyson and the the guy who makes monoclonal antibodies saying.

https://youtu.be/1Oww1OS5IY4

Now u have omnicron going round givjng people natual immunity...
There is no need to force these jabs on anybody.

Postby hover11 » December 23rd, 2021, 2:09 pm

Take your 4th shot and everything will be back to normal

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 23rd, 2021, 2:12 pm

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 23rd, 2021, 2:13 pm

LETS GOOOO. Mandatory VAX in ya MC

Postby sMASH » December 23rd, 2021, 2:56 pm

He coudl tske it and shove it between his legs.
Saying it in big.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 23rd, 2021, 3:40 pm

how fairist sounding like one of them cult leaders. he talking like he have honey on he tongue. may god have mercy on trinidad.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 23rd, 2021, 4:04 pm

Link the numbers

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 23rd, 2021, 4:07 pm

Predictions for today?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 23rd, 2021, 4:08 pm

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 23rd, 2021, 4:08 pm

All dem cases.....
Trinis ain't following proper protocols..

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 23rd, 2021, 4:09 pm

More cases to come, Christmas limes over the weekend then let's not forget a bout Ole Year's limes happening next weekend too.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 23rd, 2021, 4:14 pm

DMan7 wrote:More cases to come, Christmas limes over the weekend then let's not forget a bout Ole Year's limes happening next weekend too.
Yea we basically ph ucked in January.
Let's hope a large number of those 928 cases are fully vaccinated.

Postby matr1x » December 23rd, 2021, 4:15 pm

wtf wrote:All dem cases.....

Lol, while I will agree that trinis aren't doing the best they can, most workplaces are flouting the rules. Where is the criticism there?

Better than that, due to recent revelations about UWI cheating, how many doctors really legit?

All of this pales in comparison to the fact that China started this and no government condemning them?

Postby bluefete » December 23rd, 2021, 4:20 pm

So how many came into T&T using these?

https://thewire.in/government/my-fake-covid-19-test

Postby hover11 » December 23rd, 2021, 4:25 pm

No shite

Postby MaxPower » December 23rd, 2021, 4:44 pm

X3000,

Never did, and they never will. It’s in their DNA to be irresponsible. For heavens sake, our position on the globe is so embarrassing and i am ashamed to show my passport in another country to be scorned upon.

Makes no sense pleading and begging anymore.

Leave the people, let them bray, let them endanger their health, their own lives and the lives of others.

There is nothing much we can do or say other than “wait it out” and just accept whatever the end result is.

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2021, 5:20 pm

from the kind of shopping I seeing in the grocery it is clear drinking limes going down over the weekend.

wtf wrote:
DMan7 wrote:More cases to come, Christmas limes over the weekend then let's not forget a bout Ole Year's limes happening next weekend too.
Yea we basically ph ucked in January.
Let's hope a large number of those 928 cases are fully vaccinated.

Postby bluefete » December 23rd, 2021, 5:29 pm

Omicron is up to 70% LESS likely to cause hospitalisations than Delta, major study reveals as daily Covid cases hit new record high of 119,789 and scientists warn UK is still in 'danger zone'

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... -rise.html

Postby paid_influencer » December 23rd, 2021, 5:30 pm

DMan7 wrote:Image

928/19

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 23rd, 2021, 5:39 pm

Sooner we get omicron the better

Postby paid_influencer » December 23rd, 2021, 5:41 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Sooner we get omicron the better

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 23rd, 2021, 5:44 pm

Herd immunity from Omicron here we come baby!