COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 60 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby rspann » March 25th, 2020, 8:47 pm

redmanjp wrote:KPB calling for shutdown of all non essential business but wanted bars open last week?

KPB fighting hard right now. Ads on Ms Alleyene show earlier in the week giving advice . Like she find the ministry not doing a good job.

Postby j.o.e » March 25th, 2020, 8:57 pm

If KPB was in power for this she would be on a truck giving out toilet paper to crowds ignoring social distancing stance. This is the nonsense she likes. Pappy show

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 25th, 2020, 8:58 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Worldometer probably uses software to scan global news and flag announcements in new cases and deaths . That's how alot of those online databases gather info. The death was on CNC which would be good enough to count as confirmed

No there's an official John Hopkins dataset that countries use official channels to update the WHO. This isn't no pleb web scraper.

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 60 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 25th, 2020, 9:04 pm

Bars, casinos, betting shops, churches etc could have remained open but the ignorant, arrogant, inconsiderate, negligent, careless, selfish, boldface, stink, nasty, disgusting Trinidadian mentality prevailed.

The very first instruction and plea to the citizens of T&T was DO NOT CONGREGATE.

Had you all, as a nation, come together and make this work, the income of many people would not be at stake.

Do not blame the PNM or UNC for your actions.

Postby paid_influencer » March 25th, 2020, 9:08 pm

the nature of this virus is that it putters along, you think your doing okay then bing your in exponential spread and the numbers go way up

you don't make the timeline, the virus makes the timeline

Postby redmanjp » March 25th, 2020, 9:11 pm

MaxPower wrote:Bars, casinos, betting shops, churches etc could have remained open but the ignorant, arrogant, inconsiderate, negligent, careless, selfish, boldface, stink, nasty, disgusting Trinidadian mentality prevailed.

The very first instruction and plea to the citizens of T&T was DO NOT CONGREGATE.

Had you all, as a nation, come together and make this work, the income of many people would not be at stake.

Do not blame the PNM or UNC for your actions.

how does those business places remaining open benefit them if ppl can't congregate?

Postby aaron17 » March 25th, 2020, 9:22 pm

Watch eh..panic buying tomorrow.... gas ..lines ...no social distancing ..last minute thing again....that is how it is spreading.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 25th, 2020, 9:23 pm

I could see shitlickers wanting to slap she down tomorrow

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 25th, 2020, 9:27 pm

aaron17 wrote:Watch eh..panic buying tomorrow.... gas ..lines ...no social distancing ..last minute thing again....that is how it is spreading.

Now come home from work, taking as much overtime as possible for as much money as possible.

Care to share what happened today and why panic buying going to start back again? What did I miss? didn't even get time to watch the news today self

racedriverpro

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 60 cases, 1 death confirmed in T&T

Postby racedriverpro » March 25th, 2020, 9:32 pm

^^^ tough that you didn't even get time to make up a story

Postby paid_influencer » March 25th, 2020, 9:33 pm

aaron17 wrote:Watch eh..panic buying tomorrow.... gas ..lines ...no social distancing ..last minute thing again....that is how it is spreading.

now i is a man who was panic buying since d earlies. when i decide to panic buy people does be looking at me like i mad because i there before everybody else know d scene.

from tomorrow is officially month end. plenty people finally getting money to buy they groceries and necessities. them is not the richies that went massy and pricesmart and buy out toilet paper. Is a much larger group coming from tomorrow.

I staying farrrrr away from any grocery for the next week. I went grocery yesterday and people asking me if I in the line because i was 3 feet from the next person cashing. Not me and that mad scene again, especially at month end when the virus on the "straight up" part of d curve.
Last edited by paid_influencer on March 25th, 2020, 9:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 25th, 2020, 9:36 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Worldometer probably uses software to scan global news and flag announcements in new cases and deaths . That's how alot of those online databases gather info. The death was on CNC which would be good enough to count as confirmed

No there's an official John Hopkins dataset that countries use official channels to update the WHO. This isn't no pleb web scraper.

Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Resource Center
https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/map.html
Screenshot 2020-03-25 at 9.35.45 PM.jpg

Postby 88sins » March 25th, 2020, 9:49 pm

redmanjp wrote:how does those business places remaining open benefit them if ppl can't congregate?

Plenty businesses have seen significant decreases in traffic, but they still open to serve the few that need them. So the few people that go to them in some cases may have sufficient space to practice social distancing. So they still making a lil something, maybe not enough that they can see a profit, but enough to pay salaries and maybe a few bills. And we all know, within the next week a whole lot of people are going to feel the financial strain of these measures to contain this outbreak even harder when what little money they had done.

Me I still going to work normal, and I intend to keep going till if things get bad like ^500 active infections. I have rostered the staff in rotation as a measure to try and minimize potential exposure somewhat. It usually have 3 girls up front, but now one staying home each day, I closing earlier than usual, put markings so people know how far away they must stand, girls have all the required ppe (gloves, masks, goggles, etc., and if any customer that comes in coughs or sneezes, they are to be told to cover their mouth and nose and IMMEDIATELY LEAVE THE PREMISES, failing which they will then have the experience of meeting yours truly, and and I will physically and forcefully eject them from the building if necessary.
I hadda be there all day every day, but I don't deal directly with customers and my office door usually closed and I have my own ac, so I safe-ish I suppose.

Postby paid_influencer » March 25th, 2020, 10:01 pm

88sins wrote:Me I still going to work normal, and I intend to keep going till if things get bad like ^500 active infections.

roiley going to shut everybody down long before that

I have rostered the staff in rotation as a measure to try and minimize potential exposure somewhat. It usually have 3 girls up front, but now one staying home each day, I closing earlier than usual, put markings so people know how far away they must stand, girls have all the required ppe (gloves, masks, goggles, etc., and if any customer that comes in coughs or sneezes, they are to be told to cover their mouth and nose and IMMEDIATELY LEAVE THE PREMISES, failing which they will then have the experience of meeting yours truly, and and I will physically and forcefully eject them from the building if necessary.
I hadda be there all day every day, but I don't deal directly with customers and my office door usually closed and I have my own ac, so I safe-ish I suppose.

this man not afraid of any sexual harassment claims :drinking:

Postby sMASH » March 25th, 2020, 10:04 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Bars are essential services bro .
redmanjp wrote:KPB calling for shutdown of all non essential business but wanted bars open last week?

starbucks is essential services bro

Postby supercharged turbo » March 25th, 2020, 10:18 pm

Restaurants are an essential service.Most people can't cook because all they doing while home is posting up cooking stories on FB and Insta pretending.One setta people seasoning with curry

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » March 25th, 2020, 10:48 pm

thats funny i seem to remember the official response of the UNC was "we support of any measure that will lead to the demobilization of people at this time" ( my job behind a steering wheel allows me to be tuned in to the parliament radio station most of the time)

What mooneylal was calling for : a reasonable approach to softening the economic fallout from just shutting doors.

if it good for the malls (car park certainly was not empty today) and prestige holdings, it good for bars.

but some paid propagandists and so called journalists spin it and alyou lapp it up :lol:

i was in three stores today - a drug store . a hardware. a grocery.

there was more congregating in those establishments today than I ever see in any bar on a wednesday during working hours.

If KPB was in power for this she would be on a truck giving out toilet paper to crowds ignoring social distancing stance. This is the nonsense she likes. Pappy show

really ?

does nobody remember UNC MPs specifically Gopeesingh and Wade Mark -trying every which way since JANUARY to get the ball rolling on emergency preparations - legislation and economic/infrastructural planning - for the corona virus ?

does nobody remember them being SILENCED in the parliament by the pnm ?

does nobody remember the pnm propagandists on radio and social media bawling how dey only want to destroy wee culture and dey racial and they want to cause a panic to unda-mine wee conchee ?

:?

The truth is if KPB was in power we would have been much better prepared for this. the UNC wanted to start putting sensible measures in place since forking JANUARY.

but "dee oppazishan want carnival and wee economy tuh fail because dey unpatriotic"

PNM propaganda will be alyou downfall. stop falling for the lies.

Pay close attention. dont just read headlines and look at facebook comments and memes

Postby shogun » March 25th, 2020, 10:56 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Any deets on the death (medical/travel history?)

Postby shogun » March 25th, 2020, 10:59 pm

I heard that was Moonilal though? Someone please tell me this isn't true?

Postby supercharged turbo » March 25th, 2020, 11:18 pm

Zoom Approved
Lou Screuz wrote:

thats funny i seem to remember the official response of the UNC was "we support of any measure that will lead to the demobilization of people at this time" ( my job behind a steering wheel allows me to be tuned in to the parliament radio station most of the time)

What mooneylal was calling for : a reasonable approach to softening the economic fallout from just shutting doors.

if it good for the malls (car park certainly was not empty today) and prestige holdings, it good for bars.

but some paid propagandists and so called journalists spin it and alyou lapp it up

there was more congregating in those establishments today than I ever see in any bar on a wednesday during working hours.

really ?

does nobody remember UNC MPs specifically Gopeesingh and Wade Mark -trying every which way since JANUARY to get the ball rolling on emergency preparations - legislation and economic/infrastructural planning - for the corona virus ?

does nobody remember the pnm propagandists on radio and social media bawling how dey only want to destroy wee culture and dey racial and they want to cause a panic to unda-mine wee conchee ?

:?

The truth is if KPB was in power we would have been much better prepared for this. the UNC wanted to start putting sensible measures in place since forking JANUARY.

but "dee oppazishan want carnival and wee economy tuh fail because dey unpatriotic"

Pay close attention. dont just read headlines and look at facebook comments and memes

carluva

Postby carluva » March 25th, 2020, 11:35 pm

Just saw a WhatsApp message that was forwarded to me, related to the first death.

Here's an extract:

"OUR FIRST COVID DEATH MAY NOT BE IMPORTED AS DATE OF TRAVEL WAS 5th FEBRUARY 2020

Incubation period is 14 days

Presented in SAN FDO 13/03/20

Came from new york on 5th feb 2020....

... On admission 13/3/2020 temp was 39.3..."

I intentionally left out some details as I didn't feel comfortable sharing in case it is true.

If it is, then the first part is most interesting as he began to show symptoms 30+ days after arriving in Trinidad, which suggests it may not be imported as being reported.

ftitan

Postby ftitan » March 25th, 2020, 11:45 pm

I see an opposition member revealed the full uncensored report on fb. Including his name and where he stayed which is right next to me tbh.
Honestly I'd like to know where but finally getting the uncensored answer leaves a sour taste in my mouth. They didn't have to buss the man files like that dread.. That ain't cool.

carluva wrote:Just saw a WhatsApp message that was forwarded to me, related to the first death.

Here's an extract:

"OUR FIRST COVID DEATH MAY NOT BE IMPORTED AS DATE OF TRAVEL WAS 5th FEBRUARY 2020

I intentionally left out some details as I didn't feel comfortable sharing in case it is true.

If it is, then the first part is most interesting as he began to show symptoms 30+ days after arriving in Trinidad, which suggests it may not be imported as being reported.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 25th, 2020, 11:47 pm

carluva wrote:Just saw a WhatsApp message that was forwarded to me, related to the first death.

Here's an extract:

Got that too and sent it to a couple of doctors to verify. They all said:

1. Medical reports are handwritten so it seems someone typed it over for propaganda purposes.
2. If it was typed out, it may be copied and pasted from some of the new systems in Couva.
3. All 3 of them indicated it is in line with their write up briefs and procedures so it could be real with some details manipulated.

I'll assume fake until told otherwise.

Thanks for holding back on the person's details, that is definitely a huge breach of confidentiality.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 25th, 2020, 11:48 pm

ftitan wrote:I see an opposition member revealed the full uncensored report on fb. Including his name and where he stayed which is right next to me tbh.
Honestly I'd like to know where but finally getting the uncensored answer leaves a sour taste in my mouth. They didn't have to buss the man files like that dread.. That ain't cool.

Here's an extract:

Which opposition member? That is EXTREMELY distasteful to do especially with the man's address.

ftitan

Postby ftitan » March 25th, 2020, 11:53 pm

Dohplaydat wrote: Which opposition member? That is EXTREMELY distasteful to do especially with the man's address.

Former Minister Devant Maharaj. I won't post the link cuz all politics aside, I don't agree with that behavior.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 25th, 2020, 11:55 pm

Concur in the confidentiality. That was shocking and truly in poor taste. I tell you, these politicians all cut from the same mould and real playing some nasty games, clearly to use as ammunition to sway the plebs in the next election.
Dohplaydat wrote:

Here's an extract:

Got that too and sent it to a couple of doctors to verify. They all said:

1. Medical reports are handwritten so it seems someone typed it over for propaganda purposes.
2. If it was typed out, it may be copied and pasted from some of the new systems in Couva.
3. All 3 of them indicated it is in line with their write up briefs and procedures so it could be real with some details manipulated.

I'll assume fake until told otherwise.

Thanks for holding back on the person's details, that is definitely a huge breach of confidentiality.

Postby Gem_in_i » March 26th, 2020, 12:16 am

Here's an extract:

So with this 13/03 admission date in sfgh. Could this be why on 16/03 at sfgh everything was on lockdown that early morning. And security wearing mask etc

carluva

Postby carluva » March 26th, 2020, 12:18 am

I not too sure it was SFGH. It just said San Fernando. Could be another medical institution down Sando.

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 60 cases, 1 death confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 26th, 2020, 12:28 am

Lou Screuz wrote:

but some paid propagandists and so called journalists spin it and alyou lapp it up

really ?

Soldier this is not about PNM and UNC at this stage.

It doesnt matter who is in power, and who coulda woulda shoulda bla bla bla....

Btw, both PNM and UNC are total wastes in my book....No one could have predicted the outcome of this and you cannot expect any Govt to put the nation at a panic from since January.

Frankly, the PNM didnt do too much of a bad job handling this so far...

But go ahead and study PNM and UNC meh boy.....the main problem is the lack of support from the general population.....how u plan on fixing that?

Postby adnj » March 26th, 2020, 2:06 am

Dohplaydat wrote:

Actually, Worldometer (and a few other, similar sites) does scrape news sources for data. The sites also list their specific sources for daily updates. Those source updates are compared for accuracy against other aggregators and public heath agencies. .

Updates from March 25 on T&T cases and deaths were articles published by CNC3 and Trinidad Express.

At least one aggregator stated that they do not rely on WHO datasets because they found them to be unreliable.