Re: What's on the menu this Sunday?

Postby rspann » October 9th, 2019, 8:07 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Coal pot in yuh mc.

Yea I boil them for a 5 mins20191009_184511.jpeg

What time yuh feel yuh going to finish cook?

Postby pugboy » October 9th, 2019, 8:20 pm

Is 7 he get, so the balance 5 will be tomorrow

Postby Chimera » October 9th, 2019, 8:22 pm

I cooked 5. The last 2 eh stand up to the cleaning so I take out the tail meat to use in some pasta Sunday.

Postby maj. tom » October 9th, 2019, 8:34 pm

Put the waste shells in a bag in the freezer. Then on Sunday use the shells and heads and salt with some salt, green leafy seasonings and carrots and reduce for an hour on low boil to make lobster stock. Then use the stock to boil your pasta al dente since you're already making a lobster meat pasta dish. Then drain that starchy lobster stock water from the pasta and use it the next day in a fish soup base or bisque.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 9th, 2019, 9:22 pm

Subscribed to Mikey Chen, Trevor James, Luke Martin, Robert Ehrington (deer meat), Sonny Side, David Hoffman and Mark Wiens. The real OGs of food.
pugboy wrote:I like to watch Mikey Chan aka strictly dumpling on youtube

carluva

Postby carluva » October 10th, 2019, 11:49 am

Where did you get those lobsters?

Generally, where should I go to get good live lobsters? Especially those with the claws.

I mostly see them on the side of the road by them men in a fish van but many times I've stopped they are already dead and the fisherman tells me that "it now dead".

The few times I've cooked live lobsters, someone brought it for me. Otherwise I'll buy the frozen tails and cook those if so desired.

Postby Chimera » October 10th, 2019, 11:53 am

i got this batch from masters duck farm in freeport, first time i buy from them

i usually buy in tunapuna market on sunday morning, usually get them live there like 6 am

otherwise in mayaro by the bridge

but in mayaro they dont clean them at all for you and its the same price as buying from the market...where they clean it for you

Postby eliteauto » October 10th, 2019, 11:55 am

You get some nice ones at the Las Cuevas and Maracas fishing depots as well

Postby Chimera » October 10th, 2019, 11:56 am

the ones with the claw...i dont think you getting that down here live

carluva

Postby carluva » October 10th, 2019, 12:04 pm

Why is that?
Phone Surgeon wrote:the ones with the claw...i dont think you getting that down here live

carluva

Postby carluva » October 10th, 2019, 12:05 pm

When is a good time to go las cuevas and maracas to get them live?
Phone Surgeon wrote:i got this batch from masters duck farm in freeport, first time i buy from them

i usually buy in tunapuna market on sunday morning, usually get them live there like 6 am

but in mayaro they dont clean them at all for you and its the same price as buying from the market...where they clean it for you

Postby Dizzy28 » October 10th, 2019, 12:07 pm

carluva wrote:Why is that?
Phone Surgeon wrote:the ones with the claw...i dont think you getting that down here live

The one with the claw we see on TV often is the Maine Lobster. Their range is not as far south as the Caribbean.
So to get it live requires expensive shipping.

Our waters have the Spiny Lobster which is the clawlesss one.

Postby pugboy » October 10th, 2019, 12:09 pm

Masters in the news about wild meat

Phone Surgeon wrote:i got this batch from masters duck farm in freeport, first time i buy from them

Postby Chimera » October 10th, 2019, 12:15 pm

carluva

Postby carluva » October 10th, 2019, 12:16 pm

Never knew that. Thanks!
carluva wrote:Why is that?

The one with the claw we see on TV often is the Maine Lobster. Their range is not as far south as the Caribbean.
So to get it live requires expensive shipping.

Our waters have the Spiny Lobster which is the clawlesss one.

matix

Postby matix » October 10th, 2019, 12:16 pm

Venezuelan lobster?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 10th, 2019, 11:44 pm

maj. tom wrote:won't the meat be kind of tough on a bigger bird? I don't like those $80 and up chickens because the meat is too stringy and tough compared to a $50. I rather buy 2 for $100 and get better quality meat for a curry pot.

i Guess is what you accustomed to
i prefer meat which is firm in my curry (guess this is growing up eating lagoon duck and common fowl. I dont really like the chicken breast (only like real breast ) most time i save the breast for mincing or for making sandwiches or chicken strips

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2019, 4:18 pm

Friday shaping up good so far
20191011_145956.jpeg
20191011_142700.jpeg

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2019, 4:46 pm

Wwgd
20191011_163752.jpeg

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2019, 10:03 pm

Lamb and seasoned grill corn
20191011_194906.jpeg

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2019, 11:34 pm

Pork ribs iymc
20191011_223113.jpeg

Postby *KRONIK* » October 13th, 2019, 11:45 am

Dhal
Rice
Curry gauna

Postby pugboy » October 13th, 2019, 12:47 pm

Oxtail

Postby *KRONIK* » October 13th, 2019, 1:14 pm

Lol

That was option 2
pugboy wrote:Oxtail

Postby rspann » October 13th, 2019, 1:20 pm

Goat curry and clap roti.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 13th, 2019, 2:03 pm

Been hear bout this goat thing for relll long....

Need to rectify this situation yes

Postby rollingstock » October 13th, 2019, 2:36 pm

Boil and fry dasheen, butter cassava, chicken curry, pork le geera.

carluva

Postby carluva » October 13th, 2019, 3:28 pm

Dumpling and curry conch (Lambie).

Fried rice, chunky vegetables and chicken in plum sauce.

Roast vegetables, roast potatoes and seared salmon.

Fresh portugal juice.

Pumpkin bread.

Postby eliteauto » October 13th, 2019, 4:06 pm

Shepherds pie
Roasted broccoli with garlic, lemon juice and parmesan cheese
Honey BBQ pork belly with pineapple
Lettuce and tomato
Fresh Orange/Lemon juice, fresh sorrel
Also trying some of the new beers on the market the Asahi and Peroni also the Caribé Rosé

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 13th, 2019, 7:45 pm

Stew chicken, lentils and rice - wasn't photogenic enough to take a pic but it lash!