The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

achillies

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby achillies » March 27th, 2012, 11:44 am

ZeroOne wrote:achillies were you using a case? Also how high did it fall from?

achillies wrote:
ZeroOne wrote:with extra apps and mods yes, but not out of the box.

Even the youtube app gives heaps of trouble to play.

stock iphone does not support flash, so how can youtube work properly??? :?

The actual iOS youtube app doesn't require flash, Google uses H.264 to encode all videos, that is then used by iOS or Flash, the difference is how the device you are using is communicating with the Youtube servers

so i was wrong on some tech details .......still doesn't change the fact that iphone generally fails on youtube.......

My phone didn't fall, that was another user

Sent from Samsung Galaxy S II

Postby stev » March 27th, 2012, 1:20 pm

i always liked the flip clock widget....anyone knows the name of the one below?

RE: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby RASC » March 27th, 2012, 1:29 pm

Ummm zeroone. YouTube has been recoded in html5, ages ago. It plays perfectly across all platforms, in HD.

Sent from my HD7 using Board Express

Postby RASC » March 27th, 2012, 1:32 pm

Fandroids...
what is up with this lag yo :/
Just watched a blogger using stock ics on the nexus, and still the lag is there.
Come on man, when are manufacturers gonna get it right or is it just how it's forever gonna be? Using android after a wp7 or ios is just painful. How many cores do you guys need???

Postby RASC » March 27th, 2012, 1:40 pm

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=J6oWDLk31EQ
Painful to watch. I dunno how you guys live with that on a daily :/

ZeroOne

Re: RE: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby ZeroOne » March 27th, 2012, 1:43 pm

they started using html5 in 2010, just 2 years ago....i admitted that i got some details wrong.....and we've moved off that topic ages ago

Postby RASC » March 27th, 2012, 1:47 pm

Funny.
YouTube got it JUST two years ago... But we've moved on from the topic AGESSSSS ago.
LOL
English, it's such an interesting tool to manipulate.

Postby RASC » March 27th, 2012, 1:49 pm

So is the HTC one x it l? As far as the latest and greatest now? Apparently the tech reviewers think so.... Its quadrant scores are blowing everyone out The water. SGIII vs. ONE X... Epic battle awaits!

Postby r3iXmann » March 27th, 2012, 1:58 pm

RASC rock so with that biased ass video :lol:

why didnt he do a similar test with the other phone? the responses look similar

Postby RASC » March 27th, 2012, 2:12 pm

Come nah ... Its a fact. Just deal with it nuh man...
The best test is always the gallery test. I ask a fandroid to put his gallery scroll skills next to my wp7. I have a gallery with over 100 hi res, 12mp pics taken with an slr, vs their stock camera gallery. And its a no contest, they always lose, their jaw always drops... And they cant understand how the single core just blows their dual core monster out the water. Its sad.

I think quad cores might just be you guys savior... Just hope you ready to mortgage yuh house. Who say 4figure price tag for the HTC one x?? Ah taking bets. Nothing less than $900 usd for that thing when it drops. Ouch

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » March 27th, 2012, 2:44 pm

My i777 is not stock.

There is no lag on my phone.

I used a friends HTC running stock gingerbread and there was no lag either.

That lag more than likely is software related.

The HTC X looks good but I think the s3 is gonna beat it with its Exynos chipset and LTE.

RASC what phone you have??

Postby RASC » March 27th, 2012, 2:52 pm

ZeroOne wrote:My i777 is not stock.

There is no lag on my phone.

I used a friends HTC running stock gingerbread and there was no lag either.
I've never used an Android phone without lag issues. Never. That's from the G1 til now.

That lag more than likely is software related.
No it's the manufacturers not taking their time with the OS. They rather rush out the ltest and greatest spec wise without proper optimisation of the OS.

The HTC X looks good but I think the s3 is gonna beat it with its Exynos chipset and LTE.
International phones will not have LTE.
The US version of the One X to be launched on ATT will not have quad core, due to LTE implementation.
So I dunno how you figure that out, either way let's just wait til both international versions of the phone come out before judgement be cast.

RASC what phone you have??
WP7 HD7

Postby sharkman121 » March 27th, 2012, 3:49 pm

Never experienced lag on my SGS2 before i switched to ICS. Im seriously considering reverting to GGB, just weighing out now in my mind if its really worth keeping the laggy ICS.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 27th, 2012, 7:22 pm

^ did you update via the official samsung update? when I go on update in settings it says no update found

original_lollybob

Re: RE: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby original_lollybob » March 27th, 2012, 7:47 pm

RASC wrote:Come nah ... Its a fact. Just deal with it nuh man...
The best test is always the gallery test. I ask a fandroid to put his gallery scroll skills next to my wp7. I have a gallery with over 100 hi res, 12mp pics taken with an slr, vs their stock camera gallery. And its a no contest, they always lose, their jaw always drops... And they cant understand how the single core just blows their dual core monster out the water. Its sad.

I think quad cores might just be you guys savior... Just hope you ready to mortgage yuh house. Who say 4figure price tag for the HTC one x?? Ah taking bets. Nothing less than $900 usd for that thing when it drops. Ouch

android fans will never admit that wp7 is awesomeness

wp7 is insanely smooth... ppl hate the tiles... (cause yuh know... icons are soooo customisable :roll: )

but if anyone says their android device runs smoother than my lumia... they jus really really biased

Postby r3iXmann » March 27th, 2012, 7:54 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Never experienced lag on my SGS2 before i switched to ICS. Im seriously considering reverting to GGB, just weighing out now in my mind if its really worth keeping the laggy ICS.

you have the samsung build? (with all those bundled apps etc) if so,uninstall that sheit

yeah, WP7 sooooooooooooooo smooth...which is why they scraping the bottom of the mobile OS barrel with RIM :lol: :lol: :lol:

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » March 27th, 2012, 7:59 pm

^yea yea ill admit they scraping lil bit now (doh put it in the same class wid RIM nah.. oh goshh!)

but come April 8th when the 900 released on AT&T... the masses will know and experience :D

Postby r3iXmann » March 27th, 2012, 8:28 pm

original_lollybob wrote:^yea yea ill admit they scraping lil bit now (doh put it in the same class wid RIM nah.. oh goshh!)

but come April 8th when the 900 released on AT&T... the masses will know and experience :D

that's such a RIM fanboy -esque statement to make though :lol: :lol:

"WHEN BB Vx.x AND DE NEW TORCH/CURVE/whatever COME OUT, ALLYUH GO KNOW!" :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » March 27th, 2012, 8:35 pm

is every year yuh does hear how Windows Phone going to storm d world :lol: :lol: :lol:

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » March 27th, 2012, 8:37 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
original_lollybob wrote:^yea yea ill admit they scraping lil bit now (doh put it in the same class wid RIM nah.. oh goshh!)

that's such a RIM fanboy -esque statement to make though :lol: :lol:

"WHEN BB Vx.x AND DE NEW TORCH/CURVE/whatever COME OUT, ALLYUH GO KNOW!" :lol:

sigh :roll:

Postby S_2NR » March 27th, 2012, 8:38 pm

allyu takin on RASC? Really?!

stop taking his trollbait.

Postby r3iXmann » March 27th, 2012, 8:44 pm

*crickets*

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » March 27th, 2012, 8:55 pm

oh gosh how many years head start does android and iOS have?!

Mango's been out bout 1 year... The lumia's been on sale less than 6months

if at the end of this year wp7 is still a market failure i'll give u yuh credit... but its a great OS and Nokia's hardware beats anything htc or samsung could dream up

I'll exit here now and go talk to myself in the Nokia and WP threads :lol: :lol:

Postby r3iXmann » March 27th, 2012, 9:11 pm

original_lollybob wrote:oh gosh how many years head start does android and iOS have?!

if at the end of this year wp7 is still a market failure i'll give u yuh credit... but its a great OS and Nokia's hardware beats anything htc or samsung could dream up

I'll exit here now and go talk to myself in the Nokia and WP threads :lol: :lol:

errm..MS has been in the running before both of them with Windows Mobile (from which WP7 came)

now them and RIM fighting for barrel scraper position :lol: :lol:

Postby M_2NR » March 27th, 2012, 9:21 pm

IBTR
In Before Thread Rename :lol:

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 27th, 2012, 9:33 pm

original_lollybob wrote:oh gosh how many years head start does android and iOS have?!

I'm sure they can use the company. Just bump them so the rest of us know they exist

achillies

Postby achillies » March 27th, 2012, 9:34 pm

BlueStacks App Player Enters Beta, Brings 450,000 Android Apps to Your Windows PC

BlueStacks released a beta version of their Android app player for Windows PCs this morning, bringing with it access to 450,000 apps. They previously ran a closed alpha, but have gone public with this beta from what we can tell. For those not familiar, BlueStacks is an application that installs on your Windows computer and then allows you to run any Android app through it. This is a brilliant piece of software and one that developers should thoroughly embrace. Through something like BlueStacks, applications from devs can reach more than just Android devices and are now essentially a part of everyone’s Windows PC without the need for code tweaking. This app player does all of the work. Talk about an audience.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » March 27th, 2012, 10:04 pm

sharkman121 wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: EFFECTIVE DESIGNS, i doh think yuh shoulda unfriend the man cuz of a simple disagreement and stop giving him a drop to the junction... :rofl:

some ppl, most ppl are very stubborn and it will take a while for it to soak in an realise that the android is better. Its like when i try to convince ppl of HYundai and Kia vehicle reliability and sales worldwide is now higher than Nissan and Toyota, they dont believe me and i cant blame em really, i just tell them do the research.

I'm pretty sure Hyundai and Kia outsells Mercedes Benz as well.

I'm also certain that those Korean cars have more specs/features per dollar as well.
And also possibly can be modified the most with after market parts.

But the driving experience of a Benz...

Not the way it specifically corners, or rides smoothly, or how the seat feels at your back, or the quiet aggression of the engine, or the intricate lines can lead along the body like a work of fine art.... no.... no.... it's just something about the package of a Mercedes Benz that, if you have some class and appreciation for finer things, and love for driving... really really driving, will understand...

achillies

Postby achillies » March 27th, 2012, 10:51 pm

Strauss wrote:
sharkman121 wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: EFFECTIVE DESIGNS, i doh think yuh shoulda unfriend the man cuz of a simple disagreement and stop giving him a drop to the junction... :rofl:

some ppl, most ppl are very stubborn and it will take a while for it to soak in an realise that the android is better. Its like when i try to convince ppl of HYundai and Kia vehicle reliability and sales worldwide is now higher than Nissan and Toyota, they dont believe me and i cant blame em really, i just tell them do the research.

I'm also certain that those Korean cars have more specs/features per dollar as well.

Not the way it specifically corners, or rides smoothly, or how the seat feels at your back, or the quiet aggression of the engine, or the intricate lines can lead along the body like a work of fine art.... no.... no.... it's just something about the package of a Mercedes Benz that, if you have some class and appreciation for finer things, and love for driving... really really driving, will understand...

Lol, now this is comedy, I wonder if a Benz mechanic ever told a Benz owner "You're holding it wrong"

I am also pretty sure Benz don't have to depend on Kia and Hyundai to manufacturer 75% of their cars ;-)

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S II using Tapatalk 2 Beta-4

Strauss

Postby Strauss » March 28th, 2012, 1:14 am

achillies wrote:
Strauss wrote:

Lol, now this is comedy, I wonder if a Benz mechanic ever told a Benz owner "You're holding it wrong"

I am also pretty sure Benz don't have to depend on Kia and Hyundai to manufacturer 75% of their cars ;-)

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S II using Tapatalk 2 Beta-4

You missed the point completely.
Besides isn't Nissan building engines for Mercedes now?