Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 8th, 2013, 7:51 pm

waw - I watched it twice!!!

would love to hear that

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » February 8th, 2013, 8:31 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:waw - I watched it twice!!!

would love to hear that

Postby X_Factor » February 8th, 2013, 11:56 pm

anyone interested in 5 pairs of banana jacks for speakers?

Postby pioneer » February 9th, 2013, 12:27 am

Xfactor i forgot to post....how many pairs you need?

I have a pack of these

http://www.amazon.com/Sewell-Silverback ... nana+plugs

$40 a pair

phreak

Postby phreak » February 9th, 2013, 12:28 am

Wow.. That is some crazy worksmanship, planning and equipment.. Real kudos to that team.. Love it..

Postby X_Factor » February 9th, 2013, 12:34 am

pioneer wrote:Xfactor i forgot to post....how many pairs you need?

I have a pack of these

http://www.amazon.com/Sewell-Silverback ... nana+plugs

$40 a pair

already ordered a set

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003BK ... 8AMZ00PEQV

i just needed about5-6 pairs

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 9th, 2013, 8:37 am

would love to hear that

I wonder how close it sounds to the real thing

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 9th, 2013, 10:40 am

ru$$ell wrote:
would love to hear that

I wonder how close it sounds to the real thing

Could even be better!

Or maybe not. It might just look the same.

Postby X_Factor » February 9th, 2013, 9:39 pm

whats a decent wall mount?
those articulating Arm type mounts....are they good?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 10th, 2013, 1:00 am

gtiracer

Postby gtiracer » February 19th, 2013, 12:28 am

Guys , thinking about upgrading.. Following could be available. Check current prices if you wish and make a reasonable offer via PM.. Demo available, for anyone who serious, you can walk with yuh favourite BD.
Samsung LN37B550K
Pioneer VSX-1020-K
Klipsch Quintet 5.0
Panasonic DMP-BDT210
Logitech Harmony 880
Logitech K400r
Monster AV 800
Last edited by gtiracer on February 21st, 2013, 10:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby X_Factor » February 19th, 2013, 2:45 am

so look what my wife brought for me!!...aint she the best

i hope she doesnt complain when i start up from tmr.....lol

so i did a quick set up today.....
will be doing the height speakers soon for the pro logic IIz
and then it would probably stay like this till i upgrade the TV and put it on the wall, then do some cable management and a decent cabinet

speakers sound really nice for what they are....mids and highs are crisp and clear, bass sometimes get a bit muddy but im still playing around with xo points and eq

sub is pretty good on movies...with decent impact..i only have a couple blurays and they dont have that much lfe detail so i'll probably get a few more tmr

didnt test on music yet

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » February 20th, 2013, 5:55 pm

gtiracer wrote:Guys , thinking about upgrading.. Following could be available. Check current prices if you wish and make a reasonable offer via PM.. Demo available, for anyone who serious, you can walk with yuh favourite BD.
Samsung LN37B550K
Pioneer VSX-1020-K
Klipsch Quintet 5.0
Klipsch RW-12d
Panasonic DMP-BDT210
Logitech Harmony 880
Logitech K400r
Monster AV 800

Pm me aprice on the klipsch rw12d

scarcasm

Postby scarcasm » February 21st, 2013, 1:45 pm

Is there any app you can use to automatically send files to your home theatre folder(s) on another drive when it's finished downloading?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 21st, 2013, 5:39 pm

^ why not just set the destination drive in your download software to the same drive that your home theater accesses?

scarcasm

Postby scarcasm » February 21st, 2013, 8:04 pm

I have different folders for TV Shows, Movies and then sub folders for each series. The topology needs to be this way for XBMC to list them properly. Even if saved to the other drive, I'd still need to manually move them to the specific folders.

Anyone using http://www.trakt.tv? I find the calendar there is an easy way of keeping up with which shows have aired.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 21st, 2013, 10:23 pm

^ does your download app download these files automatically?
if you are searching and clicking to download files manually then setting the folder for each file at the time of download would be the best option

apps like DAP (Download Accelerator Plus) has a save-as dialog that lets you quickly set the download folder for files - I don't use torrents so I cant say what torrent apps can do

wiplash12

Postby wiplash12 » March 6th, 2013, 8:51 am

yeah tuners i having a problem with my home theatre hook up i bought a sony receiver (STRDH 510 and i have a sony Bravia 46'' lcd tv when i connect the tv to the receiver via HDMI i am getting no sound through the speakers . when i hook up my laptop to the receiver i getting picture through the tv no sound only sound through the laptop help please.....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 6th, 2013, 9:16 am

^ through which speakers?

Postby crazybalhead » March 6th, 2013, 9:47 am

Sounds like you have the amp set on HDMI pass through. Need to check your settings.

The home theater by me is being used a lot these days for watching pocoyo, helicopter vids and jojo's circus on youtube. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

wiplash12

Postby wiplash12 » March 6th, 2013, 10:34 am

not getting any sound through the speakers that are hooked up on the receiver. Not even when i hook up the tv to the receiver alone with the hdmi jus getting sound through the tv speakers

wiplash12

Postby wiplash12 » March 6th, 2013, 11:14 am

this is the whole rundown first i hooked up the tv to the receiver via HDMI then i jacked the laptop to the dvd in on the receiver i put the input selector on dvd (Receiver) and i put the tv on HDMI (input) then i sync the tv and the receiver when the sync is complete i only getting sound through the laptop not through the tv or the speakers on the receiver when i put the tuner on the receiver i getting the sound through the receiver speakers

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 6th, 2013, 4:30 pm

how did you connect the laptop to the receiver? HDMI?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 6th, 2013, 6:47 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Sounds like you have the amp set on HDMI pass through. Need to check your settings.

This possible.

For the laptop issue try this:

Go into Start>Control Panel>Sound

In the dialog box that pops up your supposed to see your receiver (likely identified as 'SONY AVAMP'), make sure there is a green checkmark icon on it.

If the checkmark not there then single click on the icon and click the button 'Set Default', then click 'ok'.

As usual make sure all your video and audio drivers up to date.

This is with my STR-DH800 model receiver.

Could be some settings to adjust in the Bravia sync stuff but i don't use it so i wouldn't be able to help with that one.

wiplash12

Postby wiplash12 » March 7th, 2013, 8:07 am

thanks HCCA did that and it worked

Cid

Postby Cid » March 27th, 2013, 10:54 am

Hey guyz , im looking for a replacement for a cd changer in my home audio setup...anyone knows where i can get something like this locally??

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-CDP-CE500-Compact-Disc-Player/dp/B004NQU4YY/ref=sr_1_11?s=aht&ie=UTF8&qid=1364395454&sr=1-11&keywords=home+audio+usb+player#

I basically need something that can play CD, MP3 and USB... the system already as amp and speakers , i just need the player...
.tnx

Postby crazybalhead » March 27th, 2013, 10:55 am

Haven't seen one of those locally in a long time. I would just rip CD's to a hard drive yes. hardly listen these days. Or a playstation, or whatever.

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » April 3rd, 2013, 3:51 pm

Yo fellas, I'm searching for a good av receiver to use for a home theatre system nothing too expensive (probably 400US max). The following links are two receivers I've considered, the latter being a favourite on tuner:

Receiver:
Yamaha RX-V673 7.2 (getting a good price on this)
http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio-vi ... mode=model

or
Pioneer VSX-1022-K 7.1
http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-VSX-1022- ... 801&sr=1-1

The speakers to be connected are:
Subwoofer: Polk Audio PSW505
Satellites: Polk audio OMW3 or OMW5
Floor Standing Speakers: Pioneer SP-FS52 (Max Power Handling 130W Nominal Impedance 6 Ohms)

Additional features that will be a plus include: Airplay, Zone Selection, etc.

What is the main advantage of adding a second subwoofer to the setup? and is 7.2 really necessary? The room size is approximately 17'x11'.

Also, I purchased the Pioneer SP-FS52 floor speakers at pricesmart because of the excellent price on them and the good reviews. The max power handling is rated at 130W but the Yamaha receiver indicates:

Rated Output Power (1kHz, 2ch driven) 105W (8ohms, 0.9% THD)
Rated Output Power (20Hz-20kHz, 2ch driven) 90W (8ohms, 0.09% THD)
Dynamic Power per Channel (8/6/4/2 ohms) 130/170/200/240W

Is it that the continuous power output will be at 90W?
Will this receiver be sufficient to power the Pioneer SP-FS52 speakers or will it put a strain on the receiver's amp given that the recommended max power input is 130W?
and finally will this produce a clean quality audio signal or will it distort beyond 90W?

any advice will be appreciated as i'm new to this.

Postby crazybalhead » April 3rd, 2013, 4:11 pm

Xecutive wrote:Yo fellas, I'm searching for a good av receiver to use for a home theatre system nothing too expensive (probably 400US max). The following links are two receivers I've considered, the latter being a favourite on tuner:

Receiver:
Yamaha RX-V673 7.2 (getting a good price on this)
http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio-vi ... mode=model

very good amp!

or
Pioneer VSX-1022-K 7.1
http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-VSX-1022- ... 801&sr=1-1

Also very good amp!

The speakers to be connected are:
Subwoofer: Polk Audio PSW505
Satellites: Polk audio OMW3 or OMW5
Floor Standing Speakers: Pioneer SP-FS52 (Max Power Handling 130W Nominal Impedance 6 Ohms)

Not bad.

Additional features that will be a plus include: Airplay, Zone Selection, etc.

Okay, that's cool, make sure you read the fine print on the amp features.

What is the main advantage of adding a second subwoofer to the setup? and is 7.2 really necessary? The room size is approximately 17'x11'.

The main advantage of a second sub is to smooth out standing waves that will creat bass peaks and troughs in your room. With one sub the tendency to do so is exaggerated. if you place the sub against a far wall, you will notice as you move through the room, the bass will increase and decrease. Also, the room resonant frequency will be the main area this effect will be worse.

Hopwever, a second sub is usually not worth the expense. With some simple trial and error you can place one sub with good effect.

The other benefit of two, is that you can have them playing in stereo, closer to the left and right channels, thereby making the seperate subs more difficult to localise. Again, with good front channels and a proper crossover set, you can achieve the same effect with one sub.

Also, I purchased the Pioneer SP-FS52 floor speakers at pricesmart because of the excellent price on them and the good reviews. The max power handling is rated at 130W but the Yamaha receiver indicates:

Rated Output Power (1kHz, 2ch driven) 105W (8ohms, 0.9% THD)
Rated Output Power (20Hz-20kHz, 2ch driven) 90W (8ohms, 0.09% THD)
Dynamic Power per Channel (8/6/4/2 ohms) 130/170/200/240W

Is it that the continuous power output will be at 90W?

That is RMS 90W
Will this receiver be sufficient to power the Pioneer SP-FS52 speakers or will it put a strain on the receiver's amp given that the recommended max power input is 130W?
More than enough power. In fact in most casual listening, your amp will be putting out MUCH LESS than the rated 90W, and you will not even know.
and finally will this produce a clean quality audio signal or will it distort beyond 90W?

You will never play your speakers that loud. They will get very loud and THEN distort before you ever drive them that hard, especially with a sub. The power is not the real issue. It's the impedence that is fairly low in the bass region, and your sub amp will be taking care of those with your main speakers crossed over fairly high.

any advice will be appreciated as i'm new to this.

Hope that helps!

Postby pioneer » April 3rd, 2013, 6:10 pm

I see pm drop the pioneer 5.1 rx to $1999

good buy