Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby mickey17 » August 21st, 2011, 6:22 pm

i still find seagate to be better

South Man

Postby South Man » August 21st, 2011, 7:02 pm

Thanks man...I'm still waiting for the ssd's to go down a bit doh.

5forward

Postby 5forward » August 21st, 2011, 11:16 pm

tanks gracen...ordered a 1TB caviar black

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 21st, 2011, 11:18 pm

Your Welcome :D

[EMIN∃M]

Postby [EMIN∃M] » August 21st, 2011, 11:46 pm

AMD FX Processor
http://sites.amd.com/us/promo/processor ... essor.aspx
this processor sounding unreal

and this gpu too
Radeon HD 6990
http://www.guru3d.com/article/radeon-hd-6990-review/1

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 22nd, 2011, 9:45 am

looks good there...the switch is really a nice feature, up to 450w in automatic performance boost with it alone..SWEET!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 23rd, 2011, 9:34 am

so i ready to build...

1100T

Postby ismithx » August 23rd, 2011, 11:26 am

hmmm going a lil retro with a 9800 GTX

that being said, it IS a x800 GTX.... must be sweet and insane

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 23rd, 2011, 11:51 am

still a good set of cards dat with SLi wud play any game

but dat case real big dread, taking up too much space on my desk

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » August 23rd, 2011, 12:28 pm

[EMIN∃M] wrote:AMD FX Processor
http://sites.amd.com/us/promo/processor ... essor.aspx
this processor sounding unreal

and this gpu too
Radeon HD 6990
http://www.guru3d.com/article/radeon-hd-6990-review/1

Definitely in my future build :twisted:

[EMIN∃M]

Postby [EMIN∃M] » August 23rd, 2011, 5:24 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:http://ubuntusatanic.org/screenshots.php

ah cyar stop laffin :lol:
dis rel bad

:skurry:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 24th, 2011, 9:01 am

so i finished building the pc, the ssd is blazing fast, got a 7.5 on windows ratings, but i keep gettin this pop up asking me to do something..really embarrassing to say, but never the less.....

does anyone have a ribbon sli connector? :oops:

Virus

Postby Virus » August 24th, 2011, 1:43 pm

Chiney to hell with that Physx and Single Gpu :)

Postby shogun » August 24th, 2011, 1:53 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote:For the price I went with two 2TB Samsung F4 as my storage drives.

noice. 8-)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 24th, 2011, 10:42 pm

Virus wrote:Chiney to hell with that Physx and Single Gpu :)

to late... gettin a connector tomorrow hopefully..

gonna use the cpu for that, iv got 6 scores to play with

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 25th, 2011, 5:14 am

Chiney I see you went back rosewill... I must say rosewill makes some good supplies,,, that rosewill you sold still running sweet.

Virus

Postby Virus » August 25th, 2011, 6:21 am

Chiney wrote:
Virus wrote:Chiney to hell with that Physx and Single Gpu :)

to late... gettin a connector tomorrow hopefully..

gonna use the cpu for that, iv got 6 scores to play with

Whats the difference if any with physx on gpu or cpu, personally i have tired the both ways and i know you Chiney have to so tell me have you seen any ?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 25th, 2011, 10:02 am

only because te 9800gtx+ only has 512mb vram, the 2 in sli should help with the 1080p res along with the particles, the lesser vram at a higher res gonna suck badly, so hence i will set the cpu to do phys-x

Virus

Postby Virus » August 25th, 2011, 10:16 am

Chiney wrote:only because te 9800gtx+ only has 512mb vram, the 2 in sli should help with the 1080p res along with the particles, the lesser vram at a higher res gonna suck badly, so hence i will set the cpu to do phys-x

You did not answer the question Sir

I asked you if you ever notice a difference or better game play (fps) with physx as cpu or gpu 4-6 cores 9800gtx - 470 i know you had them all already so you of all people should have a better insight

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 25th, 2011, 3:49 pm

ohh

well i havent started the gaming part of things as yet. but from my reading, the single 9800gtx might not be the best option for the higher requiring games, so the sli wud be needed. when i run mafia 2 i will let u know

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 25th, 2011, 4:27 pm

Got my GPU back up and working today :D

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » August 25th, 2011, 4:52 pm

well time for a new build....:)
619RfbdD3TL.jpg
619RfbdD3TL.jpg (79.92 KiB) Viewed 2534 times
71Ui9LaTuiL._AA1500_.jpg
71HwbTti39L._AA1500_.jpg
71fshSvFUcL._AA1200_.jpg
51VTUF9z4VL.jpg
51VTUF9z4VL.jpg (38.53 KiB) Viewed 2534 times
21YIVN9-YAL._SL160_.jpg
21YIVN9-YAL._SL160_.jpg (5.61 KiB) Viewed 2534 times

Virus

Postby Virus » August 25th, 2011, 5:44 pm

Chiney wrote:ohh

well i havent started the gaming part of things as yet. but from my reading, the single 9800gtx might not be the best option for the higher requiring games, so the sli wud be needed. when i run mafia 2 i will let u know

Cool bro post results would like to see the comparison, i personally had only 5-12fps difference both ways not to sure if its correct so i wanted to get others views

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 26th, 2011, 8:29 am

jeevdude199 wrote:well time for a new build....:)

NICE!!!

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 26th, 2011, 9:11 am

For those of you wanting to use a dedicated Physx Nvidia gpu with an ATI main gpu here's and updated HybridPhysx mod:

http://www.ngohq.com/graphic-cards/1770 ... -04ff.html

Use the v1.04 file.

Basically all you need to do is install the ATI card in the system, install the ATI drivers, reboot. Then install the NVidia card, the NVidia drivers, don't reboot, and run the patch.

Use the 'Physx_HWselection-set-GPU.cmd' batch file to set the Physx processing on the Nvidia card as enabled.

Tested yesterday running Batman GOTY Edition with all setting high at 1920 x 1080 resolution and it works perfectly.

Configuration is :

AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.2Ghz
AMD Radeon HD 5970 2gb @ 725/1000MHz (Driver version 11.8 )
Zogis Georce GTS 250 1GB (Driver version 280.26, Physx version 9.10.0514)

Note however you will not be able to access the Nvidia control panel after you apply the mod, you will have to run GPU-Z to confirm the physx is enabled on the card and run a Physx demo as well.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 26th, 2011, 9:41 am

^^ did that already and i must say, works well

i for one done with wanting to have real high end parts, cuz u never use it, and the few times u run a game, doesnt make up the price of the hardware.

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » August 26th, 2011, 7:20 pm

anyone knows if there are usb 3.0 front pannels for like a 5.25" bay?

mickey17

mickey17

Virus

Postby Virus » August 26th, 2011, 7:58 pm

mickey17 wrote:anyone knows if there are usb 3.0 front pannels for like a 5.25" bay?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817364030