Official BlackBerry Thread

Khafra

Re: Official BlackBerry Thread

Postby Khafra » February 3rd, 2013, 12:58 pm

M_2NR wrote:So how many users do you think will use this apk to bar method to get apps? Do u think the average end user will do it?
I think not.

The average BB user isn't going to care, once they have email, BBM, whatsapp, facebook, twitter and a phone. I do get your point though, it's not a mainstream activity.

Postby tr1ad » February 3rd, 2013, 12:59 pm

agreed, but some will give it a try
myself included

Postby Stephon. » February 3rd, 2013, 8:14 pm

I just realised that my 6 months with Bmobile ain't up yet, sheit, full price in meh mc

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » February 4th, 2013, 8:57 pm

after about a month of leaving my dead 9900 in box with battery out, decided to try a new battery and to my surprise, the phone works right now.

Was freezing up tho and updated software and it stopped freezing. But now im getting issues other users are getting, camera causing it to freeze, sometimes rebooting after using it. So im coming to realize its software issues.

Postby Rooki3 » February 4th, 2013, 9:02 pm

the hub on the z10 is lovely, also the cam features

i wantz

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 4th, 2013, 11:00 pm

Finally an ad from Blackberry that I like.

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 5th, 2013, 3:37 am

Excellent Ad! will be sure to post that up this week, thanks

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 5th, 2013, 4:11 am

To the WP7/8 users here, thoughts on this video review vs BB10??

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 5th, 2013, 7:09 am

I give you the notification center... Why ms is sticking with that is beyond me

Ms/wp had over a year to grab third place by the horns but they dropped the ball a lot... Bb10 shoulda come out the gate and made everyone remember them and thus forget wp.

But they didn't, they came out with a resounding meh... Wp has momentum now... And with Nokia allegedly announcing thinner lighter devices and a 41mp pure view wp device at MWC next week it's hard to see anyone who's switched switching back... And it's even harder to see new users adopting.

Just my opinion... I'm just a pleb :)

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 5th, 2013, 12:12 pm

original_lollybob wrote:I give you the notification center... Why ms is sticking with that is beyond me

Ms/wp had over a year to grab third place by the horns but they dropped the ball a lot... Bb10 shoulda come out the gate and made everyone remember them and thus forget wp.

But they didn't, they came out with a resounding meh... Wp has momentum now... And with Nokia allegedly announcing thinner lighter devices and a 41mp pure view wp device at MWC next week it's hard to see anyone who's switched switching back... And it's even harder to see new users adopting.

Just my opinion... I'm just a pleb :)

BB10 devices have sold out in many key UK locations, and thats with being available on 5 different carriers in the UK, they went on Sale in Canada today, so we will see the sales momentum. I don't see WP8 overtaking BB anytime soon for reasons apart from the fact that BlackBerry still has a much greater brand in mobile than Microsoft does. Rather, i think WP8 is going to continue to face resistance from consumers because the interface is "too different", I not saying they think it's bad, i just saying ppl are afraid of change.

WRT to "resounding meh" I couldnt disagree more, everyone in NY who i showed my Z10 to was an iPhone user and they all were impressed by the device, and one wanted to switch back cause she really missed her BB keyboard, even as far as to ask me how much she could sell her iphone for. I could still see many BB users in NY while i saw ZERO windows phones, and i'm talking about in restaurants, subway, meetings, hotel, friends, etc for a whole week.

Also, Nokia only controls roughly 1/3 of the windows phone market, which is already a small market, and while they love to say they made a profit in Q4, the total year figure is still a $1bln+ loss. So Nokia needs to really pick it up in revenue and the 920 seems to be doing much better in sales than the 900 so hopefully they survive.

btw, camera quality on phones only needs to NOT SUCK for ppl to buy it, once your have a decent cam, which most phones do, users won't make it a breaking point.

Keep in mind that BlackBerry was able to outsell the entire Lumia line with BBOS 7 devices that are currently approaching 2 yrs old, all while getting trashed in the media.

I also think the fact that noone cares about Windows 8 or Surface except die hard MS fans is going to hurt WP8, the MS brand is eroding and MS already has a very very spotty history wrt mobile.

All just my opinion and observation
bb10-phones4u.jpg

Postby tr1ad » February 5th, 2013, 12:53 pm

saw a red limited edition Z10 being unboxed over by greek berry

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 5th, 2013, 12:56 pm

tr1ad wrote:saw a red limited edition Z10 being unboxed over by greek berry

Yea..... I'm getting one of those too....

It's waayyyy to bright and glossy for me though, i prefer the black. You know what would be cool? if i got the Red, the White and the Black :)

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 5th, 2013, 1:03 pm

Khafra wrote:

It's waayyyy to bright and glossy for me though, i prefer the black. You know what would be cool? if i got the Red, the White and the Black :)

No that is badmind, cause I ain't have one.

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 5th, 2013, 1:04 pm

LOL, hopefully i will be able to do a giveaway competition for TriniBerry around the time of the local launch

Postby tr1ad » February 5th, 2013, 1:06 pm

Khafra wrote:

my aim when i get my hands on one would be probably armour it up with some carbon firbre vinyl

trying to get my corporate bmobile rep to give me more info on if indeed it will be subsidized and when to expect it out to market

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 5th, 2013, 1:07 pm

The red version is the Limited Edition Z10 only for certain developers (like me), won't be for sale at all (unless a developer sells one)

Postby tr1ad » February 5th, 2013, 1:12 pm

well donate the black to a worthy cause!

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 6th, 2013, 11:03 am

Just to get the white now....
2013-02-06 09.32.29 (Custom).jpg

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 6th, 2013, 11:24 am

That red really does look stunning.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 6th, 2013, 1:56 pm

Arstechnica review of BB10.

http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2013/02/ ... han-never/

"The good:

Unified inbox displays all notifications at a glance, integrates with almost every service you could need
Gestures get you every which way and only require a thumb
Multitude of accessibility options
Downloadable music, movies, and television shows available right from the phone
Responsive interface
Speedy, up-to-date browser with included Reader mode
Keyboard accuracy is fantastic

The bad:

Maps are about as reliable as directions that have been printed out
Voice recognition functionality is sub-par compared to what Google and Apple offer
Time-shift is a neat feature, but the rest of the camera app needs to offer more features
BlackBerry Link is annoying to use and lacks some features for mobile syncing

The ugly:

You probably won't find your favorite app in BlackBerry World for quite some time"

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 6th, 2013, 7:42 pm

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 6th, 2013, 11:05 pm

I was reading that you don't need a BlackBerry Plan for BBM on a BB 10 device. Does this mean that BBM could possibly now be ported over to other devices?

Postby Trini Hookah » February 6th, 2013, 11:33 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:I was reading that you don't need a BlackBerry Plan for BBM on a BB 10 device. Does this mean that BBM could possibly now be ported over to other devices?

But for certain OS7 devices you didn't :|

Postby S_2NR » February 7th, 2013, 12:29 am

What?!? Don't need a plan for Bbm?! What sorcery is this?!?

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 7th, 2013, 1:47 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:I was reading that you don't need a BlackBerry Plan for BBM on a BB 10 device. Does this mean that BBM could possibly now be ported over to other devices?

But for certain OS7 devices you didn't :|

Which devices are those? Never heard of that before..

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 7th, 2013, 3:06 am

All pre BB10 devices need a BIS account, no way around it.

BB10 does not use BIS unless you want to use it, so Email, BBM etc go directly to the internet and bypasses the BIS server at Bmobile/Digicel.

BBM in BB10 has nothing to do with being ported to other devices, it might blow your mind to know that certain BIS services were once available on non-BB devices via ------- BlackBerry Connect,

http://us.blackberry.com/company/blackberry-connect.html

Postby Trini Hookah » February 7th, 2013, 6:04 am

To activate BBM you need a data plan, but on a 9850 i've had it activated on data, and run on wifi ONLY after.

Postby S_2NR » February 7th, 2013, 6:52 am

that is because the service books from the data plan allowed that feature. so that still depends on your data plan.

Postby j.o.e » February 8th, 2013, 6:11 am

Didn't one of the networks say they were launching Z10 last Wedensday?...I knew it was a case of just trying to be the first to the media! :roll:

Postby tr1ad » February 8th, 2013, 10:20 am

it was digicel caribbean , not digicel trinidad

doesn't mean it would be available same day

http://www.fptci.com/index.php?option=c ... &Itemid=32