Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby sharkman121 » September 17th, 2011, 10:18 pm

Matter of fact the only thing i used to add to the tank on a regular basis was the special blend and that done... after that was the B ionic daily until i stopped. In the past month..nothing.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 17th, 2011, 10:24 pm

well i realy dont know why you have an algae bloom. you ever remove all that filter floss and stuff from inside your overflow boxes? you have any in the sump anywhere or any bio-balls? You ever get the pump for the RO/DI?

Postby sharkman121 » September 17th, 2011, 10:37 pm

is that u wondering? i know exactly why i have an algae bloom! :lol:

1. New and improved Lights always bring along algae
2. Insufficient nutrient export (took long to start up my chaeto in the fuge)
3. lack of water changes
4. Definitly not enough circulation in tank..das why i was showing u the jbj pumps i was considering.
5. Using RO but not RODI water. filter in DI chamber dried out, needs to be changed.

i working on them doh worry :lol:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 17th, 2011, 10:43 pm

sharkman121 wrote:is that u wondering? i know exactly why i have an algae bloom! :lol:

1. New and improved Lights always bring along algae
2. Insufficient nutrient export (took long to start up my chaeto in the fuge)
3. lack of water changes
4. Definitly not enough circulation in tank..das why i was showing u the jbj pumps i was considering.
5. Using RO but not RODI water. filter in DI chamber dried out, needs to be changed.

i working on them doh worry :lol:

ok........................................ :idea:

Postby sharkman121 » September 17th, 2011, 10:46 pm

I forget to add... a virtually non existant clean up crew :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 17th, 2011, 10:49 pm

sharkman121 wrote:I forget to add... a virtually non existant clean up crew :|

earl eat out de last set?

Postby sharkman121 » September 17th, 2011, 10:56 pm

either he or the triggerfish. Earl passed on though due to a mishap. :(

wanna get rid of the triggerfish too cuz i really want a clean up crew.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 17th, 2011, 10:59 pm

how much donations you want for him.
you never tell me if you got the pump for the RO/DI,
and you ever remove all that filter floss and stuff from inside your overflow boxes?

Postby sharkman121 » September 17th, 2011, 11:15 pm

prolly trade him for a couple mushrooms or sumn.

yeh i removed the floss after we talk last time, dont wanna cause a flood.

I didnt get a pump for the rodi yet nah, so i usually full the 50 gal rodi cntr with water when the water pressure extremely high (water bussin d pipe). That way i know i gettin the best out of the rodi.
Only have to full that cntr bout once or twice a month and it lasts me.

However i gonna start water changes every week 10% so i gna use alot more water now than before.

Postby sharkman121 » September 17th, 2011, 11:19 pm

Been doing my own investigation on a cpl reef forums enquiring about the best gfo media.

Its between ROWAphos,

PHOSBAN

OR BULK REEF SUPPLY high capacity phosphate remover
http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/store/pro ... te-remover

overwelming majority of reef central reefers use the BRS Product. Interesting.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 17th, 2011, 11:28 pm

sharkman121 wrote:prolly trade him for a couple mushrooms or sumn.

you can get some green and some brown.......... the ricordeas, zumas, d reds, purples and blues aint start to split yet

YEAH, NO PROBS. HOW BIG HE IS
yeh i removed the floss after we talk last time, dont wanna cause a flood.

I didnt get a pump for the rodi yet nah, so i usually full the 50 gal rodi cntr with water when the water pressure extremely high (water bussin d pipe). That way i know i gettin the best out of the rodi.
Only have to full that cntr bout once or twice a month and it lasts me.

However i gonna start water changes every week 10% so i gna use alot more water now than before.

MAKES ALOT OF SENSE

Postby sharkman121 » September 17th, 2011, 11:35 pm

3.5 inches, but he have one eye since January after getting pop-eye. :|

still moves normal though.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 17th, 2011, 11:40 pm

hmmm................. one eye jack?

Postby sharkman121 » September 18th, 2011, 7:56 pm

Hearing alottt of good reviews about this product. Gonna give it a try to remove some of the cyano on my rocks and sand bed in the interim.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 18th, 2011, 9:04 pm

raj have that selling a long time. cant remember the price though .......................... used it before in my 4ft a few times and it really works.
you put 1 drop per gallon and you run an airpump with an airstone. run that for 48hr and do a water change.

Postby sharkman121 » September 18th, 2011, 9:16 pm

Oh ok thanks, well i go check raj first an see if he still have it.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 18th, 2011, 9:17 pm

sharkman121 wrote:there isnt enough circulation in there either, was looking at this:
http://www.petstore.com/ps_ViewItem.asp ... ild=JB6333

other thing you have to look at if you gona run 3 koralias plus these two powerheads is the added heat you gonna get in the water. What temps u get now during the day and in the night. other thing is you have to be careful on your power outlets. these things use alot of watts........................ you better make sure your wiring and breakers good. Also start to run voltage regulators.
Last edited by HondaB20B on September 18th, 2011, 9:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » September 18th, 2011, 9:27 pm

Wont the chiller circumvent any high temps put out by these extra circulators to regularize it to a standard temp of about 78-79 deg?

Yes, i really really need to see about the electrical with all these items i have now. Remember i was asking u wat u did electrical - wise to cope with it?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 18th, 2011, 9:36 pm

HondaB20B wrote:all them thing coming from one breaker?
you should run those tings off voltage regulators.NOT A STRIP EH!!
a guy was by raj some mths ago and he bought d latest reef computer ($15G's). It only lasted 2 wks................ T&TEC had a spike and d computer was no more................

let me tell you what i did.....................
Brought 2 separate lines to the tank (separate breakers)
I wrote down every electrical item i want and put the rating in watts on the side.
Went and buy 2- 600W voltage regulators......(THANKS TO RORO)
Went tru the listing and divided up the items by wattage and by the time they remain on. (so like the 2 vortec pumps not on the same breaker, or the main pump and the protein skimmer. so in the event that one breaker trips, half the items still running)
If both breakers trip or current goes, the battery back-up has power to run the 2 vortec pumps for 15hrs and the air-pumps kick in.

yuh see why ahh say yuh dont read...................... sent you this info when you asked for it from page 100

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 18th, 2011, 9:39 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Wont the chiller circumvent any high temps put out by these extra circulators to regularize it to a standard temp of about 78-79 deg?

Yes, i really really need to see about the electrical with all these items i have now. Remember i was asking u wat u did electrical - wise to cope with it?

yeah it will, but you tell me you aint getting that chiller right now?
Whats your temps.................... day and night

Postby sharkman121 » September 18th, 2011, 9:46 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:all them thing coming from one breaker?
you should run those tings off voltage regulators.NOT A STRIP EH!!
a guy was by raj some mths ago and he bought d latest reef computer ($15G's). It only lasted 2 wks................ T&TEC had a spike and d computer was no more................

let me tell you what i did.....................
Brought 2 separate lines to the tank (separate breakers)
I wrote down every electrical item i want and put the rating in watts on the side.
Went and buy 2- 600W voltage regulators......(THANKS TO RORO)
Went tru the listing and divided up the items by wattage and by the time they remain on. (so like the 2 vortec pumps not on the same breaker, or the main pump and the protein skimmer. so in the event that one breaker trips, half the items still running)
If both breakers trip or current goes, the battery back-up has power to run the 2 vortec pumps for 15hrs and the air-pumps kick in.

yuh see why ahh say yuh dont read...................... sent you this info when you asked for it from page 100

i never said i didnt see it, i jus tellin u why i asked for it because i know i have to do something about my electrical. Aint ask to see it again.

An i tell u i ready for the chiller, but i waiting on Raj

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 18th, 2011, 9:49 pm

WELL SORRY...........................................................................!!!!!!!

Postby sharkman121 » September 18th, 2011, 9:53 pm

How much for the Voltage Regulator u got from RORO

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 18th, 2011, 9:59 pm

I REALIZE I SHOULD JUST KEEP MY MOUTH QUIET AND BE LIKE ALL THE OTHERS THAT GIVE NO INFO ON THIS THREAD AND ABSORB THE LIL INFO THAT IS GIVEN OUT BY THE FEW POSTERS.

Postby sharkman121 » September 18th, 2011, 10:03 pm

Why u say that?

You hadda forget bout them though....if odder men doh post then is just me an you :|

i wish it had more salt men but wha yuh go do.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 18th, 2011, 10:05 pm

............................... :stalk:

Postby sharkman121 » September 18th, 2011, 10:10 pm

yes yes it have lurkers :roll: :lol:

so how much for a voltage regulator?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 20th, 2011, 12:00 pm

Guys, I looking for an external water filter for my aquarium. I tired of the one that hangs outside. I want one that sits outside on the floor and the two hose fills and drains the water at the same time. Where can I get that and at what price? I keep seeing the name raj on the tread, does he sell these items?

Postby sharkman121 » September 20th, 2011, 3:03 pm

Was by raj today, not sure if he has though. U can call him @ 7448768

I have a used one for sale i used to use before i built a sump. Its an Eheim 2215. Google it.

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » September 21st, 2011, 6:31 am

Honda,
How the mushrooms going? The stub from where I cut off the mushroom grow back to mushroom already.
The piece of sps doing good?