*** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Who do you believe will win General Elections 2025?

Poll ended at April 28th, 2025, 9:17 pm

People's National Movement (PNM)
48%
United National Congress (UNC) + Coalition of Interests (PEP, COP, OWTU, LOVE)
44%
Patriotic Front (PF)
4%
Tie/Deadlock
4%

Total votes: 48

Re: *** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Postby paid_influencer » April 21st, 2025, 11:38 am

philip say on his radio program that he willing to be the bridge for any of the pop-up candidates to come to the UNC. He say he will find a role for them in the new govt if they want to serve

but they have to talk between now and next week monday

Postby paid_influencer » April 21st, 2025, 11:39 am

Redress10 wrote:This is one of the closest elections in recent times and will probably go down to the last ballot.

counterpoint: i feel this going to be called by like 10pm next week monday

Postby The_Honourable » April 21st, 2025, 11:48 am

BUT... consider this....

OUR DUBIOUS POLLS

IN 1995, pollster Professor Selwyn Ryan and his group SARA predicted a clear-cut victory for Patrick Manning's PNM in a snap general election.

Basdeo Panday's UNC won an equal number of seats and formed a coalition administration with Tobago's A.N.R Robinson and Pam Nicholson.

Calypsonian Chalkdust sneered at Ryan in song with "Selwyn in the garden hiding."

In 2015, while I was at the State media, Professor Hamid Ghany predicted in a commissioned poll that UNC will win the Point Fortin seat.

PNM took that constituency.

Moral of the story?

As Kamla Persad-Bissessar said, surveys are unreliable.

I add that some are dubious.

Ken Ali - https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=10237316686524467
1995.jpg

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 21st, 2025, 11:51 am

paid_influencer wrote:
Redress10 wrote:This is one of the closest elections in recent times and will probably go down to the last ballot.

I feel is 21-20 or 22-19. Nothing more than that. Not a big swing as some people would like to believe. Both parties are equally detested and ppl voting and steupsing tbh

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 21st, 2025, 11:52 am

paid_influencer wrote:philip say on his radio program that he willing to be the bridge for any of the pop-up candidates to come to the UNC. He say he will find a role for them in the new govt if they want to serve

but they have to talk between now and next week monday

He is one of the biggest turn offs of the UNC and keep costing the UNC votes from middle class etc.

Postby paid_influencer » April 21st, 2025, 11:54 am

redress when stuwatee give his supporters cocyea brooms at the pnm rally, what was the symbolism? that they going to get a cepep work and dais all they good for?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 21st, 2025, 11:58 am

paid_influencer wrote:redress when stuwatee give his supporters cocyea brooms at the pnm rally, what was the symbolism? that they going to get a cepep work and dais all they good for?

Last PNM rally I probably watch was unveiling of candidates. I need one of those brooms for yard work. None of those parties getting more thsn 22 seats

Postby pugboy » April 21st, 2025, 12:05 pm

was waiting on that pollster to jump out
they normally don’t like to be first to come out with prediction

Postby pugboy » April 21st, 2025, 12:07 pm

how did the tuner poll fare last few elections?

Postby paid_influencer » April 21st, 2025, 12:13 pm

no pollster going to make a prediction because of the consequences of being wrong.

strangely 'too close to call' is never considered a wrong prediction, because at that point nobody cares

kamala harris knew the polls well before the election but still everybody else was saying too close to call, because nobody want to jump out even when it obvious

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 21st, 2025, 12:19 pm

paid_influencer wrote:no pollster going to make a prediction because of the consequences of being wrong.

strangely 'too close to call' is never considered a wrong prediction, because at that point nobody cares

kamala harris knew the polls well before the election but still everybody else was saying too close to call, because nobody want to jump out even when it obvious

Call it for we.

I saying 21-20 or 22-19. Nothing more

Postby pugboy » April 21st, 2025, 12:20 pm

it have probably an equal number of ppl who fedup and coming out to vote as well

Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

I feel is 21-20 or 22-19. Nothing more than that. Not a big swing as some people would like to believe. Both parties are equally detested and ppl voting and steupsing tbh

Postby paid_influencer » April 21st, 2025, 12:23 pm

Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:no pollster going to make a prediction because of the consequences of being wrong.

Call it for we.

I saying 21-20 or 22-19. Nothing more

nah, pnm not getting more than single digit seats

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 21st, 2025, 12:27 pm

pugboy wrote:it have probably an equal number of ppl who fedup and coming out to vote as well

Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

I don't think so. The rallies and meetings not as vibrant as before. I think political fatigue set in the country. The ones who coming out and vote not going to swing the numbers in any major way. UNC can't find 7000 votes in pos south to win that seat etc.

Postby hover11 » April 21st, 2025, 12:29 pm

Redress10 wrote:
pugboy wrote:it have probably an equal number of ppl who fedup and coming out to vote as well

Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

I don't think so. The rallies and meetings not as vibrant as before. I think political fatigue set in the country. The ones who coming out and vote not going to swing the numbers in any major way. UNC can't find 7000 votes in pos south to win that seat etc.
Nobody looking at pos south or any other pnm stronghold.... if the ppl of those areas want to continue voting for shite and accept the bare minimum which they have been doing since inception that's on them . We looking at Tobago and the other marginals

Postby The_Honourable » April 21st, 2025, 12:35 pm

hover11 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

paid_influencer wrote:

Nobody looking at pos south or any other pnm stronghold.... if the ppl of those areas want to continue voting for shite and accept the bare minimum which they have been doing since inception that's on them . We looking at Tobago and the other marginals

Yes Tobago and the marginals will be the deciding factors

I agree with 21-20 or 22-19 either way. 20-20-1 is also a strong possibility if TPP takes 1 tobago seat.

Postby paid_influencer » April 21st, 2025, 12:41 pm

redress lemme ask you something, because i genuinely doh understand where you think pnm votes going to come from to give them 19 seats

them voting on what,
performance?
race?
patronage?

because pnm providing none of those things this time around

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 21st, 2025, 12:43 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

paid_influencer wrote:

Yes Tobago and the marginals will be the deciding factors

I agree with 21-20 or 22-19 either way. 20-20-1 is also a strong possibility if TPP takes 1 tobago seat.

The problem I have with TPP is they also fighting PDP. When Watson and PDP was at the height of their popularity they still lost to PNM by somewhat wide margins. Today TPP and Farley are even less liked by the population and they also have to fight Watson.

I think Watson is fighting for his political life right now cause after this is THA elections which he may also contest and lose. So I'm sure he wants to put a dent in the TPP moving forward.

I think this election is decided in Trinidad tbh.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 21st, 2025, 12:44 pm

paid_influencer wrote:redress lemme ask you something, because i genuinely doh understand where you think pnm votes going to come from to give them 19 seats

them voting on what,
performance?
race?
patronage?

Voting is more or less 51 vs 49 in any election. Both parties more or less will always have 18 seats. So you start counting from there

Postby hover11 » April 21st, 2025, 12:47 pm

paid_influencer wrote:redress lemme ask you something, because i genuinely doh understand where you think pnm votes going to come from to give them 19 seats

them voting on what,
performance?
race?
patronage?

Imagine just today someone i know called UNC a racial party i said no problem please tell me what has PNM done for the black man for the past ten years ....they couldn't answer.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 21st, 2025, 12:49 pm

hover11 wrote:

them voting on what,
performance?
race?
patronage?

Imagine just today someone i know called UNC a racial party i said no problem please tell me what has PNM done for the black man for the past ten years ....they couldn't answer.

What the pnm do for the injun ppl?

Postby paid_influencer » April 21st, 2025, 12:50 pm

this election in particular has special circumstances though. We probably at the worst point in the island's history, even worse than 1986.

1986 is the start point for discussion. 33-3 is the start point for discussion.

i get that the pnm has built a patronage network from cepep, urp, contracts, etc, but that has not been fed in a long time. yellow-is-the-code is literally unc saying we taking over those same patronage networks that the pnm was hoping to save them

Postby hover11 » April 21st, 2025, 12:52 pm

Redress10 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

them voting on what,
performance?
race?
patronage?

Ok so you admit they did absolutely NOTHING for anyone so why should ppl vote them back in

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 21st, 2025, 12:56 pm

paid_influencer wrote:this election in particular has special circumstances though. We probably at the worst point in the island's history, even worse than 1986.

1986 is the start point for discussion. 33-3 is the start point for discussion.

i get that the pnm has built a patronage network from cepep, urp, contracts, etc, but that has not been fed in a long time. yellow-is-the-code is literally unc saying we taking over those same patronage networks that the pnm was hoping to save them

Well if you think that you fighting a PNM who core base is Cepep and urp etc then prepare to lose the election and keep away from being a UNC strategist. You have absolutely no clue what a pnm supporter is. You quicker see those cepep and urp ppl in UNC meeting blowing horn.

Ask yourself this. A young indian man has more in common with Stuart or Kamla? You know that men voted overwhelmingly in favour of Trump vs Kamla? Does Kamla even command the woman vote?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 21st, 2025, 12:56 pm

hover11 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

them voting on what,
performance?
race?
patronage?

Ok so you admit they did absolutely NOTHING for anyone so why should ppl vote them back in

Did they or did they not do anything for injun people?

Postby MaxPower » April 21st, 2025, 12:57 pm

How you Trinis feeling as elections date comes closer and closer?

Allyuh going out there and voting and hoping for “change” ent?

If PNM wins, ent allyuh say another 5 years and allyuh go dead? Saying that decades now.

If UNC wins….all them promises being made. How hard is it to say the promises can no longer be fulfilled because of the previous Govt. So blame Rowley? Then what? Elections come around again and the cycle resets and allyuh fall for it yet another time.

Regardless of who wins…what about the ignorant Trini mentality and all the littering and nastiness? What about the poor work ethics/etiquette? The blasted laziness and smartmanism and embarrassment on the globe….when all this changing?

Carry on yes.

Postby bluefete » April 21st, 2025, 12:58 pm

Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

But aa, yuh finally starting to make sense. Yuh was trolling ... errmm ... wukking hard fuh yuh PNM money before or what? :lol: :lol:

Fully agree with you there. Keep your eye on Tobago though. Anything could play out there.

Postby hover11 » April 21st, 2025, 1:00 pm

MaxPower wrote:How you Trinis feeling as elections date comes closer and closer?

Allyuh going out there and voting and hoping for “change” ent?

If PNM wins, ent allyuh say another 5 years and allyuh go dead? Saying that decades now.

If UNC wins….all them promises being made. How hard is it to say the promises can no longer be fulfilled because of the previous Govt. So blame Rowley? Then what? Elections come around again and the cycle resets and allyuh fall for it yet another time.

Regardless of who wins…what about the ignorant Trini mentality and all the littering and nastiness? What about the poor work ethics/etiquette? The blasted laziness and smartmanism and embarrassment on the globe….when all this changing?

Carry on yes.
Max your PM said he working on how to better the public service and promising efficency yet he has no vision or idea of the processes behind the public service

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 21st, 2025, 1:03 pm

bluefete wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

But aa, yuh finally starting to make sense. Yuh was trolling ... errmm ... wukking hard fuh yuh PNM money before or what? :lol: :lol:

Fully agree with you there. Keep your eye on Tobago though. Anything could play out there.

I don't know why people think is a big swing going to take place. I think 2 seats in Trinidad are in play and may switch hands but I will keep it to myself before they say propaganda.

Postby bluefete » April 21st, 2025, 1:07 pm

Redress10 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

I don't know why people think is a big swing going to take place. I think 2 seats in Trinidad are in play and may switch hands but I will keep it to myself before they say propaganda.

Terry was by me this morning blasting the UNC as a ganja smoking party with no vision and saying that the country will need real counsellors when Tantie Kams enables the ganja farms. LOL.

He starting to sound really desperate though. All kinds of promises he knows will never become a reality.