Re: Official BlackBerry Thread

Postby Rooki3 » February 1st, 2013, 2:14 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:anything new & not seen before

anything new and not seen before on iOS/android or new and not seen before in any other electronic device?

lolwhut?

nah nah

ppl like me jus turned our backs in bb for nun, jus for so

What? :s

Up to now d man cyah say what it is new he want to see. Cyah explain if it's something new not done before on iOS or Android. Cyah explain if it is something new not done before on another electronic device period.

One feature I like in BB10 is being able to share screens while in a video chat. I wish I had that on my iphone. I like that one can switch between video and chatting on the fly in bbm now vs having to switch to another app in standard iOS. I also like the ability to "turn back" time in photos to a point where the subjects all are focusing on the camera or not blinking.

how i suppose to kno what new they should have been, as a consumer, they brought nothing new to wow me, they didnt pioneer anything new

eg, look @ why ppl switch from bb to android or ios

what they have to offer for consumers to come bk?

thats why they lose market share

stop being a flaming fanboy, the phone is ok, but has no wow factor

who vex loss

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 1st, 2013, 3:27 pm

Rooki3 wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:

anything new and not seen before on iOS/android or new and not seen before in any other electronic device?

lolwhut?

nah nah

Up to now d man cyah say what it is new he want to see. Cyah explain if it's something new not done before on iOS or Android. Cyah explain if it is something new not done before on another electronic device period.

One feature I like in BB10 is being able to share screens while in a video chat. I wish I had that on my iphone. I like that one can switch between video and chatting on the fly in bbm now vs having to switch to another app in standard iOS. I also like the ability to "turn back" time in photos to a point where the subjects all are focusing on the camera or not blinking.

how i suppose to kno what new they should have been, as a consumer, they brought nothing new to wow me, they didnt pioneer anything new

who vex loss

lol @ me bein a fanboy. I own a bb and an iphone. I pointed out NEW features I liked on BB10 that NOT on iOS.

If you can't answer a simple question boy rock so eh.

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 1st, 2013, 4:05 pm

Isn't that the same thing people said about the i5?

What allyuh expecting, a phone to cook you eggs and do your laundry?

Postby Rooki3 » February 1st, 2013, 4:20 pm

Rooki3 wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:

lolwhut?

nah nah

who vex loss

lol @ me bein a fanboy. I own a bb and an iphone. I pointed out NEW features I liked on BB10 that NOT on iOS.

i doh give a fack wah u own or claimin to own

I/ME as an individual consumer is not moved to make a purchase, that is MY prerogative, bcuz is MY money i'm spending.

doh try to come down on me bcuz I not moved by it.

yah dig?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 1st, 2013, 4:52 pm

Rooki3 wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:

lolwhut?

nah nah

who vex loss

i doh give a fack wah u own or claimin to own

I/ME as an individual consumer is not moved to make a purchase, that is MY prerogative, bcuz is MY money i'm spending.

doh try to come down on me bcuz I not moved by it.

yah dig?

Well you miss d boat cuz I clearly asked what would you like to see and up to now you don't know what you want. I never came down on you for not being moved by it.

Postby Rooki3 » February 1st, 2013, 4:56 pm

oh sheit, i read it wrong the first time

I HUMBLY APOLIGIZE BRO

wud have liked to see something new that no other mobile device (that selling) has

sorry again

yah dig now?

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 1st, 2013, 5:01 pm

Blood close to surface inside hurr

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 1st, 2013, 5:03 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Blood close to surface inside hurr

Phones go start to pelt jus now

Postby Rooki3 » February 1st, 2013, 5:20 pm

sowie nah bro, forgive me nah

i'z a jayz fan jus like u :oops:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 1st, 2013, 5:22 pm

Rooki3 wrote:sowie nah bro, forgive me nah

i'z a jayz fan jus like u :oops:

All is forgiven :lol:

dan80

Postby dan80 » February 1st, 2013, 5:26 pm

Estrogen levels sky-rocket without notice qui lol

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » February 1st, 2013, 11:05 pm

j.o.e wrote:When do u all think it"ll land on the networks locally ..March? April?
and I noticed now that it doesn't require a specialized BlackBerry data package. How u all think that will change things?

I read on the Guardian that Digicel releasing it on Wednesday hopefully this is true

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 2nd, 2013, 5:03 pm

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » February 2nd, 2013, 6:25 pm

any word on when Bmobile would have Z10 available

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 2nd, 2013, 7:23 pm

I have read a lot of the reviews and honestly, using it for yourself will be the only way to understand it, using it for a day to do a review isn't the same, i've had this for less than 4 days and i still finding out more and more,

like there was a review that said you can change the focus point in the camera away from the centre. When in actuality you can drag the focus box anywhere on the screen to where u want the focus to be, which was strange to miss since when u open the camera for the first time it tells you this.

My point is, don't read reviews as gospel because at least some of these ppl can't read a manual of follow instructions and then want to blame the device.

On the topic of Apps:
I have about 80 apps installed on my Z10 right now, including the android version of Whatsapp and Google maps, takes less than 5 mins to do.

I can't express how much i love the "Hub", it really is the centre piece of the OS.

The gestures are extremely easy to master, to minimize anything swipe up. for everthing else there are visual cues

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 2nd, 2013, 7:57 pm

Khafra wrote:
I can't express how much i love the "Hub", it really is the centre piece of the OS.

The gestures are extremely easy to master, to minimize anything swipe up. for everthing else there are visual cues

WP much? Sigh...

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » February 2nd, 2013, 8:04 pm

you could focus anywhere on the s3 camera too...just tap the screen.

Postby M_2NR » February 2nd, 2013, 8:39 pm

Khafra what's the method to get android apps on bb10?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 2nd, 2013, 8:46 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:you could focus anywhere on the s3 camera too...just tap the screen.

Missed the point?

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 3rd, 2013, 12:43 am

original_lollybob wrote:
Khafra wrote:

WP much? Sigh...

The Hub on BB10 is much nicer than what I experienced on a WP7.5 Samsung Focus S i have for about 6 months, not sure if WP8 is different.

on WP7.5 the message hub didnt include things like twitter and gchat conversations or notifications, tasks and calendar appointments in that one interface (AKAIR).

And btw, the playbook OS had a similar feature set and that was launched in May 2010, not saying WP doesnt have a Hub, not saying it isn't good. Just saying that i love the Hub as implemented on BB10

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 3rd, 2013, 12:47 am

M_2NR wrote:Khafra what's the method to get android apps on bb10?

there are a few sites that have libraries of already repackaged Android apps,

http://apk2bar.unker.net/
http://goodereader.com/apps/category/playbook/
http://bb10bars.net/

You use a free utility called DDPB which allows you to select the app file and install it directly from your PC. It's what i use when i'm testing apps for BB10. Takes 5 mins start to finish.

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 3rd, 2013, 1:38 am

Another item contrary to what some reviews had stated - Cloud Storage

BB10 comes with Box and Dropbox Integration out of the box, this is a screenshot of the Box app showing that you can have all your photos and videos automatically synced in the cloud.

btw when you use the native file manager it shows you your cloud storage folders and you can very easily copy/paste files and folders between them, and it shows you the transfer progress while it uploads/downloads.
IMG_00000614 (Small).png
IMG_00000614 (Small).png (34.25 KiB) Viewed 2703 times

Postby M_2NR » February 3rd, 2013, 5:48 am

Khafra wrote:

there are a few sites that have libraries of already repackaged Android apps,

http://apk2bar.unker.net/
http://goodereader.com/apps/category/playbook/
http://bb10bars.net/

You use a free utility called DDPB which allows you to select the app file and install it directly from your PC. It's what i use when i'm testing apps for BB10. Takes 5 mins start to finish.

Thanks man!

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » February 3rd, 2013, 8:52 am

This shoul help if u haven't seen already

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=myULSQLZVWY

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 3rd, 2013, 9:17 am

Wow, nice very cool discovery - when you edit a draft email in Gmail on your PC, it pops up in the BB10 Hub so you can continue to edite/send from your phone, nice indeed

Postby j.o.e » February 3rd, 2013, 9:44 am

Khafra tell us more cool stuff while we wait to experience first hand...any major improvements/surprises in the regular social apps? FB, Twitter, Foursquare

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 3rd, 2013, 10:08 am

BlackBerry Protect is now built into the OS, so no need to install separately like on BBOS, you sign in with your BBID and it:

tracks your phone and
    allows you to see it on a map
    lock the screen,
    post messages to the screen,
    force it to make a noise or
    remote wipe the device.

the online interface also tells you the battery and reception levels on the device. hopefully the fact t's now built in will get more ppl to use it instead of msging me after it's stolen to find out how to track it

https://protect.blackberry.com

Postby j.o.e » February 3rd, 2013, 10:26 am

heard it no longer does automated backups tho..not sure how true

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 3rd, 2013, 10:43 am

in BB10 (and BBM7 on BBOS), BBID backs up and syncs all your BBM contacts,

for notes and tasks, you can sync them with an account if you have a supported service like right now i have notes and tasks that sync with my exchange account at the office. Likewise with calendar items.

Other items like wifi profiles and such, I don't see an option, but I can live with that. For the people that want it, hopefully the next update or 10.1 will include more features

Postby M_2NR » February 3rd, 2013, 12:43 pm

Khafra wrote:Wow, nice very cool discovery - when you edit a draft email in Gmail on your PC, it pops up in the BB10 Hub so you can continue to edite/send from your phone, nice indeed

P.S. happens on all devices I use.

So how many users do you think will use this apk to bar method to get apps? Do u think the average end user will do it?
I think not.