Re: Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby mad » June 19th, 2023, 4:15 pm

Postby sMASH » June 20th, 2023, 8:53 am

Hot surface hot enough to ignite - red flag for design

Not depressuring and draining combustible substances to a safe location- red flag fir procedure/training/instructions

Ambulance taking 3hrs to reach when it should be less than 5 - red flag for safety compliance

wing

Postby wing » June 20th, 2023, 9:22 am

sMASH wrote:Hot surface hot enough to ignite - red flag for design

Not depressuring and draining combustible substances to a safe location- red flag fir procedure/training/instructions

Ambulance taking 3hrs to reach when it should be less than 5 - red flag for safety compliance
Epidemiology AND industry best practices? Is there anything this tuner doesn't do?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 20th, 2023, 10:28 am

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/massy-w ... bd1182bc0e

He was working at the facility and encountered a process leak where naphtha would have sprayed onto the worker and he would have lit afire. What would have caused the ignition, I’m not sure. After he would have been ablaze, he was advised by persons on site to jump and they will catch him. After he proceeded to jump, they failed to catch him or failed to catch him properly and, as a result of that, he sustained further injuries by falling onto the floor.” Jackman said he was told the jump was from roughly ten feet high.

Interested to hear the take on this from the more versed folks in here (nervewrecker ? Others?).

Postby sMASH » June 20th, 2023, 10:41 am

wing wrote:
sMASH wrote:Hot surface hot enough to ignite - red flag for design

Epidemiology AND industry best practices? Is there anything this tuner doesn't do?
Ur mommy, cause i have standards

Postby nervewrecker » June 22nd, 2023, 6:05 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/massy-worker-injured-in-blaze-dies-6.2.1734186.bd1182bc0e

He was working at the facility and encountered a process leak where naphtha would have sprayed onto the worker and he would have lit afire. What would have caused the ignition, I’m not sure. After he would have been ablaze, he was advised by persons on site to jump and they will catch him. After he proceeded to jump, they failed to catch him or failed to catch him properly and, as a result of that, he sustained further injuries by falling onto the floor.” Jackman said he was told the jump was from roughly ten feet high.

Interested to hear the take on this from the more versed folks in here (nervewrecker ? Others?).

Unfortunately, I cant comment. MEES has docs with my name on it prohibiting me talking about anything work related, same for the next guy working niquan. PS I don't work there, MEES said I not good enough for them. :idea:

Postby sMASH » June 22nd, 2023, 9:58 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/massy-worker-injured-in-blaze-dies-6.2.1734186.bd1182bc0e

Unfortunately, I cant comment. MEES has docs with my name on it prohibiting me talking about anything work related, same for the next guy working niquan. PS I don't work there, MEES said I not good enough for them. :idea:
Is u who sign the contract...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 22nd, 2023, 10:23 am

Wasn't looking for disclosure of confidential information - more in terms of the engineering (or lack thereof?) behind it....from your/other folks' assessments.

Ah well, I understand if you can't discuss. Thanks though.

Postby nervewrecker » June 22nd, 2023, 12:12 pm

Can't say anything about work or anything about any plants outside. Be it good or bad.

Mind you, there are some plants I have only good things to say. Excellent management, good workmanship, continuous assessment on the facility and how can improvements be made on a daily basis, strict adherence to hse protocol.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 22nd, 2023, 2:27 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Can't say anything about work or anything about any plants outside. Be it good or bad.

Mind you, there are some plants I have only good things to say. Excellent management, good workmanship, continuous assessment on the facility and how can improvements be made on a daily basis, strict adherence to hse protocol.

Good to hear man.

Willing to share any examples of the good ones?

Might be useful info for newer/prospective employees

Postby nervewrecker » June 22nd, 2023, 3:42 pm

Unfortunately, can't say.

I can only hint of two identical plants and they wear green / grey. Management don't play having been privy to some of the morning meetings. Man with the bike knows his stuff.
Last edited by nervewrecker on June 22nd, 2023, 3:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

eitech

Postby eitech » June 22nd, 2023, 5:08 pm

Imagine mees hurriedly emailing their workers contracts to sign today.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 23rd, 2023, 7:37 am

nervewrecker wrote:Unfortunately, can't say.

I can only hint of two identical plants and they wear green / grey. Management don't play having been privy to some of the morning meetings. Man with the bike knows his stuff.

Looks like this is a secretive field after all :lol:

Thanks I guess.

wing

Postby wing » June 23rd, 2023, 8:19 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:

Looks like this is a secretive field after all

Thanks I guess.
It is not a secretive field as some would have you believe. Yes there will be certain trade secrets that would be very very specific to the facility. However, much of the processes can be found freely online in technical publications. I suspect that the E/I tech and the a/c tech have an inflated sense of importance.

Postby sMASH » June 23rd, 2023, 10:34 am

Niquan have have sn inflated sense of competence.

Place hsve to many incidents to be taken seriously.
Like they hire cepep to operate it

Postby sMASH » June 23rd, 2023, 10:34 am

wing wrote:
Alpha_2nr wrote:

Thanks I guess.
It is not a secretive field as some would have you believe. Yes there will be certain trade secrets that would be very very specific to the facility. However, much of the processes can be found freely online in technical publications. I suspect that the E/I tech and the a/c tech have an inflated sense of importance.
I could get s process overview for the backend?

Postby nervewrecker » June 23rd, 2023, 12:44 pm

wing wrote:
Alpha_2nr wrote:

Thanks I guess.
No, they just don't want any pics on the plant. No phones allowed either.

We had people looking at the figure on the $50.00 bill and saying it's devil thing. Our idiots misinterpret things. Some fool saw steam from a plant recently and said it on fire. To prevent this nonsense, just don't post no pics and just don't talk about anything outside. Esp since I know for a fact the superintendent from the next plant under same management is a use here an the engineer that put a lot of work into that place may also be a very active member.

Postby nervewrecker » June 23rd, 2023, 12:53 pm

sMASH wrote:Niquan have have sn inflated sense of competence.

Place hsve to many incidents to be taken seriously.
Like they hire cepep to operate it
I won't say this is restricted to any one place or plant. It have crazy people out here. Any side you turn.

Postby sMASH » June 23rd, 2023, 2:22 pm

Allll over d worle have crazy people.

But which plant have the most amount of blow outs....

Postby alfa » June 23rd, 2023, 2:54 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Can't say anything about work or anything about any plants outside. Be it good or bad.

What you think about the oil field biznaaz? In terms of some of the same things you mentioned above wrt plants. I never worked in plants so was curious

Postby nervewrecker » June 23rd, 2023, 4:25 pm

Same issues like everywhere else. It's the same problems you have anywhere you go. I always say you have to learn to work with your coworkers, it's always a variety of characters but as soon as one leaves everyone misses that person.

Any side you turn is a matter of who knows you and you get a job or have some political affiliation. Square pegs in round holes occupying spaces that younger more able bodied competent and willing to work people can fill. Half the workforce works and the next half rides thier back.

As a result places get rundown from adoption of a "dah good so" culture and when things go sideways and manpower get cut or place close, they does say "Wuck hard to get".
Last edited by nervewrecker on June 23rd, 2023, 4:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » June 23rd, 2023, 4:41 pm

sMASH wrote:Allll over d worle have crazy people.

Boils down to the mentality of the people working there.

Simple as lights, they going from fluorescent to led, you don't need a ballast. So when men switch over they just leave the ballast and extra wires in it. Who is verifying they do the correct thing? Who coming out to check?

They have two compressors and only one works 24/7 for compressed air supply. I suggested we put in a timer and cycle them. That suggestion will never reach the supervisor because one man want to play boss, he alone must go on the supervisor office and give his opinions on everyone else and their performance. Man so brutal I gone to the washroom and he come hot and sweaty, why I not on the job? He was there and I was not present. Did that twice, second time around I politely asked if he would like to come shake my willy to ensure I did go to pee. Had intentions of walking off the job that day. Have to send him a message with this week as talk about the mofo come up.

Postby sMASH » June 23rd, 2023, 4:46 pm

sMASH wrote:Allll over d worle have crazy people.

Boils down to the mentality of the people working there.

Simple as lights, they going from fluorescent to led, you don't need a ballast. So when men switch over they just leave the ballast and extra wires in it. Who is verifying they do the correct thing? Who coming out to check?

They have two compressors and only one works 24/7 for compressed air supply. I suggested we put in a timer and cycle them. That suggestion will never reach the supervisor because one man want to play boss, he alone must go on the supervisor office and give his opinions on everyone else and their performance. Man so brutal I gone to the washroom and he come hot and sweaty, why I not on the job? He was there and I was not present. Did that twice, second time around I politely asked if he would like to come shake my willy to ensure I did go to pee. Had intentions of walking off the job that day. Have to send him a message with this week as talk about the mofo come up.
The 'they' that going with the new system, in charge of the systems snd workers.
And have the ultimate responsibility to ensure the work gets done, snd develop the workforce that can get 5he work done

Postby nervewrecker » June 23rd, 2023, 5:09 pm

As I rightfully said, anywhere you go it have workers and riders. Some want to see progress, some want to see top spin in mud.

Then there is the fact that some people can't change. I tried with people over and over and gave up. There is a different level of dotish out here.

I have met people that can't even connect two pieces of wire together. Others don't even know how to make a proper connection. I had a guy peel a few mm of wire and put it in, mostly insulation made the connection. Compressor burned 3 days later. I had to pay for that. You let a man know that coming out his salary he goes and tell people you rob him and before you know it, have a report in the police station how you owing him money or come make video by your house when you not home and say you hiding from them and owning them money.

Postby sMASH » June 23rd, 2023, 6:50 pm

Industries SUPPOSED to be different, with evaluations snd performance appraisal system.

Not saying it supposed to be perfect , but that where there is a corporate will, there is the way

Postby nervewrecker » June 23rd, 2023, 7:25 pm

sMASH wrote:Industries SUPPOSED to be different, with evaluations snd performance appraisal system.

Not saying it supposed to be perfect , but that where there is a corporate will, there is the way
And if they get a bad appraisal then what? Or they giving trouble? Usually they just get relocated or moved, let it be someone else problem.

Classic case of monkey in selection of trees for ascension. Same people know to get in line when needed and will be the best worker, hardest worker and have everything in check hse wise. It has been the case with men playing the royal ass and when the bikeman outside doing his walk around the same men know to shape up.

Postby sMASH » June 23rd, 2023, 7:34 pm

sMASH wrote:Industries SUPPOSED to be different, with evaluations snd performance appraisal system.

And if they get a bad appraisal then what? Or they giving trouble? Usually they just get relocated or moved, let it be someone else problem.

Classic case of monkey in selection of trees for ascension. Same people know to get in line when needed and will be the best worker, hardest worker and have everything in check hse wise. It has been the case with men playing the royal ass and when the bikeman outside doing his walk around the same men know to shape up.
So there situations where they know to shape up.
Its up to management to replicate that condition.

But, people could run their plant how they want.
I jess don't want to ded there

Postby nervewrecker » June 23rd, 2023, 8:10 pm

sMASH wrote:

So there situations where they know to shape up.
Its up to management to replicate that condition.

But, people could run their plant how they want.
I jess don't want to ded there
As I said, monkey, tree and colonial mentality.

Not limited to plants alone. Anywhere you go, you have the same thing taking place. You have to work for you and work for the next person, be alert at all times and have a good toolbox meeting done by competent person's all the time. At this point, we just have to accept that there are idiots all over and stop trying to fight it.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 24th, 2023, 12:56 pm

wing wrote:
Alpha_2nr wrote:

Thanks I guess.

Understood and thanks. Confidentiality on proprietary processes makes sense.

Not following the whole E/I tech + A/C tech comment though? Not sure what I'm missing here.

I figured the engineering folk would know more about this stuff, hence I asked these questions of folks like nervewrecker or others who seem to be in the know in the eng field.

Postby nervewrecker » June 24th, 2023, 6:04 pm

Im not an engineer actually.

People have to understand how trinis and news does go. You tell someone you saw the neighbor walking the dog and by next week you hearing how the neighbor sold the dog to the Chinese and got a cat.

It's best to stay quiet about what you see / hear or it can lead to a company ending up with a bad image.