toyo682 wrote:The Bible is still the world's best seller, and has been translated into more than 1400 languages. It was written over a period of 1500 years by kings, statesmen, prophetic seers, intellectuals, and commoners.
faith is not righteousness but because i believe that jesus died for my sinsDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:megadoc1 you are being incoherentmegadoc1 wrote:you don't become righteous by works, you become righteous through faith in Jesus Christ
and then you saymegadoc1 wrote:God is righteous not man but he counts your belief in Jesus as righteousness.
but how can faith be righteousness? The meaning of those two words are different!
d spike wrote:toyo682 wrote: can anyone on tuner claim that they are sinless, I for one certainly can't.
Megadoc does! What do you say about that?
megadoc1 wrote:
faith is not righteousness but because i believe that jesus died for my sins
my sins are covered by the blood of jesus so when God looks upon me he judges me righteous
megadoc1 wrote:no one is sinless but through faith in jesus christ
God judges you righteous because your sins are covered or washed in the blood of jesus
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:megadoc1 wrote:no one is sinless but through faith in jesus christ
can you explain in detail to me?
Sky wrote:Worshippers who btw, slaughterd followers (not worshippers) of John the Baptist
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ we are NOT saying God does not exist nor denouncing his power and glory.
We are only saying that this "my way or the highway" attitude that you have is wrong and clearly NOT what God intended.
you yourself saidtoyo682 wrote:The Bible is still the world's best seller, and has been translated into more than 1400 languages. It was written over a period of 1500 years by kings, statesmen, prophetic seers, intellectuals, and commoners.
yet you say it is the word of God
and you take certain parts of it literally to mean what you want it to mean.
toyo682 wrote:
Well I am going by the Bible, I have no problem with what you believe, I have a problem with you twisting the Bible to prove what you believe.
Well, I too, have a problem with you doing the same thing. Why is it when I interpret the scripture, I am wrong, but when you do it, you are right? Are you saying that all those I have studied under are wrong, misguided? Your opinion is your opinion. I am allowed mine as well. My studies guide me, just as they do all others who went before me. Using the label "eisegesis" to smugly give yourself the smell of authority isn't working.
If you disagree with the Bible fine, but allow it to say what it says
Where have I done otherwise? If you can't respond to what I say, chill... but don't come with dotishness, yuh taking lessons from Megadoc or what?
and not twist it to make it more acceptable.
things never change do they, man look at the marvels of life such as the human body, and logical gives reason to believe it came about by chance, just like your toaster or car.
d spike wrote:toyo682 wrote:
Well I am going by the Bible, I have no problem with what you believe, I have a problem with you twisting the Bible to prove what you believe.
Well, I too, have a problem with you doing the same thing. Why is it when I interpret the scripture, I am wrong, but when you do it, you are right? Are you saying that all those I have studied under are wrong, misguided? Your opinion is your opinion. I am allowed mine as well. My studies guide me, just as they do all others who went before me. Using the label "eisegesis" to smugly give yourself the smell of authority isn't working.
If you disagree with the Bible fine, but allow it to say what it says
Where have I done otherwise? If you can't respond to what I say, chill... but don't come with dotishness, yuh taking lessons from Megadoc or what?
and not twist it to make it more acceptable.
...and what exactly is this about, or in response to?things never change do they, man look at the marvels of life such as the human body, and logical gives reason to believe it came about by chance, just like your toaster or car.
What the dickens is "logical gives reason to" supposed to refer to?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:megadoc1 wrote:no one is sinless but through faith in jesus christ
God judges you righteous because your sins are covered or washed in the blood of jesus
I was brought up as a Catholic, but can you explain what you've said here from a practical standpoint?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ we are NOT saying God does not exist nor denouncing his power and glory.
We are only saying that this "my way or the highway" attitude that you have is wrong and clearly NOT what God intended.
you yourself saidtoyo682 wrote:The Bible is still the world's best seller, and has been translated into more than 1400 languages. It was written over a period of 1500 years by kings, statesmen, prophetic seers, intellectuals, and commoners.
yet you say it is the word of God
and you take certain parts of it literally to mean what you want it to mean.
nismotrinidappa wrote:i will try to bring some clarity and perspective about gandhi god goodness and the thread.
this is the most important
matthew 22
37Jesus replied: " 'Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.
38This is the first and greatest commandment.
39And the second is like it: 'Love your neighbor as yourself.
40All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments."
we are to love god and love our neighbour. love them.. no matter what race or religion they are. hindu muslim christian we are to love them.gods love is an all encompassing love. god loves them and you need to love them. they are your fellow man. this is similar to what the beautiful lola and d spike were asking and talking about.
mark 10:18
"Why do you call me good?" Jesus answered. "No one is good--except God alone.
only god is good. Good is perfection. man does not have that perfection.that good is good in the truest purest form and fashion. Therefore NO MAN can JUDGE gandhi or anyone and say yes he is going to heaven or not. That is for God.
man aspires to be good. through sin man became disconnected with god. he sent his son jesus to be the intercessor and create a way to renew that union with god. so therefore it is a lifelong aspiration and commitment to be good and to get closer and closer to god just as jesus did. jesus came as flesh to show man the way to god.
1 samuel 16:7
But the LORD said to Samuel, "Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart."
again you cannot judge anyone.. you do not know their true nature and their heart only god. you cannot say he did this and that so he is going to heaven.
concerning other religions
the example i was given was one of hindus and other religions going to mt st benedict. yes you may know them as hindus or muslims but you do not know what is going on in their hearts and minds.again leave the judging to the big boss
concerning gandhis works. god is good. wherever there is good there is god. when you feed the hungry. when you donate clothes and foodstuff to the st vincent de paul and charity. god is involved.
to conclude . leave the judging up to god. we need to love god. we need to love our neighbour. stop the hating and bashing others and their religions. have respect and patience and understanding. be civil to each other. talk to each other with a kind word and have a willing heart.
megadoc1 wrote:people please note jesus was very intolerant towards evil
Sky wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:megadoc1 wrote:no one is sinless but through faith in jesus christ
can you explain in detail to me?
d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:sorry duane but to be a true follower of yeshua we must be biased and intolerant
This is the biggest heap of unadulterated crap I have read for quite a while.
If by "biased" you mean to prefer right to wrong, and by "intolerant" you mean refusing to accept that which is wrong, then I would agree with you. However, your warped and twisted way of looking at things will claim that YOUR system of belief is the ONLY one - and thus is "right" - and all else is "wrong".
I had pointed out earlier why it is that you refuse to accept the possibility that there are other paths to God, but neither you nor any of your ilk dared touch it...all you could manage was a "that's your opinion", even though the dangers of fundamentalism have been well documented all through the centuries - but I forget, you don't read.
d spike wrote: Help yourself, lad. Find a theologian who ascribes to your brand of christianity, and attempt some sort of learning procedure whereby you can clear up a lot of the misconceptions you cling to as "beliefs". Believe me, your faith will only grow stronger as a result.
sMASH wrote:megadoc1 wrote:people please note jesus was very intolerant towards evil
jesus was rather tolerant of evil.... i because according to your book, he let the prostitute go and just tell her to sin no more, the men and dem who wanted to kill she (wrongfully) we let go, he made wine for the wedding, he disrespected his mother by being harsh, he just stood there and was tortured and killed... he was rather tolerant of evil..
mega,, no, eh
megadoc1 wrote:
Romans 5:19
19 For as by one man’s disobedience(adam) many were made sinners, so also by one Man’s obedience (jesus)many will be made righteous.
megadoc1 wrote:you don't become righteous by works, you become righteous through faith in Jesus Christ
zcarz wrote:megadoc1 wrote:I saw it for my self andDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:again Megadoc1, what proof do you have that your beliefs are correct and Gandhi's beliefs are wrong?
I personally exercised authority over Gandhi's gods
and that authority came from jesus because of my belief in jesus
What are you talking about? What did you see? And what do you mean by personally exercising authority over Gandhi's gods?
megadoc1 wrote:
he was tortured and killed ...for your sake and my sake
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:megadoc1 wrote:
Romans 5:19
19 For as by one man’s disobedience(adam) many were made sinners, so also by one Man’s obedience (jesus)many will be made righteous.
why do you figure God made it like this?
zcarz wrote:megadoc1 wrote:you don't become righteous by works, you become righteous through faith in Jesus Christ
That's crock and bull
because of my belief in jesus christzcarz wrote:zcarz wrote:megadoc1 wrote:I saw it for my self andDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:again Megadoc1, what proof do you have that your beliefs are correct and Gandhi's beliefs are wrong?
What are you talking about? What did you see? And what do you mean by personally exercising authority over Gandhi's gods?
megadoc1 wrote:zcarz wrote:megadoc1 wrote:you don't become righteous by works, you become righteous through faith in Jesus Christ
That's crock and bull
do you have something better to offer?because of my belief in jesus christzcarz wrote:zcarz wrote:megadoc1 wrote:I saw it for my self andDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:again Megadoc1, what proof do you have that your beliefs are correct and Gandhi's beliefs are wrong?
I have been given authority over every god other than jesus,
they are all under me
megadoc1 wrote:zcarz wrote:megadoc1 wrote:you don't become righteous by works, you become righteous through faith in Jesus Christ
That's crock and bull
do you have something better to offer?because of my belief in jesus christzcarz wrote:zcarz wrote:megadoc1 wrote:I saw it for my self andDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:again Megadoc1, what proof do you have that your beliefs are correct and Gandhi's beliefs are wrong?
I have been given authority over every god other than jesus,
they are all under me
megadoc1 wrote:yes show me an unbiased and tolerant "christian"wagonrunner wrote:megadoc1 wrote:sorry duane but to be a true follower of yeshua we must be biased and intolerant@ this.
and I will show you someone who don't know God
people please note jesus was very intolerant towards evil
and was hated and stoned when he speak out against it
I am following HE
toyo682 wrote:So question to those who believe that good works would get you the heaven (if you believe in one). Do we need to repent and turn away from the sin we commit against God, that our good work nullifies as you claim. Or can we continue to sin? If so are you sorry for what you have done that is wrong against God? How many righteous works does it take to nullify one sin? In civil law that fines vary depending on the crime, is it this way with God? How do you know on the day of your death that your good works out weighs your back works? How do we measure it, or do we just hope for the best? Also if your good works are aim at appeasing God’s wrath, is your works of love? Do you really feed the homeless because you love them, or because it is another tick in your goodness column on the day of judgement? Do you really love God if you continue to transgress his law wilfully? Do you think in a court of law, if you say to the judge, yes Judge I did rape that woman, but I was good and kind to others he would let you walk away? If no why does your goodness not supercede, your one bad deed in man’s courts, but it does in God’s? Are we of a higher moral standard that God? Do we demand justice when God does not? Recently I was reading in the papers about a man who was killed, his mother was claiming he was a good man, and he only started selling drugs to help his grandmother build her house. Now lets say he was not killed but arrested and brought to court, should the judge release him from the drug trafficking charges because the use of the money receive from drug sale to do good by building a house for his grand mother? So to sum it up, by whose standard do we measure our goodness, men or God’s? If God’s can you really understand how holy he is?