Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby HondaB20B » September 11th, 2011, 11:11 am

Postby Razkal » September 11th, 2011, 11:01 pm

the freshwater men still alive?? :lol:

anyone ever kept x-ray tetras or schomburgk's leaf fish? i have some tetras and two leaf fish, just want to know of any owners' experiences

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 12th, 2011, 5:57 am

Razkal wrote:the freshwater men still alive?? :lol:

anyone ever kept x-ray tetras or schomburgk's leaf fish? i have some tetras and two leaf fish, just want to know of any owners' experiences

Postby Razkal » September 12th, 2011, 6:38 am

^doh laugh nah..fling pics, soon enough i'll go salt, you guys have some inspiring setups..

for now, i haven't completely tickled my fancy with fresh tanks :P

tecpure

Postby tecpure » September 14th, 2011, 12:48 am

hey i sorry about that

Postby sharkman121 » September 14th, 2011, 12:51 am

it happens, jus keep it clean.

Would like to see some pics of yr marine setup though.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 15th, 2011, 8:20 pm

For all the saltwater folks..................... Raj has the 8oz bottle of purple-up for $50.
i use it and it works real good in my tubs outside

link

Postby link » September 16th, 2011, 9:00 am

http://www.practicalfishkeeping.co.uk/c ... php?sid=54

KZ stands for Korallen-Zucht, the German manufacturer which introduced the ZEOvit system of products to try to achieve oligotrophic (very low nutrient) water conditions, primarily for the care of SPS corals.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 16th, 2011, 12:05 pm

http://www.ivsportal.com/

this realy is d best. cant go wrong with it. i seeing things i never thought existed on my coral and rocks

Postby sharkman121 » September 16th, 2011, 12:43 pm

lewwe see pics a d main tank nah dean..

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 16th, 2011, 4:18 pm

sharkman121 wrote:lewwe see pics a d main tank nah dean..

Soon........................

yuh still dosing with the B-Ionic? or yuh stop

Postby sharkman121 » September 17th, 2011, 3:39 am

ah stop for d time being..

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 17th, 2011, 7:07 am

sharkman121 wrote:ah stop for d time being..

you should of never stopped.................... what were your calcium and alk readings. Now it will go back down and you will have to start over. You realy aint want no coraline algae. How you will make out when you have coral?
It was hard for me to bring mine up at first, then it leveled of and rite now it maintaining nicely around 420-450ppm. my 4ft tank is running nearly 2 yrs now and ketching meh tail to get it to grow. now, after dosing with it 2 wks ago, i have seen more coraline in one wk for the time the tank up.
question............. how much hrs do you have on your main lights for

Postby sharkman121 » September 17th, 2011, 12:52 pm

nah man, high levels of phosphate seriously inhibit the growth severely of corraline algae. Besides the calcium will not and has not gone back down as well as the magnesium and alkalinity. Stopped dosing the 2 part about a month now and tests last week shows calcium at 420 ppm and mag at 1320 ppm

Remember is a fowlr i have, theres nothing in the tank thats using up the calcium like corals or clams. Soon as i get rid of all the nuisance algae and phosphate levels are acceptable, i expect my corraline to skyrocket once i start back. Phosphate bonds to the structure of the live rock inhibiting the growth of the coraline.

Main lights are hardly on during the day prolly bout 4-5 hrs at most. I usually just run the actinics now, wont affect anything really since its a fowlr. I have 8 t5's an i know that the addition of the last set of lights fueled the algae growth.

hanna checker should be in by monday so i can get an accurate reading on what my levels are like and work from there. With chemi pure and water changes(which i rarely do) i know the hair algae and cyano will be gone in no time. Especially with the algae scrubber which i thinking about designing. :fadein:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 17th, 2011, 1:37 pm

you have snails & hermit crabs?
I put in about 20 snails and 1 hermit crab and they just wiping out algae on my rocks. Also have an algae blenny.
no cyno for me cause of the heavy water circulation..................... the corals love it

Postby sharkman121 » September 17th, 2011, 5:42 pm

nah i had about 10 but i down to one hermit crab now. I wanna add about 20 snails and a couple hermits to the tank. i basically have no clean up crew right now..that bad.

there isnt enough circulation in there either, was looking at this:
http://www.petstore.com/ps_ViewItem.asp ... ild=JB6333

the pair of this plus my other 3 koralia shud be more than enough circulation.

I really want a couple vortech but gosh boy i jus cant justify spending $888.00 on two pumps. I know all about the good things and benefits of the vortechs...but goshh it expensive (an i doh normally complain bout the price of stuff)

Postby sharkman121 » September 17th, 2011, 5:42 pm

raj stickin on me with the chiller though. :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 17th, 2011, 8:27 pm

sharkman121 wrote:raj stickin on me with the chiller though. :|

I thought you was bringing one in yourself because it was cheaper of Amazon.
All those products on you shelf under the tank, you still using them?
whats all the products you put in you tank right now.
list them and how often

Postby sharkman121 » September 17th, 2011, 8:36 pm

Nah i was considering it but since you told me about the license needed to bring in any item with a refrigerant, i spoke to raj and he confirmed. That was since May i think. But i didnt have the funds so i told Raj id check him when i have the funds.

He working on a 1/3 HP a customer brought to fix to sell me.

Many things id buy from raj an many things id order online myself...a chiller aint one of them...considering the weight alone :|

Postby sharkman121 » September 17th, 2011, 8:42 pm

not home right now so cant remember all of the products i have there but i use most of them on a regular basis. Off the top of my head i have:

Microbe Lift Special Blend
Selcon
Garlic Guard
Seachem Prime
Seachem Stability
ESV Bionic calcium & Alkalinity
Purple up
Kalk powder (for when i set up my kalk dripper)
Vitachem

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 17th, 2011, 9:08 pm

sharkman121 wrote:not home right now so cant remember all of the products i have there but i use most of them on a regular basis. Off the top of my head i have:

Microbe Lift Special Blend
Selcon
Garlic Guard
Seachem Prime
Seachem Stability

ESV Bionic calcium & Alkalinity
Purple up
Kalk powder (for when i set up my kalk dripper)
Vitachem

why you using all that stuff..............you creating a time bomb rite now. You dont need all that..............

and why you mixing these two.........Microbe Lift Special Blend & Seachem Stability.
you ever thought the reason you might (AND I SAY MIGHT EH) be getting to much algae is because you mixing to much products? Its a FOWLR system you have. I running reef and all i use is d reef crystal salt
Vitachem (once a wk)
ESV Bionic calcium & Alkalinity (Daily)
Kent Marine chromamax (every other day)

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 17th, 2011, 9:23 pm

sharkman121 wrote:http://www.petstore.com/ps_ViewItem.aspx?idproduct=JB6331&idCartRow=27770232&isKit=0&child=JB6333

the pair of this plus my other 3 koralia shud be more than enough circulation.

the money you spend on the 3 koralias and this 2, you coulda damn well get d MP40.................. yuh too harden :D

Postby sharkman121 » September 17th, 2011, 9:33 pm

actually dat woulda be only $200US... nuh even half d price for a mp40 :|

god forbid anyting ever happen to yuh, leave it in yuh will fuh mih nah.

Postby sharkman121 » September 17th, 2011, 9:40 pm

HondaB20B wrote:why you using all that stuff..............you creating a time bomb rite now. You dont need all that..............

and why you mixing these two.........Microbe Lift Special Blend & Seachem Stability.
you ever thought the reason you might (AND I SAY MIGHT EH) be getting to much algae is because you mixing to much products? Its a FOWLR system you have. I running reef and all i use is d reef crystal salt
Vitachem (once a wk)

i doh mix products jus so. i always know wat i dosing.
Stability is used when setting up a new tank...have 3 of them right now.

I use the Special blend approx once every 2 weeks, but right now it done :|

All of them i use but hardly on a regular basis.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 17th, 2011, 9:47 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:why you using all that stuff..............you creating a time bomb rite now. You dont need all that..............

Vitachem (once a wk)

i doh mix products jus so. i always know wat i dosing.
Stability is used when setting up a new tank...have 3 of them right now.

I use the Special blend approx once every 2 weeks, but right now it done :|

All of them i use but hardly on a regular basis.

yeah, but even a mth after you put products in your tank, you still get traces. you even say you hardly change water often. stop adding all different products, make a 25% water change and the skimmer will do the rest

Postby sharkman121 » September 17th, 2011, 9:53 pm

traces of what, Special Blend? Thats a good thing.

Lol relax, i doubt u more obsessive compulsive than me about wat goes in the tank. I does research for weeks.

Stop holding out on me wid d pics!!! :?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 17th, 2011, 10:05 pm

sharkman121 wrote:traces of what, Special Blend? Thats a good thing.

Lol relax, i doubt u more obsessive compulsive than me about wat goes in the tank. I does research for weeks.

Stop holding out on me wid d pics!!! :?

Why use selcon & vitachem
Selcon............
AMERICAN MARINE SELCON 60MLAquarium food booster that features highly unsaturated OMEGA 3 fatty acids, Marine Lipids (200 mg/g), Stabilized Vitamin C (200 mg) and Vitamin B12 Cyanocobalamin (240 mcg). Soak any freeze-dried, frozen food or dried food to give it additional nutritional value or use directly in the tank to benefit filter-feeding invertebrates. Boosts the nutritional value of live brine shrimp. American Marine Selcon does not alter water chemistry and it does not contain Yeast, Phosphates or Nitrates. It also helps cure Head and Lateral Line Erosion / Disease. 60mL.

& seachem Prime................ why use this when you using RO/DI WATER

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 17th, 2011, 10:07 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Stop holding out on me wid d pics!!! :?

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :lol:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 17th, 2011, 10:15 pm

how often u dose with selcon & vitachem

Postby sharkman121 » September 17th, 2011, 10:15 pm

Right...i use the selcon for the nutritional value it adds to the food. (although ive seldom used it in the past cpl months, probably bout twice)
My fish eat very well though...nori algae sheets, spirulina and new life spectrum

I initially got the vitachem for my coral beauty that had a tapeworm, the long stringything that extends from it that looks like sheit. havent used this in about 2 months

Seachem prime, used it alot in the earlies....hardly use it now though but it still detoxifies nitrite and nitrate, allowing the biofilter to more efficiently remove them also promotes the production and regeneration of the natural slime coat. Besides i rinse alot of stuff withtap water, eg the skimmer head when im cleaning it, the HOB filter and the filter pads, carbon filter pads etc. so the prime will remove any little clorine or chloramines that enter the system.
Last edited by sharkman121 on September 17th, 2011, 10:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.