COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 79237 (+898) cases, 2361 (+25) deaths, 13866 active, 63010 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » December 12th, 2021, 6:41 pm

adnj wrote:
st7 wrote:we had AZ from May to July, sino had reached mid july if i not mistaken.

then in mid august we got more AZ, and JnJ

then september was Pfizer.

anyway... keep carrying on 'making statements without proof' frother
Current TTO vaccine usage. Of course this doesn't account for the purported 100,000 people that upgraded from Sinopharm that was previously posted in the thread.

Right so safe to say the majority of the population was inoculated with sinopharm....talk done

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 79237 (+898) cases, 2361 (+25) deaths, 13866 active, 63010 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » December 12th, 2021, 6:41 pm

hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:Hmmmmm.

I wonder if the death rate will fall after we hit the magical 2,500 and the gov't gets the money.
They gonna hit that mark this week by Friday or Sat if everything remains the same
Deaths are within 2% of model projections. The peak number of deaths are expected to peak on or about 21 December.

Postby st7 » December 12th, 2021, 6:42 pm

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
st7 wrote:we had AZ from May to July, sino had reached mid july if i not mistaken.

Current TTO vaccine usage. Of course this doesn't account for the purported 100,000 people that upgraded from Sinopharm that was previously posted in the thread.

Right so safe to say the majority of the population was inoculated with sinopharm....talk done

k

Postby adnj » December 12th, 2021, 6:50 pm

st7 wrote:
adnj wrote:

i see. did sino reach in march btw? i must be forget that
May 19.

Postby paid_influencer » December 12th, 2021, 6:53 pm

https://edition.cnn.com/2021/12/12/afri ... index.html posted:

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa tests positive for Covid-19 with mild symptoms

Postby paid_influencer » December 12th, 2021, 7:00 pm

this is going to sound mad, but everything PEA brother predicted is seemingly coming true.

-places that took very little/no measures to stop covid and did not heavily vaccinate (mostly African nations) had a wave, then recovered with far lower death tolls than developed countries.

-and the virus in those areas is evolving into "milder" strains. Definitely not saying Omicron is milder, but according to PEA brother it would be. and even CNN is saying he right.

PEA brother has a Masters degree from Oxford University and a PhD from McMaster University's Department of Health Research Methods, Evidence, and Impact.

Postby hover11 » December 12th, 2021, 7:02 pm

paid_influencer wrote:https://edition.cnn.com/2021/12/12/africa/ramaphosa-covid-intl/index.html posted:

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa tests positive for Covid-19 with mild symptoms
The goal post has now shifted again, Israel is now recommending that this could do the trick, four Pfizer shots plus booster shots every four months for the vulnerable and for the rest, booster shot every five months not six months. Welcome to the life of injections I guess.

Postby st7 » December 12th, 2021, 7:03 pm

hover11 wrote:

Sinopharm arrived in march and please remember AstraZeneca had it's bad publicity due to clotting issues and ppl making noise over that , when pfizer first arrived it was for children only.

you are wrong yet again. "making statements without proof"

Postby hover11 » December 12th, 2021, 7:04 pm

st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Sinopharm arrived in march and please remember AstraZeneca had it's bad publicity due to clotting issues and ppl making noise over that , when pfizer first arrived it was for children only.

Bro best you be quiet that doesn't take away the fact that the majority of trinis took sinopharm which has the weakest efficacy out of all the vaccines we have. My point wasn't the timeframe but the fact that sinopharm is the predominant vaccine used, try and focus na, wam you have ADD awa?
Last edited by hover11 on December 12th, 2021, 7:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 12th, 2021, 7:05 pm

I ask again, how much licks can one bobolee take?

Postby paid_influencer » December 12th, 2021, 7:06 pm

hover11 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:https://edition.cnn.com/2021/12/12/africa/ramaphosa-covid-intl/index.html posted:

The goal post has now shifted again, Israel is now recommending that this could do the trick, four Pfizer shots plus booster shots every four months for the vulnerable and for the rest, booster shot every five months not six months. Welcome to the life of injections I guess.

quarterly boosters. get use to the pfrase, "quarterly boosters".

:drinking:

Third dose results against Omicron have a big asterisk* next to it, since we don't know how much to drops off with time. Second dose neutralization had a big drop off from 30% to 0% after 6 months in the same data.

so it might look like 2022 would be the year we get plenty boosters, or no boosters. could go either way.

Postby hover11 » December 12th, 2021, 7:09 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
hover11 wrote:

quarterly boosters. get use to the pfrase, "quarterly boosters".

:drinking:

Third dose results against Omicron have a big * next to it, since we don't know how much to drops off with time. Second dose neutralization had a big drop off from 30% to 0% after 6 months in the same data.

so it might look like 2022 would be the year we get plenty boosters, or no boosters. could go either way.
So with that we can expect the ever shifting goal post of the term fully vaccinated to change that would be alot for businesses to change their policies ever so often.

Postby adnj » December 12th, 2021, 7:09 pm

hover11 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:sinopharm, in the best case scenario (2-weeks post-vaccination, no elderly patients, and against ancestral strain), was 79% effective against severe disease.

Where does it fall now, 6 months+ post vaccination, in elderly patients, and against Delta? I don't know, but it is clearly going to be lower than that 79%.

Everybody is at risk now, both vaccinated and unvaccinated.

and that's even before we start getting omicron spreading on the island.
Isn't most of the vaccinated population, innoculated with sinopharm as that was our sole choice as far as vaccines for a good while? Huh would be interesting to see what happens closer to January

Sinopharm's COVID booster reverses antibody decline, enhances cell-based responses - study

"... About five months after a second Sinopharm dose, the average concentration of neutralising antibody against the virus dropped by 70% from the level seen four weeks after that shot, according to analysis of samples taken from vaccinated healthcare workers.

But one week after a third shot, the antibody concentration had increased 7.2-fold compared with the level seen five months after the second shot."

https://www.reuters.com/world/china/sin ... 021-09-17/

Postby hover11 » December 12th, 2021, 7:11 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:sinopharm, in the best case scenario (2-weeks post-vaccination, no elderly patients, and against ancestral strain), was 79% effective against severe disease.

Where does it fall now, 6 months+ post vaccination, in elderly patients, and against Delta? I don't know, but it is clearly going to be lower than that 79%.

Isn't most of the vaccinated population, innoculated with sinopharm as that was our sole choice as far as vaccines for a good while? Huh would be interesting to see what happens closer to January

Sinopharm's COVID booster reverses antibody decline, enhances cell-based responses - study

"... About five months after a second Sinopharm dose, the average concentration of neutralising antibody against the virus dropped by 70% from the level seen four weeks after that shot, according to analysis of samples taken from vaccinated healthcare workers.

But one week after a third shot, the antibody concentration had increased 7.2-fold compared with the level seen five months after the second shot."

https://www.reuters.com/world/china/sin ... 021-09-17/
Adnj, you are depending on persons to take a 3rd shot, the minister of health already said its not mandatory and it does not affect your fully vaccinated status.

Postby adnj » December 12th, 2021, 7:14 pm

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Bro best you be quiet that doesn't take away the fact that the majority of trinis took sinopharm which has the weakest efficacy out of all the vaccines we have. My point wasn't the timeframe but the fact that sinopharm is the predominant vaccine used, try and focus na, wam you have ADD awa?

Where the muthafuckked did you even TRY TO MAKE THAT POINT?

Postby paid_influencer » December 12th, 2021, 7:15 pm

bro, 70% drop after 5 months? lmao.

please get your boosters folks. If you have a relative 60+ who got Sinopharm, they need the "additional primary dose" ASAP just to get up to the base level of protection as the other vaccines.

Postby adnj » December 12th, 2021, 7:17 pm

Postby hover11 » December 12th, 2021, 7:17 pm

paid_influencer wrote:bro, 70% drop after 5 months? lmao.

please get your boosters folks. If you have a relative 60+ who got Sinopharm, they need the "additional primary dose" ASAP just to get up to the base level of protection as the other vaccines.
Sad thing is you can't even switch, if you took sinopharm you have to continue taking sinopharm unless you fly out

Postby hover11 » December 12th, 2021, 7:20 pm

hover11 wrote:

There you go Adnj...

Postby paid_influencer » December 12th, 2021, 7:20 pm

hover11 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:bro, 70% drop after 5 months? lmao.

Sad thing is you can't even switch, if you took sinopharm you have to continue taking sinopharm unless you fly out

you can get as many first doses as you want tho

Postby st7 » December 12th, 2021, 7:27 pm

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

lolll be quiet or what u gonna do? cry to duane or daddymax?

u making a false statement is still a false statement after you stated earlier that people should not make statements without proof. it does go both ways much like the situation with your bumsee.

Postby adnj » December 12th, 2021, 7:29 pm

hover11 wrote:

There you go Adnj...

Sinopharm and AZ were both available simultaneously.

Last edited by adnj on December 12th, 2021, 7:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » December 12th, 2021, 7:30 pm

https://fb.watch/9SfS2aMtbh/

Ian advocating for the vaccine. Good thing he contracted covid before he was vaccinated so he can't say it saved his life :S

Postby hover11 » December 12th, 2021, 7:32 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:

There you go Adnj...

You forget AZ had bad publicity due to blood clots and more ppl preferred sinopharm, the point isn't the availability, point is MOST of the vaccinated population used the weakest sheit which is sinopharm....talk done

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 12th, 2021, 7:42 pm

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:

There you go Adnj...

You forget AZ had bad publicity due to blood clots and more ppl preferred sinopharm, the point isn't the availability, point is MOST of the vaccinated population used the weakest sheit which is sinopharm....talk done

For a man who eh taking any vaccine. How you know which one is the weakest?

Postby st7 » December 12th, 2021, 7:46 pm

a sufferer does realllll study what other people doing and not studying he own self.

ent he on vacation for 6 months since nov 1st? what he doing going to work? :lol:

a sufferer hadda wait for approval and dont get it

Postby hover11 » December 12th, 2021, 7:47 pm

Redress10 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:

There you go Adnj...

For a man who eh taking any vaccine. How you know which one is the weakest?
So I not supposed to keep abreast on the different types of vaccines , their respective side effects and efficacy? Even if I not taking any it's good to know.

Postby adnj » December 12th, 2021, 7:49 pm

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:

There you go Adnj...

No. Sinopharm and AZ were available simultaneously.

Try harder.

Hiccups as vaccination restarts in north Trinidad

FRIDAY 21 MAY 2021

There were some hiccups in north Trinidad on Friday when the national covid19 vaccination programme resumed.

Many people with appointments who were unable to get the AstraZeneca vaccine were left confused at the gates of vaccination sites.

Last week, after the arrival of 100,000 Sinopharm doses from China, Minister of Health Terrence Deyalsingh said people over 60 with or without comorbidities or those under 60 with comorbidities, and healthcare workers would be eligible for this phase of vaccination.

Trinidad and Tobago has also received a 16,000-dose AstraZeneca donation from St Vincent and the Grenadines.

When Newsday visited five sites, many people expressed concern over what they described as the inefficient and unreliable appointment system. Some said they had been struggling to find out whether they had to renew their appointment.

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/05/21/hiccup ... -trinidad/

Postby MaxPower » December 12th, 2021, 8:33 pm

Good evening Team.

Postby adnj » December 13th, 2021, 6:18 am

What makes boosters more effective than the first two Covid jabs?

... Studies show that a booster dose increases the levels of antibodies significantly above the level seen after two doses, which some hope means waning immunity will occur more slowly after a third dose, though insufficient time has passed to determine if this is the case.

Early studies also suggest that the quality of antibodies is higher following a booster. The immune system continues to refine exactly which antibodies are selected and amplified based on subsequent encounters with the virus or vaccine, and studies suggest there is a broader, more potent immune response following a third dose.

There is also reason for some optimism that vaccines may hold up better against severe disease than against infection. The immune system has a second line of defence in T cells, which attack cells already infected. These tend to stick around longer and they recognise parts of the virus that are more highly conserved, meaning Omicron’s mutations are less likely to throw them off the scent. So if antibodies are not good enough to stave off infection, T-cells can swoop in to bring the disease under control before it makes a person seriously unwell.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/ ... covid-jabs