The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby r3iXmann » March 7th, 2012, 9:55 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Ogoar...so far.

It transitions pretty much smoothly, so I can't really complain as yet.

i bring in a lot of torches and stuff for customers

used them side by side with my nexus s and it cant compare :|

image,vid quality,antialiasing etc

Postby Trini Hookah » March 7th, 2012, 10:08 am

Ollour have to realise my Android is a Motorola Charm eh, soo...

Postby r3iXmann » March 7th, 2012, 12:17 pm

apps on sale on google play (formerly market)

Kish

Postby Kish » March 11th, 2012, 8:19 pm

No other phone can touch the Galaxy S2. Recently tested one and it's amazing. Gameplay is PS3 like and smooth. performance is lag free, touch is sensitive and well it's supposed to be getting ICS soon. Also it does native tethering from both USB and WiFi hotspot. so far i tested 2 devices on the wifi hotspot and works great.

Definitely better gaming than the Galaxy Nexus. I'm testing a N9 (Meego OS) right now and the OS is ....meh.... The phone is really slow, os is totally unflexible and boring. It's really for people who just want a phone with a big screen. Nothing can touch android phones.

I broke my X10 mini pro so looking to eBay another android with some bidding wars. Thinking HTC or some other model that has good support with cyanogenmod so i can do the tethering properly.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » March 11th, 2012, 8:45 pm

^
never used Mango did ya?

Kish

Postby Kish » March 11th, 2012, 8:50 pm

Nah, not really liking the mango flavour. First time use and bad impressions. Well i like the flexibility of android so prob just me.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » March 11th, 2012, 9:10 pm

^
shizzle... i just started using mango and i love it...

can't stand the android experience...

good to have 3 solid choices in the market tho...

I'm out... laterz

Kish

Postby Kish » March 11th, 2012, 9:20 pm

yea it's good to have options. the Mango os is good i mean. it get's the job done and it has everything layed out neatly. You get all notifications on one screen. but the only issue is it can't be extensively configured nor adjust the widgets as android does.

But the N9 is a good phone none the less. But i guess after using a Galaxy S2 it will be extremely hard to find another phone to match it up right now.

Postby M_2NR » March 11th, 2012, 9:20 pm

i honestly waiting for tango... (d new one or whatever lol) but lets keep the windows chatter in that thread na. :P
i studying if to use a nightly build for my touchpad... anyone uses the nightly builds?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 11th, 2012, 11:31 pm

I have a hard decision between the Galaxy S2 and the HTC sensation 4G

Can't get either to buy though. Just waiting for these stores in Trinidad to get in stock they sold out everywhere in the country.

But I really like the HTC sensation Ui. I had the Motorola Atrix 2 but didn't like motoblur to be honest so I sold it. I don't want to make the same mistake again.

I really thinking HTC sensation 4G

But also studying how much the HTC one S might cost and when so we could see it in trinidad.

Postby Trini Hookah » March 11th, 2012, 11:38 pm

A guy in the Misc. forum had a new Sensation the other day.

Could try your luck bringing in one, or with someone coming from the US.

IslandShack

Postby IslandShack » March 12th, 2012, 1:00 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I have a hard decision between the Galaxy S2 and the HTC sensation 4G

Can't get either to buy though. Just waiting for these stores in Trinidad to get in stock they sold out everywhere in the country.

But I really like the HTC sensation Ui. I had the Motorola Atrix 2 but didn't like motoblur to be honest so I sold it. I don't want to make the same mistake again.

I really thinking HTC sensation 4G

But also studying how much the HTC one S might cost and when so we could see it in trinidad.

Effectic I actually have both of them. The GS2 and Sensation, it comes down to your personal preference. I used to like HTC sense, but I got fed up of it really fast, the HTC sensation is now rooted and running ICS with a "senseless" rom. I really dont mind the touch wizz UI on the GS2 so I never rooted or put any custom ROMs on it.

4g - Higher screen resolution
GS2 - brighter and more saturated screen.

4g- heavier, feels nice and solid
gS2 - lighter and thinner. It is a bit plasticy but I like how light it is, and it you put a case on it, it feels just as solid.

Both have dual core and 8MP cameras.
It really does not make sense comparing the CPUs to find out which is faster because you are not really gonna notice any difference in regular use.

IslandShack

Postby IslandShack » March 12th, 2012, 1:00 pm

Edit, sorry double post.

Postby sharkman121 » March 12th, 2012, 1:14 pm

dont mind the light and plasticy feel at all of the S2. Doesnt really make it feel cheap to me.

IslandShack

Postby IslandShack » March 12th, 2012, 1:43 pm

sharkman121 wrote:dont mind the light and plasticy feel at all of the S2. Doesnt really make it feel cheap to me.

It is plastic, but I does not feel cheap to me either but some people think it does.

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » March 12th, 2012, 4:50 pm

some advice needed please,

i am looking at buying the galaxy s2 international version from amazon, i was just wondering if i need to jailbreak or unlock it like with an iphone.

it is the Samsung Galaxy S II SA-I9100 Unlocked Phone with 8 MP Camera and GPS support - International Version - Ceramic White

just asking as i am new to the android world

IslandShack

Postby IslandShack » March 12th, 2012, 7:05 pm

bolo23 wrote:some advice needed please,

i am looking at buying the galaxy s2 international version from amazon, i was just wondering if i need to jailbreak or unlock it like with an iphone.

it is the Samsung Galaxy S II SA-I9100 Unlocked Phone with 8 MP Camera and GPS support - International Version - Ceramic White

just asking as i am new to the android world

The i9100 is the International version. This is unlocked by default.

Rooting your phone is kind of like Jailbreaking from my understanding (I never used iphone) but it gives you far more access. Well I used iphones, but never owned one.

However depending on your needs you may not even need to root your phone, unless you want to overclock the CPU and run some apps that require special permissions.
Last edited by IslandShack on March 12th, 2012, 7:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby r3iXmann » March 12th, 2012, 7:08 pm

rooting is NOT like jailbreaking

it basically gives you superuser access

rooting allows you to install custom roms and apps that require root level access to the unix-type file structure (hence the term 'root')

you don't NEED to root your device at all

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » March 12th, 2012, 7:10 pm

thanks for the info guys, much appreciated

IslandShack

Postby IslandShack » March 12th, 2012, 7:33 pm

bolo23, Just to let you know I have rooted all of my phones in the past and unlocked the bootloaders and install custom Roms etc.. G1,Nexus 1, HTC G2 and HTC Sensation but so far IMO the Galaxy S2 works great as is for me. I usually do this when the manufacturer is taking too long to update the OS or if they decide not to update the OS. With the GS2 it is confirmed that ICS is coming, just no date is given as yet.

ICS is also confirmed for the Sensation, the only reason I put a custom rom on that one is because I didn't like Sense UI.

achillies

Postby achillies » March 12th, 2012, 10:57 pm

ICS 4.0.3 has been released for Trinidad and Tobago for the Samsung Galaxy S II

Currently the server is taking a pounding so I am having problems downloading it, those who have their device stock from Bmobile can update through Kies

achillies

Postby achillies » March 13th, 2012, 2:27 am

Chrome for Android is epic and it's still in beta. Couldn't use it on the ICS leaks, but on the official rom, it works perfectly, so far.

Postby S_2NR » March 13th, 2012, 2:32 am

achillies wrote:Chrome for Android is epic and it's still in beta. Couldn't use it on the ICS leaks, but on the official rom, it works perfectly, so far.

welcome to last month :lol:

achillies

Postby achillies » March 13th, 2012, 7:37 am

S_2NR wrote:
achillies wrote:Chrome for Android is epic and it's still in beta. Couldn't use it on the ICS leaks, but on the official rom, it works perfectly, so far.

welcome to last month :lol:

Man, there was nothing I could do. But it's all honky-dory now :-)

Postby sharkman121 » March 13th, 2012, 7:50 am

didnt know there was chrome out for android.... and where can i download ics?

Postby r3iXmann » March 13th, 2012, 8:07 am

sharkman121 wrote:didnt know there was chrome out for android.... and where can i download ics?

it's sluggish..i'll wait for the final product

achillies

Postby achillies » March 13th, 2012, 8:16 am

sharkman121 wrote:didnt know there was chrome out for android.... and where can i download ics?

Over at XDA, CheckFus or via Kies

I am running the Trinidad version and it is running very well so far, I think I am going to flash the Poland version now

If you are having issues let me know, I will try to get a fast link for you

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 13th, 2012, 1:28 pm

achillies wrote:ICS 4.0.3 has been released for Trinidad and Tobago for the Samsung Galaxy S II

Currently the server is taking a pounding so I am having problems downloading it, those who have their device stock from Bmobile can update through Kies

Mine still stock from bmobile. Soon as I reach home I will check on Kies for the update

IslandShack

Postby IslandShack » March 13th, 2012, 2:11 pm

sentraman wrote:
achillies wrote:ICS 4.0.3 has been released for Trinidad and Tobago for the Samsung Galaxy S II

Mine still stock from bmobile. Soon as I reach home I will check on Kies for the update

I just got mine from Kies as well, but it was not available OTA.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » March 13th, 2012, 4:52 pm

^^Charging up my phone now to do the update. So it pumping awa??