Re: Official BlackBerry Thread

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 31st, 2013, 10:45 am

Strauss wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:Maybe people exist who don't need an "Eco-system" and 1000 apps and just need a device that can do what they require a mobile phone to do :|
like be in a well supported eco system?

If you don't require an Eco system then why would you need to be in a well supported Eco system? :|

Which means you don't need a SMART PHONE.
Hell, you don't even need BB10.
Get a Nokia 1100.

Blackberry is dying not because of yesteryear's devices. They have no real eco-system. People jump ship because of how much more they can do with their phones - work, play games, social networks, read books/magazines, watch movies, online purchases, edit movies/phones, create music, stream a presentation, assist with apps for medicine, military, education etc etc

I can do most of what you listed from my curve :lol:

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 31st, 2013, 1:15 pm

Stephon. wrote:Building an eco system is just a few apps away tho. straws you act like all is said and done and you can't do anything more than what you saw yesterday. Jeez

tis not.. cause then wp woulda been app 'complete' by now

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 31st, 2013, 2:19 pm

So besides push emails and bbm, is this new bb 10 worth it??

Wondering if the famous hour glass is finally fixed...

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 31st, 2013, 2:48 pm

Stephon. wrote:Building an eco system is just a few apps away tho. straws you act like all is said and done and you can't do anything more than what you saw yesterday. Jeez

* Does Blackberry have native cloud syncing and backup?
* When you take a photo on your BB does it automatically go in the Cloud so you can access it from anywhere?
* Do music that you have on your PC home also played from the Cloud on your BB10 and vice versa?
* Can you stream media - presentations, movies, games to other BB in the room or TV?
* When you stop browsing or view something on one BB device, can you move to another and continue where you left off? Are bookmarks/RSS also synced?
* Does your BBM conversations also show on your PC, Tablet or another BB that you own so you never out of touch?
* Can older apps run on the newest OS?
* Does Blackberry have equivalent apps for desktop and tablets that mirrors the apps on their phones? e.g. Address Book, Calendars, Photo Editing, Word Processing, Music/Movie Editing.
* Where is Blackberry in the TV room, cars, home entertainment system?

If your average Joe BB offers those, then we have now begun to talk eco-system.

Postby Stephon. » January 31st, 2013, 3:03 pm

Strauss wrote:

* Does Blackberry have native cloud syncing and backup?
* When you take a photo on your BB does it automatically go in the Cloud so you can access it from anywhere?
* Do music that you have on your PC home also played from the Cloud on your BB10 and vice versa?
* Can you stream media - presentations, movies, games to other BB in the room or TV?
* When you stop browsing or view something on one BB device, can you move to another and continue where you left off? Are bookmarks/RSS also synced?
* Does your BBM conversations also show on your PC, Tablet or another BB that you own so you never out of touch?
* Can older apps run on the newest OS?
* Does Blackberry have equivalent apps for desktop and tablets that mirrors the apps on their phones? e.g. Address Book, Calendars, Photo Editing, Word Processing, Music/Movie Editing.
* Where is Blackberry in the TV room, cars, home entertainment system?

If your average Joe BB offers those, then we have now begun to talk eco-system.

Its very possible for ALL of the above to happen with 3rd party apps. I'm saying the phone ain't even have official reviews yet and you already nailing it to the cross and writing it off. I could easily talk about the features of android phones compared to those of iPhone 5 but you wouldn't be too happy about that. And the bottom half of your list is already possible on bb7

Postby j.o.e » January 31st, 2013, 3:09 pm

Everyone needs to take a step back and wait for real world reviews. Phones are like cars...if u like your Toyota go with you bland,boring toots. Everyone wants to say why IOS or Android is better. Its just another option. It has its pros and cons. Stop bein fanboys

Postby Stephon. » January 31st, 2013, 3:12 pm

I find it funny too that you wanna say BB is playing catch up but when basically all the reviews of the iPhone 5 came out saying that iPhone was playing catch up with their "new" block of rubbish y'all were quick to defend them as if they were wrong. Must be sad defending apple yo.

Postby Stephon. » January 31st, 2013, 3:13 pm

j.o.e wrote:Everyone needs to take a step back and wait for real world reviews. Phones are like cars...if u like your Toyota go with you bland,boring toots. Everyone wants to say why IOS or Android is better. Its just another option. It has its pros and cons. Stop bein fanboys

Exactly. I don't understand why blackberry being written off like that. I think blackberry is just an easy target for people to validate their waste of money.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 31st, 2013, 3:25 pm

Stephon. wrote:Its very possible for ALL of the above to happen with 3rd party apps. I'm saying the phone ain't even have official reviews yet and you already nailing it to the cross and writing it off. I could easily talk about the features of android phones compared to those of iPhone 5 but you wouldn't be too happy about that. And the bottom half of your list is already possible on bb7

No I'm excited to see what BB10 offers.
Just letting you know what an eco-system is cause I think most people don't understand when we use that work.

Postby 16 cycles » January 31st, 2013, 3:39 pm

for most ppl.....once the phone

-has a 'free messenger' type service
-makes & receives calls
-manages multiple email accounts
-streams youtube vids
-stores & plays music

the coolness factor / hype etc will make decision after that....not so much the eco system for the majority

Postby j.o.e » January 31st, 2013, 3:45 pm

When do u all think it"ll land on the networks locally ..March? April?
and I noticed now that it doesn't require a specialized BlackBerry data package. How u all think that will change things?

Postby Stephon. » January 31st, 2013, 3:52 pm

I think they would keep the BB services for the bb7 devices and give 4G packages for bb10.
Real my big pretty colorful post on the last page to find out when it would be landing on Bmobile and digicel.

Shut it Strauss you ain't excited for sheit you done write them off.

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » January 31st, 2013, 7:13 pm

sorry to go off-topic but quick question, not sure if anybody in here would know but the blackberry Z10 thats available at carphonewarehouse in uk the sim free ones, would it be unlocked and be able to work on our local carriers?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 31st, 2013, 8:33 pm

16 cycles wrote:for most ppl.....once the phone

-has a 'free messenger' type service
-makes & receives calls
-manages multiple email accounts
-streams youtube vids
-stores & plays music

the coolness factor / hype etc will make decision after that....not so much the eco system for the majority

YES... yes it is the eco-system. Why?
Current BB already do the above. The "majority" left.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 31st, 2013, 8:35 pm

Stephon. wrote:I think they would keep the BB services for the bb7 devices and give 4G packages for bb10.
Real my big pretty colorful post on the last page to find out when it would be landing on Bmobile and digicel.

Shut it Strauss you ain't excited for sheit you done write them off.

Read the last few pages, and quote me.

What I have in my hand is real. What you saw on the internet yesterday is a gamble. Time will tell.

Postby Rooki3 » January 31st, 2013, 8:48 pm

honestly not really impressed, not enough for me to buy bk a bb, but who knows, things may get better

Postby 16 cycles » January 31st, 2013, 8:48 pm

Doubt the majority of iphone and android users integrate phones into an eco system or even use phone to full potential

Postby j.o.e » February 1st, 2013, 6:35 am

Digicel has announced it will be launching the new BlackBerry Z10 smartphone on Wednesday across the Caribbean. “The new BlackBerry Z10 is the first smartphone to launch with the re-designed, re-engineered and re-invented BlackBerry 10 platform, offering customers a powerful and unique new mobile computing experience,” the telecommunications company said in a media release yesterday.

http://guardian.co.tt/business/2013-01- ... -wednesday

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 1st, 2013, 7:32 am

Rooki3 wrote:honestly not really impressed, not enough for me to buy bk a bb, but who knows, things may get better

What would have impressed you?

Postby Rooki3 » February 1st, 2013, 7:44 am

anything new & not seen before

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 1st, 2013, 8:52 am

Rooki3 wrote:anything new & not seen before

anything new and not seen before on iOS/android or new and not seen before in any other electronic device?

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 1st, 2013, 9:24 am

New child
2013-01-31 10.36.25 (Custom).jpg

Postby j.o.e » February 1st, 2013, 9:27 am

jealous

Postby Rooki3 » February 1st, 2013, 9:37 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

anything new and not seen before on iOS/android or new and not seen before in any other electronic device?

lolwhut?

nah nah

ppl like me jus turned our backs in bb for nun, jus for so

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 1st, 2013, 9:43 am

I would say what is new and different is the user experience, it may not be any one particular thing, but together the experience is definitely something i regard as above iOS and Android.

iOS (to me) seems boring and flat, which is gonna work for some ppl, and Android is at times "too much", a million ways to do one thing but really it gets annoying and i tend to disable a lot of stuff. At least in android you have flexibility. but the out of box experience with the OS i would say is something i would rate BB10 for over others

Postby Trini Hookah » February 1st, 2013, 9:44 am

Rooki3 wrote:

lolwhut?

nah nah

What? :s

Postby M_2NR » February 1st, 2013, 11:19 am

Ok so Wednesday for u fanboys? (Jk, don't go emo on me)

Digicel to roll out Blackberry Z10 on Wednesday | The Trinidad Guardian Newspaper http://t.co/FzKb572V via @wibiya

Khafra

Postby Khafra » February 1st, 2013, 11:29 am

M_2NR wrote:Ok so Wednesday for u fanboys? (Jk, don't go emo on me)

Digicel to roll out Blackberry Z10 on Wednesday | The Trinidad Guardian Newspaper http://t.co/FzKb572V via @wibiya

Guardian did a misprint, misinterpreted the press release. The announced on Wednesday, not "rolling out on Wednesday"

Very poor reporting if you can't get simple comprehension right. The official BB10 press releases from Bmobile and Digicel should be out by next week.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 1st, 2013, 1:49 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:

lolwhut?

nah nah

What? :s

Up to now d man cyah say what it is new he want to see. Cyah explain if it's something new not done before on iOS or Android. Cyah explain if it is something new not done before on another electronic device period.

One feature I like in BB10 is being able to share screens while in a video chat. I wish I had that on my iphone. I like that one can switch between video and chatting on the fly in bbm now vs having to switch to another app in standard iOS. I also like the ability to "turn back" time in photos to a point where the subjects all are focusing on the camera or not blinking.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 1st, 2013, 2:04 pm

Khafra wrote:New child

Give me your newborn. :twisted: