Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby sharkman121 » September 3rd, 2011, 7:36 pm

i get a constant dripping from from the both bulkheads where the overflow connects to the piping.

Done say i gonna scrap it down tomorrow and re-do it leakfree.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 3rd, 2011, 8:50 pm

you put enough treadseal on the fittings?
tightening on the fittings to the bulkhead are to be done by hand.

Postby sharkman121 » September 3rd, 2011, 10:04 pm

i think i did, jus need to take time an re do it tomorrow.

Ares what did u use as the screen for the ats? i have something i think may be similar, an old air condition pre fillter thingy. I think illl take a pic an post it tom.

Postby sharkman121 » September 4th, 2011, 1:18 am

jus ordered one

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 4th, 2011, 7:18 am

we might have to call you mister gadget just now...........................lol
Why dont you hook up the phosban and the chemi-pure first and see whats the outcome before you hook up the algae-scrubber. In that way you know what works for you. not saying it wont work for you.

http://www.liveaquaria.com/PIC/article.cfm?aid=89

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » September 4th, 2011, 11:42 am

I got that sheet at the crafts store upstairs trincity mall. It's some kind of plastic mesh. I used sand paper to rough it up.
Not sure what the ac filter is, just make sure it is inert.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 4th, 2011, 11:45 am

ares, you got your phosphate test kit down here?

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » September 4th, 2011, 5:57 pm

Nah, I ordered the API reef master kit on amazon. Phosphate and nitrate came with it.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 4th, 2011, 8:01 pm

thought you go it down here. i need to get back one. my other kit was ammonia, nitrate, nitrite and ph. have to see if i get a phosphate alone down here. Will have to check around and see. anyone seen it locally?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » September 5th, 2011, 10:43 am

hey...right now im setting up a saltwater aquarium..and the only thing keeping back the tank tank....iz the sand and live rock. any one knows where i can buy them ??

Also i hear ppl talking about Raj..where iz his store and are his prices reasonable compared to pet shop boys ?

and im confused about the lighting...the aquarium i bought (100gal) came with two lights..one florsent and the other iz a red sea light .. iz this good enough for a fish only tank ?

Postby sharkman121 » September 5th, 2011, 11:01 am

HondaB20B wrote:we might have to call you mister gadget just now...........................lol
Why dont you hook up the phosban and the chemi-pure first and see whats the outcome before you hook up the algae-scrubber. In that way you know what works for you. not saying it wont work for you.

yuh would think so eh... :lol: :lol:

i gettin to it this week dan

Postby sharkman121 » September 5th, 2011, 11:05 am

greenlime100 wrote:hey...right now im setting up a saltwater aquarium..and the only thing keeping back the tank tank....iz the sand and live rock. any one knows where i can buy them ??

Also i hear ppl talking about Raj..where iz his store and are his prices reasonable compared to pet shop boys ?

and im confused about the lighting...the aquarium i bought (100gal) came with two lights..one florsent and the other iz a red sea light .. iz this good enough for a fish only tank ?

not sure in comparison to petboys as i have never been there, but raj really has some decent prices on most stuff.

What size and wattage bulb are they? should be good enough for the while but ud have to upgrade sooner or later. Some pics would help tho, dont know if u have t5's or power compact bulbs.

Post what u have so far an we'll help u from there.

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » September 5th, 2011, 7:18 pm

He shouldn't have to upgrade for a FO tank, just change bulbs as they get too old.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » September 5th, 2011, 9:09 pm

heyy...the bulbs are both 20W...one is a white light and the other is gives a red light.
I will post some pics tomorrow.. btw thanks for the quick reply

also where can I find Raj does he have a store..or do you have a contact number for him...cuz I realy need marine sand..already got the live rock at Nu Image today and im sure he'll have a lot of things i'll need.
thanks again

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 5th, 2011, 9:25 pm

greenlime100 wrote:heyy...the bulbs are both 20W...one is a white light and the other is gives a red light.
I will post some pics tomorrow.. btw thanks for the quick reply

also where can I find Raj does he have a store..or do you have a contact number for him...cuz I realy need marine sand..already got the live rock at Nu Image today and im sure he'll have a lot of things i'll need.
thanks again

you will have to change the red bulb cause thats for freshwater. If you leave it in, you will get algae growth like crazy
Nu image doesnt sell live rock

http://www.fishlore.com/live_rock.htm

link

Postby link » September 6th, 2011, 6:15 am

fellas....
I'm considering 'moving out' d kois I hve (think there's abt 60-80 specimens of various 'pedigrees' & sizes......never had a plan to do anything with them...was just 'minding' them......
still thinking abt this, though...will try to rationalise keeping them first...but things moving kinda crucial at moment...
pls pm interest...I wouldn't reply just yet, but good to hve options
rgds

link

Postby link » September 7th, 2011, 5:47 am

http://shop.thefishsite.com/detail/1438 ... d-edition/

Fish Disease: Diagnosis and Treatment, 2nd Edition

Author: Edward J. Noga

Fish Disease: Diagnosis and Treatment, Second Edition provides thorough, yet concise descriptions of viral, bacterial, fungal, parasitic and noninfectious diseases in an exhaustive number of fish species. Now in full color with over 500 images, the book is designed as a comprehensive guide to the identification and treatment of both common and rare problems encountered during the clinical work-up. Diseases are discussed following a systems-based approach to ensure a user-friendly and practical manual for identifying problems.

Fish Disease: Diagnosis and Treatment, Second Edition is the must-have reference for any aquaculturists, aquatic biologists, or fish health specialists dealing with diagnosing or treating fish diseases.
Availability: In Print
Publication date: 2010
Binding: Hardback
Dimensions: Unknown
Weight: Unknown
Extent:536pp
ISBN: 978-0-8138-0697-6

if u use the link, u will scroll to quite a few sample pages...
rgds

Postby sharkman121 » September 7th, 2011, 8:00 am

wake up an feed alyuh fishes!!

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 7th, 2011, 4:47 pm

sharkman121 wrote:wake up an feed alyuh fishes!!

you should not even talk....................... yuh fix d leak? yuh hook u d phosban?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 7th, 2011, 9:50 pm

ARES0610 wrote:Nah, I ordered the API reef master kit on amazon. Phosphate and nitrate came with it.

Well i went by raj this evening and got the phosphate test kit from him.............$75
did all my checks
Phosphates - 0
PH - 8.3
Ammonia - 0
Nitrates - 0
Nitrites - 0
Calcium - 450
dKH - 12.1
(dosing with B-Ionic every day)

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » September 7th, 2011, 10:13 pm

You sure you need to be dosing that much right now? If you don't have any stony corals the only thing using your ca and alk is coralline. You can keep softies fine without dosing. Especially with a lot of water volume. Those numbers are good but not necessary or beneficial to a softy tank.

Postby sharkman121 » September 8th, 2011, 9:14 am

HondaB20B wrote:

you should not even talk....................... yuh fix d leak? yuh hook u d phosban?

YESSS!!!!

i aint have the Phosban bought 3 units of chemi-pure elite instead
Last edited by sharkman121 on September 8th, 2011, 9:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » September 8th, 2011, 9:18 am

HondaB20B wrote:
ARES0610 wrote:Nah, I ordered the API reef master kit on amazon. Phosphate and nitrate came with it.

Well i went by raj this evening and got the phosphate test kit from him.............$75
did all my checks
Phosphates - 0
PH - 8.3
Ammonia - 0
Nitrates - 0
Nitrites - 0
Calcium - 450
dKH - 12.1
(dosing with B-Ionic every day)

also what brand phosphate test kit did u get, some of the brands out there are kinda unreliable when it comes to measuring low level phosphates, suggest investing in a Hanna Checker.

Yr phosphates are never gonna be zero once u have life in yr tank and feed food, most it will be is undetectable.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 8th, 2011, 7:18 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
also what brand phosphate test kit did u get, some of the brands out there are kinda unreliable when it comes to measuring low level phosphates, suggest investing in a Hanna Checker.

so how you know the hanna checker reliable

ok......... my phosphates are <0.5..............

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 8th, 2011, 7:39 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

YESSS!!!!

yuh go beat meh jus now???
:o :o :o :o

Postby sharkman121 » September 8th, 2011, 9:03 pm

an i know of the Hanna's reliability through lots of research, no one retail checker is 100% though, but i realised it is highly prefered amongst marine aquarists :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 8th, 2011, 9:22 pm

if yuh say so......................

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 10th, 2011, 7:13 am

greenlime100, read yuh PM.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 10th, 2011, 7:26 am

sharkman121 wrote:From Chai, Same fundamental principle though, i replaced the bogus media with phosban media

:roll: :roll: :roll:

:poke: :poke:

Postby sharkman121 » September 10th, 2011, 8:17 am

yep i have phoshate media from seachem, i put it on the reactor and up to this day never used it. Its not phosban but its seachem phosphate remover, the small white pellets.

I still studyin how or where exactly to put my chemi pure to receive maximum flow. was studying to put it in the reactor.