Building a house in Trinidad

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby Chimera » September 27th, 2020, 3:28 pm

Sherwin William's had a nice 40% sale that ended last week.
Bought a few gallons
worksux101 wrote:I used SW loxon xp on the house and trying ppg sealer and primer at the moment on the perimeter wall.
Can't go wrong with SW but the price is ridiculous.
Will give feedback on the ppg when finished

blacklight

Postby blacklight » September 27th, 2020, 8:09 pm

Looking for a good contractor to renovate a high roof in the santa cruz area. Some of the panels are slighly warped and i want them fixed/changed and repainted.
20200925_175146.jpeg
20200925_175154.jpeg

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 30th, 2020, 12:03 am

Know anyone that can build an extension to a house fully from wood?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 30th, 2020, 6:17 am

worksux101 wrote:Know anyone that can build an extension to a house fully from wood?

I have never used them personnally, but you can try:

https://timberyardtt.com/

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 30th, 2020, 10:32 pm

Any others?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 16th, 2020, 7:50 am

i thinking about moving my driveway to the end of the property away from the middle which it now is. the pavement is one high pavement, would the regional corporation come and break the pavement and move my access or do i need to privately hire someone to dig up the pavement and re concrete ? do i need permission or can i just pay the corporation an they will do it ?

Postby pugboy » October 16th, 2020, 8:11 am

you need corporation permission to do that

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 16th, 2020, 9:33 am

pugboy wrote:you need corporation permission to do that

so if i get permission from them do i have to do the work privately or would they come and do it for a cost ?

Postby adnj » October 16th, 2020, 10:19 am

You apply for permission. You hire the contractor that does the work. The RC comes by and tells you whether it is acceptable or not.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 18th, 2020, 1:39 pm

People usually do it without permission, but if you have bad mind neighbours they might snitch

Postby Chimera » October 18th, 2020, 4:06 pm

Start it like 4pm a evening and work into the night. They can't report it after 4pm as no one will answer. And by the time they get anyone the next day you could claim u eh do nun. Some crew come in the night and do that.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 18th, 2020, 5:19 pm

i want it done with less stress to me. if the corporation cud do it i glad. i studying who to pass some money to tuh get itdone

Mowally

Postby Mowally » October 24th, 2020, 1:12 am

@screwbash I hear yuh with that one :) .Right now I need a self-help grant from Reg Corp, but ppl telling me self-help money get eaten up in elections. :roll:

Good day Tuners I need some guidance. I bought land in Belmont (flat freehold land). I'm not verse with the jargon in T&C but I was given a letter titled 'permission to develop lands'. Approval to construct must come from the Regional corporation. Bearing that in mind, I've asked my draughtsman and a number of contractors if I should proceed with at least doing a foundation, whist seeking approvals, I getting mixed reviews.

The land has been approved for building, but I'm not sure if I should proceed or I really need to wait on that approval. Added to that I want to build using cash, so I don't need approved plans right this minute, but due to renting issues, I need a house to house meh family asap. Utilities are underway, and such.

Also what's the lowest cost per/sqft to get your house built? I was told $350 per/ sqft. I've between $250k-$350k & I did drawings for a 68x24 2 storey (doh worry upstairs will come in a timing). 3 bedrooms downstairs with 1.5 bathrooms, open concept, kitchen/ living room, dining room, laundry, storage 'no frills' bear basics house.
Those who in the field send some numbers nah, I'll greatly appreciate. Lemme know if is better I buy 2 containers :puppydogeyes:

Andromeda_22

Postby Andromeda_22 » October 25th, 2020, 9:39 pm

Does Trinrico sell retail? I would like to get some of those fence rail clamps. I wonder if Dansteel or Bhagwansinghs will have those??

Postby Chimera » October 26th, 2020, 2:39 pm

Yes they sell retail. Budget 3 to 4 hours out of your day for any purchase there though
Andromeda_22 wrote:Does Trinrico sell retail? I would like to get some of those fence rail clamps. I wonder if Dansteel or Bhagwansinghs will have those??

Postby st7 » October 31st, 2020, 2:39 pm

Hey guys, don't know if this belongs here but i'm looking to install an AC in my bedroom.

this is the layout of the room.

i'm looking at accessibility for any AC tech to have a look at it when it need servicing so above the bed might not be practical? I was thinking above the door on the left side but i imagine the drain hose in trunking might look ugly. where would you guys advise?

matix

Postby matix » October 31st, 2020, 2:48 pm

st7 wrote:Hey guys, don't know if this belongs here but i'm looking to install an AC in my bedroom.

i'm looking at accessibility for any AC tech to have a look at it when it need servicing so above the bed might not be practical? I was thinking above the door on the left side but i imagine the drain hose in trunking might look ugly. where would you guys advise?

Can the wardrobe be moved? If yes then that’s the location for it

Postby st7 » October 31st, 2020, 3:10 pm

matix wrote:
st7 wrote:Hey guys, don't know if this belongs here but i'm looking to install an AC in my bedroom.

Can the wardrobe be moved? If yes then that’s the location for it

nah dred. it will take up real space if i put it against the opposing wall.

carluva

Postby carluva » October 31st, 2020, 3:42 pm

Over the bed is the next obvious location

matix

Postby matix » October 31st, 2020, 5:02 pm

You need to consider the conduit work needed, the drain lines and electrical for it. Also the servicing of it when techs come. What will need to be moved when they come to service. Nerve is the right man to assist with this.

blacklight

Postby blacklight » November 1st, 2020, 9:32 am

What is the avg cost to do a roof soffit and bashboard sheeting on 62 x 35ft single storey house?
My gypsum guy is telling me around $22,000, but I think that's it is kinda high.

Postby Redman » November 1st, 2020, 9:36 am

St7.

Factor in....it starts dripping the night before a long weekend...and it takes a while to service.

Ryan197912

Postby Ryan197912 » November 1st, 2020, 9:43 am

blacklight wrote:What is the avg cost to do a roof soffit and bashboard sheeting on 62 x 35ft single storey house?
My gypsum guy is telling me around $22,000, but I think that's it is kinda high.

That labour cost is actually on the very low end...which may mean sh!t work. A roof that size depending on style..hip..gable..shed etc...will be in the region of 35-40k.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 1st, 2020, 10:03 am

More truth has never been spoken
Redman wrote:St7.

Factor in....it starts dripping the night before a long weekend...and it takes a while to service.

Postby pugboy » November 1st, 2020, 10:25 am

i use a plastic container mounted above curtain rod for that already.

the oscar francois ppl have a daughter who was badly burnt when ac above crib caught on fire one night.

*KRONIK* wrote:More truth has never been spoken
Redman wrote:St7.

Postby pugboy » November 1st, 2020, 10:27 am

he say soffits which i think means just eaves
if they using the metal ones it actually real easy to frame up like gypsum and just snap in.
them fellas like to buss price as though it is some high tech work

Ryan197912 wrote:
blacklight wrote:What is the avg cost to do a roof soffit and bashboard sheeting on 62 x 35ft single storey house?

That labour cost is actually on the very low end...which may mean sh!t work. A roof that size depending on style..hip..gable..shed etc...will be in the region of 35-40k.

Postby Redman » November 1st, 2020, 10:47 am

Well I've lost books and pictures because it leaked quietly... seeping down the wall perfectly...to messup the impossible to replace items....

blacklight

Postby blacklight » November 1st, 2020, 1:31 pm

Yup just soffit and bashboard panels are being changed.
pugboy wrote:he say soffits which i think means just eaves
if they using the metal ones it actually real easy to frame up like gypsum and just snap in.
them fellas like to buss price as though it is some high tech work

Ryan197912 wrote:

seekseek

Postby seekseek » November 1st, 2020, 5:12 pm

carluva wrote:There is no way that's a real cost.

10 years ago when I built my fence, which was concrete foundation, full walls in some places, full columns in some places, pockets for iron work and 2" posts for chin link set in short columns and a running length of about 400+ ft, material and labour was about 150k.
seekseek wrote:Trying to do about 250 feet of fencing, based in Princes Town, flat land, and want to know approximate prices so so I can know when to start.

1. Chain link

2. PVC fencing

3. Concrete wall

Got a quote for 25 grand plus VAT for labour and material for a concrete wall with decorative bricks.

The quote was chain link...after all....

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » November 3rd, 2020, 1:39 pm

Is it necessary to pile for the posts that going to hold a 15 ft sliding gate? If I do have to pile, how deep should I go?