That is the first gen i5 cpu logo.

This is the real one:

I still eh want any nah.

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 31st, 2011, 4:49 pm

^ why not?

and yes the Sandy Bridge new logos are the ones with the straight cutaways and the previous ones are the ones with the curved cutaway.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 31st, 2011, 6:30 pm

no need to see the light

the prices i got the items for...cant really compare....

BLEH

LOL

and the board i got for the price does x16 x16 sli and xfire

alot of the p67 board i viewed, for the price was WAY more than wat i paid for the AMD 990FX board

HCCA

Postby HCCA » July 31st, 2011, 6:55 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ why not?

and yes the Sandy Bridge new logos are the ones with the straight cutaways and the previous ones are the ones with the curved cutaway.

Doh want any because i have no NEED for that upgrade now.

You wanted something that could do your video conversion, adobe whatever well, plus you were upgrading from a Socket 775 system so that path was well justified.

The AMD 6 core and i7-930 systems i have perform very well for what i built them for: gaming, video editing, database and web design. To upgrade to anything beyond those will have to be a 12 core cpu (AMD) or 16 core cpu (Intel), otherwise i good with what i have. 8-)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 31st, 2011, 7:41 pm

waz thinking it, didnt wanna say it....:P

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » July 31st, 2011, 8:12 pm

need a bess case for cooling.. have a termaltake A60 but lookin for sumthing a bit bigger..
i have a noctua NH-D14 and wanna crossfire 2 6870 gigabyte windforce 3.. any suggestions????

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 31st, 2011, 9:06 pm

pretty much any full tower offers good cooling

i see circuitzone has coolermaster 690s for sale,

good cooling with those

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 31st, 2011, 9:18 pm

HCCA wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ why not?

Doh want any because i have no NEED for that upgrade now.

You wanted something that could do your video conversion, adobe whatever well, plus you were upgrading from a Socket 775 system so that path was well justified.

The AMD 6 core and i7-930 systems i have perform very well for what i built them for: gaming, video editing, database and web design. To upgrade to anything beyond those will have to be a 12 core cpu (AMD) or 16 core cpu (Intel), otherwise i good with what i have. 8-)
oh so you have it already
the assumption when comparing is "which one to buy"

if I had 1366 already I would not have gone to 1155

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » July 31st, 2011, 11:05 pm

Chiney wrote:pretty much any full tower offers good cooling

good cooling with those

wanna get something a little better looking.. lol.. thermaltake element v black any gud?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 31st, 2011, 11:52 pm

^ which one??

Elyon

Postby Elyon » August 1st, 2011, 12:17 am

mickey17 wrote:
Chiney wrote:pretty much any full tower offers good cooling

good cooling with those

wanna get something a little better looking.. lol.. thermaltake element v black any gud?

If you'll allow me to answer your question, yes the element v black is quite good, I had one for two months, only complain I have is lack of front usb3 ports, but it has 4 usb2 instead, a good bit of space to route cables behind the motherboard tray, best of all its roomy on the inside, supports e-atx motherboard and long power supplies and it's also painted black on the inside.

Something that might be a put off though, the cpu cutout on the motherboard tray is quite small, you may not get full access to the back of ur cpu if you want to change coolers, the usb2 headers are a little different but I got them to work.

Oh and the fans change colours. I personally like it.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 1st, 2011, 12:47 am

Antec 1200 is also very good air cooling case. 3 front 120mm, 2 rear 120mm, 1 side 120mm and a 200mm top. I started using my i7 system in there with a Noctua HSF and got great temps.

The CM 690 case nice too once you organise your fans good.

The CM HAF-X seems to be most sought after currently as well, hard to find one locally though.

Postby bushwakka » August 1st, 2011, 8:47 am

^^ditto on the antec :D

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » August 1st, 2011, 9:24 am

HCCA wrote:Antec 1200 is also very good air cooling case. 3 front 120mm, 2 rear 120mm, 1 side 120mm and a 200mm top. I started using my i7 system in there with a Noctua HSF and got great temps.

The CM HAF-X seems to be most sought after currently as well, hard to find one locally though.

where can i get this antec 1200 to buy??

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » August 1st, 2011, 9:33 am

HCCA wrote:Antec 1200 is also very good air cooling case. 3 front 120mm, 2 rear 120mm, 1 side 120mm and a 200mm top. I started using my i7 system in there with a Noctua HSF and got great temps.

will the HAF 932 be good??

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 1st, 2011, 10:10 am

mickey17 wrote:

Yeah it could work once u install some 120mm fans on the side panel (can hold 4). This way you get maximum board/cpu/ram/gpu cooling coverage.

The unfortunate con of that case is that it sucks in a lot of dust (no dust filters).

The Antec 1200 has filters on the front fans which are in intake position so you get very little dust after long use (i have this case). Plus you can line up the front intake fan/rear exhaust with your cpu cooler for maximum cold air intake/hot air exhaust. :D

Just google the cases and you'll see where fans can be installed for the best airflow for your system. I into liquid cooling now so my system can be in any case with little effect on the cpu temps.

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » August 1st, 2011, 11:22 am

HCCA wrote:
mickey17 wrote:

Yeah it could work once u install some 120mm fans on the side panel (can hold 4). This way you get maximum board/cpu/ram/gpu cooling coverage.

The unfortunate con of that case is that it sucks in a lot of dust (no dust filters).

The Antec 1200 has filters on the front fans which are in intake position so you get very little dust after long use (i have this case). Plus you can line up the front intake fan/rear exhaust with your cpu cooler for maximum cold air intake/hot air exhaust. :D

Just google the cases and you'll see where fans can be installed for the best airflow for your system. I into liquid cooling now so my system can be in any case with little effect on the cpu temps.

what liquid cooling kit do you use?? and where can i get the antec 1200 to buy if i do need to.. i would really like to bring down a case but is real money to clear.. wanted the corsair 800D or 650D. but too much money

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 1st, 2011, 11:52 am

mickey17 wrote:
HCCA wrote:
mickey17 wrote:

what liquid cooling kit do you use?? and where can i get the antec 1200 to buy if i do need to.. i would really like to bring down a case but is real money to clear.. wanted the corsair 800D or 650D. but too much money

Best way to bring in cases is to check Raptor on d forum, i brought in many of my full tower cases and saved a lot on shipping.

The liquid system i using is the one in the Thermaltake Kandalf LCS case:

http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/product.a ... 09&ID=1412

However i changed the cpu waterblock to an OCZ brand and put higher airflow fans in front on the radiator, better cooling performance. Plus my Radeon HD 5970 came with a waterblock on it so that's being cooled along with the cpu.

If u not getting a good case cheap enough wit mega airflow you can just get like ah CM mid tower case which has fan placements near the graphics cards area and get ah Corsair H50/60/70/80 to cool the cpu.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 1st, 2011, 5:26 pm

I don't know if you all can recall this but I posted about a problem where my PC would experience a BSOD when booting. The HDD was formatted and Windows was reinstalled. For months now upon booting, I would get a message from ATI stating that there is no driver installed(when it is) I tried reinstalling it, getting latest drivers online and still the same problem. However I got a patch that was supposed to fix it. The patch was installed successfully but when it rebooted I experienced the same problem. It got BSODs when it booted and it would keep restarting over and over. Is this a problem with the GPU itself or the driver? I'm hoping it's not the GPU since I only got it last year :(

I also experience some weird bands of colours going across the screen that are purple and green :shock: :?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 1st, 2011, 5:39 pm

^^Post pics of what u see on d screen. Could be the gpu going bad too eh.

Get a next card borrow or test yours in a next system to determine that.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 1st, 2011, 5:50 pm

Sorry for the bad quality :(

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 1st, 2011, 6:09 pm

Seems like your video RAM/gpu core going tru.

Get the card tested in a next system soon to better determine.

Your problem sounds familiar to a card i know someone had which did the same thing when the video RAM was going bad.

xaira

Postby xaira » August 1st, 2011, 7:16 pm

a friend of mine was going through this, i lowered the frequencies of the ram and core of the gpu and the prob went away, he lost 150mhz off the core and 400mhz off the mem, but its stable

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » August 1st, 2011, 7:43 pm

HCCA wrote:
mickey17 wrote:
HCCA wrote:
mickey17 wrote:

Best way to bring in cases is to check Raptor on d forum, i brought in many of my full tower cases and saved a lot on shipping.

The liquid system i using is the one in the Thermaltake Kandalf LCS case:

http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/product.a ... 09&ID=1412

However i changed the cpu waterblock to an OCZ brand and put higher airflow fans in front on the radiator, better cooling performance. Plus my Radeon HD 5970 came with a waterblock on it so that's being cooled along with the cpu.

If u not getting a good case cheap enough wit mega airflow you can just get like ah CM mid tower case which has fan placements near the graphics cards area and get ah Corsair H50/60/70/80 to cool the cpu.

still thinkin bout de element v.. wa u think bout da?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 1st, 2011, 8:19 pm

Thanks HCCA and xaria. I have a 512mb module lying around somewhere...ill give it a try

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 1st, 2011, 10:35 pm

gracen wrote:Thanks HCCA and xaria. I have a 512mb module lying around somewhere...ill give it a try

I meant the memory on the video card eh, not system ram :lol:

Yeah so u can first try lowering the clocks as xaira said and if that don't work do a test in a next machine.

Download a program called RivaTuner and do the underclocking with that.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 1st, 2011, 10:47 pm

Sorry...I just saw RAM...didn't look before it to see video :P

And thanks for the program :D

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » August 4th, 2011, 9:16 pm

my lil budget build
8gb ddr3 ram
700watts psu
gigibyte board
amd x3(unlocked 4th core) quad core yippe!
geforce 8500gt(money did done)
040820111369.jpg
030820111368.jpg
030820111367.jpg
030820111366.jpg

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 4th, 2011, 9:59 pm

how do you unlock a core? Obeah?

really cool build, love d board,,, get a better PSU doh

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » August 4th, 2011, 10:02 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:how do you unlock a core? Obeah?

really cool build, love d board,,, get a better PSU doh

yeah i gotta upgrade the psu but not now.....and to unlock the 4th core go on system bios it have.."core unlocker" or sumting......an thanks...:)