Postby firstchoicett » October 12th, 2015, 9:34 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1444700042.592501.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1444700042.592501.jpg (19.87 KiB) Viewed 4673 times

Streaming 4K movie like a charm!

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 12th, 2015, 11:43 pm

^ a 8mb/s connection can stream 4K just as fine, assuming the connection is working. 4K is not impressive, online streaming is compressed video, nobody is impressed with 4K streaming.

200mbps and can't even load google half the time because its disconnecting, 200mbps and still sheit latency. Could have a terabit connection, once uptime and latency is sheit the connection is pretty much useless.

Will happily trade a 200mbps flow connection for a 5mbps Digicel anyday just for that FTTH

Postby Ted_v2 » October 13th, 2015, 4:12 am

I could stream 720 with my basic 10mb flow package

Kronik

Postby Kronik » October 13th, 2015, 6:13 am

Since I had posted I got the moca modem I didn't have any noticeable mini disconnects, only last night I noticed the connection stalling with torrent speeds not crossing 800KB/s while I had some stuff downloading. Will continue to monitor to see if it persists

Sent from my SM900 Note 3

Nightshield

Postby Nightshield » October 13th, 2015, 7:21 am

Guys, I have something to troubleshoot. I'm using one of those 2 in 1 Flow modem/routers (ARRIS TG862G).

I would like to use unblockus with the Amazon FireStick to run (Amazon Instant Video with Prime) on the TV. Netflix is working fine but Amazon isn't.
I don't know how to change the DNS settings in this router because I'm not familiar with this brand. The router's page itself, looks like greek to me (I know stuff, but not much) Can anyone help me, please, thanks. (via PM, or the thread)

scotty_buttons

Flow Internet Thread

Postby scotty_buttons » October 13th, 2015, 7:55 pm

^ Change DNS settings in Amazon fire stick. Not router.

I called flow and they give some crappy reason about the firewall on, that's why I getting disconnects and I have to keep resetting the modem. I'm like.. You can't be serious. And the girl rel defensive too eh. Two days later. Same BS happening. Crappy latency. Can't load websites properly.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 13th, 2015, 8:42 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:^ Change DNS settings in Amazon fire stick. Not router.

I called flow and they give some crappy reason about the firewall on, that's why I getting disconnects and I have to keep resetting the modem. I'm like.. You can't be serious. And the girl rel defensive too eh. Two days later. Same BS happening. Crappy latency. Can't load websites properly.

they told me they updated the firmware which is the only thing they think could be causing the disconnects but couple days later I realize the disconnects still there.

Flow tech literally told me they have no idea at all what could be causing these disconnects it leaves me wondering now. I mean ok if is just me or a handful of people I could understand but this is not the case almost everyone I know who has flow gets these intermittent disconnects. With TSTT unless something was wrong with their network, I would never get these disconnects. Flow tech even told me it could be my "router has a virus" can you believe that? when google and youtube was not working they said on facebook "Google and youtube has been down for maintenancefor the past 3 days and we need to wait for google to sort out the issues" which was never the case. When you ever hear in your life youtube and google down for 3 days?

With flow these disconnects seem mandatory, hmmmm.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 13th, 2015, 8:57 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:^ Change DNS settings in Amazon fire stick. Not router.

they told me they updated the firmware which is the only thing they think could be causing the disconnects but couple days later I realize the disconnects still there.

Flow tech literally told me they have no idea at all what could be causing these disconnects it leaves me wondering now. I mean ok if is just me or a handful of people I could understand but this is not the case almost everyone I know who has flow gets these intermittent disconnects. With TSTT unless something was wrong with their network, I would never get these disconnects. Flow tech even told me it could be my "router has a virus" can you believe that? when google and youtube was not working they said on facebook "Google and youtube has been down for maintenancefor the past 3 days and we need to wait for google to sort out the issues" which was never the case. When you ever hear in your life youtube and google down for 3 days?

With flow these disconnects seem mandatory, hmmmm.

I literally laughed out loud for this.
Flow was good back then; five to seven years ago. I honestly not sure what to make out of all this now. I really wish someone from Flow with some kind of proper basic IT knowledge can give feedback as to what the real issue is.

Postby K74T » October 13th, 2015, 9:00 pm

Working like balls tonight.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 13th, 2015, 9:52 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:I literally laughed out loud for this.
Flow was good back then; five to seven years ago. I honestly not sure what to make out of all this now. I really wish someone from Flow with some kind of proper basic IT knowledge can give feedback as to what the real issue is.

My best friend is a Electrical / Network Engineer. A real Engineer and he says the issue has to do with incompetence and lack of money. This issue with flow will NOT fix, you have to learn to live with it, flow knows what is the cause and why they can't fix it. They just trying to see how they run everything as is till it all gives out, it is true FLOW is bankrupt. And then C&W has to sell their shares in TSTT to acquire flow Trinidad else TATT won't allow it so who knows what going on with that and how long it will take to fix that.

The really sad thing is while flow isn't FTTH. The FTTN network in theory is still very good most is fibre but last mile is copper. If C&W takes over and Digicel is here to give real competition then we may see a change in flow but until then don't expect anything its going to remain 3rd world service till they break down permanently. TSTT don't care because they know their DSL technology is more reliable than DOCSIS.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 14th, 2015, 10:36 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:I literally laughed out loud for this.

My best friend is a Electrical / Network Engineer. A real Engineer and he says the issue has to do with incompetence and lack of money. This issue with flow will NOT fix, you have to learn to live with it, flow knows what is the cause and why they can't fix it. They just trying to see how they run everything as is till it all gives out, it is true FLOW is bankrupt. And then C&W has to sell their shares in TSTT to acquire flow Trinidad else TATT won't allow it so who knows what going on with that and how long it will take to fix that.

The really sad thing is while flow isn't FTTH. The FTTN network in theory is still very good most is fibre but last mile is copper. If C&W takes over and Digicel is here to give real competition then we may see a change in flow but until then don't expect anything its going to remain 3rd world service till they break down permanently. TSTT don't care because they know their DSL technology is more reliable than DOCSIS.

Not accurate, Flow's Core equipment is very strong. Its the Access network that sucks... and as i said before, its the Modems that are the problem...along with the typical copper related issues on a tap etc... There was a point in time where a tap was giving shitty signal due to being exposed to rain.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 14th, 2015, 12:55 pm

^ I see hmm..

Any chance of flow doing FTTH when C&W takes over? Has C&W sold their TSTT shares yet? what going on with that?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 14th, 2015, 2:12 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ I see hmm..

Any chance of flow doing FTTH when C&W takes over? Has C&W sold their TSTT shares yet? what going on with that?

They are already in the process of widening their gpon network

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 14th, 2015, 2:25 pm

^ Flow has GPON? you are not talking about TSTT I assume?

Their GPON is only for the west, they have no intentions of making that available with wide coverage. Who knows why...
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on October 14th, 2015, 2:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 14th, 2015, 2:34 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Flow has GPON?

yup..... but to businesses in POS

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 14th, 2015, 2:40 pm

I see, very interesting. You ever used it? how is it compared to their DOCSIS?

I won't hold my breath, it took flow 10 years just to reach beyond the Airport. their GPON may take 20 years. I just holding out for Digicel because they actually serious about wide coverage of FTTH in a reasonable time frame. The rest of these people look like jokers.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 14th, 2015, 2:45 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I see, very interesting. You ever used it? how is it compared to their DOCSIS?

I won't hold my breath, it took flow 10 years just to reach beyond the Airport. their GPON may take 20 years. I just holding out for Digicel because they actually serious about wide coverage of FTTH in a reasonable time frame. The rest of these people look like jokers.

nah, never used it, doh wah that....

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » October 16th, 2015, 7:50 am

i loled

Postby Spitfir3 » October 16th, 2015, 9:56 am

dean_spleen09 wrote:i loled

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 16th, 2015, 12:03 pm

AHHAAHHAAHHAHAHAHAAHHAA Gibabit speeds with Flow Fibre. These clowns can't even make better than Dial up speeds half the time with a 200Mb/s connection lol.

And just hear how they washing people ass with them fibre lies. I hope Digicel does a diagram to illustrate the difference with FTTN and FTTH so the masses won't be fooled by Flow.

the fact that this ad from flow is out now means the arrival of Digicel is imminent.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 16th, 2015, 12:16 pm

I THINK its happening

https://scontent-mia1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hp ... e=56899872

www.themerger.info is redirecting to Cable and Wireless website. This is the only thing that will save Flow otherwise nobody sticking around for their fake Gibabit Dial Up speed.

So I take it C&W has already sold their TSTT shares and TATT has given the OK?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 16th, 2015, 11:17 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:AHHAAHHAAHHAHAHAHAAHHAA Gibabit speeds with Flow Fibre. These clowns can't even make better than Dial up speeds half the time with a 200Mb/s connection lol.

And just hear how they washing people ass with them fibre lies. I hope Digicel does a diagram to illustrate the difference with FTTN and FTTH so the masses won't be fooled by Flow.

the fact that this ad from flow is out now means the arrival of Digicel is imminent.

this gigabit is being done via gpon... not docsis.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 16th, 2015, 11:24 pm

^ thats Amazing

But how long they going to take to have coverage in all areas that the DOCSIS is already at? because right now Digicel running Fibre in the Jungle of Las Lomas.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 17th, 2015, 9:32 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ thats Amazing

But how long they going to take to have coverage in all areas that the DOCSIS is already at? because right now Digicel running Fibre in the Jungle of Las Lomas.

idk....them backward when they ready.....

M3ga_1

Postby M3ga_1 » October 17th, 2015, 10:13 am

Yuh know what is strange. I ent hearing about these clone modems again . :grin:.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 17th, 2015, 10:25 am

Gpon system with Flow costing 2000.00

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 17th, 2015, 10:56 am

^ Where it reach? what coverage? $2000 can't help nobody outside west morrings

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 17th, 2015, 1:08 pm

^ did not find out exactly where it reach but they said its ready in my area Point Lisas. Considering taking it since 200MB cost 1150 + VAT.
Going to get a demo for a month.
Flow working good in my area can't complain.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 17th, 2015, 2:21 pm

firstchoicett wrote:Gpon system with Flow costing 2000.00

$1999 to be exact eh lol.....