*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

iM@st@1

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby iM@st@1 » September 6th, 2012, 9:04 am

Thanks Russell, will look into it.

Does any1 have any Cerwin Vega speakers in their setup, considering to start with these for my F/R. Considering the reviews they seem to be great performers

Anton

Postby Anton » September 6th, 2012, 10:08 am

blaine wrote:Found this top ten reviews while researching subs.

http://home-subwoofers-review.toptenreviews.com/

For $200.00 on Amazon the BIC sounds like a deal. Anyone here have any reviews??

I believe 2nrSmurf has a BIC formula set, maybe he can provide a review.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » September 6th, 2012, 10:47 am

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 6th, 2012, 11:02 am

^you cant go wrong with any denon receiver really.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » September 6th, 2012, 11:05 am

ru$$ell wrote:^you cant go wrong with any denon receiver really.

Was on Amazon last night and saw it....will cost less than 5K landed :shock:

Postby Rainman » September 8th, 2012, 12:34 am

Currently doing a system for my bedroom, the receiver is a pioneer vsx821, I have my front, rear and center channels sorted but I need a powered sub. Can one be sourced locally? I'm really trying to avoid the shipping charges.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2012, 1:03 am

^ sea freight

or you can just order a plate amp on eBay and build the box yourself

Postby X_Factor » September 8th, 2012, 9:25 am

plate amp and diy sub!!

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 8th, 2012, 1:04 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:

pull the trigger!

blaine

Postby blaine » September 8th, 2012, 9:01 pm

Anton wrote:

For $200.00 on Amazon the BIC sounds like a deal. Anyone here have any reviews??

I already pulled the trigger on it. Ordered it of Amazon, but I still would like local review on it, read alot of online reviews and most were excellent for the price point. I know there are alot of better subs out there but for the price i think it's worth a try. I may even get another...Onkyo 609 supports 7.2.

blaine

Postby blaine » September 8th, 2012, 9:15 pm

blaine wrote:I have a question directed to any Onkyo TX NR609 users concerning the firmware update...anyone had any issues after the update? I've read online that some people have had issues after updating the firmware. Also I'm looking for a powered sub...what you all got for sale or recommendations please.

Ok since I did not get any feedback form the forum I'll answer my own question. I went ahead and updated the firmware via USB and I must say that I'm glad I did. I haven't had any problems so far...(knocks on wood)...The picture quality on both Netflix (streaming via Apple tv) and local cable (Flow) has improved alot. The upscaling of the receiver looks way better now and it has also corrected some auto tune issues. It's like i have a brand new receiver.

Postby 16 cycles » September 9th, 2012, 9:26 pm

nice workout for a system....

drop ho

Postby drop ho » September 10th, 2012, 10:00 am

X_Factor wrote:plate amp and diy sub!!

pics of your build?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 10th, 2012, 5:56 pm

blaine wrote:
Anton wrote:

I already pulled the trigger on it. Ordered it of Amazon, but I still would like local review on it, read alot of online reviews and most were excellent for the price point. I know there are alot of better subs out there but for the price i think it's worth a try. I may even get another...Onkyo 609 supports 7.2.

You really would be hard-pressed to find a better sub for this price. I paid $260 for mine back in april '11 so that current price is a steal. At one point in time amazon had it for below $200!
IMHO its great for movie watching and definitely holds its own musically. Its a bit powerful when gaming though i often find myself turning it down to 1/3 power . I've never had to use it above 1/2 when watching movies or listening to music.

I was so impressed by the bang for the buck offered by the F12 that the 5 other speakers in my HT setup are also BIC units.

Postby pioneer » September 10th, 2012, 6:10 pm

BIC makes some nice stuff, others won't agree unless the subwoofer costs $500+ USD

Anton

Postby Anton » September 10th, 2012, 9:09 pm

^^^^Co-sign. I consider the BIC Formula series speakers the next step up from my Dayton units and will probably be the target of my next upgrade.

Postby crazybalhead » September 11th, 2012, 1:20 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:

Does not do DTS master audio, which a lot of blu rays have now. Also, the specs seem a little exaggerated, like the 105x7 with two channels driven. not tooo critical, but something to note. At 7 channels driven, may sag quite a bit.

Price kinda high with those specs. The ONKYO described earlier the NR609 has much more features, maybe the sound may not be as good, I'm not sure, but at that price point I feel yuh could get more.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 11th, 2012, 2:35 pm

^actually it does do dts master and i dont see the power being a issue unless he's really gonna be playing it at almost full volume for most of a movie,mine does without even breaking a sweat.

Postby crazybalhead » September 11th, 2012, 2:37 pm

It doh say that on de specs boy!

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 11th, 2012, 4:43 pm

^it right there in the center meng

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-FL8nvOVfYG ... etails-tab

High-Definition Audio Support: Fully compatible with current HD audio formats, the Denon AVR-2112CI A/V Receiver provides powerful, theater-quality surround sound. The Denon AVR-2112CI features support for Blu-ray high-resolution audio formats, including Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio for a dynamic surround-sound listening experience. These formats play back sound with exceptional fidelity, providing a more realistic listening experience.

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » September 11th, 2012, 9:38 pm

blaine wrote:
Anton wrote:

post a quick review when u try the BIC sub out.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 12th, 2012, 4:39 am

Anybody else tried out Steam's Big Picture yet?

HTPC was under some pressure to run it smoothly, but it looks good on a big screen, and it controls well via a controller. I'll test it out on the TV with an actual gaming PC in the near future.

drop ho

Postby drop ho » September 13th, 2012, 8:08 am

blaine wrote:
Anton wrote:

I know importing a sub because of the magnet, customs give some trouble atleast for the last one Raptor brought in for me. Let us know how it goes.... Is through a skybox you bringing it in right?

blaine

Postby blaine » September 14th, 2012, 1:02 pm

^^^ I actually ordered it through "Firschoicett" and its coming by sea (2-3 weeks)...its a lot cheaper that way. Used his service to order a few items (including speakers) already with no problems..good price and i can't complain about the service.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 17th, 2012, 5:35 am

Interesting deal of the day on Amazon.

http://www.amazon.com/Jamo-426-HCS-WENG ... 01&sr=1-22

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 17th, 2012, 5:52 pm

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 17th, 2012, 10:15 pm

^wow.....was not expecting that at all...

Postby S_2NR » September 18th, 2012, 8:40 pm

where can i get a soundbar system to buy in trinidad?
one like this http://www.amazon.com/LG-NB3520A-Sound-Wireless-Subwoofer/dp/B0079MVKII/ref=cm_cmu_pg__header

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » September 18th, 2012, 8:48 pm

S_2NR wrote:where can i get a soundbar system to buy in trinidad?
one like this http://www.amazon.com/LG-NB3520A-Sound-Wireless-Subwoofer/dp/B0079MVKII/ref=cm_cmu_pg__header

I have Sony in stock

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=120215&p=5272801#p5272801

Postby S_2NR » September 18th, 2012, 8:55 pm

RapToR wrote:
S_2NR wrote:where can i get a soundbar system to buy in trinidad?

I have Sony in stock

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=120215&p=5272801#p5272801

i dont understand this part:
Connect multiple devices via HDMI to your surround sound system, easily switch between them, and then connect everything to your HDTV with just one HDMI cable. Standby pass-through of audio and video conveniently access all your HDMI connected devices without having to power on the receiver.

Audio Return Channel eliminates the need for extra cables connected to your TV. This feature allows audio to be sent from your compatible TV to your receiver through the same HDMI cable already being used to send audio and video to your TV.

the one i linked uses optical out. this one uses hdmi. any difference? hdmi is a separate input on my tv. i.e. i have to select it with a remote. so how would this work?