sMASH wrote:
what is christianity? is it the following of the teachings of christ, is it the living in the way that he did, or is it just believing that he is god, or his son?
which ever it is, the concept comes from the book commonly called the bible. if there was no bible, there would be no concept of trinity. the proof of that would be in places which are inhabited after christ's time do not spontaneously have that concept. their deities, if more than one, are deemed pagan polytheism by the popular christians.
the concept of jesus being god or his son is unique and not universal.
that concept of the trinity or god-head ( why does that sound like goat head to me, while christians believe the goat represents satan). it comes from the bible.
was any of it today directly translated from what christ wrote? no
was any of it today directly translated from what was dictated by christ? no
was any of it today directly translated from what was written from being christ's audience? no
the earliest any one was writing any thing attributed to christ was about 80yrs after his supposed crucifixion.
the earliest manuscripts which are/were used to come up with the bible cannot be certified as the exact words of christ.
in fact, they are referred to 'the gospel according to.....'
so, it is not entirely probable that those words, nor even most of them are actually what was intended by christ. there are too many variables in that mix, and still nothing really close to him which can be authenticated reasonably.
d spike wrote:Megadoc, what is your problem with Gandhi? All that nonsense you fill your head with, and you still haven't grasped the core of the Christian belief? How you view others and how you treat them... Whatever rules or guidelines Gandhi lived by is how he will be judged... not you. Don't you have rules? It is by those you will be judged. Stop trying to apply the yardstick you use on yourself to others. I have told you this here already and elsewhere as well, but you still keep bawling the same thing... like an old woman at the standpipe, while the water runs...
Allyuh know what dem so problem is? Lemme tell yuh... is ah set ah jealousy dat does be rotting dey guts...
Let me explain. One of the biggest threats against a truly spiritual character is materialism. Once you realise that poverty only exists when you want something other than what you have, and you become happy/contented with whatever you have at any time, then the next step in your spiritual journey become easier.
These newbie christians (so-called followers of Christ) have "decided to follow Jesus"... for a variety of reasons, many of which they would not be comfortable admitting: their girlfriend/wife made an ultimatum, or they are trying to impress someone (their families, sometimes themselves); they got into a situation they couldn't back out of easily; or, as in a case made known here, they got a glimpse of the horror that many believe awaits those who refuse to accept the importance of loving others in this life (hell, nah) and got scared sh!tless - it is sad that the torment of hell could appear more real to folks than the reality of love. All of these conditions do not negate the adoration of the materialistic life in these folks. Therefore, they look back longingly at their "old" life (making sure their "street cred" remains, by letting drop "how many girls they screwed, what cars they drove, how they were feared, how they blinged" and so on, in their "testimonies" eagerly and often delivered) and also, view with envy disguised as scepticism, folks that have stepped away from materialism - like poor old Gandhi.
They also demand that EVERYBODY ELSE "suffers" the same treatment they are made to undergo - real 'little-boy' mentality, "If I have to take this, allyuh must too, eh" - and it really pains them to see others walk a SEEMINGLY easier, different path... and get inside. I say "seemingly", as no one except that person knows exactly what he had to undergo in his journey back to the source of love. They obviously can't express this hurt, so they project it as "We way is de ONLY way, and allyuh on de outside done for!"
It also is a major point to note that 'logic' and 'rational thinking' is sneered at by these good folks, as the kind of people who are drawn to fundamentalist religions are those who have problems thinking for themselves (or simply, problems thinking) and so are happy to have rigid rules drawn up for them along a simple fool-proof formula: "do exactly this, an yuh going to heaven". They, in turn, are glad for a chance to sneer and heap scorn on their learned betters - turning the tables, so to speak, on those they percieve to have sneered and scorned them for their inabilities all their life, in school, at work, and so forth.
All this is clearly seen in this remarkable thread.
Cheers.
^I do not knowDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:and round and round we go
Good question MG Man
why did God create us with an appendix?
Science tells us how our appendix got to the point of being obsolete.
Does religion say why did God create us with an appendix??
megadoc1 wrote:^I do not knowDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:and round and round we go
Good question MG Man
but lets say we "evolved " can science tell what it did or was before?
sMASH wrote:toyo, back to me....
got busy http://www.islam101.com/quran/preservedQ.htm
to explain how do i know as i said,, my religion tells me this, like ur religion tell u that. the point i am trying to make is wrt the authenticity of the books where u get ur theology from.
your book, BY COMPARISON, is less likely to be true to what was originally intended, when considering the chain of events up to the previous to its compilation.
the original first manuscripts are not available, but the originals for mines are
and mines tell me that none other will remain in their original forms, except for this one, which is how it is,,,,, so stuff kinda being fulfilled there.
but without the little revelation about why none other will remain in their original forms,,
the mere fact that the fidelity of the other texts are very questionable when compared is enough for me... like what scientists do before the analyze facts, the scrutinize the source of the facts first, if the source is questionable, most likely the facts are as well and any further investigation would subsequently be futile
illumin@ti wrote:megadoc1 wrote:^I do not knowDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:and round and round we go
Good question MG Man
I suppose you'd tell us to get on our knees and pray for this divine revelation???
sMASH wrote: my religion tells me this, like ur religion tell u that
sMASH wrote: and mines tell me that none other will remain in their original forms
sMASH wrote:the point i am trying to make is wrt the authenticity of the books where u get ur theology from... (I assume you meant the bible at this point)
your book, BY COMPARISON, is less likely to be true to what was originally intended, when considering the chain of events up to the previous to its compilation...
the original first manuscripts are not available...
the mere fact that the fidelity of the other texts are very questionable when compared is enough for me...
Good question MG Man
d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:^I do not knowDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:and round and round we go
Good question MG Man
Ohhh, ignorance is bliss fo' de tambourine man!!!
Megadoc... look up "caecum", nah...
Good question MG Man
doh let me have to call yuhABA Trading LTD wrote:illumin@ti wrote:megadoc1 wrote:^I do not knowDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:and round and round we go
Good question MG Man
I suppose you'd tell us to get on our knees and pray for this divine revelation???
you brave enough to get on your knees around megadoc?
illumin@ti wrote:Mega , stop playing games ,,, respond to what i left there for u TWICE. DOh insult me by playin yuh eh see it
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:easy there Sky, we reiterated your point early on in this thread but only want to continue the conversation based on individual beliefs
megadoc1
"The most common explanation for the appendix's existence in humans is that it's a vestigial structure which has lost its original function.
The vermiform appendage—in which some recent medical writers have vainly endeavoured to find a utility—is the shrunken remainder of a large and normal intestine of a remote ancestor. This interpretation would stand even if it were found to have a certain use in the human body. Vestigial organs are sometimes pressed into a secondary use when their original function has been lost.
One potential ancestral purpose put forth by Charles Darwin was that the appendix was used for digesting leaves as primates. It may be a vestigial organ, evolutionary baggage, of ancient humans that has degraded down to nearly nothing over the course of evolution. Evidence can be seen in herbivorous animals such as the koala. The cecum of the koala is very long, enabling it to host bacteria specific for cellulose breakdown. Human ancestors may have also relied upon this system and lived on a diet rich in foliage. As people began to eat more easily digested foods, they became less reliant on cellulose-rich plants for energy. The cecum became less necessary for digestion and mutations that previously had been deleterious were no longer selected against. These alleles became more frequent and the cecum continued to shrink. After thousands of years, the once-necessary cecum has degraded to what we see today, with the appendix".
also read about Vestigiality
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vestigial_structure
One potential ancestral purpose ... was that the appendix was used for digesting leaves as primates
nismotrinidappa wrote:toyo682..
the bible is subject to interpretation
as i said before...salvation is an ongoing thing...
why do you need to go confession?
to get salvation you need to confess and repent as i told you before....good... now you are saved and have salvation..
BUT
you are human..the minute you leave your room or church you may sin in thoughts words and deeds.....yes you .. you mr toyo with all your ba in thelogy may be sinning right now thinking what the arse nonsense dis man saying..
there you sinned right....
therefore you need to seek salvation ..again and again and again... for the rest of your life you are human and make mistakes and pray for forgiveness
in other words you are hardly ever saved "permanently" you have no vip all inclusive ticket to heaven...
because of your faith you have a invite to the heavenly party in pier 1.. you are here to do good works in his name and get paid for it.. because you cant reach without any money/ good works /love for fellow man...and on that journey you have to resist the offers to go "other clubs"
so if you think you have your membership card and it valid thats your business..
i going about it the normal old fashioned way by faith, trying to live the right life and helping your fellow man
capiche?
oho btw...what has god said about the world today and what is happening to it?
and also what did he say about the general elections in trinidad? do you know?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:easy there Sky, we reiterated your point early on in this thread but only want to continue the conversation based on individual beliefs
zcarz wrote:http://www.evanwiggs.com/articles/infinite.html
if we take a look at the birth of Jesus in verses 18-25, we find:The Number of words is 161 (23 X 7)
Sky wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:easy there Sky, we reiterated your point early on in this thread but only want to continue the conversation based on individual beliefs
*kicks pebble and sulks*
megadoc1 wrote:i found this online can we verify this?
http://creation.com/your-appendix-its-t ... r-a-reason
Today, the appendix is recognized as a highly specialized organ with a rich blood supply. This is not what we would expect from a degenerate, useless structure.
The appendix contains a high concentration of lymphoid follicles. These are highly specialized structures which are a part of the immune system. The clue to the appendix’s function is found in its strategic position right where the small bowel meets the large bowel or colon. The colon is loaded with bacteria which are useful there, but which must be kept away from other areas such as the small bowel and the bloodstream.
Through the cells in these lymphoid follicles, and the antibodies they make (see box below), the appendix is ‘involved in the control of which essential bacteria come to reside in the caecum and colon in neonatal life’.6 Like the very important thymus gland in our chest, it is likely that the appendix plays its major role in early childhood. It is also probably involved in helping the body recognize early in life that certain foodstuffs, bacterially derived substances, and even some of the body’s own gut enzymes, need to be tolerated and not seen as ‘foreign’ substances needing attack.
Vestigial organs are sometimes pressed into a secondary use when their original function has been lost.