Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby sharkman121 » August 12th, 2011, 12:09 am

how much he sellin em for?

Postby sharkman121 » August 12th, 2011, 12:13 am

what are the advantages for having a probe with regard to themometers and how are they different from the regular "probeless" ones?

are they more accurate?

Postby sharkman121 » August 12th, 2011, 4:23 am

Postby sharkman121 » August 12th, 2011, 6:32 am

This article is a must read for anyone thinking about getting into the saltwater fish/coral hobby. Its well put together and outlines just the basics for beginners and equipment needed. I remember someone asking a few pages back how to setup a marine aquarium.

http://reefcleaners.org/index.php?optio ... &Itemid=67

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 12th, 2011, 9:08 am

sharkman121 wrote:how much he sellin em for?

$350

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 12th, 2011, 10:26 pm

djblademan

Postby djblademan » August 13th, 2011, 9:36 am

sharkman121 wrote:^ didnt know u sold em... bought on from ebay just yesterday

dean, inbox me pics if u can.

PM me your email address & i'll forward you my catalogues

Postby Trini Hookah » August 13th, 2011, 10:12 am

Any experience with Red- Tailed Sharks guys? Are they jumpers? can't seem to find one of mine and not sure if eaten :/

Postby sharkman121 » August 13th, 2011, 10:26 am

not known to be jumpers, i had a few in an open tank with no lid at all for a long time. However they prolly may jump if theyre suddenly alerted.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 13th, 2011, 9:01 pm

well today i caught the mantis shrimp that has been creating havoc in my tank. (its actually 1 1/2" long X 3/8" fat) It was the worst experience to end up taking 6hrs to scrap a tank of nearly all the rock and then try to stack it back................... you never get it back how you had it. will post some pics of the lil demon tom.

Postby sharkman121 » August 13th, 2011, 9:11 pm

^^ damnn :|

Postby sharkman121 » August 13th, 2011, 9:47 pm

were u hearing the familiar clicking the mantis shrimps make?

good thread here on how to capture mantis shrimp:

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1710644

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 13th, 2011, 10:03 pm

sharkman121 wrote:were u hearing the familiar clicking the mantis shrimps make?

DAMNN is not the word i wanted to use.........It starts with an F, and ends in K!!!!!!!!!! :lol:
nearly pull out all of my damn hair..........................LOL
yeah, was hearing the clicking noises especially when the fish passes near to its lair.
I tried the food in stockings and i actually bought one of the Terminator traps for crabs/shrimp about a year ago when i had a rogue mantis shrimp in my other tank. It didnt work on this bugger. He was too smart. Well right now i have him in a small container.

link

Postby link » August 14th, 2011, 8:18 am

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » August 14th, 2011, 9:54 am

HondaB20B wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:were u hearing the familiar clicking the mantis shrimps make?

DAMNN is not the word i wanted to use.........It starts with an F, and ends in K!!!!!!!!!! :lol:
nearly pull out all of my damn hair..........................LOL
yeah, was hearing the clicking noises especially when the fish passes near to its lair.
I tried the food in stockings and i actually bought one of the Terminator traps for crabs/shrimp about a year ago when i had a rogue mantis shrimp in my other tank. It didnt work on this bugger. He was too smart. Well right now i have him in a small container.

Damn sorry to hear about your troubles. Sounds like a lot of work. You going to set up a mantis tank now?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 14th, 2011, 2:15 pm

^^^^^yup.................... going and call him PATRICK

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 14th, 2011, 3:59 pm

ARES0610.......................... You running bio-pellets by chance?

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » August 14th, 2011, 7:35 pm

Nah no bio pellets. Just skimmer, ATS, and chemipure.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 14th, 2011, 7:45 pm

ok.....................

link

Postby link » August 14th, 2011, 10:48 pm

HondaB20B wrote:^^^^^yup.................... going and call him PATRICK

100%

link

Postby link » August 14th, 2011, 10:50 pm

got a BIG spawn of copper half-moon & another of GREEN (or maybe turquoise) crowns.........will adv % later....
rgds

FD3S

Postby FD3S » August 15th, 2011, 10:48 pm

Fellers, looking to upgrade my small 20gal freshwater tank in my living room with something bigger like 50gal. Anyone saw those $5000 tanks in Nu Image, Gulf City. Is the pricing reasonable for what it is?
Saw a nice 3ft tank in Nature's world sutton street for like $800 with stand but the stand is fugly. Just a steel frame stand.

Any other options available? Thanks

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 15th, 2011, 11:14 pm

Saw some 4ft (55gal) bowfronts at the valpark branch for 3000.
Or you can go by the petstore in Grand Bazzar (South Beach), they have a 55gal with hood, light, hang on filter, thermostat for 2600 and he makes a nice metal stand for it for 700

Postby sharkman121 » August 16th, 2011, 7:20 am

Started feeding spirulina as well for the algae eater in the tank today, just to add a bit more variety. Ill see how that goes.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 16th, 2011, 10:55 am

sharkman121 wrote:Started feeding spirulina as well for the algae eater in the tank today, just to add a bit more variety. Ill see how that goes.

have to check that one out

Postby sharkman121 » August 16th, 2011, 11:01 am

wanna start making my own home made recipes too.... chopped clam, shrimp, veggies, mysis, spirulina, soak up some selcon and garlic guard, then freeze it until use.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 16th, 2011, 11:41 am

^^^^ before you give it to the fish, throw in a redbull or a monster and drink it for ah week
.............................. YUH ON LIKE SOCKS AFTER DAT

Postby sharkman121 » August 16th, 2011, 11:49 am

FD3S

Postby FD3S » August 16th, 2011, 7:01 pm

HondaB20B wrote:Saw some 4ft (55gal) bowfronts at the valpark branch for 3000.
Or you can go by the petstore in Grand Bazzar (South Beach), they have a 55gal with hood, light, hang on filter, thermostat for 2600 and he makes a nice metal stand for it for 700

Thanks, I think I would bite the bullet and go with the 4ft 68gal in Nu Image. Really like the finish of the tank and I read that the glass is tempered and can be drilled if later I decide to go salt.
Any suggestions for filtration. The tank is designed for canister or internal filter. Is the Cascade canister filters any good? Saw mixed reviews on the net

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » August 16th, 2011, 9:56 pm

FD3S wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:Saw some 4ft (55gal) bowfronts at the valpark branch for 3000.

Thanks, I think I would bite the bullet and go with the 4ft 68gal in Nu Image. Really like the finish of the tank and I read that the glass is tempered and can be drilled if later I decide to go salt.
Any suggestions for filtration. The tank is designed for canister or internal filter. Is the Cascade canister filters any good? Saw mixed reviews on the net

I don't think you can drill tempered glass or I think it is more difficult/risky than not tempered.