Power outage and load shedding

Supra GT-FOUR

Re: Power outage and load shedding today

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » May 6th, 2023, 3:05 pm

pugboy wrote:the amps pulled on 220v will generally be less for same power if using same equation above and wastes less in the wires with the other equation I^2R

which is also why long distance transmission is extremely high voltage and low current, then stepped down on the lamp post with transformers to 440/220v
otherwise the wires on them big towers would get hot fast
It's also high voltage to overcome resistance / impedance over long runs.

We also use aluminum or ACSR (aluminum core, steel reinforced) despite copper being a better conductor as it's lighter so less sag accross pole spans and it's cheaper.

Same conductors for low voltage can be used for high voltage as it's the insulation resistance that matters. What matters is where insulation is needed because for overhead transmission air is the insulator. There are insulated HV lines in use, sudama village is one such place where iirc the 33kv is transmitted across a few pole spans in an area where there is heavy vegetation. Terrain and pole height would have constantly put the conductors at risk of shorts and downtime on the grid.

Line spacing is dependant on ability to ionize air and voltages jump accross coupled with the electromagnetic field generated.

You get 110/220V where there is a center tap for a neutral on two coils.
From and end of any coil to the neutral is a 110v phase. You get two phases coming to a house (except in places wired for 110v only or places like point Fortin with single phase single wire 220V) where phase to neutral is 110V and phase to phase (both ends of both coil) gives you the sum of the induced voltages in both coils, ie 220V.

I don't think anyone should be climbing poles without the linesman training. There is a lot to learn and a lot to appreciate in the job T&TEC does. Can't say the same for some of the ratch work some contractors do.
Nice writeup however ACSR is not aluminum core. It's aluminum conductor steel reinforced. The core is actually steel and the external conductors are aluminum.

Postby nervewrecker » May 6th, 2023, 3:30 pm

In my defence I did not have my morning coffee yet.

Also forgot that T&TEC stops at the POE, everything after that you and your electrician responsible for.

So wrt the 220 - 110V TX units, I will like to believe that's between you and your electrician until I verify otherwise.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 20th, 2023, 2:46 pm

TGU Plant maintenance shutdown.

Customers are further advised that the two other IPPs (PowerGen and Contour Global Trinity Power) have, and will make available the required capacity to satisfy the expected load demand of the island during those hours. However, should these IPPs suffer any loss of generation during TGU's shutdown, it will result in T&TEC having to shed load and, consequently, a temporary loss of electricity supply to some customers.

7c9cea79-9abc-47ea-898a-97a3f9164764.jpeg

Re: Power outage and load shedding

Postby maj. tom » November 20th, 2023, 3:42 pm

Let's hope for rain and a cool day then, if it hot like today is level blackout when the ac start running.

Postby 88sins » November 20th, 2023, 6:37 pm

Thank God I recently added some additional storage capacity to the bank.
Internet, tvs, computer, and fans go run about 72 hrs straight, so aight.
Anything longer than that, d genny go deal with

Postby redmanjp » November 20th, 2023, 6:57 pm

88sins wrote:Thank God I recently added some additional storage capacity to the bank.

what's the specs on that and the price if u dont mind me asking?

Postby 88sins » November 20th, 2023, 9:39 pm

redmanjp wrote:
88sins wrote:Thank God I recently added some additional storage capacity to the bank.

Is a system I put together, no inverters or anything like that.
Basically 2 battery banks (I started with 12 deep cycle 12.6v 180ah batteries, making 2 banks, each wired in parallel, connected to a ups, added 3 more batteries to each bank recently). The current draw on each is next to nothing for most of the items they powering (tv, wifi router, etc) , and the only thing really that pulls plenty current is the fan (a single battery will run my fan about 6 hrs, but as mentioned, it not on one battery).

Takes awhile to charge to capacity, but afaic it's worth it.
I studying if to bring in panels and charge controller and inverter, and get the hell off t&tec grid and done. But is d cost of cables to wire it all up is what go kill meh

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2023, 9:43 pm

what lifespan you expecting from them batteries?

i recently plumbed in fittings so i could hookup a cheap water pump to run off my small genny
as my big goulds won’t run off it

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 20th, 2023, 9:57 pm

redmanjp wrote:

Basically 2 battery banks (I started with 12 deep cycle 12.6v 180ah batteries, making 2 banks, each wired in parallel, connected to a ups, added 3 more batteries to each bank recently). The current draw on each is next to nothing for most of the items they powering (tv, wifi router, etc) , and the only thing really that pulls plenty current is the fan (a single battery will run my fan about 6 hrs, but as mentioned, it not on one battery).

I studying if to bring in panels and charge controller and inverter, and get the hell off t&tec grid and done. But is d cost of cables to wire it all up is what go kill meh

Refrigerator running off that?

Postby 88sins » November 21st, 2023, 5:57 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Refrigerator running off that?

It can off either bank, but i only have them just running lights, cctv system, electronics. The only major appliance that I ever put it to run was the water pump, and it handle that just fine.

Postby maj. tom » November 23rd, 2023, 10:17 am

Well good luck with those hopes.

T&TEC hopes customers reduce electricity use during TGU shutdown
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ttec-hopes-customers-reduce-electricity-use-during-tgu-shutdown-6.2.1858869.3d5d500f96

T&TEC general manager Curvis Francois hopes customers will reduce their electricity load from Saturday night into Sunday morning when Trinidad’s largest power generation plant will be temporarily offline for critical upgrade works.

“Any form of conservation that customers could practice during that period would be good,” he said.

The shutdown is expected to take place between 10 pm Saturday and 9 am Sunday, a period with low electricity load across Trinidad. Francois hopes customers will reduce their use of high-energy-consuming appliances.

“The biggest use would be air conditioning load, and we would hope that customers would probably cut back, turning it on at night and come off in the wee hours of the morning,” he said

Trinidad Generation Unlimited (TGU) produces approximately 50 per cent of Trinidad’s electricity. When that plant is taken offline on Saturday night, power from two other independent power generators, Trinity Power and PowerGen, will make up the shortfall.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 23rd, 2023, 10:24 am

redmanjp wrote:

Recently did some electrical work home and was not prepared for the cabling costs!!!
10mm Flat did me in but the others weren't cheap either.

Postby pugboy » November 23rd, 2023, 12:28 pm

gonna have to start up my generator later to make sure it wukking

Postby K74T » November 23rd, 2023, 12:35 pm

Good weekend to go bago

Postby redmanjp » November 23rd, 2023, 1:55 pm

maj. tom wrote:Well good luck with those hopes.

T&TEC hopes customers reduce electricity use during TGU shutdown
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ttec-hopes-customers-reduce-electricity-use-during-tgu-shutdown-6.2.1858869.3d5d500f96

T&TEC general manager Curvis Francois hopes customers will reduce their electricity load from Saturday night into Sunday morning when Trinidad’s largest power generation plant will be temporarily offline for critical upgrade works.

“Any form of conservation that customers could practice during that period would be good,” he said.

The shutdown is expected to take place between 10 pm Saturday and 9 am Sunday, a period with low electricity load across Trinidad. Francois hopes customers will reduce their use of high-energy-consuming appliances.

“The biggest use would be air conditioning load, and we would hope that customers would probably cut back, turning it on at night and come off in the wee hours of the morning,” he said

Trinidad Generation Unlimited (TGU) produces approximately 50 per cent of Trinidad’s electricity. When that plant is taken offline on Saturday night, power from two other independent power generators, Trinity Power and PowerGen, will make up the shortfall.

they want us to turn it ON and not turn off till after midnight? if the shutdown is 10pm then we should be turning it off 10pm?

Postby maj. tom » November 23rd, 2023, 2:06 pm

commas.
Bad sentence structure.

It should be 2 sentences for two different statements.
“The biggest use would be air conditioning load, turning it on at night and come off in the wee hours of the morning,”
"And we would hope that customers would probably cut back."

Postby pugboy » November 23rd, 2023, 3:07 pm

education still free in this country?

Postby redmanjp » November 24th, 2023, 2:42 pm

maj. tom wrote:commas.
Bad sentence structure.

It should be 2 sentences for two different statements.
“The biggest use would be air conditioning load, turning it on at night and come off in the wee hours of the morning,”
"And we would hope that customers would probably cut back."

ok. but they should probably send out a notice via facebook, etc advising customers to turn off ACs at 10pm to avoid load shedding.

Postby Chimera » November 24th, 2023, 2:45 pm

If they want that to happen they should tell trinis that electricity may return with a surge and to turn off all sensitive equipment like air conditions for the entire night.

Postby 88sins » November 24th, 2023, 5:16 pm

pugboy wrote:gonna have to start up my generator later to make sure it wukking

I was studying to use the generator, but is d noise I go cyah take

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 24th, 2023, 11:21 pm

Paramin, no current

Postby gastly369 » November 24th, 2023, 11:32 pm

Best i did was a off grid generator circuit perimeter lights around house flood infront and back and outlets inside each room lil fans and lighting as well

All LED light and main load is fans really... Dirty power but i run Internet modem and the cctv thru a voltage regulator... I could rally out with those things till power back

Im looking to invest in a decent inverter type generator for the sensitive electronics etc in future

As for noise have it way out back of home in storage shed with a window open for ventilation
Last edited by gastly369 on November 24th, 2023, 11:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 24th, 2023, 11:33 pm

Out Freeport.

I was going to fill up my buckets with current tomorrow. Bastards.

killercow

Postby killercow » November 24th, 2023, 11:59 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Out Freeport.

I was going to fill up my buckets with current tomorrow. Bastards.
It's back 15 minutes now

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 25th, 2023, 1:16 am

looks like they made a practice run tonight: parts of grande, curepe, couva etc

Postby redmanjp » November 25th, 2023, 1:53 am

I wondering if it had some kind of surge or if is just my AC. I hear pax! Ting start to smoke oui :shock:

Had to run and turn off d wall switch.

Postby nervewrecker » November 25th, 2023, 6:15 am

gastly369 wrote:
Best i did was a off grid generator circuit perimeter lights around house flood infront and back and outlets inside each room lil fans and lighting as well

All LED light and main load is fans really... Dirty power but i run Internet modem and the cctv thru a voltage regulator... I could rally out with those things till power back

Im looking to invest in a decent inverter type generator for the sensitive electronics etc in future

As for noise have it way out back of home in storage shed with a window open for ventilation
We not affected by this as we get power from the 66kv grid.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » November 25th, 2023, 8:35 am

Nothing in San Fernando at the moment.

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » November 25th, 2023, 11:41 am

redmanjp wrote:

There is a push to have homes run off battery banks during the day and recharge them at night when it’s cheaper to pull power off the grid. Cheaper than going all Solar. Plus you can upgrade to Solar at later point.

I ran my home of 8 big Rolls Surrette 445Ah 6V Deep Cycle Battery. With a 6kw charger inverter. Ran whole house for about 1 week straight.

IMG_3361.jpeg
IMG_3362.jpeg

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » November 25th, 2023, 1:32 pm

The Bamboo Online wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

There is a push to have homes run off battery banks during the day and recharge them at night when it’s cheaper to pull power off the grid. Cheaper than going all Solar. Plus you can upgrade to Solar at later point.

I ran my home of 8 big Rolls Surrette 445Ah 6V Deep Cycle Battery. With a 6kw charger inverter. Ran whole house for about 1 week straight.

IMG_3361.jpeg
IMG_3362.jpeg
What's the average cost for a setup like this??