Gulf of Paria Underwater Welders Deaths: Lawsuits Filed

Re: Underwater welders missing in the Gulf of Paria??

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2022, 3:17 pm

This the country where a failed coup leader was able to work for the ruling party, gain funds from the govt, and put up a political party.

Faith in Tnt laws ???

Ish and Steve....
Last edited by sMASH on March 4th, 2022, 3:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » March 4th, 2022, 3:27 pm

d board of directors resign yet?
all dem shud get hit with murder charge.....

den again big money does fight in court for 20 years so it doh make sense in dis cuntry.

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 4th, 2022, 8:13 pm

In the secret meeting of who's who's in this country or like in any other country, the elites would have already discussed how this matter is going to play out. From ceo, director, manager, minister, secretary, police, attorney, judge and investigator etc.

Who got arrested from the clico/hcu investigation?

What about the 1990 coup?

The day of total policing?

As CNC3's Akash Samaroo mentioned some years ago, this is a land of second chances and zero consequences.

Carry on gentlemen.

Postby De Dragon » March 4th, 2022, 8:16 pm

carluva wrote:Agreed that there should be no politically affiliated person on the investigation committee.

But, in what way is/was Eugene an ex-GORTT member?

carluva wrote:Why you say that about Eugene?

There should be no ex GORTT appointed members anywhere near this investigation. Not casting aspersions on Tiah, but the public is already wary of Paria's statements thus far, and the optics of an ex GORTT appointee, doesn't look good.

Postby zoom rader » March 4th, 2022, 8:56 pm

agent007 wrote:In the secret meeting of who's who's in this country or like in any other country, the elites would have already discussed how this matter is going to play out. From ceo, director, manager, minister, secretary, police, attorney, judge and investigator etc.

As CNC3's Akash Samaroo mentioned some years ago, this is a land of second chances and zero consequences.

Carry on gentlemen.
Yup

Postby The_Honourable » March 4th, 2022, 11:50 pm

Strictly Legal with Rondell A. Donawa Ep.44 - Workplace Liability in light of the Paria Incident

Postby RedVEVO » March 5th, 2022, 4:30 am

agent007 wrote:In the secret meeting of who's who's in this country or like in any other country, the elites would have already discussed how this matter is going to play out. From ceo, director, manager, minister, secretary, police, attorney, judge and investigator etc.

Carry on gentlemen.
Yup

Yup yup ..

How many Tuners are trained and experienced divers here ?

If you are - then you know that 60 feet is not something to joke about :wink:

If after 4 men ( divers ) were in distress and YOU were the manger would you send other divers in @ 60 feet ?

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/familie ... 3fba681dcc

Postby De Dragon » March 5th, 2022, 6:28 am

RedVEVO wrote:

Carry on gentlemen.
Yup

Yup yup ..

How many Tuners are trained and experienced divers here ?

If you are - then you know that 60 feet is not something to joke about :wink:

If after 4 men ( divers ) were in distress and YOU were the manger would you send other divers in @ 60 feet ?

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/familie ... 3fba681dcc

When you explain that ONLY trained rescue personnel are allowed to perform such, and other types of rescues, people generally don't understand the concept. No one, especially if unfamiliar with the hazards of a particular job, has any business jumping in to attempt any rescue, no matter how trained/experienced they are.
Emotion gets into the mix, especially if it is your relative/coworker/liming buddy. There are countless incidents. reports, vids of people dying themselves, while attempting a rescue.
Tragically NONE of this would have been necessary if the proper isolations, LOTO was carried out.
That said, that is why it was critical that a rescue team, familiar with the hazards, and fully donned in rescue gear should have been onsite for this job. This is not contradictory to my earlier statement btw, as people have been known to pass out, become incapacitated in job situations and needed rescue for other reasons than utter failure of all HSE best practices.

Postby Redman » March 5th, 2022, 6:35 am

Guys I'm trying to understand something, were the divers inside the pipe when the incident occured?

The Paria release says it's a 30 inch pipe, is this accurate?

Postby sMASH » March 5th, 2022, 7:47 am

Redman wrote:Guys I'm trying to understand something, were the divers inside the pipe when the incident occured?

We not getting accurate details, cause it coming from people not familiar with industrial settings (lng train 1 tar).

From what it looks like: the men were in the diving bell, there was a sudden vacuum in the 30" pipe, they got sucked in.

Not sure if the plug was used to isolate. not sure if some guy opened a valve, or started a pump, that created the vacuum.

But, fur ANY confined space operations, ur isolations need to be TOP NOTCH, DOUBLE CHECKED, VERIFIED AND SIGNED OFF BY ALL PARTIED INVOLVED EVERY TIME A NEW PERMUT IS ISSUED.
UR RESCUE TEAM MUST BE READY AND ON STANDBY WHILE THE JOB IS ONGOING.

Postby timelapse » March 5th, 2022, 7:49 am

Redman wrote:Guys I'm trying to understand something, were the divers inside the pipe when the incident occured?

I reposting this diagram .They were in the hyperbaric chamber.Somebody did something that created a vacuum that sucked them into the pipe.This according to media releases
tapatalk_1646175074068.jpg

Postby pugboy » March 5th, 2022, 7:50 am

they not saying much on what if possible slackness was on far side of pipe.

sMASH wrote:
Not sure if the plug was used to isolate. not sure if some guy opened a valve, or started a pump, that created the vacuum.

But, fur ANY confined space operations, ur isolations need to be TOP NOTCH, DOUBLE CHECKED, VERIFIED AND SIGNED OFF BY ALL PARTIED INVOLVED EVERY TIME A NEW PERMUT IS ISSUED.

Postby Redman » March 5th, 2022, 8:14 am

sMASH wrote:

We not getting accurate details, cause it coming from people not familiar with industrial settings (lng train 1 tar).

From what it looks like: the men were in the diving bell, there was a sudden vacuum in the 30" pipe, they got sucked in.

Anyone really think about these guys getting sucked into a 30 inch diameter pipe, with those tanks?

God almighty.
IMG-20220226-WA0021.jpg

Postby Kenjo » March 5th, 2022, 8:19 am

Redman wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Anyone really think about these guys getting sucked into a 30 inch diameter pipe, with those tanks?

God almighty.

That’s why from the start of this story I realised how grim the prognosis would be . The last guy only survived because the other guys were blocking him going in further

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » March 5th, 2022, 8:25 am

^^^Also, was the job that they supposed to do completed or another team would now have to go down to get the job done ?

Postby sMASH » March 5th, 2022, 8:26 am

More fuel to the fire that paria has a culture of unsafe practices.

FB_IMG_1646483052686.jpg

Postby matr1x » March 5th, 2022, 8:27 am

People have to speculate because paria has been not forthcoming with information

Postby sMASH » March 5th, 2022, 8:33 am

Where I worked, we didn't just isolate lines, we blinded them. So that way, no flow or pressure can even imagine coming into the work area.
training videos show that other places unbolted the lines and misalign them, think that left side of one flange gets bolted to the right of the other side.
So if any flow comes, it falls to the side of the pipe.

Getting a vacuum in a line is possible, but because of exhaustive isolation and de energizing of the system, it becomes near impossible fir this scenario to occur.

Postby Redman » March 5th, 2022, 9:58 am

Anyone care to share their thoughts on the actual survivability of getting sucked into a 30 inch diameter pipe while in dive gear in the midst of seawater and whatever other tools and equipment that was in the bell at the time?

Postby pugboy » March 5th, 2022, 10:04 am

think of the poor crab in the delta p youtube

lancer_man

Postby lancer_man » March 5th, 2022, 10:57 am

sMASH wrote:Where I worked, we didn't just isolate lines, we blinded them. So that way, no flow or pressure can even imagine coming into the work area.
training videos show that other places unbolted the lines and misalign them, think that left side of one flange gets bolted to the right of the other side.
So if any flow comes, it falls to the side of the pipe.

Getting a vacuum in a line is possible, but because of exhaustive isolation and de energizing of the system, it becomes near impossible fir this scenario to occur.

Industry practice is positive isolation (blind installation or dropping a removable spool) for any job over one shift. For jobs less than a shift, valved isolation can be used, with the type of isolation dependent on the service fluid and pressure. All isolations need to be proven before execution of the job, with strict adherence to control of work and locks/tags to ensure valves are not operated.

Plugs need to be thoroughly risk assessed as they can fail and the consequence of failure sometime dictates that the risk is unacceptable.

Postby Country_Bookie » March 5th, 2022, 11:14 am

How long before this tragedy fades from the national memory and we let the people responsible get away Scott free? Just think about the 1 year old baby the coast guard shot in the head, look how quickly we forget about that already.

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » March 5th, 2022, 12:12 pm

6 days 7 nites

Postby toyolink » March 5th, 2022, 1:43 pm

In all my years of involvement in operational risk management, the cause of incidents such as this has been attributable to 'human error'.
Just review Piper Alpha and all the others including aviation.
Human error then has to be assessed to be classified eg negligence, ignorance or other.
Equipment failure rarely is determine as the 'cause'.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 5th, 2022, 4:41 pm

So if there is some iota of truth to that autopsy results...status quo has changed and we looking at murder charges?

Postby RedVEVO » March 5th, 2022, 5:03 pm

matr1x wrote:People have to speculate because paria has been not forthcoming with information

Newman and Row Row are besties :D

He is the husband of Speaker of the House .

You really think they missing or care about these divers ?

Wake up peeps ! :roll:

Postby sMASH » March 5th, 2022, 5:10 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So if there is some iota of truth to that autopsy results...status quo has changed and we looking at murder charges?
What is that? I missing info.

Elaborate...

Postby goalpost » March 5th, 2022, 6:12 pm

Apparently they were alive till Monday...

Postby Chimera » March 5th, 2022, 6:18 pm

Not sure if legit
Screenshot_20220305-181815_Facebook.jpg

Postby pugboy » March 5th, 2022, 7:48 pm

that means the pipe had plenty air in it somehow