Redman wrote:Hovwr, How do you suggest the govt control food prices?
Price controls?
How much of the 6B import bill can we actually replace with local product.
Dohplaydat wrote:MaxPower wrote:When the economy opens up fully… i want you Trinis to notice very carefully.
Bars, beaches, restaurants, malls, rivers etc are going to be FULL with Trinis having a time.
Carnival will be in FULL swing with fetes upon fetes to celebrate the long over due jackass behavior.
Trinis only beat up and cry over the budget for a few days and then they go back to their happy ass living.
I can't wait, it's the only good thing about living here bro.
timelapse wrote:So true.I knew a guy that put up a sign in his pet shop ' imported tropical fish' .The imported fish used to sell faster than the local.Funny thing was the same , exact fish.MaxPower wrote:Trinis LOVE the 4rin ting.
Their googly yellow eyes does open big big when they see these foreign items.
Grass is greener abroad.Most Trinis do not appreciate what they have
Probably why Max loves his Venes
88sins wrote:Redman wrote:Hovwr, How do you suggest the govt control food prices?
Price controls?
plenty
encourage people to replace rice with provision, and boost its local production. dasheen, yam, cassava, eddoes, tannia, greenfig, plantain, sweet potato, etc, all can be grown right here & are much more satisfying, tastier and healthier for the body than rice & flour. Even ok for diabetics to consume.
Promoting local meat production and aquaculture. Chicken (both common fowl & broilers), goat, sheep, cattle (I doubt we can entirely satisfy this market due to time and space & other resource limitations, but we can at the very least supplement the local market with some local product thus importing less), duck, guinea fowl, turkey, goat, sheep, rabbit, tilapia, arapaima, cascadura, etc, all can be mass produced and raised to slaughter here without excessive costs, relatively quickly. If we encourage local agricultural crop farmers to produce the crops that can be used in the production of the feed that some of these animals may require, could be even faster still.
but the people like it fast, & fraid hard work & sacrifice like it go kill them. Our real problem is that even tho it can be done, hardly anybody actually WANTS to do it, and the few that willing getting licks from every direction & end up saying screw that.
Max,MaxPower wrote:88sins wrote:Redman wrote:Hovwr, How do you suggest the govt control food prices?
Price controls?
plenty
encourage people to replace rice with provision, and boost its local production. dasheen, yam, cassava, eddoes, tannia, greenfig, plantain, sweet potato, etc, all can be grown right here & are much more satisfying, tastier and healthier for the body than rice & flour. Even ok for diabetics to consume.
Promoting local meat production and aquaculture. Chicken (both common fowl & broilers), goat, sheep, cattle (I doubt we can entirely satisfy this market due to time and space & other resource limitations, but we can at the very least supplement the local market with some local product thus importing less), duck, guinea fowl, turkey, goat, sheep, rabbit, tilapia, arapaima, cascadura, etc, all can be mass produced and raised to slaughter here without excessive costs, relatively quickly. If we encourage local agricultural crop farmers to produce the crops that can be used in the production of the feed that some of these animals may require, could be even faster still.
but the people like it fast, & fraid hard work & sacrifice like it go kill them. Our real problem is that even tho it can be done, hardly anybody actually WANTS to do it, and the few that willing getting licks from every direction & end up saying screw that.
X3000.
We have the potential, but we just don’t have the right attitude and mindset.
We need to FIND people to get the job done even if it means the mass hiring of foreigners.
Is the government making incentives for such, when there are better opportunities availableRedman wrote:How many of you guys willing to make the investment and start a local produce biz or do the work on a farm in support of same.
88 is right..by extension there are reasons that that gaping void hasn't been filled.
hover11 wrote:Is the government making incentives for such, when there are better opportunities availableRedman wrote:How many of you guys willing to make the investment and start a local produce biz or do the work on a farm in support of same.
88 is right..by extension there are reasons that that gaping void hasn't been filled.
Tax breaks, let's say no property tax for 3 years ....exemptions from motor vehicle tax in case they wish to buy a van or h100 nothing too big but something that would make ppl consider or gravitate to suchDizzy28 wrote:hover11 wrote:Is the government making incentives for such, when there are better opportunities availableRedman wrote:How many of you guys willing to make the investment and start a local produce biz or do the work on a farm in support of same.
At the MALF's site there is a list of incentives for farmers -
https://agriculture.gov.tt/work-themes/ ... xemptions/
Min of Fin same
https://www.finance.gov.tt/wp-content/u ... go-web.pdf
What incentive specifically do farmers want in addition to what is offered?
hover11 wrote:Max,
We have able bodied abd educated trinis right here why must we give foreigners the upper hand when our own ppl are willing. Not everything 4rin is better
God help us all if Max end up prime Minister, trinis will be exiled from their own home landMaxPower wrote:hover11 wrote:Max,
We have able bodied abd educated trinis right here why must we give foreigners the upper hand when our own ppl are willing. Not everything 4rin is better
Jason,
I agree, we do have able bodied Trinis.
But they are not willing.
Foreigners are already getting the upper hand.
WE, the business community, are NO longer begging Trinis to work as we have other options. You can see this for yourself Jason, many many Venezuelans are being preferred and hired over locals and you cannot do anything to stop it. These people have proven their worth and has shown T&T their dedication and willingness.
But you don’t worry about this too much bro, go and get yourself vaccinated for me please before they do it forcefully. Just now it will be “your body, no choice”.
Redress10 wrote:Redman
How many people in TT have the investment available to invest in 50-100 acres of agricultural land that is required to make it feasible?
Be realistic nah
hover11 wrote:Tax breaks, let's say no property tax for 3 years ....exemptions from motor vehicle tax in case they wish to buy a van or h100 nothing too big but something that would make ppl consider or gravitate to suchDizzy28 wrote:hover11 wrote:Is the government making incentives for such, when there are better opportunities availableRedman wrote:How many of you guys willing to make the investment and start a local produce biz or do the work on a farm in support of same.
Min of Fin same
hover11 wrote:Tax breaks, let's say no property tax for 3 years ....exemptions from motor vehicle tax in case they wish to buy a van or h100 nothing too big but something that would make ppl consider or gravitate to suchDizzy28 wrote:hover11 wrote:Is the government making incentives for such, when there are better opportunities availableRedman wrote:How many of you guys willing to make the investment and start a local produce biz or do the work on a farm in support of same.
Min of Fin same
Redman wrote:Redress10 wrote:Redman
How many people in TT have the investment available to invest in 50-100 acres of agricultural land that is required to make it feasible?
Be realistic nah
I'm being dead realistic...because I'm the one listening to the MARKET. Its telling us that it isn't as simple as you make it out to be,those with the money and in many cases the land look to other avenues to make return.
If it was it would be happening beyond the level that it is in fact happening.
We have zero restrictions to investment into agriculture.
Except the reality that there are better ways to make a return.
Even ZR say he renting out he farmland to some one else to take the headache...but taking part of the profits.
If this wasn't the truth we wouldn't have this thread .
Agriculture has come back into fashion in the last 10 years...and maybe we are at a inflexion period where the prices will move to a level to attract investment.
Technology is also making it more feasible to leverage space and knowledge.
It's also as easy as it's ever been to access global buyers...so volume of demand is changing dynamics too.
Govt is a facilitator...up to the point where it has to distort markets further.
I saw the links what I was thinking is the mvt as that would make it highly attractive cuz mvt is the largest tax on the vehicle but I guess is something, another thing would be allowing preferential housing for them , insurance if their crops are not only flooded out but stolen and destroyed in anyway due to natural disasters, it might sound like alot but if we really want to be serious about agriculture we have to make it so ppl are willing to take up such a lifestyleDizzy28 wrote:hover11 wrote:Tax breaks, let's say no property tax for 3 years ....exemptions from motor vehicle tax in case they wish to buy a van or h100 nothing too big but something that would make ppl consider or gravitate to suchDizzy28 wrote:hover11 wrote:Is the government making incentives for such, when there are better opportunities availableRedman wrote:How many of you guys willing to make the investment and start a local produce biz or do the work on a farm in support of same.
Min of Fin same
You didn't read the links??
You can get back monies paid on purchasing vehicles to the effect it may be like not paying MVT (e.g. New 4WD up to $40k)
hover11 wrote:I saw the links what I was thinking is the mvt as that would make it highly attractive cuz mvt is the largest tax on the vehicle but I guess is something, another thing would be allowing preferential housing for them , insurance if their crops are not only flooded out but stolen and destroyed in anyway due to natural disasters, it might sound like alot but if we really want to be serious about agriculture we have to make it so ppl are willing to take up such a lifestyleDizzy28 wrote:hover11 wrote:Tax breaks, let's say no property tax for 3 years ....exemptions from motor vehicle tax in case they wish to buy a van or h100 nothing too big but something that would make ppl consider or gravitate to suchDizzy28 wrote:hover11 wrote:Is the government making incentives for such, when there are better opportunities availableRedman wrote:How many of you guys willing to make the investment and start a local produce biz or do the work on a farm in support of same.
Min of Fin same
You can get back monies paid on purchasing vehicles to the effect it may be like not paying MVT (e.g. New 4WD up to $40k)
Capture.JPG
2.JPG
Redress10 wrote:Redman wrote:Redress10 wrote:Redman
Be realistic nah
I'm being dead realistic...because I'm the one listening to the MARKET. Its telling us that it isn't as simple as you make it out to be,those with the money and in many cases the land look to other avenues to make return.
If it was it would be happening beyond the level that it is in fact happening.
We have zero restrictions to investment into agriculture.
Except the reality that there are better ways to make a return.
Even ZR say he renting out he farmland to some one else to take the headache...but taking part of the profits.
If this wasn't the truth we wouldn't have this thread .
Agriculture has come back into fashion in the last 10 years...and maybe we are at a inflexion period where the prices will move to a level to attract investment.
Technology is also making it more feasible to leverage space and knowledge.
It's also as easy as it's ever been to access global buyers...so volume of demand is changing dynamics too.
Govt is a facilitator...up to the point where it has to distort markets further.
Hoss
If we know that agriculture requires hundreds of acres in order to scale properly. Exactly who do you think has acess to such land mass? The typical farmer?
The country main races are indo and afro. Indo came as indentured labourers and afro came as slaves. Both these races worked the land but they never owned it. In America and Britain etc the people who worked the land also owned it that's why farming in those countries is a multi generational thing.
So again I ask who do you expect to own tens and hundreds of acres of farm land in TT to begin with? Is only government could own such large amounts of land and make it available like they did up in chaguaramas etc. Very few individuals hold that much land for farm use. Is little plots and lots ppl here planting and taking to garden for sale. That's why the whole sector needs to be revolutionised with new methods and technology etc.
Done that already .Not going to farm on a big scale again.Too much thievesRedman wrote:How many of you guys willing to make the investment and start a local produce biz or do the work on a farm in support of same.
Not free but I wouldn't mind the government heavily subsidizes them as this can create short medium and long term benefits for the countryDizzy28 wrote:hover11 wrote:I saw the links what I was thinking is the mvt as that would make it highly attractive cuz mvt is the largest tax on the vehicle but I guess is something, another thing would be allowing preferential housing for them , insurance if their crops are not only flooded out but stolen and destroyed in anyway due to natural disasters, it might sound like alot but if we really want to be serious about agriculture we have to make it so ppl are willing to take up such a lifestyleDizzy28 wrote:hover11 wrote:Tax breaks, let's say no property tax for 3 years ....exemptions from motor vehicle tax in case they wish to buy a van or h100 nothing too big but something that would make ppl consider or gravitate to suchDizzy28 wrote:hover11 wrote:Is the government making incentives for such, when there are better opportunities availableRedman wrote:How many of you guys willing to make the investment and start a local produce biz or do the work on a farm in support of same.
Min of Fin same
Capture.JPG
2.JPG
As far I am aware T vehicles already benefit from a concession on MVT. Its why those pickups with their big engines are not exorbitantly priced as a P vehicle would be with the same sized engine.
WRT to farmers you essentially want government to fully fund a farmer's risk portfolio for free?
Min of Fin same
My thing is we basically subsidize nearly everything in this country why farmers can't be let's take out the subsidies from gas, lights and water and focus it towards farmers , imagine the results , the import bill may not drop automatically of course but over time , you will see a reduction and there would be more options which means demand and supply would kick in , cheaper fruits and vegetables making our survival as a people better and wean us off these foreign goods88sins wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:
Min of Fin same
You want to talk about "incentives"? Ok, lewwe talk about it.
On paper, it have plenty "incentives", that sound like they just there for the asking/taking. Try to access them nah? Most startups in the agricultural sector don't qualify, simply because they too small and not being run as an actual business, many don't keep proper records on income and expenditure because they don't know how and can't afford to pay an accounting firm, many not registered as farmers even after being in it foryears, etc.
You want to incentivise them?
Many people want to go into agriculture, but they have the biggest challenge to overcome, finding the land to do it. You or them want to encourage agriculture? How's about this for an option.
When you see a man trying to plant a few acres of short crops on state lands, how's about instead of rolling through it with a bulldozer like a true arsehole, lease him the spot for a 3 year term on the condition that no permanent structure be erected and that he provide biannual evidence of using it for the purpose of agriculture only, with renewal of the lease being a possibility. As well as he should report what he planted, the costs from seed to market, and how much he made or lost, and make recommendations on what would be of help in the industry.
Do that, and you will see just how many people will run into that.
But nah, they rather just incentivise farmers on paper, and in reality make it damn near impossible for the small to medium scale farmer to access those incentives.
I understand what you saying but this is food that we need, I can't see it becoming another WASA, TTEC or NGC or another failure statutory authority. I think we could give them a chance , extend some heavy consideration and even in schools bring the awareness to children from secondary level about the importance of such, you don't need a degree to be a farmer and if done right you can make more money than a jacket and tie person. I believe this should be our focus instead of being a carnival island , we need food not parties just my take88sins wrote:Notice, I ain't say nothing about subsidies for farmers.
But facilitating them in some ways and allowing certain exemptions.
We have a track record of when something gets subsidized taxpayers end up paying for inefficiency and nonstop failures over and over for years and when time to end it is problems and people bawling they can't survive without it.
The Truth.They only support farmers on paper.88sins wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:
Min of Fin same
You want to talk about "incentives"? Ok, lewwe talk about it.
On paper, it have plenty "incentives", that sound like they just there for the asking/taking. Try to access them nah? Most startups in the agricultural sector don't qualify, simply because they too small and not being run as an actual business, many don't keep proper records on income and expenditure because they don't know how and can't afford to pay an accounting firm, many not registered as farmers even after being in it foryears, etc.
You want to incentivise them?
Many people want to go into agriculture, but they have the biggest challenge to overcome, finding the land to do it. You or them want to encourage agriculture? How's about this for an option.
When you see a man trying to plant a few acres of short crops on state lands, how's about instead of rolling through it with a bulldozer like a true arsehole, lease him the spot for a 3 year term on the condition that no permanent structure be erected and that he provide biannual evidence of using it for the purpose of agriculture only, with renewal of the lease being a possibility. As well as he should report what he planted, the costs from seed to market, and how much he made or lost, and make recommendations on what would be of help in the industry.
Do that, and you will see just how many people will run into that.
But nah, they rather just incentivise farmers on paper, and in reality make it damn near impossible for the small to medium scale farmer to access those incentives.
Bloomsdaring dragoon wrote:where does one get foreign frog lets to buy in trinidad?