Guyana-Venezuela border dispute

Re: Guyana-Venezuela border dispute

Postby Chimera » December 7th, 2023, 4:58 am

They just hadda send in a small cia team to fix their issue quietly.

All this war talk eh necessary.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 7th, 2023, 5:24 am

Chimera wrote:They just hadda send in a small cia team to fix their issue quietly.

Feeling to rewatch some Jack Ryan

Postby 88sins » December 7th, 2023, 5:45 am

Maduro feel he bright.
Wait until America involved in multiple conflicts and stretched thin before you make your move, that way they less likely to get too deeply involved with what you doing, and if they do try to get involved, they only gonna be able to afford to do so much.

But one must ask oneself the questions.

If Venezuela is not stopped in their tracks now, after invading and reclaiming Essequibo, what exactly what is to stop them from pushing forward and seizing military control of the whole of Guyana?

And who's to say they won't continue the campaign and move on to Suriname, or even T&T?

Interesting times we're in.

Postby pugboy » December 7th, 2023, 7:03 am

they must have tried that with hugo
them fellas smarter than that, have food testers and ting

Chimera wrote:They just hadda send in a small cia team to fix their issue quietly.

Postby maj. tom » December 7th, 2023, 7:24 am

Brazil deploys troops to Venezuela border

Brazil says that it is deploying troops along its border with Venezuela after the Venezuelan government announced plans to incorporate an area controlled by Guyana into its territory.

Any military incursion by Venezuela will be logistically challenging, Venezuelan soldiers would need to pass through Brazilian territory if they enter Essequibo because of challenging terrain elsewhere.

According to AFP news agency, Brazil's army has said it is reinforcing its presence in the region as part of efforts to "guarantee the inviolability of the territory".

A Guyanese army helicopter with seven people on board was reported missing near the Venezuelan border on Wednesday. However, the Guyanese Chief of Staff, Omar Khan, said there was "no information suggesting Venezuela was involved".
https://www.bbc.com/news/world-latin-america-67645018

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 7th, 2023, 8:08 am

Redress10 wrote:
alfa wrote:Throughout history one group has always stolen land from and colonized another but I want to believe in the modern era there has to be some international law against that. Only Israel can do that with impunity. But regardless of outcome is it safe to assume we can now expect more freeloaders sneaking in with the international community encouraging it because of some refugee charter we signed?

I don't understand why he is soo comfortable using colonial maps to establish borders. If Israel could claim Biblical land then countries such as Venezuela can also claim land that they believe they owned before European colonist arrived. He's being very convenient with history.

If some Arawak or Carib or Kalinagos or Tainos show up by your house and say you’re on their land, what do you do?

Well part of my ancestry is actually that race so...

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 7th, 2023, 8:11 am

88sins wrote:Maduro feel he bright.
Wait until America involved in multiple conflicts and stretched thin before you make your move, that way they less likely to get too deeply involved with what you doing, and if they do try to get involved, they only gonna be able to afford to do so much.

But one must ask oneself the questions.

If Venezuela is not stopped in their tracks now, after invading and reclaiming Essequibo, what exactly what is to stop them from pushing forward and seizing military control of the whole of Guyana?

And who's to say they won't continue the campaign and move on to Suriname, or even T&T?

Interesting times we're in.

I don't think he cares about Guyana in that way but I do believe that they legitimately believe that essequibo is theirs. I think what emboldens that belief is the fact that this started in colonial times where the current majority of inhabitants of Guyana were not a significant role player back in 1840s etc. So it's now an easy argument for them to question the legitimacy of Guyana retaining that land now that colonial days are over.

I also think what has triggered this response is the drilling by US oil companies in the area whilst Venezuela is under US sanctions. Is like a spit in the face to them. They basically seeing Guyana as facilitating the plunder of south american resources to imperialist after centuries and more recently decades of gaining control from those ppl etc.

Postby adnj » December 7th, 2023, 9:01 am

Last edited by adnj on December 9th, 2023, 3:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 7th, 2023, 9:22 am

Their playbook is to "help" the opposition, preferably someone friendly to their interests, and have the degrees of separation. No direct line to intervention.

Plausible deniability. And right now, that crackpot despot needs to take a long nap.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 7th, 2023, 11:00 am

Guys let's just establish one thing here.

Essequibo is not Venezuela's territory, despite whatever historical grievances the region is Guyanese and any annexation is not legal obviously.

So we can argue all we want about it like the Israel Palestine and Russia Ukraine.

But there's a clear winner on who's right.

We need to focus on the ramifications of if Venezuela tries to annex it, especially on us.

Venezuela has a strong army, but weak navy, this isn't about land but sea.

They will try to disrupt the exploration and extraction of oil in that region.

They might even say it's not them and that it's cartel members doing it.

Plausible deniability similar as to how Russia uses PMC to carry out dirty work.

In fact, don't be surprised if Russian PMCs start working for Maduro.

Y'all see the entrance for Putin in UAE yesterday?

OPEC is hitting back at the US and this is one of their moves.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » December 7th, 2023, 11:32 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
timothymcdavid wrote:Found they landed because of bad weather.

Source? None of the Guyanese news carrying this

Honestly cant remember where I pulled that off but they retracted it pretty quickly. Will look back on my feed for it.

What we are seeing now is they found the crash site. They are saying signs of life whatever that means

Guyana daily news facebook page.

Also in related matters US Southern command will be conducting flights over Guyana today.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 7th, 2023, 12:04 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Guys let's just establish one thing here.

Essequibo is not Venezuela's territory, despite whatever historical grievances the region is Guyanese and any annexation is not legal obviously.

So we can argue all we want about it like the Israel Palestine and Russia Ukraine.

But there's a clear winner on who's right.

We need to focus on the ramifications of if Venezuela tries to annex it, especially on us.

Venezuela has a strong army, but weak navy, this isn't about land but sea.

They will try to disrupt the exploration and extraction of oil in that region.

They might even say it's not them and that it's cartel members doing it.

Plausible deniability similar as to how Russia uses PMC to carry out dirty work.

In fact, don't be surprised if Russian PMCs start working for Maduro.

Y'all see the entrance for Putin in UAE yesterday?

OPEC is hitting back at the US and this is one of their moves.

Legal and right according to who? You think Venezuela and by extension venezuelans will just give up Essequibo just so and to Guyana of all ppl? Atleast if it was Brazil, Brazil could more than defend themselves but not that this is a topic, venezuelans moving forward will feel entitled to that land. Even if Maduro is removed from office this issue isn't dying down.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 7th, 2023, 12:06 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
timothymcdavid wrote:Found they landed because of bad weather.

Source? None of the Guyanese news carrying this

Honestly cant remember where I pulled that off but they retracted it pretty quickly. Will look back on my feed for it.

What we are seeing now is they found the crash site. They are saying signs of life whatever that means

Guyana daily news facebook page.

Also in related matters US Southern command will be conducting flights over Guyana today.

Whether it's Maduro or USA, the reality is Guyana gonna have to pay something to secure its sovereignty and resources. Either way they gonna lose their sovereignty somehow.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » December 7th, 2023, 12:07 pm

Apparently from what I can see the story "helicopter being found yesterday" came from news room Guyana and it was subsequently deleted and retraction printed which was also deleted.

I am only seeing it cause someone posted a screen shot of the story on Gordon Moseley's page.

computercentral

Postby computercentral » December 7th, 2023, 12:08 pm

IMG_7798.JPG

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » December 7th, 2023, 12:11 pm

Can someone message me when the actual war starts. Preoccupied right now with drinking white oak and cokes

Postby MaxPower » December 7th, 2023, 12:48 pm

randolphinshan wrote:Can someone message me when the actual war starts. Preoccupied right now with drinking white oak and cokes

O Rando,

Blessed day to you and them team.

Drink up well, cheers to the season.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » December 7th, 2023, 12:53 pm

ed360123 wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Brazil urging Venezuela to avoid force or threats against Guyana, says Lula aide

Brazil rejects any use of force by Venezuela to occupy the Esequibo territory in Guyana and will urge the Caracas government not to threaten its neighbor, President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva's top foreign policy advisor said on Wednesday.

https://www.reuters.com/world/americas/ ... 023-12-06/

Gotta give Lula some credit, most people thought he would turn a blind eye to any goings on there. If Bolsonaro was still in power though, this would be a whole different ballgame.
Also glad he on Guyana side. Talk is cheap though, would Brazil actually help militarily if Vene invades?

Or at the very least, punish them diplomatically?

At this juncture, Brazil doesn't want any instability in the region, especially the sort a war would cause. The only actual path that is simple in terms of logistics is through Brazil. Otherwise it's all bush and swamps and muddy streams. The Brazilian military has already said that they aren't letting any foreign troops use Brazil for an incursion and the Brazilian Foreign Minister and Lula have said that Maduro needs to stop what he is doing.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 7th, 2023, 1:01 pm

Guys isn't there a Guyana city in Venezuela? Why does Guyana take that back?

Postby maj. tom » December 7th, 2023, 1:35 pm

https://www.state.gov/secretary-blinkens-call-with-guyanese-president-ali/
Secretary of State Antony J. Blinken spoke with Guyanese President Dr. Mohamed Irfaan Ali to reaffirm the United States’ unwavering support for Guyana’s sovereignty.

The Secretary reiterated the United States’ call for a peaceful resolution to the dispute and for all parties to respect the 1899 arbitral award determining the land boundary between Venezuela and Guyana, unless, or until, the parties reach a new agreement, or a competent legal body decides otherwise.

Secretary Blinken and President Ali noted the International Court of Justice order issued on December 1, which called for parties to refrain from any action that might aggravate or extend the dispute. The Secretary reiterated that the United States looks forward to working closely with Guyana once it assumes its non-permanent seat on the United Nations Security Council in January 2024. The two leaders concluded the call by agreeing upon the importance of maintaining a peaceful and democratic Western Hemisphere.

Postby bluefete » December 7th, 2023, 3:02 pm

Is South America heading for WAR? Venezuelan President Maduro has sparked fears across the continent with vow to take oil-rich Guyana territory, with Brazil sending troops to its border
By RACHAEL BUNYAN

PUBLISHED: 15:45 GMT, 7 December 2023

Venezuelan troops with heavy equipment and machinery have been massing on their eastern border in recent weeks, heightening fears that Maduro will stand by his vow to take over Guyana's territory.

And in a visible show of support for Guyana - and a warning to Venezuela - the United States is today carrying out military flights in the South American country.

Any invasion of Guyana by Venezuela could engulf South America in a bloody war, with Brazil already sending hundreds of troops to its northern border due to the rising tensions.

Venezuelan troops in different fatigues and carrying various weapons in Caracus, Venezuela, in 2017

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... order.html

Postby Dizzy28 » December 7th, 2023, 4:04 pm

There's also a French Guiana and they and Guyana happy with each other
Dohplaydat wrote:Guys isn't there a Guyana city in Venezuela? Why does Guyana take that back?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 7th, 2023, 5:15 pm

Venezuela has good size army but planes and tanks not so much

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 7th, 2023, 5:18 pm

PariaMan wrote:Venezuela has good size army but planes and tanks not so much

They got a decent air force, but realistically they can only overpower Guyana and Trinidad, no one else.

Postby gastly369 » December 7th, 2023, 5:34 pm

Maduro might be better than the dunce we got n both sides atm.. I eh mind...

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 7th, 2023, 5:36 pm

gastly369 wrote:Maduro might be better than the dunce we got n both sides atm.. I eh mind...
Plus more vene women!

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 7th, 2023, 5:38 pm

No match for America. I am sure a few modern us fighter jets will take of those 44 probably aging jets

Once you have air superiority tanks and ground forces doh matter

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 7th, 2023, 5:53 pm

PariaMan wrote:No match for America. I am sure a few modern us fighter jets will take of those 44 probably aging jets

Once you have air superiority tanks and ground forces doh matter

Russia and China just gonna sit back and let USA destroy Venezuela? Russia didn't land two nuclear bombers there a couple years ago?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 7th, 2023, 6:00 pm

Russia too busy now with Ukraine

China growth is slowing ,less than America for the first time in a long time

They not gonna intervene.

Postby paid_influencer » December 7th, 2023, 6:12 pm

china policy is non-intervention leave the savages to do what they want outside the wall we should be more like china they are a better people