Ministers enjoy tax exemptions on cars

Re: Ministers enjoy tax exemptions on cars

Postby pugboy » July 7th, 2021, 3:20 pm

the range rover crew

VII wrote:Why doesn't the UNC kick up about this ? Damn hypocrites fed up of all of them on both sides..

Sycophants should be ashamed to even show their faces on this thread..

Postby Redman » July 7th, 2021, 3:30 pm

When Anand said it was an investment....people here defended it.

The vehicle should remain property of the govt...and be disposed of by the govt...and not the minister.

Postby De Dragon » July 7th, 2021, 3:51 pm

Redman wrote:When Anand said it was an investment....people here defended it.

The vehicle should remain property of the govt...and be disposed of by the govt...and not the minister.

Only if paid for by the GORTT right?

Postby Redman » July 7th, 2021, 4:00 pm

Of course....this is a big fakin racket..

Postby bluefete » July 7th, 2021, 4:05 pm

Redman wrote:When Anand said it was an investment....people here defended it.

Only if paid for by the GORTT right?

But ent Anand buy 2 Range Rovers within 3 years?

Asking for a friend.

Now is a PNM man who asked the question but say what:

Jeremie to Anand: What about taxes on Range Rovers?
by

Wed Mar 25 2015

Kalifa Clyne

Former attorney general Anand Ramlogan must clear the air on whether legal advice he received on motor vehicle taxes in 2012 was related to two controversial Range Rovers he bought for his personal use.The issue was raised by another former attorney general John Jeremie as he called for a police investigation into the payment of legal fees by the Office of the Attorney General during Ramlogan's tenure.

During a media conference on Monday, Jeremie said the "devil was in the details" and said attention needed to be paid to the payment of legal fees for advice sought on the "exemption from taxes on purchases of motor vehicles."The invoice date for the advice was noted as September 28, 2012, two days after approval was given for a tax exemption of the Range Rover TDV Vogue.The approval took place on the same day documents were submitted to Customs and Excise for another Range Rover purchased by Ramlogan, the Range Rover Autobiography.

One of the vehicles was sold to businessman Dev Debideen.Debideen's son, Varun Debideen, also received briefs from the Office of the Attorney General and was named in the Prisongate scandal last year.The legal advice was provided to the Office of the Attorney General by attorney Sir Fenton Ramsahoye, QC, on September 28, 2012.Both vehicles were under heavy public scrutiny after reports were put in the media regarding the approval of tax exemptions two years before the vehicles were imported.

The Office of the Attorney General provided a detailed breakdown of legal fees for the period June 2010 to October 2014.Jeremie and another former attorney general Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj said the document gave a prima facie case for financial impropriety, and gave an example of a pre-action protocol letter costing the exorbitant amount of $408,000.The statement of legal fees shows that the $408,000 figure paid to attorney Gerald Ramdeen for a pre-action protocol letter was in fact paid for three items.

A source close to Ramlogan said the advice sought from Ramsahoye regarding tax exemptions on vehicles had nothing to do with Range Rovers but was related to a matter with the Customs and Excise Division.The source also said a significant amount of the fees quoted in the document could be attributed to audits, work done for the Office of the DPP and outstanding payments for work done under the PNM.When contacted yesterday, Ramlogan said he would contact his lawyers before responding.

Breakdown

Lawyers receiving over $5 million dollars in legal fees between June 2010 and October 2014.

�2 Avory Sinanan, SC: Received $10,406,925. Represented the State in the matter of Steve Ferguson and Ish Galbaransingh vs the Attorney General.

Also represented the state in former Police Service Commissioner Nizam Mohammed vs the Attorney General and Gladys Gafoor (former deputy chairman of the Integrity Commission) vs the Attorney General.

�2 Alan Newman, QC: Received $14,474,613.54. Repeal into Section 34 of the Administration of Justice (Indictable Proceedings).

�2 Charles Russell (British solicitors): Received $63,181,472.71. BAE vs the Government of T&T (Offshore Patrol Vessels). Russell is the state's standing Privy Council agent.

�2 Dana Seetahal, SC: Received $9,294,500. Auction of properties Attorney General vs Jamat al Muslimeen. Represented the State in several matters for the DPP.

�2 Fenton Ramsahoye, QC: $9,969,080. Advice on legislation concerning violent crime in T&T.

�2 Gerald Ramdeen: Received $15,541,423. Cheryl Miller vs Attorney General. Afra Raymond vs Ministry of Finance. Wayne Kublalsingh and others vs Attorney General.

�2 Israel Khan, SC: Received $11,660,800. The extradition of Edmund Muntslag. Did work for the DPP on several matters.

�2 Jagdeo Singh: Received $5,772,166. HCU vs The Attorney General and Sir Anthony Coleman. Bail application of Edmund Muntslag.

�2 Kelvin Ramkissoon: Received $9,723,399. Wayne Kublalsingh vs Attorney General. United Clico Policyholders lawsuit. Steve Ferguson and Ishwar Galbaransigh vs The Attorney General.

�2 Larry Lalla: Received $6,974,825. THA vs The Attorney General. Extradition matters.

�2 Pamela Elder, SC: Received $7, 831,500. Extradition matters. Amernath Jagmohan vs the Commissioner of Prisons and the AG.

�2 Russell Martineau, SC: Received $8,834,875. Re opinion-ex parte AG-David West; death penalty legislation. The JCC for the construction industry vs the Ministry of Planning and Sustainable Development. Wayne Kublalsingh vs the Attorney General.

�2 Seenath Jairam, SC: Received $9,850,210. THA vs the Attorney General of T&T. Trade dispute Nos 528-535 of 2012 between OWTU vs CPO and PS in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

�2 Vincent Nelson, QC: Received $20,400,544. Legal and financial investigation into Petrotrin, May 2012 and re: Udecott/ Hart. UTT brief on appeal hearing.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2. ... c064ee821d

CNC3TV
@CNC3TV
·
Apr 4, 2016
Integrity Commission clears Anand Ramlogan over purchase of two Range Rover vehicles | CNC3 http://cnc3.co.tt/press-release/integri ... r-vehicles

Postby Redman » July 7th, 2021, 5:13 pm

This puts hundreds of thousands of dollars into the hands of the seller.
They purchase half price,keep it low mileage and then sell a high end vehicle in great condition at the market.

No wonder they buying every 2 years...within the rules...but I maintain they abusing the spirit of the benefit.
All of them.

Postby De Dragon » July 7th, 2021, 5:30 pm

Redman wrote:This puts hundreds of thousands of dollars into the hands of the seller.
They purchase half price,keep it low mileage and then sell a high end vehicle in great condition at the market.

No wonder they buying every 2 years...within the rules...but I maintain they abusing the spirit of the benefit.
All of them.

They should stop that sheit immediately. assign you a maintained GORTT vehicle, which you return when you're done "serving" the people.

Postby eliteauto » July 7th, 2021, 6:01 pm

Redman wrote:This puts hundreds of thousands of dollars into the hands of the seller.

All of them.

They should stop that sheit immediately. assign you a maintained GORTT vehicle, which you return when you're done "serving" the people.

Who tell you they don't get that too? How you feel they keep the milage low for the resale?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 7th, 2021, 7:38 pm

Even if they didnt have a ministry vehicle, they all have multiple vehicles and one can be a daily driver.

Terrence even bought a honda accord a few years back; a remarkably humble car for a trinidadian politician (only 400k at the time, 200k after subsidy)

Postby MaxPower » July 7th, 2021, 7:50 pm

Trinis,

Allyuh damn well know if allyuh had big salary with perks and a nice bank account that allyuh would do the exact SAME.

Stop hating on the people and macooing their business.

Ok fine, we inna pandemic and Ministers should also be on a reduced salary and all leisures halted.

But where would those saved tax dollars go?

Definitely no where to benefit allyuh significantly in any event. Agree?

I think its mostly sufferers beating up, but give them a little money na…see how fast they zess it out.

Better allyuh just let it go.

Postby Gladiator » July 7th, 2021, 8:53 pm

MaxPower wrote:Trinis,

Allyuh damn well know if allyuh had big salary with perks and a nice bank account that allyuh would do the exact SAME.

Ok fine, we inna pandemic and Ministers should also be on a reduced salary and all leisures halted.

I think its mostly sufferers beating up, but give them a little money na…see how fast they zess it out.

Max ... stop sucking c@ck... it not good for you. Jesus will not like you for that...

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 7th, 2021, 9:33 pm

"enough wrongs make it right"

go live in venezuela since you love those people so much

Postby MaxPower » July 7th, 2021, 9:35 pm

Gladiator wrote:

Max ... stop sucking c@ck... it not good for you. Jesus will not like you for that...

Gladman,

Admit that i at least talking some sense na.

The beating up will get us no where.

Whether PNM or UNC, they will STILL advantage the system and do what politicians do best.

Jesus loves me bro, i does pray for allyuh fellas everyday.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » July 7th, 2021, 10:03 pm

Max, if you suck somebody c@ck who was vaccinated or has COVID , are you now vaccinated or at least have some antibodies to protect you from getting infected ?

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 8th, 2021, 1:04 am

sam1978 wrote:Max, after you suck somebody c@ck who was vaccinated or has COVID , do you believe you are now vaccinated or at least have some antibodies to protect you from getting infected ?

Fixed it so the relevant authority wouldn't be offended.

Postby Ben_spanna » July 8th, 2021, 11:31 am

Must be nice to be an MP, your constituents have not seen you since before elections, you constantly ignore their pleas online and via telephone for better roads, better pavements, a community center, a better more reliable water supply for the past 25 years..always claiming you dont have the budget or know the problem ands and trying to rectify, BUT you can manage to buy brand new LUXURY cars every two years without any guilt..takes a special kind of human being to do that.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 8th, 2021, 1:26 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Must be nice to be an MP, your constituents have not seen you since before elections, you constantly ignore their pleas online and via telephone for better roads, better pavements, a community center, a better more reliable water supply for the past 25 years..always claiming you dont have the budget or know the problem ands and trying to rectify, BUT you can manage to buy brand new LUXURY cars every two years without any guilt..takes a special kind of human being to do that.

They are worshipped as well and treated as if they are a great humanitarian.

Postby toyolink » July 8th, 2021, 1:55 pm

Perks and benefits enjoyed by minister, councillors and many others who sit in chosen positions of power due to our electoral processes have always been causes for public out-cry from time to time.
When our economic and financial condition is 'good' very little attention is paid to these matters, but when things get bad the noise becomes evident.
In some ways, what disturbs us today is determined by the level of pain we are required to bear from time to time.
Material and fundamental change is not derived from spasmodic out-bursts of discomfort.

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2021, 2:00 pm

the fallacy is they come purporting to serve “the people” who ketching they tail

Postby MaxPower » July 8th, 2021, 2:56 pm

Wraith King wrote:
sam1978 wrote:Max, after you suck somebody c@ck who was vaccinated or has COVID , do you believe you are now vaccinated or at least have some antibodies to protect you from getting infected ?

I thought the Mods cleared up your Wraith King and matr1x account.

Slimlal, yuh need help yes.

Find a hobby or sumn.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » July 8th, 2021, 3:20 pm

That’s my hobby :D :D

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » July 8th, 2021, 3:21 pm

The mods know this is my only account. Didn’t you ask one to check?

Postby MaxPower » July 8th, 2021, 4:09 pm

Did they check?

How do you know they know bro?

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 8th, 2021, 5:49 pm

Wraith King wrote:

I thought the Mods cleared up your Wraith King and matr1x account.

Slimlal, yuh need help yes.

Find a hobby or sumn.

Imaginary mini mart impotent man with a gf who not sure if his gf pregnant.

You thought just as you thought you could live a false life on the internet and persons would believe you. Any luck with the relevant authority?

Postby st7 » July 8th, 2021, 6:14 pm

what have the ministers done in the past 10 years that warrant such a perk?

rem, they aren't qualified to have that job, you put them there. so if you wanna make excuses for them to enjoy such perks for a PUBLIC position, and u only see them for elections and you havent seen any progress in this country, then you are just sheep they can control.

must suck to be a slave to that mentality

death365

Postby death365 » July 8th, 2021, 6:27 pm

I think the issue isn't that they get soooo much taxes off ... its that at this point in time the country is at a very low point- economic and job wise.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 8th, 2021, 6:32 pm

st7 wrote:what have the ministers done in the past 10 years that warrant such a perk?

rem, they aren't qualified to have that job, you put them there. so if you wanna make excuses for them to enjoy such perks for a PUBLIC position, and u only see them for elections and you havent seen any progress in this country, then you are just sheep they can control.

must suck to be a slave to that mentality

They don't know any better. It's just a race thing in addition to an inferiority complex on one side and a superiority complex on the other side.

I must say thought, UNC bad but PNM just outright horrible.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » July 8th, 2021, 7:51 pm

MaxPower wrote:Did they check?

The same one you asked told me.

You know, the relevant authority.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 8th, 2021, 8:27 pm

:drinking:
sam1978 wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Did they check?

The same one you asked told me.

You know, the relevant authority.

Lmao. You know the relevant authority as well?

Postby Redman » July 9th, 2021, 7:10 am

death365 wrote:I think the issue isn't that they get soooo much taxes off ... its that at this point in time the country is at a very low point- economic and job wise.

Well the issue for me is that the person is allowed to buy the car tax free...about 50% off.
Gets a soft loan.
Has access to pool vehicles etc, travelling allowances and other travel related perqs

The vehicle is therefore unnecessary or underutilized.

2 years later they are allowed to sell the vehicle at market prices that include the 50% taxes.

So they make a profit, as a direct result of the tax free status of the purchase.
So the office gets the tax benefit...but the person monetizes it.

Benz and Porches being flipped every 2 years...they run down?

Steups...racket.