Importing a hybrid vehicle in Trinidad

drchaos

Re: Importing a hybrid vehicle in Trinidad

Postby drchaos » May 13th, 2017, 9:43 pm

Darky wrote:
eliteauto wrote:^^^ provided the vehicle engine size is 2,l and under and I think no older than 3 years

So i asked SBT japan since have a dealer down here and they said yes we still have to pay the VAT and Duty and MVT however i know last year sometime on papers ,,i saw we didnt have to pay.
calling Ministry is like a waste as well cause them never know anything

Listen to eliteauto, he knows what he is saying.

Postby eliteauto » May 13th, 2017, 9:53 pm

pugboy wrote:so the "market" price that the dealers are keeping these cars at is around $200k ?

Accords bet 130K-150K, X-trails were at 200K up, but I seeing some dealers dropped to 170K this week, dunno if that will be one-off or if competition+apprehension will drive prices down

baby hulk

Postby baby hulk » May 14th, 2017, 1:01 pm

Toyota aqua 40k otr

Postby RBphoto » May 16th, 2017, 3:18 pm

baby hulk wrote:Toyota aqua 40k otr

Really? I seeing that selling for 60-70K

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 16th, 2017, 4:09 pm

Saw it advertised for 55000.nothing stopping some one from bringing it in for themselves at lower cost

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » May 16th, 2017, 11:02 pm

Actually this is one time Trinidad got a one up. If you do some deeper research you'll find that Hyundai rushed the launch of the ioniq hybrid in Europe first with the 12v li ion battery being a tap of the larger traction battery.
After just a few weeks there were numerous complaints and they subsequently changed to traditional lead acid battery in later production models. So the countries that got it first aka first world, has the li ion. You can kinda see something up when you look at the placement wiring and workmanship on the 12v battery it doesn't match the quality in the rest of the car and looks last minute and rushed

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 17th, 2017, 9:51 am

Once upon a time, car buyers worried whether a hybrid battery would last long enough to make a Toyota Prius worth it. Well over a decade later, we know hybrid batteries are almost invincible. That’s how Prius ended up as No. 1 on the list of cars with more than 200,000 miles on them. (Some have broken the 600,000 mark.) The latest edition hasn’t lost its edge either: Consumer Reports had the new Prius leading two different classes for reliability in 2016.

Source
http://www.cheatsheet.com/automobiles/c ... ?a=viewall

Time to put this battery and maintenance talk to rest.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 17th, 2017, 10:00 am

PariaMan wrote:Once upon a time, car buyers worried whether a hybrid battery would last long enough to make a Toyota Prius worth it. Well over a decade later, we know hybrid batteries are almost invincible. That’s how Prius ended up as No. 1 on the list of cars with more than 200,000 miles on them. (Some have broken the 600,000 mark.) The latest edition hasn’t lost its edge either: Consumer Reports had the new Prius leading two different classes for reliability in 2016.

Source
http://www.cheatsheet.com/automobiles/c ... ?a=viewall

Time to put this battery and maintenance talk to rest.

Don't you just love it when people comment on a vehicles reliability, saying things like award winning and class leading and the car only came out last year :mrgreen: ?

Anyway is a toyota ...

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 17th, 2017, 10:54 am

Is year and mileage the same thing?. Just asking.Also the one we are getting roro are from 2013 and 2014 . Not so? Also the car maybe be new but battery could be a roll over from the last one. Maybe just maybe

love my beast

Postby love my beast » May 17th, 2017, 11:12 am

Hi.. Im searching to find the best way to import a suv from england. The movt and duties Calculation escapes me.. So i am requesting some assistance on that as well.. YEAR: 2017... ENGINE: 2976 cc... Price before shipping: 47,590.00 gbp... A breakdown of your equations would be very appreciated.. Thanking you guys in advance.. Nice to know you can always count on trinituner..

Persaan

Postby Persaan » June 12th, 2017, 2:31 pm

Hello. I am interested in importing a hybrid from Japan and I would appreciate getting the contact for an individual who can take me through the process. Can anyone assist?

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » June 13th, 2017, 12:44 pm

Maintaining a hybrid vehicle should not be vastly different than maintaining a petrol car. You'd still need to change your oil on time, filters, etc. There should be less wear and tear on the engine so I don't quite buy the "drivetrain higher to maintain" crap. In addition, the battery pack needs to be checked and you can get someone here to do that. A replacement battery pack can be found on Ebay if you take your time to look. I found a used 2014 Accord Hybrid battery pack for $750 USD. Most of the points Inshan made about the cars are not based on any kind of fact whatsoever.

donnysam

Postby donnysam » June 13th, 2017, 1:59 pm

SimSimmer69 wrote:Maintaining a hybrid vehicle should not be vastly different than maintaining a petrol car. You'd still need to change your oil on time, filters, etc. There should be less wear and tear on the engine so I don't quite buy the "drivetrain higher to maintain" crap. In addition, the battery pack needs to be checked and you can get someone here to do that. A replacement battery pack can be found on Ebay if you take your time to look. I found a used 2014 Accord Hybrid battery pack for $750 USD. Most of the points Inshan made about the cars are not based on any kind of fact whatsoever.

It isn't but ppl spread bad info and the public eats it up. Case in point.
I have a 2010 civic hybrid, had to change the abs modulator. I check Mohammed's in the bamboo they say they know someone who has the part for 2500, Now first of all he thought it was for the non hybrid but when he realized his error he said he will check if he has it for that one but the price different, lets say 3500. I did my checking, the American version uses identical parts aside from drive train positions. I bought the original part brand new from Honda USA and had it shipped down, total cost: $1350.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » June 23rd, 2017, 2:45 am

Anyone have one of the Accord hybrids yet?

mad

Postby mad » July 5th, 2017, 1:28 pm

Heard from some reliable sources (RORO dealers) that government going to revoke the tax break from these hybrid vehicles.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » July 5th, 2017, 2:10 pm

mad wrote:Heard from some reliable sources (RORO dealers) that government going to revoke the tax break from these hybrid vehicles.

Them sources in the know

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 5th, 2017, 4:22 pm

Well according to some tuners that's a good thing.smh

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 5th, 2017, 4:24 pm

Lol. I'm surprised they didn't do this yet.

mad

Postby mad » July 5th, 2017, 5:15 pm

PariaMan wrote:Well according to some tuners that's a good thing.smh

All over the world hybrid vehicles are taking over the market and there are tax breaks for them accordingly. But like in Trinidad we like to go two steps backwards. smh.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 5th, 2017, 5:39 pm

They not going to revoke the tax breaks until the time expires ... This is just ole talk from Dealerships and RORO dealers to get to you buy out their stock quickly.

In the grand scheme of things Hybrid sales still very low due to fear and lack of offerings so its not losing the gov a whole lotta money.

Postby RedVEVO » July 5th, 2017, 7:20 pm

mad wrote:

All over the world hybrid vehicles are taking over the market and there are tax breaks for them accordingly. But like in Trinidad we like to go two steps backwards. smh.

Who saying this ?

Where this information coming from ?

Post a link.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 5th, 2017, 9:14 pm

Starting in 2019, Volvo will use electricity to power every new model
https://www.washingtonpost.com/business ... story.html

Postby Morpheus » July 5th, 2017, 9:18 pm

Yep that's the way it's going.
Soon they'll drop the term "Hybrid" altogether...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 5th, 2017, 10:20 pm

Electric vehicles will overtake hybrids long before there are more Hybrids than standard ICE cars on the road.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 6th, 2017, 10:15 am

drchaos wrote:Electric vehicles will overtake hybrids long before there are more Hybrids than standard ICE cars on the road.

I don't agree with that.
As it stands it's more practical to have a hybrid with a small gas tank and large battery bank.
When supercharging stations become the norm on every other corner, then, and only then can I see electric vehicles surpassing hybrids locally.

[politicallycorrect]
I'm not saying that electric cars are not practical, just highlighting that it's more practical to have a hybrid or even plug in hybrid as it stands.
[/politicallycorrect]

mad

Postby mad » July 6th, 2017, 11:42 am

RedVEVO wrote:
mad wrote:

Who saying this ?

Post a link.

You serious dan.
Everyday articles are posted daily in many websites, forums, newspapers, television,. Just today in the papers have an article about volvo going fully electric. Is either people just putting a blind eye to it, doh read and research, or living in a bubble.

Postby 16 cycles » July 6th, 2017, 12:58 pm

mad

Postby mad » July 6th, 2017, 2:27 pm

drchaos wrote:They not going to revoke the tax breaks until the time expires ... This is just ole talk from Dealerships and RORO dealers to get to you buy out their stock quickly.

In the grand scheme of things Hybrid sales still very low due to fear and lack of offerings so its not losing the gov a whole lotta money.

Heard from some brokers too. What they are saying it that the government would not totally revoke it, but just implement a small fee/tax. What most of them are saying is that it has something to do with the drop in sales in Massy.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 6th, 2017, 3:53 pm

DJ Q wrote:
drchaos wrote:Electric vehicles will overtake hybrids long before there are more Hybrids than standard ICE cars on the road.

I don't agree with that.
As it stands it's more practical to have a hybrid with a small gas tank and large battery bank.
When supercharging stations become the norm on every other corner, then, and only then can I see electric vehicles surpassing hybrids locally.

[politicallycorrect]
I'm not saying that electric cars are not practical, just highlighting that it's more practical to have a hybrid or even plug in hybrid as it stands.
[/politicallycorrect]

Now notice he did say "electric will overtake before there are more hybrids than ice on the road", meaning later on when ice is being overtaken, it won't be hybrids that replace the market majority, it will be full electric vehicles.

What you are saying is correct right now, in this current time, to a point, to maintain your normal routine if you drive a lot, a hybrid is the way to go, but if you go less than 170-200k (just guessing a figure here) for the day, a full electric replacing your ice without needing to top up during the day. Trinidad small, you hadda real drive to deplete a fully charged electric.

Postby RedVEVO » July 6th, 2017, 6:24 pm

mad wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
mad wrote:

Who saying this ?

Post a link.

You serious dan.
Everyday articles are posted daily in many websites, forums, newspapers, television,. Just today in the papers have an article about volvo going fully electric. Is either people just putting a blind eye to it, doh read and research, or living in a bubble.

Where it say "all over the world Hybrid vehicles are taking over" ?

Who saying that ? Who ?

Who is "dan" ?