agent007 wrote:From the little I know, even the local lodge members are a bit divided on the whole sandals issue.
Rovin wrote:regular job cyar walk in d bank & get us$300 to go on a lil holiday or buy ting online but for certain ppl a few 100 us million $$$ is accessible ...
Sandals clarifies Turks and Caicos closure
Richardson Dhalai
Sandals Resorts International (SRI) has sought to clarify its decision to close its Beaches Turk & Caicos Resort Villages and Spa from January 2021 saying this was not as a result of unpaid taxes but for breaches by the Turks and Caicos Islands, (TCI) government of “legally binding documents.”
SRI announced recently that its Beaches resort will be closed from September 3 to October 15 in 2019 and from September 7 to October 22, 2020, and then “for an indefinite period from January 2021.”
TCI Premier and Finance Minister Sharlene Cartwright-Robinson, in a statement said her administration has been addressing the “long outstanding “issue with Beaches and remains confident “that with the facts in full view, we can bring an end to a critical outstanding matter that has seen its basis in an arrangement in place since the Resort’s operation started in the 90s and existed throughout every government in the TCI since then”.
Cartwright-Robinson said the matter is not one of Beaches avoiding taxes or of the former governments intentionally leaving this matter unaddressed.
In a statement, SRI said the resort has operated in TCI for the past 23 years and has “punctually and accurately paid taxes according to law.”
“As a matter of fact, we are the first in line to pay our taxes. To the contrary, it is Beaches Resorts that is currently owed many millions of dollars in over paid taxes.”
Redman wrote:16B loan at 5% invested in infrastructure and hotels and highways,ports etc etc etc giving an ROI of 15%-is good business.
And yeah borrowing USD at 5% with US inflation is 2-3% and putting it into solid projects is just about the cheapest money we can get.
Like EVERYTHING in finance-cost benefit-Returns vs cost of funds, total benefit vs all in cost are the determinants.
Thank you. Business people here so full of sh1t.... don't want to take any risk and always have govt foot the bill and then they jump on the bandwagon and profit. To hell with all of them.... Just like OWTU... put up or shut up.... This is why our business sector so uncompetitive.Miktay wrote:If Massy et al want to invest in Sandals...they should do so. But why gubbament needs to fund thiz. Why does gubbament need to seek external loans if large T&T companies see the potential?
ek4ever wrote:Thank you. Business people here so full of sh1t.... don't want to take any risk and always have govt foot the bill and then they jump on the bandwagon and profit. To hell with all of them.... Just like OWTU... put up or shut up.... This is why our business sector so uncompetitive.Miktay wrote:If Massy et al want to invest in Sandals...they should do so. But why gubbament needs to fund thiz. Why does gubbament need to seek external loans if large T&T companies see the potential?
And to the Sandals supporters, Tobago had Hilton here.... an international brand much bigger than Sandals... and that failed because of underlying weaknesses in our tourism products.... which still exists today and even worse off... a big name hotel was not going to fix this and just think what would happen if Sandals pull out after 5 years of under performance... who holding the bill. BTW... why would North Americans choose Tobago when Sandals have locations much closer to them?
Redman wrote:I NEVER supported the rapid rail....the closest I came was to ask for justification.
In terms of Sandals...the reality is that the GORTT would have leaned on the private sector....for some if not all of the finance.
Again...if the analysis shows that the benefits outweigh the costs...then why not.
I would just ask for robust transparent analysis
De Dragon wrote:Redman wrote:I NEVER supported the rapid rail....the closest I came was to ask for justification.
In terms of Sandals...the reality is that the GORTT would have leaned on the private sector....for some if not all of the finance.
Again...if the analysis shows that the benefits outweigh the costs...then why not.
Again, NOTHING in any of the talks, information( scant though it was) mentioned any of this. The MOU, and yes I know your take on that, clearly stated that the GORTT was to finance the project. Goebbels, nor JUHN Scarfy have ever said anything about local private sector involvement.
Redman wrote:De Dragon wrote:Redman wrote:I NEVER supported the rapid rail....the closest I came was to ask for justification.
Again, NOTHING in any of the talks, information( scant though it was) mentioned any of this. The MOU, and yes I know your take on that, clearly stated that the GORTT was to finance the project. Goebbels, nor JUHN Scarfy have ever said anything about local private sector involvement.
Uh you need to re read the MOU.
The MOU said by any reasonable means-including PRIVATE EQUITY FINANCING.
those words were used-
Govt can finance through multiple mechanisms.
De Dragon wrote:Redman wrote:De Dragon wrote:Redman wrote:I NEVER supported the rapid rail....the closest I came was to ask for justification.
Uh you need to re read the MOU.
The MOU said by any reasonable means-including PRIVATE EQUITY FINANCING.
those words were used-
Govt can finance through multiple mechanisms.
What they could have done, and what they were actually going to do are very, very different things. I f you could show me where a spirited defence of this "game changing" project by JUHN Scarfy, or Goebbels, or fack it any PNM politico, that specifically mentions private sector funding, I'd be grateful.
Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley revealed on Sunday that Government is seeking private-sector investment to help build the Sandals resort in Tobago and that so far, Guardian Life and Massy Holdings have expressed an interest.
A Perceived Billonare criminal was jail and he also sponsored Cricket.Monk BANzai wrote:for those of you who thought Sandals was gonna make indigenous Trinis and Bagoninans "Bell hops"...
https://news784.com/local-news/sandals- ... t-vincent/
Gov't after gov't never gets it right.... another lost opportunity.
Monk BANzai wrote:for those of you who thought Sandals was gonna make indigenous Trinis and Bagoninans "Bell hops"...
beachesplane.jpg
Monk BANzai wrote:for those of you who thought Sandals was gonna make indigenous Trinis and Bagoninans "Bell hops"...
beachesplane.jpg
88sins wrote:Monk BANzai wrote:for those of you who thought Sandals was gonna make indigenous Trinis and Bagoninans "Bell hops"...
beachesplane.jpg
problem wasn't only turning locals into "bell hops" tho
iirc we were supposed to pay the total cost to initial build it entirely from the ground up & operate it, sandals would then plaster their name on it, control who works there, who supplies them, & then take a huge chunk of the revenue generated. That whole deal was looking & sounding like ratchet racket. It would have been a real sweet deal if it went thru, sweet for sandals.
consider
with this pandemic in the air & many countries limiting & restricting travel for God alone knows how long again, and who knows how long it will be before tourist arrival numbers return to pre-covid normalcy not just here but across the region, some would say that since that deal never went thru we might have just dodged a bullet. no sense having a new 1000 room hotel with nobody in it due to covid travel restrictions or the tourist pool shrinks due to economic hard times in north america & europe.
Monk BANzai wrote:88sins wrote:Monk BANzai wrote:for those of you who thought Sandals was gonna make indigenous Trinis and Bagoninans "Bell hops"...
beachesplane.jpg
problem wasn't only turning locals into "bell hops" tho
iirc we were supposed to pay the total cost to initial build it entirely from the ground up & operate it, sandals would then plaster their name on it, control who works there, who supplies them, & then take a huge chunk of the revenue generated. That whole deal was looking & sounding like ratchet racket. It would have been a real sweet deal if it went thru, sweet for sandals.
consider
with this pandemic in the air & many countries limiting & restricting travel for God alone knows how long again, and who knows how long it will be before tourist arrival numbers return to pre-covid normalcy not just here but across the region, some would say that since that deal never went thru we might have just dodged a bullet. no sense having a new 1000 room hotel with nobody in it due to covid travel restrictions or the tourist pool shrinks due to economic hard times in north america & europe.
i have no issue with that to be honest, given that on our OWN steam we can't do jack chit. At least it would have taken the value of the Tourism dollar higher than us trying to get it off the ground...and failing at it. Had we have a solid environment and Sandals came with that trojan horse we were well within our method to hit them a HYMC. But we are not. And we constantly sit in a position of "What if" instead of pulling le trigger.
And again i ask, the other Caribbean countries that use the Sandals model...where are they in tersm of the global tourism footprint?
Where are we? From a process standpoint. We've gone and shopped for what we want, and admit that we don't have the means to do it.....and yet...
Good points and perspective tho..got me thinking about other regions and how they are mitigating the risk of large empty rooms and what the governments of those regions are doing to stem the bleed.