Re: Budget 2016/2017

Postby 88sins » October 2nd, 2016, 4:33 pm

signed

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 2nd, 2016, 5:28 pm

Alyuh honestly think that petition will change anything?

triniringo

Postby triniringo » October 2nd, 2016, 5:31 pm

Property tax calculation:

monthly rental value of your property =$4000.00 x 12= $48000.00/.03=$1440.00

so $1440.00 would be your new annual property tax

Re: RE: Re: Budget 2016/2017

Postby gastly369 » October 2nd, 2016, 5:40 pm

viedcht wrote:Alyuh honestly think that petition will change anything?

Tbh never saw them ting work ever...

But hey signed ..

Postby sMASH » October 2nd, 2016, 5:41 pm

Wait an hear what a tax valuation says ur rental value is

Postby Gladiator » October 2nd, 2016, 5:57 pm

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 2nd, 2016, 6:14 pm

Ent allyuh sign petition for raising the speed limit.. Wah hinds do...not one mc...what so different about this petition ?

Postby sMASH » October 2nd, 2016, 6:45 pm

Gauge of acceptance.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 2nd, 2016, 6:47 pm

Mayor petition was different. He brought out the vitriol. International vitriol too. Online tax not so much. Some are angry but most are just like meh. "I'll shop less" or " I could take a 7% cuz I took it with Amazon anyway and didn't complain or stop".

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 2nd, 2016, 6:57 pm

gastly369 wrote:

But hey signed ..

It worked for Brexit in the UK

Believe it or not these things actually do work sometimes.

Postby gastly369 » October 2nd, 2016, 6:57 pm

*edit locally

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 2nd, 2016, 7:36 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Ent allyuh sign petition for raising the speed limit.. Wah hinds do...not one mc...what so different about this petition ?

Yeah close to 15K signatures and Hinds response was ... what petition?

Postby bluefete » October 2nd, 2016, 7:49 pm

triniringo wrote:Property tax calculation:

monthly rental value of your property =$4000.00 x 12= $48000.00/.03=$1440.00

so $1440.00 would be your new annual property tax

I think this is supposed to be $48,000.00 less 10% (for the average time the property may not be rented - applies to RESIDENTIAL properties only) = $48,000.00 - $4,800.00 = $43,200.00
$43,200.00 /.03 = $1,296.00

$1,296.00 would be the annual property tax.

zagie

Postby zagie » October 2nd, 2016, 8:04 pm

does the term property tax cover house tax also or do u have to pay that separate and if so whats the calculation

Postby nervewrecker » October 2nd, 2016, 8:17 pm

zagie wrote:does the term property tax cover house tax also or do u have to pay that separate and if so whats the calculation

Postby desifemlove » October 2nd, 2016, 9:19 pm

millionaire tax? express needs to stop publishing sheit..

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160930 ... tax-coming

name a country that doesn't tax high-earners more. as long as it's not ultra-high rates like 90%, who gives a sheit?

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » October 2nd, 2016, 9:51 pm

the speed limit petition was such a huge success.

Postby sMASH » October 2nd, 2016, 9:55 pm

So all homes have the rentable value of $4000 Per month?

Postby sMASH » October 2nd, 2016, 9:57 pm

From the manning era, properly tax was to be the new name of both the land and building tax combined.

If all houses going to be assessed at $4000, well no problem.

Postby desifemlove » October 2nd, 2016, 10:42 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
gastly369 wrote:

But hey signed ..

It worked for Brexit in the UK

Believe it or not these things actually do work sometimes.

it did?

so the PM's speech was a lie and a con, lol.

Postby desifemlove » October 2nd, 2016, 10:44 pm

what's wrong with online tax?

some taxes make sense, or have sound grounds, it ent all some scheme to scamp and/or punish.

T&T has a FOREX issue, and FOREX is lost immediately on purchase. if this tax compensates for FOREX, then fine. just have to suck it up. i run an online business, but i and most others i know in same business suck it up, there is the bigger picture to look at.

Postby teems1 » October 2nd, 2016, 10:46 pm

desifemlove wrote:what's wrong with online tax?

some taxes make sense, or have sound grounds, it ent all some scheme to scamp and/or punish.

T&T has a FOREX issue
, and FOREX is lost immediately on purchase. if this tax compensates for FOREX, then fine. just have to suck it up. i run an online business, but i and most others i know in same business suck it up, there is the bigger picture to look at.

T&T has a FOREX issue only when it's citizens need it.

When a large corporation backed by party financiers request and hoard FOREX it's no problem.

Postby Morpheus » October 2nd, 2016, 11:04 pm

So where was this issue all along? All these skybox companies did not pop up in 2015.

We already pay VAT an DUTY. We not importing for free.

Postby desifemlove » October 2nd, 2016, 11:07 pm

dunno why they only put in on air freight not sea freight, but then nothing to stop businesses from raising prices and this is not someting we need cos it's inflation. still little wrong with it in principle, and to be fair won't affect me much. i shop online a lot and seven percent isn't much imho.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » October 2nd, 2016, 11:51 pm

In for the subscription

Now catching the updates but from the responses I've seen so far is outcome of structural adjustments. More frowns than smiles and justifiably so. Given the circumstances it doesn't matter which administration, probably would be the same.

Postby Morpheus » October 3rd, 2016, 1:01 am

^^And that's what is funny about the "allyuh go eat grass" and "allyuh vote for that" comments.
I've said even before GE 2015, whoever wins would have to make some tough, unpopular decisions.
The only difference would have been how and from where...

The decisions affect everybody. Not just one race or one group of voters as some people seem to think or even wish....

Postby sMASH » October 3rd, 2016, 4:55 am

teems1 wrote:
desifemlove wrote:what's wrong with online tax?

T&T has a FOREX issue
, and FOREX is lost immediately on purchase. if this tax compensates for FOREX, then fine. just have to suck it up. i run an online business, but i and most others i know in same business suck it up, there is the bigger picture to look at.

T&T has a FOREX issue only when it's citizens need it.

When a large corporation backed by party financiers request and hoard FOREX it's no problem.

I was in hesitant support of it, until I realized this^^.
The intention is to curtail foreign purchases online, then the local big sellers, purchase the same foreign goods.

The citizen is left to pay an inflated price compared to an online purchase.

This would weaken the purchasing power of the citizen, eat into their disposable income and stagnate their local economy spending.

I can't buy bbq tonight because u had to spend more for ur goods than before. Then the bbq man suffer.

If keeping the USd is the issue, raise the exchange rate even more so that all parties would play on the level ground.

Postby 88sins » October 3rd, 2016, 5:58 am

Morpheus wrote:So where was this issue all along? All these skybox companies did not pop up in 2015.

We already pay VAT an DUTY. We not importing for free.

and is the rate we pay at too. import duty could be as high as 30%, VAT is about 18%, thats almost 50% of the cost of the item, now this pasty midget jackass sayin tack on a next 7%

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 3rd, 2016, 6:33 am

Morpheus wrote:^^And that's what is funny about the "allyuh go eat grass" and "allyuh vote for that" comments.
I've said even before GE 2015, whoever wins would have to make some tough, unpopular decisions.

The decisions affect everybody. Not just one race or one group of voters as some people seem to think or even wish....

those posts can/ should be easily ignored; you should be used to seeing bs from both sides of the barn by now. I think people are generally irate that this budget just seems to be biding time in the hopes that oil rebounds and soon. Even with that being the case, what's the long term plan? What's being done to stimulate or improve consumer confidence? Most important though, did anyone notice there's a Pikachu icon in the "post icon" area when you're posting a reply? :o

Postby Redman » October 3rd, 2016, 6:50 am

tourniquet wrote:
Morpheus wrote:^^And that's what is funny about the "allyuh go eat grass" and "allyuh vote for that" comments.

those posts can/ should be easily ignored; you should be used to seeing bs from both sides of the barn by now. I think people are generally irate that this budget just seems to be biding time in the hopes that oil rebounds and soon. Even with that being the case, what's the long term plan? What's being done to stimulate or improve consumer confidence? Most important though, did anyone notice there's a Pikachu icon in the "post icon" area when you're posting a reply? :o

Oil and Gas production is where we have the dots connected. Oil is there,Manpower and Equipment in hand

Regardless of where oil prices are we need 165000 BBLs per day in order to keep the refinery producing.
40% of which is required locally.

Regardless of what you believe regarding the future of oil and Alternative energy, TnT will need hydrocarbons for the foreseeable future.

And every barrel we produce here
Generates rev for the Producer,employees and spin off
the Country pays 50% of WTI generally instead of 100+% for imported oil
We save hard currency -Keep in mind that the local producer is now a net USD GENERATOR since his production cuts USD expenditure on the crude but generates USD sales on the output.

And frankly we can use these savings to stabilize and diversify....

For all the disappointment posted here about diversification and the lack of....what should we go into that
a) Doesnt require significant investment
b)Doesnt have a gestation period
c)Really can make an economic impact.

If any one here is confronted with
50% income cut
Significant Debt
and High ongoing expenses....

your focus becomes tactical and not strategic,you worry about the next days,weeks,month...not expansion of your asset base.

Time and place-we in transition regardless of who is in power....its time we behave as such