65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 14th, 2016, 12:44 pm

sMASH wrote:. . .u need a balance of both, and that 80 is too much of an infraction.

:| Based on what? Come nah man, is big people you dealing with here, not little children. Stop this foolishness with what you did with your Frontier and provide sound technical data to support your call for increasing the speed limit. You have not done that at all.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 14th, 2016, 12:53 pm

Doh worry boy Rory Imbert gonna raise the speed limit so no more need to debate this.

100 is the new 80, everyone get used to it.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 14th, 2016, 12:55 pm

mark2.0 wrote:Hilux Revo padna!

I knew it! Your name really is Raj! :mrgreen:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 14th, 2016, 11:31 pm

Driving from PoS to chaguanas at about 7-8 pm...I m doing 80 in the left lane...cars passing me like voosh....on the two other lanes....vans. .goods vehicles. Trucks....and cars.. .two cars...overtook me driving on the shoulder....man...that was scary. Made me wonder what sheit I doing by endangering my life doing 80 when everybody else was at 100 -120........so did the law change for this weekend....or because of the review that s taking place on Monday..are the speed guns put away....until then....or is it that the guns are already damaged by trini officers...or is the phase of obeying ridiculous speed limits over????

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 14th, 2016, 11:41 pm

Yeah saw the same going in the opposite direction ... trucks passing me at 110.
Even saw a H100 weaving aroinf traffic at around 120.
Its like we have gone back in time to before the speed guns.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 14th, 2016, 11:44 pm

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Driving from PoS to chaguanas at about 7-8 pm...I m doing 80 in the left lane...cars passing me like voosh....on the two other lanes....vans. .goods vehicles. Trucks....and cars.. .two cars...overtook me driving on the shoulder....man...that was scary. Made me wonder what sheit I doing by endangering my life doing 80 when everybody else was at 100 -120........so did the law change for this weekend....or because of the review that s taking place on Monday..are the speed guns put away....until then....or is it that the guns are already damaged by trini officers...or is the phase of obeying ridiculous speed limits over????

6 guns in the country and you expect them to pick up on your little experience?

Postby rollingstock » May 14th, 2016, 11:51 pm

Today was police sports, y'all missed out on a free for all day.

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » May 15th, 2016, 7:11 am

LOL ...

sentraman

Postby sentraman » May 15th, 2016, 8:42 am

Some of you guys do know that if the limit is increased that doesn't mean that is the speed you have to actually go.. It's the limit as in that's the speed you can't pass. You think all these fellas who find that 80 good would drive 120 if the limit goes up? Some may very well stay at their 80 on the left and others which I suspect will be many would be now pushing it to the new limit whatever it may be.

As for a man in a loaded truck that can feel his truck feeling somewhat unstable, for him to push that truck to 120 because that's the limit is not only insane it's stupid..

I would like to think that not all drivers carrying load would push it to the limit.

In addition the majority of pickups you see on the road are family vehicles for private use and not "goods" trucks. So don't be hating on ppl because you decided a truck too big for you to drive or didn't suit your needs.
These aren't the same old trucks from 1969.

Re: RE: Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2016, 9:09 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
sMASH wrote:. . .u need a balance of both, and that 80 is too much of an infraction.

:| Based on what? Come nah man, is big people you dealing with here, not little children. Stop this foolishness with what you did with your Frontier and provide sound technical data to support your call for increasing the speed limit. You have not done that at all.

My argument was despite the scientific calculations. That vehicles today, in practise can manoeuvre a lot more safely at higher speeds than their calculations.

If b. Hinds could publish some statistics of the pre-enforcement era of traffic for most highways, we could look at that.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » May 15th, 2016, 9:22 am

I do remember the days when power steering came around and ppl could not go back to driving non-power steering vehicles because it took a lot of work to manoeuvre. I still don't support high speeds though. Trinis have no common sense to match the vehicular evolution that has taken place. They will speed with bald tires and old brakes, while drunk. 100km/h is good enough. U don't need a big study to tell that Trinidad shyt roads is not for speeding. Uneven surfaces, patch here patch there, sinkhole there, deep puddle of water to hydroplane into the median at spots along the highway. Too much ting Trini drivers have to learn before I can consider them civilized drivers.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 15th, 2016, 9:50 am

Fuss man with sense

Postby gastly369 » May 15th, 2016, 10:26 am

Driving on we roads be like

jones81

Postby jones81 » May 15th, 2016, 11:08 am

pete wrote:L300 has an mgw of 2505 so not ALL T vehicles affected. Plenty of those on the road.

Old model hilux MGW is 2400 :D ,

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 15th, 2016, 11:38 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Driving from PoS to chaguanas at about 7-8 pm...I m doing 80 in the left lane...cars passing me like voosh....on the two other lanes....vans. .goods vehicles. Trucks....and cars.. .two cars...overtook me driving on the shoulder....man...that was scary. Made me wonder what sheit I doing by endangering my life doing 80 when everybody else was at 100 -120........so did the law change for this weekend....or because of the review that s taking place on Monday..are the speed guns put away....until then....or is it that the guns are already damaged by trini officers...or is the phase of obeying ridiculous speed limits over????

6 guns in the country and you expect them to pick up on your little experience?

ggod lawd man,,,,I mean people are not following the limit as they were doing when it was announced that the speed guns would be in effect.......wondering if the phase is over....

hadda read and spell for allyuh all the time......steups....

Postby pete » May 15th, 2016, 5:57 pm

The fact that the l300 could drive faster than new model pickups shows how stupid the law is. Empty, crosswinds blow them all over the place, they have no ABS and airbags and feel very unstable.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 15th, 2016, 8:02 pm

pete wrote:The fact that the l300 could drive faster than new model pickups shows how stupid the law is. Empty, crosswinds blow them all over the place, they have no ABS and airbags and feel very unstable.
isn't the L300 classed as a goods vehicle? All Goods vehicles speed limit is 65kmph on the highway.

i have an issue with maxi taxis being allowed to go 80kmph - are they even allowed on the highway?

bossmann

Postby bossmann » May 15th, 2016, 8:23 pm

Kinda off topic question, but the guys with diesel particulate filters, doesn't the regeneration start at around 80km/hr?

Postby pete » May 15th, 2016, 8:37 pm

pete wrote:The fact that the l300 could drive faster than new model pickups shows how stupid the law is. Empty, crosswinds blow them all over the place, they have no ABS and airbags and feel very unstable.
isn't the L300 classed as a goods vehicle? All Goods vehicles speed limit is 65kmph on the highway.

i have an issue with maxi taxis being allowed to go 80kmph - are they even allowed on the highway?

No, it's goods vehicles with an MGW greater than 2540kg. L300 is 2505

Postby adnj » May 15th, 2016, 8:44 pm

Ten or more passengers has a speed limit of 65 also. It's shown in the first post.

Postby nervewrecker » May 15th, 2016, 10:24 pm

pete wrote:

I had to do a search on this because to my knowledge you needed Heavy T to drive an L300.

viewtopic.php?p=3849645

Says its 3100kg here.

*shrugs shoulders*

bossmann

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby bossmann » May 15th, 2016, 10:43 pm

pete wrote:

I had to do a search on this because to my knowledge you needed Heavy T to drive an L300.

viewtopic.php?p=3849645

Says its 3100kg here.

*shrugs shoulders*

Most l300's I've encountered are class 3 not 4

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 15th, 2016, 11:24 pm

Heavy t for rAnger not l300

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 15th, 2016, 11:27 pm

Latest model has and and airbags.

Postby pete » May 16th, 2016, 6:03 am

The panel van?

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby *KRONIK* » May 16th, 2016, 6:15 am

pete wrote:

viewtopic.php?p=3849645

Says its 3100kg here.

*shrugs shoulders*

L300s have a MGW of 2505kg and TARE OF 1308kg as previously mentioned.

Most of the nissan caravans/urvan/e25 (local and foreign) are 3100+/- kgs (class 4)
The new NV300 is 3400kgs

The local toyota hiace is 2800kgs (class3) while the RORO are usually between 2980-32xx (class 4).

Postby SR » May 16th, 2016, 9:49 am

bossmann wrote:Kinda off topic question, but the guys with diesel particulate filters, doesn't the regeneration start at around 80km/hr?

This........

bossmann

Postby bossmann » May 16th, 2016, 10:07 am

Saw a L300 with an MGW of 2580 this morning. All L300 are not exempt from the 65km/hr

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 16th, 2016, 5:02 pm

Yup....I dunno where they got that information from ...l300 I saw today were 2580 and not less as one person stated...that's wrong info ....

Postby Gem_in_i » May 16th, 2016, 5:16 pm

Felt like i was one of the few going the speed limit today and a few trucks.