Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby sMASH » May 6th, 2016, 12:28 am

What is de point of having a highway if u not going to let the vehicles drive fast?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 6th, 2016, 12:34 am

j.o.e wrote:I feel bad it for the fella who got jammed for 85..... But trinidad has gotten too lawless, we need some drastic and somewhat draconian measures to force a change in behavior. Would like to see law enforcement move to enforce laws across the board.

Yes ... lets get to work on enforcing all our laws in a draconian fashion.
Remember that baby that was caught wearing camouflage in the airport, instead of having it confiscated the baby/parents should have been fined $1000 and imprisoned for 18 months.

Also all adult men that perform "buggery" on their adult partners (be they male or female, even if its consensual) should be imprisoned right away for 85 years according to the laws.

Yes we need to start enforcing all our laws in strict and "no quarter given" manner no matter how dotish they may be, and this includes an 80 KPH speed limit on the highways.

Postby redmanjp » May 6th, 2016, 12:36 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I remember it was always 50. Unless they changed it recently.

the foreshore part is 80

Postby j.o.e » May 6th, 2016, 12:37 am

drchaos wrote:
j.o.e wrote:I feel bad it for the fella who got jammed for 85..... But trinidad has gotten too lawless, we need some drastic and somewhat draconian measures to force a change in behavior. Would like to see law enforcement move to enforce laws across the board.

Remember that baby that was caught wearing camouflage in the airport, instead of having it confiscated the baby/parents should have been fined $1000 and imprisoned for 18 months.

Also all adult men that perform "buggery" on their adult partners (be they male or female, even if its consensual) should be imprisoned right away for 85 years according to the laws.

Yes we need to start enforcing all our laws in strict and "no quarter given" manner no matter how dotish they may be, and this includes an 80 KPH speed limit on the highways.

Or maybe stuff like littering, lighting of fires, building codes, corruption in public office. But I see you prefer to beat up.

Postby redmanjp » May 6th, 2016, 12:38 am

hmm allyuh doh forget by Sealots is 50 kph eh doh even do 55. yuh getting charge. I would think from the NP flyover heading East is 80?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 6th, 2016, 12:39 am

j.o.e wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Or maybe stuff like littering, lighting of fires, building codes, corruption in public office. But I see you prefer to beat up.

Hadda beat up ... is thinking like the above is why we still in a legislative stone age.

Postby j.o.e » May 6th, 2016, 12:45 am

I have no problem if people wanna discuss adjusting the speed limit. However, it's only a problem now because it's being enforced. It just feels like people have no intention of even trying to follow the law which always existed.
No one is providing a justified reason why the limit should be higher. Is it difficult for me to drive at 80? Yes it is .... But that's because I've never had to. It's also been difficult for me to follow the speed limit abroad, because I'm unaccustomed to paying attention to my speed. Behavior can be adjusted let's try that before adjusting the limit to our behavior

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 6th, 2016, 12:55 am

Can these speeding tickets be challenged in court? Or is it just a fine you have to pay?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 6th, 2016, 12:58 am

On another note we can all drive at the speed limits and then the money they spent would have been wasted on the equipment they acquired

Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby j.o.e » May 6th, 2016, 1:45 am

I prefer to see the bright side imagine a car thief trying to get away while everyone else is obeying the speed limit. While he may not be pulled over for speeding he'll surely stick out like a sore thumb. Before all trinis drove like they stole it.
Last edited by j.o.e on May 6th, 2016, 1:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby DVSTT » May 6th, 2016, 1:54 am

160+ murders for 2016 but TTPS boasting about charging a man $1000 for going 5km/h in excess.

Postby maj. tom » May 6th, 2016, 4:59 am

But it's a start at reducing the lawless attitude in this country. The small infractions do count.
They need to do it for littering, vehicle exhaust emissions, parking on pavements/double parking... all the small things.

Then Trinidad may soon become a better place to live afterall.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » May 6th, 2016, 6:46 am

Ah love the beat up. Allyuh just follow the law and relax

Postby aaron17 » May 6th, 2016, 6:56 am

Well I am not experienced in driving all over. Maybe 3 years exp. And ppl driving all kinda speeds so it confusing. And I only watch signs where the govt really supposed to place all over so that drivers can drive at that speed..eg like rivulet.. they did not put a sign since that I saw.. when they built it back

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » May 6th, 2016, 7:14 am

maj. tom wrote:But it's a start at reducing the lawless attitude in this country. The small infractions do count.
They need to do it for littering, vehicle exhaust emissions, parking on pavements/double parking... all the small things.

Then Trinidad may soon become a better place to live afterall.

Like yuh recently moved to Trinidad,keep telling yuh self that!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 6th, 2016, 7:21 am

7 men get rack up already...so daz an avg of 7k for the gov't right there(providing nobody crossed the 120)...

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 6th, 2016, 7:27 am

drchaos wrote:Can these speeding tickets be challenged in court? Or is it just a fine you have to pay?

Any ticket can be challenged, But its usually a great waste of your time as our court system is the worst. Even if you end up not having to pay the ticket, you lose your time.

Postby aaron17 » May 6th, 2016, 7:32 am

Ok I saw 50 on main roads and 80 on highways ..hmm what about settlements?

Postby Redman » May 6th, 2016, 7:38 am

j.o.e wrote:I prefer to see the bright side imagine a car thief trying to get away while everyone else is obeying the speed limit. While he may not be pulled over for speeding he'll surely stick out like a sore thumb. Before all trinis drove like they stole it.

LOL

Well said.

We need to change many of our habits.
If we do our space will improve

megadoc1

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby megadoc1 » May 6th, 2016, 7:47 am

BRZ wrote:
drchaos wrote:Can these speeding tickets be challenged in court? Or is it just a fine you have to pay?

Any ticket can be challenged, But its usually a great waste of your time as our court system is the worst. Even if you end up not having to pay the ticket, you lose your time.

Although this is true, I disagree with time wasted part because the police knows this and it can lead to abuse ,many people suffer loss because they don't want to waste time in court but if we do ,the police officers will be sure to do the right thing .

they spend a lot of time training and certifying the users of these guns but there can be instances of abuse. In my view,the time spent in court can only be considered a waste from a selfish point of view but in reality, it serves to keep our law enforcement officers in check for all of us

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 6th, 2016, 7:51 am

Man get charged for doing 85km .that the highlight of ttps.....so this is their tool for performance measurement....

Guess they doing a fabulous job Mr.Hinds

Kalisnakov

Postby Kalisnakov » May 6th, 2016, 7:54 am

Hope d ministers doin 80km also,cuz dem can't b inconveniencing ppl while dem doin wat they want!!!
U really think government care abt accident/death,this is jus another way 2 pull in revenue

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 6th, 2016, 8:41 am

govt officials have their outriders clearing the way for them while they speed around at over 120kms, they don't care bout you.

drchaos

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby drchaos » May 6th, 2016, 9:13 am

megadoc1 wrote:
BRZ wrote:

Although this is true, I disagree with time wasted part because the police knows this and it can lead to abuse ,many people suffer loss because they don't want to waste time in court but if we do ,the police officers will be sure to do the right thing .

they spend a lot of time training and certifying the users of these guns but there can be instances of abuse. In my view,the time spent in court can only be considered a waste from a selfish point of view but in reality, it serves to keep our law enforcement officers in check for all of us

The problem with our justice system as well is that the offcier has to show up to court for all these challenges. Sometimes they end up spending more time in court than on the streets.

If everyone challenges every ticket it would break the system. Police would drastically slow down the issuing of tickets so they don't have to end up in court with more paperwork.

Postby Les Bain » May 6th, 2016, 9:24 am

It's been a challenge to get into this new enforcement during the week's commute, but the true challenge is to be seen when the roads are more open during the weekend.

Still, it's nice to see the Police social media arm posting results of the 7 speed demons being busted so far. I'd like to see some variety though. Put some of that fervor into boosting the crime detection rates for serious crimes.

Postby Habit7 » May 6th, 2016, 9:48 am

Actually, Broken Windows Theory practiced in New York in which the police pursued small infractions as aggressively as big ones, resulted in tremendous reduction in crime.

The fact that so many beating up about now having to obey the law, discussing how to use devices to avoid detection, frustrating the justice system and demanding leniency. Then conversely they can't tolerate murder, corruption, slow justice system and soft sentencing.

This is just emblematic of our bigger problem.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 6th, 2016, 9:53 am

If the Tru can spot and take pictures from such a far distance- CAN it be LEGALLY USED to also take pics and issue a ticket if caught on the SHOULDER????

Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby j.o.e » May 6th, 2016, 9:57 am

BRZ wrote:If the Tru can spot and take pictures from such a far distance- CAN it be LEGALLY USED to also take pics and issue a ticket if caught on the SHOULDER????

I'd assume that someone driving on the shoulder is NOT doing the speed limit any way. Just use it for what's it's for and hit them for speeding. But I see your point that someone crawling along at 60km to beat traffic can be proved to be travelling at speed on the shoulder.

RY&

Postby RY& » May 6th, 2016, 10:44 am

naive tuners dat can't blatantly see that this has nothing to do with enforcing laws but rather make money. Watching these men talk sheit about oh this will help with murders n other crime. Steups. Govt only concern is revenue. Murders etc have no revenue so u do d math! Before they tax big businesses n industries u wanna tax d food on a man table. Anti robin hood behavior! Steal from d poor to give d rich smh. It's hilarious how men saying 100-120 will encourage reckless driving when d reality is it will curb it because now men don't have to cut in n out! Raising d speed limit doesn't mean dat d fearful 80kmh drivers have to drive 120. Drive 80 drive 40 heck let d car roll in neutral 4 all I care but do it in d left lane! N if u still not happy get off d ppl dem road n go on d main rd! There are main roads parallel to almost all highways so use it! Wen u see on news about all these accidents from men speeding u really think is 100-120 men doing. Clocking 160 n up! but d most we can do is beyotch about sheit on tuner n continue to let d dictatorship reign! Back to d plantation i go...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 6th, 2016, 10:50 am

Habit7 wrote:Actually, Broken Windows Theory practiced in New York in which the police pursued small infractions as aggressively as big ones, resulted in tremendous reduction in crime.

The fact that so many beating up about now having to obey the law, discussing how to use devices to avoid detection, frustrating the justice system and demanding leniency. Then conversely they can't tolerate murder, corruption, slow justice system and soft sentencing.

This is just emblematic of our bigger problem.

Heard about the broken window theory and I am all for that but this not what the police are doing.
They going after infraction on speed only. Nothing is being done for breaking any other law on the roadways. That's like going after rapists and saying we will give them murderers a bligh.
Make it fair across the board and the people will respond in kind.