2 Mil Mercedes-Maybach S-Class for PM

Re: 2 Mil Mercedes-Maybach S-Class for PM

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2017, 7:34 am

Those suggesting, sarcastically or seriously, that he be driven in a Corolla, or Tiida are being facetious. No one is saying that he be driven in those, but to go to the other extreme, is also unwise, ESPECIALLY given his own pronouncements on the economy. Much political capital is being lost by this and other actions.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 22nd, 2017, 7:35 am

greggle71 wrote:What is an appropriate vehicle for PM transport and what price point?

Tiida on 20s apparently,!!!!!

no the 20s will void the insurance and make the ride a little rough.

Postby Redman » March 22nd, 2017, 8:49 am

De Dragon wrote:Those suggesting, sarcastically or seriously, that he be driven in a Corolla, or Tiida are being facetious. No one is saying that he be driven in those, but to go to the other extreme, is also unwise, ESPECIALLY given his own pronouncements on the economy. Much political capital is being lost by this and other actions.

Really?
This is a nuisance story-like it was under the UNC.

Anyone that believes that this is an issue-wants to make it an issue for the issues sake.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 22nd, 2017, 9:01 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Just a contractual question concerning the purchase for someone to answer.

They said the car was ordered under the UNC administration. If under the PNM administration, they cancelled the order, what would the financial penalties be for the cancellation? Perhaps, in this case the supplier of the vehicle would have had a legitimate claim for loss of profit and overhead charges. And when you weigh having to pay these costs, in addition to the initial capital cost of a "lower priced" car suitable for a PM, you end up having to pay the same price as if you just bought the original car.

Something for you all to consider.

Did you see the contractual agreement? What would have been the penalty for canceling the order? Its not that simple as well.
There are other options like auctioning if they decided the car was an unnecessary expense and the penalty was too high for cancellation.

Most of you guys are arguing that they should keep the vehicle because it was ordered by the last administration. Why then did they not keep the Cayenne that Vasant had as the minters vehicle in the MOA. It was a perfectly good and working vehicle ... Luxurious and wasteful but it had high ground clearance and had 4 wheel drive capability. Why criticize one vehicle and sell it off and keep the other one?

Postby Redman » March 22nd, 2017, 9:03 am

Yet they beholden to the owners of the Porche agency??

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 22nd, 2017, 9:06 am

Redman wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Those suggesting, sarcastically or seriously, that he be driven in a Corolla, or Tiida are being facetious. No one is saying that he be driven in those, but to go to the other extreme, is also unwise, ESPECIALLY given his own pronouncements on the economy. Much political capital is being lost by this and other actions.

Really?

Anyone that believes that this is an issue-wants to make it an issue for the issues sake.

Red and Ready supporters (including myself) were up in arms when Vasant got a cayenne as his ministry's vehicle (the economy was booming and it was half the price of the S class). Then when Rowley decides to go ahead with a purchase of a vehicle for the PM's office which is twice the price in a recession you PNMites say sheit like that.

Postby Chimera » March 22nd, 2017, 9:21 am

ent moonilal was using a range rover?
supposedly it was for ministry of housing and its executives but only he was using it. i think it also had police strobes in it

up to now i eh even know what type of benz they really buy or buying

but even if it was a rolls royce i wouldnt see a issue for the prime minister of our country to use.

2 Mil Mercedes-Maybach S-Class for PM

Postby K74T » March 22nd, 2017, 9:23 am

A smelly hair guy would

Postby Redman » March 22nd, 2017, 9:51 am

drchaos wrote:
Redman wrote:

Really?

Red and Ready supporters (including myself) were up in arms when Vasant got a cayenne as his ministry's vehicle (the economy was booming and it was half the price of the S class). Then when Rowley decides to go ahead with a purchase of a vehicle for the PM's office which is twice the price in a recession you PNMites say sheit like that.

sycophants making noise doesn't validate it as relevant.
It's just sycophant s making noise....something to pass time.

Postby eliteauto » March 22nd, 2017, 11:02 am

Benz approaching 32000kms btw, oil change a couple times too

Postby rspann » March 22nd, 2017, 12:49 pm

Like Growls sign up with uber? How that mileage so high.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 22nd, 2017, 1:06 pm

Just hadda wait for UNC to win ah election den redman and VII will be making noise when tanty kams rolling round in she new brand luxury ride. Allu fellars have a on and off switch.

Postby rspann » March 22nd, 2017, 1:08 pm

The s-class will be an antique by then.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 22nd, 2017, 1:43 pm

nah she will buy something new and waste even more money ....

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » March 22nd, 2017, 1:55 pm

Rowley should have ordered a custom built lamborghini with a back seat instead.
Infact all politicians should be given thier own personal helicopter. It seriously pains me to think that kams an rowley hadda be driving on such terrible roads everyday. Them potholes bad for de back...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 22nd, 2017, 2:10 pm

gen-h-4-personal-helicopter.jpeg
gen-h-4-personal-helicopter.jpeg (8.2 KiB) Viewed 2561 times

Cah wait to see tanty Kams in one ah dis!

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » March 22nd, 2017, 2:14 pm

^^^ Them politicians deserve better that us peasants...

Postby Redman » March 22nd, 2017, 2:20 pm

drchaos wrote:Just hadda wait for UNC to win ah election den redman and VII will be making noise when tanty kams rolling round in she new brand luxury ride. Allu fellars have a on and off switch.

WHy don't you list the things that are important...so we all know what it's acceptable to ignore...and what we obligated to make noise on.

That way you sure of everybody's allegiance.

Postby eliteauto » March 22nd, 2017, 2:23 pm

talk in the motor pool is the Doc say no Machel songs in the Benz cause he issa UNC, but Drake 0-100 does be playing

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 22nd, 2017, 2:41 pm

Machel is ah UNC ... Like you not living in T&T?

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2017, 10:08 pm

Redman wrote:

Really?

Anyone that believes that this is an issue-wants to make it an issue for the issues sake
Redman wrote:
drchaos wrote:Just hadda wait for UNC to win ah election den redman and VII will be making noise when tanty kams rolling round in she new brand luxury ride. Allu fellars have a on and off switch.

WHy don't you list the things that are important...so we all know what it's acceptable to ignore...and what we obligated to make noise on.

That way you sure of everybody's allegiance.

Hypocrisy exposed just mere posts apart.

Postby Redman » March 23rd, 2017, 6:11 am

Yeah I can see that.

Must be osmosis from our conversation s

:)

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2017, 6:20 am

Redman wrote:Yeah I can see that.

Must be osmosis from our conversation s

:)

Yes, like his Scarfness, nothing is your fault :lol:

Postby Redman » March 23rd, 2017, 6:58 am

I though you said everything is the PNM fault?

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » March 23rd, 2017, 7:59 am

Still waiting hear suggestions on an appropriate vehicle and price point for a PM state vehicle.

What criteria should be used to justify the choice as well?

Postby eliteauto » March 23rd, 2017, 8:16 am

greggle71 wrote:Still waiting hear suggestions on an appropriate vehicle and price point for a PM state vehicle.

I'm gonna quote you that way the critics can see my username and feel compelled to reply

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 23rd, 2017, 8:44 am

greggle71 wrote:Still waiting hear suggestions on an appropriate vehicle and price point for a PM state vehicle.

Like allu fellars doh read and then you make comments ...

its been mentioned many times on this thread
Toyota Crown or Toyota Crown Majesta
1/3 to 1/2 the price
Would be cheaper upfront cost .. still a luxury ride cause allu seem hell bent on letting underachievers live trumped up lives off we backs.
Cheaper maintenance and servicing and Toyota's Reliability is top notch vs Merc.
Also past PM's have used Toyota Crowns with little issues except for a little vomit here and there

Read the thread nah so we dont have to keep repeating ourselves.

Postby maj. tom » March 23rd, 2017, 9:17 am

Rowley announces more belt tightening
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-12- ... tightening

Knead flour, peel cassava, eat farine
http://www.newsday.co.tt/politics/0,222604.html

Rowley warns: T&T’s quality of life in danger
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20151215 ... -in-danger

More taxes in 2017 budget
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-09- ... 017-budget

99 food items back on VAT list
http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,222445.html (taxing table salt)

so things really painted as dire eh?
but...

NEW BENZ FOR PM*
Office of the Prime Minister orders $2 million vehicle for Rowley’s fleet...
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160403 ... enz-for-pm

You all seeing the point some opinions in the thread are trying to get across?
It's not the fact the the PM doesn't deserve a ride. Why does it have to be so much when there are good, reliable and recognizable alternatives that won't be so taxing on the citizens?

Postby Redman » March 23rd, 2017, 10:11 am

Yep
and the last PM posted how well things were....
How did that work out?

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » March 23rd, 2017, 2:23 pm

drchaos wrote:

Like allu fellars doh read and then you make comments ...

its been mentioned many times on this thread
Toyota Crown or Toyota Crown Majesta
1/3 to 1/2 the price
Would be cheaper upfront cost .. still a luxury ride cause allu seem hell bent on letting underachievers live trumped up lives off we backs.
Cheaper maintenance and servicing and Toyota's Reliability is top notch vs Merc.
Also past PM's have used Toyota Crowns with little issues except for a little vomit here and there

Read the thread nah so we dont have to keep repeating ourselves.

Lol … Ok then

I was looking at the Toyota Crown Majesta pricing, (nice car btw) Was trying to get a USD price.

Found a quote a for the S210 variant for 12.9MM Yen which is about 116k USD or 788k TTD, definitely better priced than a Mercedes at 900k TTD

My assumption is that running costs should be about the same given both are imported premium vehicles. The crown majesta is available in Asia only but a custom order for T&T shouldn't be too much of a stretch. I think for English speaking markets they try to push Lexus though. The equivalent would be probably the LS 460 or 500

Apart from the base cost and operation my expectation is that a PM limousine should have some sort of additional safety and security features as standard like maybe a reinforced body and windows. Not sure if any of those features are part of the specs.

In my opinion any vehicle under 1MM given the market prices is reasonable. Not sure if the manufacturing date of the previous vehicle but my expectation is that any vehicle should give a minimum of 10 years of operation before a refresh.