Price of Doubles Increased

Re: Price of Doubles Increased

Postby Chimera » October 13th, 2015, 9:53 pm

Landlord.....chilling....at...home.....

Are you aware of how much millions in loans most landlords have to take to build a apartment building?

Postby Slartibartfast » October 13th, 2015, 10:12 pm

Yup. Just like there is a wide array of folk that rent (my neighbour might be considered a PNM diehard according to Zoom Racists definition) and I am working my tail off. My landlord is forever chilling at home while I have a friend that took millions in loans.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 13th, 2015, 10:31 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Landlord.....chilling....at...home.....

Are you aware of how much millions in loans most landlords have to take to build a apartment building?

No different from the business man with the overdraft or numerous business loans. And they pay Corporation Tax, Green Levy etc.

Postby RASC » October 14th, 2015, 2:06 am

bluesclues wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Plain talk, doubles went up to make the budget look bad.

plain talk. was a spite move.

Shhhhh can't say that too loud here... Reality hurting them.
Doubles vendors bawling BTW the ones that maintained their prices are doubly mad:

1. Alot of UNWANTED attention is now being paid to them and their incomes.
2. The overall boycotting of doubles has led to less sales-even tho they themselves didn't increase.

Also notice only Chaguanas taxi fares went UP?
Need I say more--->

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 14th, 2015, 3:55 am

Didn't Kiss raise the price of bread the same minute they realize PNM win? In any event I learn to make homemade bread and I now boycott these people totally.

Power is in the hands of the consumer even a sada roti is very easy and quick to make and you saving 90% aswell.

Postby 1UZFE » October 14th, 2015, 6:04 am

Awaits for doubles men to be targets of criminals.

Postby sMASH » October 14th, 2015, 6:26 am

*awaits criminals to become targets if the police*

Daran

Postby Daran » October 14th, 2015, 7:16 am

http://www.newsday.co.tt/business/0,218448.html

THE recent $1 increase implemented by some doubles vendors is being cited by social group, Citizens For A Brighter Tomorrow (CFABT), as an example of “the impact of the inflation in cost of living on micro-entrepreneurs”, which the group claims was not “factored into the consideration for the budget presentation.”

In a statement earlier this week, CFABT said the Doubles industry is made up of family operations in which the money earned from the sale of doubles and other fried foods is the vendor’s “sole source of income.”

“The unstable economic environment, coupled with an unsympathetic budget, generates inflation that hits micro-industries more severely than small, medium and large enterprises.” As such, CFABT said doubles vendors and other micro-industries would neither have the fiscal flexibility nor resilience to “weather this climate as other businesses would be able to do.”

“While the doubles vendors are among the first micro-entrepreneurs to engage in these counter-inflation measures, it can be expected that many others will soon follow suit, as inflation incurs more encumbrance upon cash-reliant micro- industries as a result of them having limited access to the financial instruments necessary to it,” CFABT stated.

According to the group, this problem will “undoubtedly arise” due to the combination of tight fiscal and monetary policies in the 2015/2016 budget which CFABT claims “now creates a disproportionate burden” on all micro-entrepreneurs who are expected to compete against more sophisticated businesses in an open market, while also struggling to ensure their families are confronted with the least amount of financial risk possible.

The People’s National Movement (PNM) also came in for criticism for what CFABT called the party’s history of “rigid fiscal policies” which have been focused on industrial and infrastructural development “to the detriment of small and micro-enterprises, and to a wider extent, the poor and lower income citizens in this nation.” According to CFABT, if there is to be macro- economic stability in Trinidad and Tobago, smaller business interests need to be treated with the same level of respect as labour markets, financial systems, and external trade, “given our economy’s dependence on them.”

Postby Slartibartfast » October 14th, 2015, 8:35 am

sMASH wrote:*awaits criminals to become targets if the police*

Hahahahahhah

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 14th, 2015, 10:32 am

hong kong phooey wrote:me . I getting it at 2 dollars in Penal. why pay 5 dollars or even 4 dollars

WUT? PUT THAT DOUBLESMAN LOCATION ON THE WAZE MAP PLZ

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 14th, 2015, 10:41 am

RASC wrote:
bluesclues wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Plain talk, doubles went up to make the budget look bad.

plain talk. was a spite move.

Shhhhh can't say that too loud here... Reality hurting them.
Doubles vendors bawling BTW the ones that maintained their prices are doubly mad:

1. Alot of UNWANTED attention is now being paid to them and their incomes.
2. The overall boycotting of doubles has led to less sales-even tho they themselves didn't increase.

Also notice only Chaguanas taxi fares went UP?
Need I say more--->

u dont have to say more. they confessing for themselves they trying to hamper imbert budget as the basis for the doubles price jab from an anti-pnm disgruntled unc lost tstandpoint. but normally the whole country does follow suit. but i think Rowley has been at least partially successful in convincing the country to give him a fair chance to prove himself and that is why there has been resistance to hike prices by the majority of the population. everyone mostly has decided to absorb the minor additional expense on their income in the hopes that the overall economy would benefit and thus the entire country. i give trinidad a 15% increase in their patriotism rating and amm pretty proud of us showing some disciplined mature behaviour. the doubles men, who want to price at $5 just like kamla, getting on like children. also, very unsportsmanlike.

Postby eliteauto » October 14th, 2015, 10:43 am

Citizens For A Brighter Tomorrow is another UNC sub group, their "opinion"is intended to signal the inflationary practices that the UNC wants in order to validate their criticism, remember these doublesmen who increased prices did so "in anticipation" of increased prices similar to the anticipation seen on all UNC sub group pages. What manner of person wishes bad upon their country just because they are not in power?

Postby eliteauto » October 14th, 2015, 10:43 am

btw...

bout dat life

York

Postby York » October 14th, 2015, 11:44 am

1. Companies don't pay vat as tax. They collect by charging to consumers and pay the net to BIR. In essence, it may even help their business cash flow, may. They then own assets the cost and vat tax of which is passed on to the consumer.

2. The value of these assets are put as their operational expenses so are not showing up as net profit, so they dont pay corporation tax on it as well. Now, as it is expenses, consumers actually pay for it. The company owner/s get the assets for free. They don't put out like apartment owners. What we need is a paradigm shift in our thinking to see how the current system is flawed in favor of rich business owners.

3. In my example, I had illustrated that the owner of the apartment had paid upfront vat tax nit to mention contributed to purchasing goods and services to the betterment of the economy in the millions upfront. So doesn't he have the right to sit down home and scratch. You leave at 6am and return at 6pm assuming he chilling. He has rent to collect, repairs to do etc. He had paid in vat tax 10-20 times what the lower middle income pay in one year and infinity times those low income earners $5000 now $6000 per month. I say leave him alone let him scratch.

Every one has to pay tax padna. Otherwise the middle income can say , "well it hard let the millionaires and billionaires pay for us too! Hell the country has enough tax revenue from oil and gas leave is alone!"

Postby zoom rader » October 14th, 2015, 1:03 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Landlord.....chilling....at...home.....

oh grom leave Slartibartfast nah.
Most landlords take a risk by buying property and then spending more money to convert a once house into apartments. The proceeds from the rent then goes to pay off the mortgage. Landlords have to wait a good few years before they can see any returns.

It will always have ppl that will want to rent, again its supply and demand and its a slow growth business. I did this years ago and so far it has worked in my favor , only a few more years to pay off the mortgage and then it easy streak.

Postby Chimera » October 14th, 2015, 1:18 pm

Yup sometimes 20 or 30 years to pay off the mortgage.....

Headache with tenants.....we had a tenant who steal every thing down to the ceramic light sockets when she left....

Lol @ landlord relaxing

Imagine if for a 3.months half your building dont have tenants yet you hadda find 30k to pay the bank every mth.....

Tenants flooding toilets......tenants kids damaging other ppl cars....

Lol man say landlord relaxing yes.....

York

Postby York » October 14th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Aammm...yuh does be home chilling...running up ur a/c whole day?

Postby zoom rader » October 14th, 2015, 1:27 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Yup sometimes 20 or 30 years to pay off the mortgage.....

Headache with tenants.....we had a tenant who steal every thing down to the ceramic light sockets when she left....

Lol @ landlord relaxing

Imagine if for a 3.months half your building dont have tenants yet you hadda find 30k to pay the bank every mth.....

What ppl dont understand is that when a Tenant leaves the landlord has to spend thousands to make repairs for it tobe livable once again. When a tenant leaves its a loss for a landlord and takes months to recover.

Postby rollingstock » October 14th, 2015, 2:01 pm

eliteauto wrote:btw...

bout dat life

You paying a lot more than $5 there

Postby Chimera » October 14th, 2015, 2:04 pm

Na a tin coke is $5

Postby rollingstock » October 14th, 2015, 2:06 pm

:shock: den he get forked proper.

Postby Chimera » October 14th, 2015, 2:47 pm

Lol @ landlord relaxing

What ppl dont understand is that when a Tenant leaves the landlord has to spend thousands to make repairs for it tobe livable once again. When a tenant leaves its a loss for a landlord and takes months to recover.

Them fellas eh know about having to constantly look for plumber and electrician and labourers......having to run down ppl for rent money..having to hire bailiff to kick ppl out.etc

Landlord relaxing....lol

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 14th, 2015, 2:56 pm

A family member of mine was renting a house in new york and the kind of problems he had with people not paying rent then having to beg the same people to move out of the house the time it took with the courts in the end he sold the house.

Just imagine being a land lord in a 3rd world, this is why you see most of the Judge Judy cases are regarding rent money. Most of them people doh even have money to pay when the land lord win the case so they agree to appear on the TV show with the winner going home with $5000 and loser gets nothing but the courts settle the payment regardless.

The reason the loser is still pissed when he or she loses is because they don't get the $5K. If you wanna be a landlord make sure you get your blood pressure tablets ready.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on October 14th, 2015, 2:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 14th, 2015, 2:57 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

Lol @ landlord relaxing

Them fellas eh know about having to constantly look for plumber and electrician and labourers......having to run down ppl for rent money..having to hire bailiff to kick ppl out.etc

Landlord relaxing....lol

tell them watch 'the pj's' tv series lol

Postby Slartibartfast » October 14th, 2015, 3:50 pm

Looks like what I said went way over your heads. You guys talk as though all tenants and landlords are exactly the same and want policies to reflect what you think. I am letting you know that that is not the case and policies therefore have to be a widely applicable and fair as possible. According to you guys my landlord cannot be relaxing because the two of you beating up :roll:

Up to now neither of you have shown any good reasons why landlords should get special treatment compared to other business owners. Answer these questions
If you vex you paying VAT on purchases why not register a business and build the apartment under that business?
Why should you guys be exempt from all income tax forever?

If you don't want to pay corporation tax, pay yourself a salary equal to the entirety of the profits and pay PAYE from that. What is unfair about this?

Postby rspann » October 14th, 2015, 5:02 pm

Up to now I still trying to figure how these men know who paying and who not paying tax,like they working Inland Revenue? They only beating up on the doubles man,but the same fried flour with a piece of fried fish or shark is $30-$35, but that is not a problem .A kiss sandwich loaf is flour and water with plenty air and is $13,no problem. Figure out what is the real problem. No matter how much apartments being built all being rented,and the Government cannot provide enough houses. Some of the renters will never qualify for a mortgage,where they will live? Syrians renting to the Government why you don't come down on them? PH drivers paying tax?, Corn soup vendors ? DVD vendors? I could go on and on. One set of outsiders not paying tax and burdening the health system and national security system, but fellas here only seeing what they want to see.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 14th, 2015, 5:08 pm

Amen. At least register as a business so you can be exempt from paying tax if you under a certain threshold.

Postby A172 » October 14th, 2015, 5:18 pm

easy to spot the 8-4 boolas ITT

doh forget to clock out

York

Postby York » October 14th, 2015, 5:32 pm

some want to keep the status quo and can only see the level at which they are at. i spoke to a doctor yesterday who thought the doubles vendors making good money and just wanted a reason to increase. the irony is that he is making food money too, maybe too much, who is to judge. it's the system youre under. doctors in Cuba for example no big thing, just a job.

investment and business, big and small make the economy and keeps the wheels spinning.

Slarti, why dont you own your own home? add on a couple of rooms and you cud stay home and chill!

BTW, i am not a landlord. i prefer to buy land , build, sell and get out of it. make my 2 cents profit and smile...move on to the next project...in my spare time and weekends.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 14th, 2015, 5:40 pm

It's something I want to do in the future. Got too much on my plate right now to do it properly.

By that I mean put up some apartments. Not to stay home and chill but to allow me to pursue less profitable passions once it pays off for itself

That buy build sell thing is good as well tho.