UNC internal elections 5th Dec 2015...

EmilioA

Re: UNC internal elections 5th Dec 2015...

Postby EmilioA » November 20th, 2015, 9:37 pm

shogun wrote:Amazing how hindsight brings new found clarity to once chronic toe-liners and Kamla praisers. Moonilal et al have zero shame... the morality of our politics is disgraceful.

I realize that some of you living in some kinda dream world yes! Look at the recent PNM leadership battle, didn't Rowley call for a "court martial" for Manning? Disdn't he all but accuse Manning of being in Calder Hart's pocket? Look at the US presidential nominee battle. Even people who served in Obama's Cabinet speaking ill of his policies and leadership. You don't get over your rival by playing nice.

I think Shogun was making the opposite point. They keep quiet as long a things going good, even though they know sheit happening.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 20th, 2015, 10:54 pm

EmilioA wrote:
shogun wrote:Amazing how hindsight brings new found clarity to once chronic toe-liners and Kamla praisers. Moonilal et al have zero shame... the morality of our politics is disgraceful.

I realize that some of you living in some kinda dream world yes! Look at the recent PNM leadership battle, didn't Rowley call for a "court martial" for Manning? Disdn't he all but accuse Manning of being in Calder Hart's pocket? Look at the US presidential nominee battle. Even people who served in Obama's Cabinet speaking ill of his policies and leadership. You don't get over your rival by playing nice.

I think Shogun was making the opposite point. They keep quiet as long a things going good, even though they know sheit happening.

You'll have to excuse de dragon. He doesn't like when the PP appears to him to look bad.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 20th, 2015, 11:12 pm

Someone only needs to talk sense into Kamla, let her know how old she is, let her know how short life is. Let her know that what is most important is sacrificing for the greater good. Time to step down, stop letting people drag you in the dirt, travel the world and visit the museums and enjoy the rich history the world has to offer.

With all that money she has she can simply kick back and enjoy life. Go buy a beach house in Tobago and spend your days there, what better way to live out your final days?

Postby De Dragon » November 21st, 2015, 12:08 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

You'll have to excuse de dragon. He doesn't like when the PP appears to him to look bad.

Matters not who looks how, but some of you seem to feel that the PNM politicians , in fact most politicians,are not cut from the same cloth.

Postby De Dragon » November 21st, 2015, 12:12 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

Matters not who looks how, but some of you seem to feel that the PNM politicians , in fact most politicians,are not cut from the same cloth.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 21st, 2015, 9:59 am

Persad-Bissessar is facing challenge for the Leadership post from Dr. Roodal Moonilal and Vasant Bharath.

Mr. Bharath isn't a sitting Member of Parliament, therefore he can't hold the post of Opposition Leader. However, it was suggested that Dr. Fuad Khan will take up the role in the Lower House if Mr. Bharath wins the Political Leadership race.

She responded to statements that she will be replaced as Opposition Leader if Mr. Bharath wins the post of Political Leader.

"I am very proud and happy to report that the majority of the Members of the Parliament in the House have pledged their support to me and therefore that is where it will count

http://www.ctntworld.com/cnews2/index.p ... Itemid=707

Well Kamla ent even trying to sugar coat it. Even if the majority of the UNC votes her out she intends to hang on as Opposition Leader.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 21st, 2015, 7:06 pm

Lemme give alyuh a nightmare scenario for the UNC.

1. Either Roodal or Vasant wins the leadership.

2. But Kamla keeps the loyalty of the majority of UNC MPs and keeps the Opposition Leadership.

3. The UNC leader expels Kamla and her supporters

4. This triggers Crossing the Floor legislation and Kamla and her supporters seats are decalred vacant and by elections are triggered for a dozen or so UNC seats.

5. In the bye election the UNC vote is split between 2-4 factions of the UNC. and the PNM picks up another 6 seats.

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » November 21st, 2015, 7:51 pm

EmilioA wrote:Lemme give alyuh a nightmare scenario for the UNC.

2. But Kamla keeps the loyalty of the majority of UNC MPs and keeps the Opposition Leadership.

4. This triggers Crossing the Floor legislation and Kamla and her supporters seats are decalred vacant and by elections are triggered for a dozen or so UNC seats.

5. In the bye election the UNC vote is split between 2-4 factions of the UNC. and the PNM picks up another 6 seats.

Nice fairy tale. Won't happen though as many of those seats are UNC safe seats. Most PNM can pick up is two marginal seats like Barataria and Point a Pierre. But your making the assumption that PNM would be still popular to get numbers in those seats and win.

Kinda incredible to consider based on the crap they doing so far. :lol:

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 21st, 2015, 7:59 pm

D Diesel Report wrote:

Nice fairy tale. Won't happen though as many of those seats are UNC safe seats. Most PNM can pick up is two marginal seats like Barataria and Point a Pierre. But your making the assumption that PNM would be still popular to get numbers in those seats and win.

Kinda incredible to consider based on the crap they doing so far. :lol:

With a divided UNC ? Add Chaguanas East, Cumuto/Manzanilla, Mayaro , Fyzabad.

At any rate this is a speculative scenario, not a prediction.

Postby pete » November 21st, 2015, 8:17 pm

I only see that happening if Roodal wins. If vasant really wants to rebuild the party he could go back into the Senate and only if kamla does anything crazy as opposition leader move to get her out. Then take up a relatively safe seat at the next election. That's best case IMHO.

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 21st, 2015, 9:23 pm

pete wrote:I only see that happening if Roodal wins. If vasant really wants to rebuild the party he could go back into the Senate and only if kamla does anything crazy as opposition leader move to get her out. Then take up a relatively safe seat at the next election. That's best case IMHO.

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk

Vasant done say if he wins he wants Fuad Khan to be Opposition Leader. That's what prompted Kamla to say she have the support of the majority of the MPs and only they decide who is Opposition Leader.

Also who appointing Vasant back to the Senate ? Kamla ?

Postby Habit7 » November 21st, 2015, 10:02 pm

I think Roodal and Vasant playing for the end game. The UNC still fresh out of Kamla2015 in which the hopes of Kamla worship to usher them into a second term fell flat on the rest of the population who are actually patriotic.

Kamla will win the internal election but who cares. 2 days later she is going to suffer another loss in the by-election and if she is too belligerent on the PNM local govt reforms she will lose the local govt elections. By 2019 when the next UNC internal election rolls around even Allan Karim will be demanding that she leaves. Then Roodal and Vasant can fight it out, with a possible Mikaela in the mix.

Roodal and Vasant just putting themselves out there for now.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 22nd, 2015, 12:54 am

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1448168040.974303.jpg

boxy

Postby boxy » November 22nd, 2015, 7:13 am

^^^^

them bloggers heating the blade and laying in the cut deviously

Postby RASC » November 22nd, 2015, 9:11 am

Moonilial claiming voter irregularities in the internal voter list.

Postby zoom rader » November 22nd, 2015, 10:27 am

RASC wrote:Moonilial claiming voter irregularities in the internal voter list.

So Rasc who u want to lead UNC

Postby RASC » November 22nd, 2015, 10:52 am

Kamala of course 8-)

Bezman

Postby Bezman » November 23rd, 2015, 1:47 pm

RASC wrote:Kamala of course 8-)

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » November 26th, 2015, 12:36 pm

Tim: Kamla disrespected me

Caroni East MP Dr Tim Gopeesingh said he was disrespected by former Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar whom he claimed wanted to seat him a junior rank in terms of the sitting order in the Parliament.

Speaking at a public meeting in Cunupia of the Loyalists slate for the United National Congress (UNC) internal election, Gopeesingh said claimed that Persad-Bissessar wanted to put him in position number 10 and give Point-A-Pierre MP Dr David Lee the high seating position of number 3.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20151126 ... spected-me

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » November 26th, 2015, 1:33 pm

It eh looking good for UNC if the alternatives to Kamla are Vasant and Moonilal. I would say Vasant has a chance though in 5 years if PNM do utter sheit and the media run amok like this year with PP.

I feel UNC should give a COP leader a chance under the PP banner though for the next couple elections.

civicman

Postby civicman » November 26th, 2015, 5:48 pm

PNM went through the same in 2010.
UNC was in disarray just before their internal elections last time and what happened after?
After internal rumbling the parties always consolidate.

With a new leader they can try the same thing PNM try this time put some new faces in front
and the ole cronies pulling the strings in the back.
The larger voting population outright stupid yuh know.

Vassant(if he could win) could pull back some of the COP votes.
The party "appearing" to be revamped would give rowley ah run next election.

After all the licks Kams get(media /jack and so on) before sept 7 and basically loosing the election by 5k votes(not total eh ! the close seats)

Vassant(if he is the leader) may just give the pnm "AH 2010" again if they do "please" the population.
Because we have ah 7 day mentality and the grass is always greener on the other side.
Think bout that!

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 26th, 2015, 7:19 pm

civicman wrote:PNM went through the same in 2010.
UNC was in disarray just before their internal elections last time and what happened after?

Panday gone, Ramesh gone

Postby desifemlove » November 26th, 2015, 7:38 pm

depends which areas. cyah see Oropunce voting PNM.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 26th, 2015, 7:55 pm

desifemlove wrote:

depends which areas. cyah see Oropunce voting PNM.

I listed them above.

Barataria/San Juan, Point a Pierre, Chaguanas East, Cumuto/Manzanilla, Mayaro , Fyzabad.

civicman

Postby civicman » November 26th, 2015, 8:10 pm

EmilioA wrote:

Panday gone, Ramesh gone

And unc win the election

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 26th, 2015, 8:16 pm

civicman wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

Panday gone, Ramesh gone

And unc win the election

With the COP and TOP. Them kinda gone now.

Postby desifemlove » November 27th, 2015, 10:12 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Someone only needs to talk sense into Kamla, let her know how old she is, let her know how short life is. Let her know that what is most important is sacrificing for the greater good. Time to step down, stop letting people drag you in the dirt, travel the world and visit the museums and enjoy the rich history the world has to offer.

With all that money she has she can simply kick back and enjoy life. Go buy a beach house in Tobago and spend your days there, what better way to live out your final days?

your current PM is older than Kams. Panday came PM at 66. Manning won in 2007 at 60. late middle age/early old age is the norm for getting PM in this country. Issue with Kams is can she win over the electorate again.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 30th, 2015, 9:23 am

Looking at the "aura" coming from the candidates I think Kamla will win comfortably -say 55%. I think Vasant will surprisingly come in second with about 30%. Leaving Moneylal with 15%.

Postby j.o.e » November 30th, 2015, 3:02 pm

I see Kamla using her normal strategy .... Fear-mongering

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20151129 ... -new-party

Postby j.o.e » December 2nd, 2015, 3:02 pm

http://www.newsday.co.tt/politics/0,220633.html

United National Congress (UNC) Member of Parliament (MP) for Princes Town Barry Padarath said he was tormented by members of his own party and not the Peoples’ National Movement (PNM) during the run-up to the September 7 general elections.

He made the disclosure before a packed house in his brief address to supporters at a meeting held in Barrackpore in support of Team UNC led by former Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar.

Persad-Bissessar is vying for re-election as political leader of the party. She is however being challenged by Dr Roodal Moonilal and Vasant Bharath.

Padarath who had his posters slashed and billboards spray painted with derogatory remarks during the campaign told the large audience that he was speaking out for the first time on the issue.

He said: “For the first time, I will say publicly, all that I endured in the constituency for Princes Town, all the negative campaigning, all the spray painting on the banners, all the slashing of the banners, it did not come from the PNM, it came from those who are seeking leadership in our party today.” Padarath continued: “I stayed quiet, I endured it and my friends, if that is the kind of leadership today that they want to provide to our party, I say God help us if they ever told the reins of power.” He said he only learnt that the attack came from the bowels of the UNC when he became a Member of Parliament just as how he learnt that the daughter of an MP collected a salary from the MP’s office without working.

“And today they want to come and present themselves as leaders to you.” And with just six days to go before the UNC internal elections, former Princes Town MP Clifton De Coteau said the campaign for the political leadership of the party has turned into a comedy show. Moonilal and Bharath who are coming up against Persad-Bissessar have been throwing some punches that are not going down well with all party members.

According to De Coteau, the party is now the laughing stock of the PNM. He asked: “Why should we be making a comedy show for PNM who now only sitting back and laughing at us? You find that making sense?” De Coteau is vying for the post of Deputy Political leader on Team UNC. Last Saturday night the full slate of 18 candidates was presented to a full house at Cunjal Road Community Centre, Barrackpore.

De Coteau said many of the aspirants in the race had become “over ambitious” and were “toting feelings” against Persad-Bissessar.

“You get a taste of power and you figure your time is now,” he said.