hunting ban

Sabot

Re: hunting ban

Postby Sabot » October 4th, 2013, 11:19 pm

GRIM wrote:but wat d ass is dis!!!! you know how much Chicki-Chong/Bullfinch I have.
Is a permit required for each bird?

**Absolutely!**

If I sell a bird does the permit automatically transfer to the person buying?
**No**.

How will this affect pet shops?

**Negatively, unless a friend or family is in government or knows someone who knows someone, u get the drift**

How much time will be given before officials enforce "laws" regarding caged birds?

**Dont hold your breath for this as nothing is really enforced here, by November we will forget this ever happened**

what are the requirements for granting of permits? i.e. will they want to see all cages and birds before issuing the permits?
**Anything is possible in this mickey mouse clubhouse we call government, just now they will call for a mousekatool to get them out of this hole they are digging in the name of environmental awareness **

Postby joker » October 4th, 2013, 11:46 pm

according to my interpretation .... i could keep my parrot in a box without fear of being charged !

Postby rfari » October 5th, 2013, 12:44 am

kjaglal76 wrote:this legal?

Nice manicou dey pal

Sabot

Postby Sabot » October 5th, 2013, 1:08 pm

Removed due to kantness! Keep the quote...
Last edited by Sabot on October 5th, 2013, 2:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 5th, 2013, 1:13 pm

Sabot wrote:Guy told me today that he has 8 trap guns set in the valencia forest and the ban not affecting him...go brave folks. This the same guy who blew away his own leg with his own trap gun a few years ago.

Lol kant

Sabot

Postby Sabot » October 5th, 2013, 2:01 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
Sabot wrote:Guy told me today that he has 8 trap guns set in the valencia forest and the ban not affecting him...go brave folks. This the same guy who blew away his own leg with his own trap gun a few years ago.

Lol kant

I speak only facts lil fella....go brave ok:lol:

GRIM

Postby GRIM » October 5th, 2013, 2:05 pm

If he need some pointers as to a better pipe design check meh nah :lol: but how he still trekking in the bush with only one foot?

Postby rfari » October 5th, 2013, 2:12 pm

Sabot wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

Lol kant

I believe he's referring to ur friend

Sabot

Postby Sabot » October 5th, 2013, 2:15 pm

rfari wrote:
Sabot wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

Lol kant

I believe he's referring to ur friend

Shucks, my apologies kurpal:-|

Sabot

Postby Sabot » October 5th, 2013, 2:18 pm

GRIM wrote:If he need some pointers as to a better pipe design check meh nah :lol: but how he still trekking in the bush with only one foot?

He missing most of the calf muscle on his right leg. He crawled out the forest until his cell got service and called for help. This was in the blanchicheusse forest. Put down 12 and found 11, number 12 found him first. Yes hes an idiot...

Postby 88sins » October 5th, 2013, 3:12 pm

idiot is joke. 1.75 legs & still ain't tink is time to done
@ leas he get a lil smarter & put down a amount he sure to remember(for now)

nickjr1990

Postby nickjr1990 » October 6th, 2013, 4:27 pm

nickjr1990 wrote:Im commin home season open ? lmaf , MOVIN WITH MEH POT AN SUM NINE GRAIN AH RICE !!! F0k this government I can support the ban but not this BS another (SOE )act an dont think ,this is whats guiding this country!

Let's hope the TTDF slaps some English into you.

like dey slap it in yuh mama! there is a reason i dont write proper lol not takin chances want me to end up like kamala being pc probed lmaf!

nickjr1990

Postby nickjr1990 » October 6th, 2013, 4:31 pm

Can anyone shine some light on turtles (morocoy) if its illegal to have them wondering around in your yard?

raybic

Postby raybic » October 6th, 2013, 6:45 pm

there are a lot of ppl who are being affected by this ban. some ppl say that hunters and poachers are the same . they are not . a hunter will watch a pregnant deer walk pass by and not shoot. a poacher will kill anything that passes by. now in the hunting business its more of a sport than a profit to them . most hunters i know will go into the forest and not shoot anything , they go just for the relaxation but at the same time hunters have to care for their family. the thing is no hunter is a hunter alone because they are farmers also but that doesnt mean they are not affected, even the hunting dogs suffer from this ban. anyone who knows these dogs must be able to exercise on a regular basis.
putting a ban on hunting will not change anything because it will allow the poachers to be clever now. as ppl said setting traps .... poachers will run rampant now ... most people wont agree to this but we are to blame . where do we get our wild meat from? from some fella off the side of the road? as long as the public wants the wild meat , poachers will do anything to get it.
all this talk about we having a depletion of wild life.... yes it may be true but it could also be false..... because no body is going to walk through the forest and check every single animals... were their any statistics before to show there have been a decreased.
u see this ministry so messed up , the public is unaware of what is happening so they take advantage of that . we work on hear say and we believe something faster if it is brought to us faster instead of finding out for ourselves.
no matter what the government tries , itll never stop poachers and most of us ate wild meat already no matter how we got it .so we are partly to blame . and yet the legal hunters get the shaft for it.
we as humans care less what happens to anyone, we always seek better for ourselves . why save a deer when u can kill it and make a dollar. it have the few that respects it hopefully one day in this country all this corruption and misinformation will end.... then again.... its trinidad...

my 2 cents....

Sabot

Postby Sabot » October 6th, 2013, 7:11 pm

In the wake of poachers being held today with 18 scarlet ibis in felicity the miNister said he "intend to get a list of all hunting firearms and have them seized for the duration of the hunting morarorium"...and the plot thickens :lol:
Last edited by Sabot on October 6th, 2013, 10:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Morpheus » October 6th, 2013, 7:17 pm

Sabot wrote:In the wake of poachers being held today with 18 scalet ibis in felicity the miister said he "intend to get a list of all hunting firearms and have them seized for the duration of the hunting morarorium"...and the plot thickens :lol:

Hmmmmm. Scarlet Ibis of all things to be caught with :shock:

Postby *KRONIK* » October 6th, 2013, 7:45 pm

In the light of all this....

How u get poachers to stop....??
I have a brethren who manages a farm which is on a large property and up to 2 days ago...he hear 8shots fired...all hits...cuz they sound different when they miss

Now...this is happening all year around as well..

But since its banned now..
He noticed a greater frequency on gunshots...

So poachers reign supreme??

Postby DVSTT » October 6th, 2013, 7:46 pm

Morpheus wrote:
Sabot wrote:In the wake of poachers being held today with 18 scalet ibis in felicity the miister said he "intend to get a list of all hunting firearms and have them seized for the duration of the hunting morarorium"...and the plot thickens :lol:

Idk how much meat they getting from that nuh :/

Postby Gem_in_i » October 6th, 2013, 9:30 pm

He going take people gun. Like anything pop up in his head he does talk.

Postby rfari » October 6th, 2013, 10:00 pm

As per any pp government plan, this is starting to backfire.
Ib4thebackpedal

Sabot

Postby Sabot » October 6th, 2013, 10:35 pm

DVSTT wrote:
Morpheus wrote:

Idk how much meat they getting from that nuh :/

The man still not realising the difference between hunters and poachers. They caught poachers with scarlet ibis but want to target licensed hunters. Its normal practice for guns to be seized when the wildlife act is breached so whats new with this one arrest made today? If they enforce the current laws in the closed season they would not be this surprised as they seem to be today. Falls right back down to lack of enforcement and when the game wardens do what they are paid to do and see results its like omg...btw heard a pack of dogs giving chase up salibia today....where are the patrols??

Postby pioneer » October 6th, 2013, 11:12 pm

They need to revoke ALL gun permits granted to these "hunters".

Whoever caught with gun, treat them the same way they does handle man from beetham.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » October 7th, 2013, 4:00 am

pioneer wrote:They need to revoke ALL gun permits granted to these "hunters".

Whoever caught with gun, treat them the same way they does handle man from beetham.

Ganga is that you? :lol:

Feel a hunterman horn this man for real yes...bess they seize driving permits from all drivers too since all ah we does speed; and since its a pellet gun was used they should to seize all pellet guns, firearms, sling shots, baseball bats, knives, ice picks, knap sacks, school dropouts, oysters, oyster vendors, ..brb looking for logic...

http://www.newsday.co.tt/crime_and_court/0,184665.html

Poachers held with 18 Scarlet Ibises in Felicity
By Cecily Asson Monday, October 7 2013

DAYS after government imposed a two-year moratorium on hunting, a 15 year-old Felicity primary school dropout was arrested and charged with the slaughter of 18 Scarlet Ibis birds.

The Scarlet Ibis is the national bird of Trinidad and Tobago and is protected by the State.

According to police, at about 11 am yesterday, the teen and a 43-year-old oyster vendor, also of Felicity, were held with a knapsack containing the carcasses of the birds.

The duo was in the company of another man who managed to run off as the game wardens approached them as they were leaving the mangrove at Cacandee in Felicity.

Police said the birds, also known as flamingoes, were already plucked and cleaned.

A pellet gun was also seized by the game wardens. The fine for being in possession of one Scarlet Ibis is $1,000.

The two suspects, who were up to late yesterday evening in custody at the Chaguanas Police Station, are expected to appear before a magistrate in the Chaguanas Court today charged with possession of the dead birds.

Game Warden Richard Ramlogan of the Ministry of Environment and Water Resources (Forestry Division) laid the charges.

The birds were kept overnight in a cooler.

Acting on information, a police report stated, Ramlogan, Nicholas George (honorary game warden) along with Shivanan Sinanan, Kellon Mansano and Arlene Dedier of the Water and Sewerage Authority (WASA) Security Department went into the Cacandee area and were on foot patrol when they observed three men, one with a black knapsack in his hand coming out the mangrove.

They approached the men and one ran off into the bush while the other two were held.

The knapsack which was being carried by the oyster vendor was searched and found to contain 18 carcasses of the scarlet ibis.

Yesterday, a senior game warden told Newsday they have received numerous complaints about the continuing slaughter of the Ibis. He said several restaurants in the Central district are now being monitored since it is believed they provide a ready market for the birds. A meal containing the delicacy is said to cost $150.

“It is very sad what is happening that persons continue to shoot and kill the national bird,” he said. “We understand the bird is in demand at restaurants.”

Postby pete » October 7th, 2013, 5:19 am

I honestly don't know why people would do that crap. That fine is really to small.

GRIM

Postby GRIM » October 7th, 2013, 6:01 am

The number of years people shooting Scarlet Ibises down there and this is the first time anybody get catch,makes me wonder what officials was doing all the time before.

Postby Gem_in_i » October 7th, 2013, 6:39 am

They cud prove that is scarlet ibis. I rem yrs ago they cud not say for sure and case was thrown out.
Watching skinned bird so you can positively tell?

GRIM

Postby GRIM » October 7th, 2013, 6:54 am

diaz true at first I thought "but why these men holding a set ah skinned chicken for?",then I read the article.
Unless the have some kinda DNA testing dey cant prove anything.

but they were caught with the air rifle on state land so they will still get charged for that

Postby 88sins » October 7th, 2013, 7:18 am

GRIM dis isnt d first time somebody was caught wit scarlet ibis. iz jus d first since they impose this moratorium.
What I personally cannot stand is the lack of patriotism in this place. Of all the things to kill, is d national bird that protected by law for almost 50 years now them killin to cook? Where were this young man's parents? Why they didn't discourage this kind of activity? These persons are the ones that are the driving force behind this bs action without even realizing it.

pioneer wrote:They need to revoke ALL gun permits granted to these "hunters".

Just a heads up, you might not be aware of this, but most poachers don't have time to bother with firearms permits(when all they need is a piece of 3/4" galvanize pipe a 12 gauge shell & a firing mechanism. And if you think a gun is the only way to catch an animal in d bush, you are sorely mistaken. There are things called cage traps, and there are also things called snares. And both are VERY effective at what they're designed to do

Postby pete » October 7th, 2013, 7:47 am

I've heard about people shooting them before and it really pissed me off. The fine should be increased to $100k per bird.

TriP

Postby TriP » October 7th, 2013, 7:53 am

i say ban for 5 years..!!