Re: Short/long term investments/retirement policies etc advise

Postby Redman » October 6th, 2016, 10:05 am

I've invested in stocks and invested in fixed deposits

So then diversification away from paper assets is a good idea-
Geographic Diversification-how is this allocated-are you 100%tnt-what happens in a coup-or on a holiday
Currency Divers....USD in TnT is a step but is exposed to same systemic risk-yuh cant get it if the place is closed

so I was looking for a new savings route, a sort of passive income that would hopefully return more than the inflation rate.

What do you think the inflation rate is-and is that borne out by your experience in the day to day purchases?
ie Govts LIE and reconfigure the formulas understating the Inflation rate

I'm young and I'm still in school so I really have no need to withdraw from my savings and if ever the need does arrive I have some money in chequing accounts that I can utilise.

So this indicates that you can take on Equity type risk, ownership of xyz, not just rent out your cash for a fixed return

I'm just asking for ideas at this point, suggestions. My friend suggested Venture as he said he was getting 4% there which doesn't seem bad to me, and I think it's good for me to build some sort of foundation with a credit union if I do in fact have to take a loan or mortgage at some point. (god forbid).
[/quote]

4% less the inflation rate is the real return.

I suggest to you that currently ALL money market,fixed deposits and savings accounts are generating a negative return-So your purchasing power will decline faster than your principal and interest appreciate.
I would recc that you keep upto 3 months living expenses in MM Cash or FD....as emergency money
i think we are at the bottom of an Interest rate and Inflationary cycle

Based on 1,2,3...
-USD Life insurance will be a huge windfall based on your age and health-take advantage of it.
Get a quote-total the premiums vs the DB and CV over time-cost an increasing Death Benefit.
you might be surprised

-US Stocks offer the diversification away from TT and the region-you can sift through and find companies to buy
Use time to mitigate the risk...

-Gold via http://www.kitco.com -where you purchase a few 1 Oz bars is a good idea-start accumulating-I buy and ship to my bro in the US and he walks with it in his pocket.
Bullion is a hard asset ,and a hedge against currency devaluation-and a good speculation now.
If you buy the bars keep them in the pack since it shows their quality from the assay.
Jewellers here buy close to spot prices so you can easily sell here.

Youre young-so use your time.
Time mitigates risk
Based on what you gave you should look at the USD Insurance-Local and regional Real Estate...US Stock Market...Gold

INVESTMENT could mean any or all of the above-dont limit yourself to the paper assets....

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » October 6th, 2016, 2:04 pm

Guys.....just to update, Guardian now has a facility wherein yiu use VISA to pay premiums for US policies ( life and investments) and you repay your debits in TT at your bank. Pretty attractive to those who need $ US in the next 2-3 years. Pm me for more info

Re: RE: Re: Short/long term investments/retirement policies etc advise

Postby nervewrecker » October 9th, 2016, 12:47 pm

Redman wrote:1

Geographic Diversification-how is this allocated-are you 100%tnt-what happens in a coup-or on a holiday
Currency Divers....USD in TnT is a step but is exposed to same systemic risk-yuh cant get it if the place is closed

so I was looking for a new savings route, a sort of passive income that would hopefully return more than the inflation rate.

What do you think the inflation rate is-and is that borne out by your experience in the day to day purchases?

I'm young and I'm still in school so I really have no need to withdraw from my savings and if ever the need does arrive I have some money in chequing accounts that I can utilise.

So this indicates that you can take on Equity type risk, ownership of xyz, not just rent out your cash for a fixed return

I'm just asking for ideas at this point, suggestions. My friend suggested Venture as he said he was getting 4% there which doesn't seem bad to me, and I think it's good for me to build some sort of foundation with a credit union if I do in fact have to take a loan or mortgage at some point. (god forbid).

I suggest to you that currently ALL money market,fixed deposits and savings accounts are generating a negative return-So your purchasing power will decline faster than your principal and interest appreciate.
I would recc that you keep upto 3 months living expenses in MM Cash or FD....as emergency money

Based on 1,2,3...
-USD Life insurance will be a huge windfall based on your age and health-take advantage of it.
Get a quote-total the premiums vs the DB and CV over time-cost an increasing Death Benefit.
you might be surprised

-US Stocks offer the diversification away from TT and the region-you can sift through and find companies to buy

-Gold via http://www.kitco.com -where you purchase a few 1 Oz bars is a good idea-start accumulating-I buy and ship to my bro in the US and he walks with it in his pocket.
Bullion is a hard asset ,and a hedge against currency devaluation-and a good speculation now.
If you buy the bars keep them in the pack since it shows their quality from the assay.

Time mitigates risk
Based on what you gave you should look at the USD Insurance-Local and regional Real Estate...US Stock Market...Gold

INVESTMENT could mean any or all of the above-dont limit yourself to the paper assets....[/quote]
Mind shooting me a pm of jewelers that would buy gold?

Postby Redman » October 9th, 2016, 1:15 pm

Mind shooting me a pm of jewelers that would buy gold?

he prefers that I didnt.
I did ask though

That said-if you have the bar in an a sealed package as below the jeweller said that many of them will take it at a decent price meaning close to spot.

given the nature of the transaction you understand his posit.
Screen Shot 2016-10-09 at 1.12.20 PM.png

Postby nervewrecker » October 9th, 2016, 1:45 pm

I understand.

Was wondering what the market is like over here for if I happen to buy and decide I wanted to convert a few bars to cash.
Always have a sizeable amount of cash set aside in case of emergency but just wanna know how I playing my cards.

Postby desifemlove » October 9th, 2016, 2:50 pm

what should a good portfolio look like?

i'm thinking of this:

- local banks/credit unions
- T&T government bonds
- local shares
- foreign govt. bonds
- foreign shares

I think a fair spread of this could provide some good passive income.

does anybody here have experience in private/international banking?

Postby Redman » October 9th, 2016, 6:22 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I understand.

Was wondering what the market is like over here for if I happen to buy and decide I wanted to convert a few bars to cash.
Always have a sizeable amount of cash set aside in case of emergency but just wanna know how I playing my cards.

Well last time I sold 4 Oz-and it didnt seem to be an issue and this wasnt a massive op.
i would suggest that you discuss the possibility with a jeweller so that when you ready it isnt a cold meet show him what you dealing with and get an idea.

settle on us or tt as well.

Postby nervewrecker » October 9th, 2016, 6:53 pm

Thanks for that advice.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » October 9th, 2016, 9:59 pm

desifemlove wrote:what should a good portfolio look like?

i'm thinking of this:

- T&T government bonds
- local shares
- foreign govt. bonds
- foreign shares

A good portfolio depends on :
1) appetite for risk : high risk high rewards . If you invest in stocks and the markets drops and you have an unrealized loss of 5% will you get a heart attack . Unrealized because you don't get a loss or gain until you sell
2) future goals e.g. Are you saving for retirement in next 30 years or next 5 years. Or is your goal a house down payment in next 2 years.

Short term goals low risk / low interest to guarantee the funds will be available e.g. Dividends from credit union , money market ( 1 -2%) , fixed deposit

Long term goals high risk e.g. stocks: so you can ride the wave of the stock market. Investment in good company can go up after a few years + dividends payment. But remember past performance is no measure of future performance . E.g. Bp stock dropped 50% in a few weeks when the oil spill occurred. Apple stock dropped 30-50% a few years ago before it bounced back

Postby desifemlove » October 12th, 2016, 11:33 pm

francis1979 wrote:
desifemlove wrote:what should a good portfolio look like?

i'm thinking of this:

- T&T government bonds
- local shares
- foreign govt. bonds
- foreign shares

A good portfolio depends on :
1) appetite for risk : high risk high rewards . If you invest in stocks and the markets drops and you have an unrealized loss of 5% will you get a heart attack . Unrealized because you don't get a loss or gain until you sell
2) future goals e.g. Are you saving for retirement in next 30 years or next 5 years. Or is your goal a house down payment in next 2 years.

Short term goals low risk / low interest to guarantee the funds will be available e.g. Dividends from credit union , money market ( 1 -2%) , fixed deposit

Long term goals high risk e.g. stocks: so you can ride the wave of the stock market. Investment in good company can go up after a few years + dividends payment. But remember past performance is no measure of future performance . E.g. Bp stock dropped 50% in a few weeks when the oil spill occurred. Apple stock dropped 30-50% a few years ago before it bounced back

thanks for this.

i don't mind the risks involved, but then i want a medium-level return, as I work and run my own firm, but just want some steady income coming in on the side.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 13th, 2016, 2:40 pm

Redman wrote:Well that depends

your time frame ,you risk tolerance, what that 30k means to you.

Its a tough market all over so I would broaden the scope of what to do with the money -away from the financial markets and assess other opportunities.

Good adv by Redz here.

These days am more concerned with the return of my principal...than the return on my principal.

Postby DVSTT » December 11th, 2016, 10:00 pm

Anyone realised stockex.co.tt isn't working properly.

Postby desifemlove » December 13th, 2016, 2:47 am

are there Index funds or Real estate investment trusts (REIT)? which is best to invest in and has the best value/interest?

Postby DVSTT » December 23rd, 2016, 7:43 pm

Based on 1,2,3...
you might be surprised

Time mitigates risk

INVESTMENT could mean any or all of the above-dont limit yourself to the paper assets....[/quote]

Thanks for this, I now got around to reading this lol.
US stocks are something I've been interested in but I hear a few horror stories, including local ones where people give a guy $ for them to invest and initially get 125 returns, but then lose the money. *Yikes*
Most of the stocks I own are based elsewhere in the caribbean and not locally, with the exception of PPGPL.
What's the brokerage fees and minimum investment needed to start trading US stocks? I've got a few dividend cheques for USD that I am considering cashing out and investing in the US come next year.

Postby desifemlove » December 25th, 2016, 5:52 am

About getting government bonds, is this done via a stockbroker or by contacting the central bank?

And how is this for a bonds/stock portfolio:

- TTD bonds
- UK Gilts
- US Fed Bonds

- 500 pounds in Glaxo or other top FTSE firms
- $USD 1000 on top NYSE firms
- 1000 dollars on P2P lending

jusjase44

Re: RE: Re: Short/long term investments/retirement policies etc advise

Postby jusjase44 » December 25th, 2016, 6:48 am

DVSTT wrote:

Based on 1,2,3...
you might be surprised

Time mitigates risk

INVESTMENT could mean any or all of the above-dont limit yourself to the paper assets....

Thanks for this, I now got around to reading this lol.
US stocks are something I've been interested in but I hear a few horror stories, including local ones where people give a guy $ for them to invest and initially get 125 returns, but then lose the money. *Yikes*
Most of the stocks I own are based elsewhere in the caribbean and not locally, with the exception of PPGPL.
What's the brokerage fees and minimum investment needed to start trading US stocks? I've got a few dividend cheques for USD that I am considering cashing out and investing in the US come next year.[/quote]
Good morning and merry Christmas to all, you say most of the stocks you own are Caribbean based, any advice on getting into those markets?

Postby desifemlove » December 25th, 2016, 7:32 am

Any good broker would be able to buy shares for you. In T&T, this is any of the big commercial banks, or there are investment advisors that can help you.

jusjase44

Postby jusjase44 » December 25th, 2016, 7:51 am

Thats locally, I am interested in other markets in the Caribbean

Postby desifemlove » December 26th, 2016, 7:44 pm

they should be able to help in the Jamaican, Bajan, or Guyanese and Surinamese markets. T&T brokers can get access to most major regional and global indices.

jusjase44

Postby jusjase44 » December 26th, 2016, 8:04 pm

Well you all say so but I asked the brokers were saying otherwise

Postby rspann » December 26th, 2016, 8:35 pm

jusjase44 wrote:Well you all say so but I asked the brokers were saying otherwise

Try WISE.

jusjase44

Postby jusjase44 » December 26th, 2016, 8:41 pm

Ok will check them, I tried fcis, jmmb etc

Postby rspann » December 26th, 2016, 8:48 pm

jusjase44 wrote:Ok will check them, I tried fcis, jmmb etc

They link up with foreign partners and banks to do it.

Postby desifemlove » December 27th, 2016, 8:15 pm

Is there a list of CFP-approved planners in the country? I know the ones who work for the big banks/agencies would be, but there must be independent ones, ent?

ravindrapolo

Postby ravindrapolo » December 29th, 2016, 9:42 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Guys.....just to update, Guardian now has a facility wherein yiu use VISA to pay premiums for US policies ( life and investments) and you repay your debits in TT at your bank. Pretty attractive to those who need $ US in the next 2-3 years. Pm me for more info

Is it not true that for the pass 2 years there has been a negative growth in the US policies that Guardian has. Even if one is able to benefit from it there are fees which guardian takes ensuring that there is a negative growth.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » December 29th, 2016, 10:41 pm

The past 2 years did have negative growth. A client of mine made US 6k in interest after all charges, fees and negative growth

Postby eliteauto » December 30th, 2016, 10:19 am

Premchand1976 wrote:The past 2 years did have negative growth. A client of mine made US 6k in interest after all charges, fees and negative growth

6K after how long and with what principal invested?

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » December 30th, 2016, 10:22 am

After 24 months.......principal invested shouldn't matter.......growth on capital no matter how small is what we're looking at here right ???? High returns.......check CLICO

ravindrapolo

Postby ravindrapolo » December 30th, 2016, 6:26 pm

eliteauto wrote:
Premchand1976 wrote:The past 2 years did have negative growth. A client of mine made US 6k in interest after all charges, fees and negative growth

6K after how long and with what principal invested?

[quote="eliteauto"]
His client made 6K US after all the charges, fees and negative growth guess that client has to be rather special. In order for a client to see growth of 6K the growth rate should be at least greater than 5% per month to see growth. Note that this US policy has only been implemented 2 years ago . Mr Premchand i would like for u to educate my fellow trinituners how this growth was accomplished rather than try to get people to join ur policies at guardian base on prediction base on past years and not what they actually are. Guess that 6k US that you claim this Client made was a prediction . Please educate us rather than fool us or educate me cause it seem that I probably stand to be corrected. I have nothing against Guardian but would like u guys to be honest and tell people as it is rather than try to encourgae ppl to join inorder for them agent to get there cut and bonuses. Fair enough

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » December 30th, 2016, 10:47 pm

To keep it simple, I can run the statement and confirm this. I will not provide this info here tho. Client/ policy confidentiality. You guys can do your research yourselves also. Don't trust my word, don't trust anyone's word. Info is available for all on our websites. I would not say something that I couldn't back up with proof tho right? Any one that decides to invest in $US would know their decision is made not by simply hearing about this via word of mouth or website chatter. Our monthly index values are there for all to see. Did I mention too we have the option whereby you can pay said $us premiums using your VISA now ? I'm impressed as a customer too to see growth after 24 months on a medium term investment portfolio.