Which residential water pump to buy?

cornfused

Re: Which residential water pump to buy?

Postby cornfused » January 22nd, 2024, 8:21 pm

As said elsewhere

A proper Goulds would out last all pumps but Pentax is the Nissans of the Pump world easy to repair cheap to replace. I have the know how to service Goulds but no one can pay me for that.

Not sold with other brands Leo Total etc . Some seem to getting good experience. Look out for stainless steel pumps having tried to service one of these. They can fuse onto the motor housing and also depending on the composition of the impeller cause them to fuse as well.

Carry on with your experiences

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2024, 8:18 am

i buy one of the leo stainless as a backup and primarily for use to run of my lil generator
as it is a little lower power draw than a pentax

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 6th, 2024, 11:10 am

2 year old pentax 3/4 hp with the Spanish smart head (CE?) failed. Well, the smart head did. Pump ran continuously and blew out top pipe.

converting to pressure tank. I ran through too many smart heads in 15 years with 2 different pumps. Maybe 5?

Well-X-Trol 4.4 gall tank (~800)
Square D 30/50 switch (~180)
Pressure Gauge (~40)
Brass/SS fittings (? can't remember offhand)
Tuff Tank float switch 10M cable for dry run protection (~160)

Seeing a lot of smaller name pressure tanks with huge capacities for half the price of an equivalent Amtrol/WellXtrol but I dunno how good they are.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 6th, 2024, 11:12 am

* didn't blow out a glued connection eh. Thermal fatigue actually ruptured a piece of straight pipe.

Skillys

Postby Skillys » February 6th, 2024, 11:17 am

Pressure tank and pressure switch always last longer. Don't like smart heads.
Pressure tank : Wellxtrol or Zilmet
Pressure switch: Square D

Postby alfa » February 6th, 2024, 11:25 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:2 year old pentax 3/4 hp with the Spanish smart head (CE?) failed. Well, the smart head did. Pump ran continuously and blew out top pipe.

converting to pressure tank. I ran through too many smart heads in 15 years with 2 different pumps. Maybe 5?

Well-X-Trol 4.4 gall tank (~800)
Square D 30/50 switch (~180)
Pressure Gauge (~40)
Brass/SS fittings (? can't remember offhand)
Tuff Tank float switch 10M cable for dry run protection (~160)

Seeing a lot of smaller name pressure tanks with huge capacities for half the price of an equivalent Amtrol/WellXtrol but I dunno how good they are.

I have the 18 liter pressure tank from water source, a half the price one but can't remember the name. The first one came with the pump but had a defect which was replaced under warranty. The other one doing 4 years no issues

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2024, 11:32 am

i have been saying for a long time those smart heads are woft

Postby Chimera » February 6th, 2024, 11:36 am

yeah smart head is real sheit

never buying that again

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 7th, 2024, 12:24 pm

for people doing new house builds, might as well invest in the Self-cleaning whole house filter from desal, and a huge 100+ liter wellxtrol standalone pressuretank. together that might run ya into 10-14k but that's two long term pieces of gear to make your life easier.

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » April 3rd, 2024, 4:33 am

Hey 2nrs,
Need a transfer pump to send water from the lower tanks to upper tanks. Do I really need to install a smart head or I can just manually put it on and off? :?:

Postby alfa » April 3rd, 2024, 5:00 am

dtopshottas wrote:Hey 2nrs,
Need a transfer pump to send water from the lower tanks to upper tanks. Do I really need to install a smart head or I can just manually put it on and off? :?:

No smart head needed just fill until your upper tanks overflow and then manually switch off. I'm guessing you're using a hose or separate line that is not passing through your float in the tank or that will cause issues when the float attempts to shut off water when the tank is filled

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » April 3rd, 2024, 11:43 am

alfa wrote:

No smart head needed just fill until your upper tanks overflow and then manually switch off. I'm guessing you're using a hose or separate line that is not passing through your float in the tank or that will cause issues when the float attempts to shut off water when the tank is filled

Yes, the pump will fill the upper tanks when the water pressure is too low. The upper tanks feed the lower tanks with the pump for the house.

Val

Postby Val » April 8th, 2024, 7:03 am

dtopshottas wrote:
alfa wrote:

Yes, the pump will fill the upper tanks when the water pressure is too low. The upper tanks feed the lower tanks with the pump for the house.

You can automate it with two float switches (high and low level).

Postby alfa » June 18th, 2024, 7:19 pm

Anybody ever serviced the pump side of the Pentax cam 50? I replaced my shaft seal successfully due to a leak and I must have loosened up some gunk as the pump now won't build beyond 30psi. I had to adjust the pressure switch to cut off at same. No leaks cuz pressure holding once switched off. The impeller is clean. I want to go behind the diffuser but not sure what's in there to break lol. I saw the diffuser selling so breaking it to come apart is no problem. Does the straight pipe come off? Can a clog there be the issue? Anything specific to look out for?

Postby pugboy » June 18th, 2024, 7:43 pm

there is nothing behind it
it usually breaks when you try to knock it out

the straight piece i am not sure about as it seems fixed into the body

Postby 88sins » June 18th, 2024, 7:52 pm

allyuh might bash meh eh, but meem bidness

when a pump fails, I don't waste meh time fixing it, new one installed within hours.
I'll usually use the motor to make sumn once it working, like a chop saw or put a grind stone on it or sumn else.
If s a small repair reqired like to clean/replace a pressure switch or pressure tank, I'll change it, small thing.
But serious internal issues? nah, easier to just replace.

Just simpler and faster for me to switch it out for a new one.
But daz jes me.

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 19th, 2024, 11:20 am

alfa wrote:Anybody ever serviced the pump side of the Pentax cam 50? I replaced my shaft seal successfully due to a leak and I must have loosened up some gunk as the pump now won't build beyond 30psi. I had to adjust the pressure switch to cut off at same. No leaks cuz pressure holding once switched off. The impeller is clean. I want to go behind the diffuser but not sure what's in there to break lol. I saw the diffuser selling so breaking it to come apart is no problem. Does the straight pipe come off? Can a clog there be the issue? Anything specific to look out for?

Pentax known to clog the pressure switch hole with rust. Incorrect pressure readings as a result. Pump builds pressure but the switch does not see it. Doesn't hurt to clean that hole first.

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » June 19th, 2024, 11:31 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
alfa wrote:Anybody ever serviced the pump side of the Pentax cam 50? I replaced my shaft seal successfully due to a leak and I must have loosened up some gunk as the pump now won't build beyond 30psi. I had to adjust the pressure switch to cut off at same. No leaks cuz pressure holding once switched off. The impeller is clean. I want to go behind the diffuser but not sure what's in there to break lol. I saw the diffuser selling so breaking it to come apart is no problem. Does the straight pipe come off? Can a clog there be the issue? Anything specific to look out for?

Pentax known to clog the pressure switch hole with rust. Incorrect pressure readings as a result. Pump builds pressure but the switch does not see it. Doesn't hurt to clean that hole first.
Hard water can lead to calcium buildup blocking sense line port for smart heads as well

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2024, 12:04 pm

the early pentax smart heads would get messed up if fragments of hacksaw pvc bits got in
not sure about now

Postby alfa » June 19th, 2024, 6:44 pm

Got some measure of success in fixing the pump. I removed the diffuser and cleaned the inside which was full of rusted out metal.
Most importantly the opening to feed the venturi tube was rusted shut. Cleaned it out and put back in service. However tiny bits are still coming loose and plugging the impeller which is the closed type. I'm at least getting it to build to 40psi which is fine for now. Will wait a week or so again and give a final cleaning on the impeller

IMG_20240619_180715.jpg
Before

IMG_20240619_180738.jpg
Venturi tube assembly

IMG_20240619_180752.jpg
Venturi tube opening now clear

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2024, 7:00 pm

how did you remove the straight pipe in centre?

those rusted flakes are gonna be a problem
you could try putting a hammer drill to chip out

Postby alfa » June 19th, 2024, 7:25 pm

pugboy wrote:how did you remove the straight pipe in centre?

I used the flat blade end of the hooky thing used to crank scissors jacks to pry out the diffuser. From there the straight pipe pulls out by hand and the nozzle comes out with a pair of needle nosed pliers

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2024, 8:29 pm

you just tap it back in and it stays?

alfa wrote:

I used the flat blade end of the hooky thing used to crank scissors jacks to pry out the diffuser. From there the straight pipe pulls out by hand and the nozzle comes out with a pair of needle nosed pliers

Postby alfa » June 19th, 2024, 8:46 pm

pugboy wrote:you just tap it back in and it stays?

alfa wrote:

Yeah, it's got O rings to help seat

Postby pugboy » June 20th, 2024, 7:58 am

the one i tried to take out wouldnt budge and i was afraid i would break it
have an old one to take apart soon

Postby Dave » June 20th, 2024, 11:17 am

Leo's stainless housing will combat this rust issue.
What prevention is good in this regard?
Remove and clean ever so often?

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 20th, 2024, 11:26 am

Dave wrote:Leo's stainless housing will combat this rust issue.
What prevention is good in this regard?
Remove and clean ever so often?

Not only rust but the water deposits from the chlorine. S/S or cast iron, you will get that gunk.

Postby pugboy » June 20th, 2024, 6:50 pm

what’s the experience with the small leo pumps?

i have a location with perennial low pressure
filling a 1000gal goes at trickle at the 8ft fill valve

i see they have a smarthead which cuts off when it senses no supply pressure and automatically comes back on

i wanna fill a blue barrel from wasa which is shorter
then feed into a small leo which will pump into the big 1000 gal

Postby 88sins » June 20th, 2024, 9:59 pm

pugboy wrote:what’s the experience with the small leo pumps?

i have a location with perennial low pressure
filling a 1000gal goes at trickle at the 8ft fill valve

i see they have a smarthead which cuts off when it senses no supply pressure and automatically comes back on

i wanna fill a blue barrel from wasa which is shorter
then feed into a small leo which will pump into the big 1000 gal

that will do the job

Or

Use a 350-400 gallon tank instead., filling from below.
That will hold a lot more water than a barrel and fill the big one faster with a bigger reserve.

Postby pugboy » June 22nd, 2024, 3:21 pm

got a used leo pump with smarthead and tested this idea out
barrel fills to about 10” which put enough pressure on the smarthead intake water sensor to believe there is water supply and switch on to dump the 10” of water from the barrel to a taller water tank.
when it runs dry the smarthead safety cutoff works and comes back on as wasa trickle fills back the barrel.
ideally a wider barrel would be better to hold more volume and less cycling.

location has very low pressure for most of the day, prob 5-8psi so a hose produces volume at floor level but held above 5ft just trickles.

05d338ca-470a-46cb-964e-590b6163384b.jpeg