Tuner Cooking Thread.

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby pugboy » March 11th, 2013, 7:56 pm

$100 is a steal, but is that Hilltop place open all the time
or they run some kind of occasional schedule ?

ot, naming dishes "pan seared something" is kind stupid imo
all them fancy restaurant like to use that jargon

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 11th, 2013, 8:19 pm

guilty
makes me feel booge, in my pretend chefology

Postby X_Factor » March 11th, 2013, 9:30 pm

so i bought these from pricemart recently

out of the pack, wow its sharp!!, it easily goes through chicken and fish

as well as the 3 piece non stick frying pans

fasting finished so time to do some experimentation

some stuff i tried last yr
steamed fish in banana leaves using a pimento and rosemary seasoning

fooling around with the smoker, was overcooked a bit and caused it to dry out

this was also done on the smoker but it finished before a pic

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 12th, 2013, 8:30 am

pugboy wrote:$100 is a steal, but is that Hilltop place open all the time
or they run some kind of occasional schedule ?

ot, naming dishes "pan seared something" is kind stupid imo
all them fancy restaurant like to use that jargon

I can't say when they exactly open as it's mostly based on what classes have labs.
So Full Time students with labs during the week, the restaurant might open. I can say for sure we are open this Saturday and Sunday (Part Time Students). It's always safer to call the restaurant for info and to make reservations.

image.png
This was the menu two weeks ago..

Oh and about the jargon.. It's called "Truth in Menu"..
I'm positive you feel lots better about choosing your meals at a restaurant, when there's a little scribble of verbiage at the bottom of the meal name. Most customers crave that little bit of education, so it's sometimes very important to detail the meal and the way it was prepared.

Postby dougla_boy » March 12th, 2013, 9:06 am

made this last night.......

Fettucini pasta

i made a bread crumb mix with parsley, oregano, basil, black pepper and parmesan cheese and coated the chicken and tried to pan sear it, but it came out fried instead like...... :oops: :oops: :oops:

for the sauce

bought this (cyah make dat nah :oops: ) and i put some garlic, onion, tomatoes and sweet peppers with some bits of breast chicken pieces remained from the breast that i deboned.

and i made a fresh salad with iceberg lettuce, tomatoes and cucumbers, and a little parmesan in it.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 12th, 2013, 9:10 am

Did you completely coat the breast in the breadcrumb mixture and then try to pan sear it?

Postby dougla_boy » March 12th, 2013, 9:13 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Did you completely coat the breast in the breadcrumb mixture and then try to pan sear it?

yep....used egg 1st then the breadcrumb mix........put it on a low heat......i figure i put a little too much oil...but eh.....still tasted good....lol

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 12th, 2013, 9:51 am

dougla_boy wrote:
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Did you completely coat the breast in the breadcrumb mixture and then try to pan sear it?

yep....used egg 1st then the breadcrumb mix........put it on a low heat......i figure i put a little too much oil...but eh.....still tasted good....lol

K next time..

This is the procedure.. Take seasoned breast and dredge in flour > then dip in beaten egg > THEN breadcrumb mix.

And yes.. pan sear means just enough Fat (oil/butter) to coat the bottom of the pan, because remember these meats give off their own fats and juices during the cooking process. Now especially with breading, you don't want too much liquid involved because you don't want the breading to slide off as I see it happened to yours. The first dredge in flour helps the breading stick too.

Sacchetto Boutique

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » March 13th, 2013, 1:08 pm

how come nobody post a doubles recipe yet :D

Postby dougla_boy » March 13th, 2013, 1:59 pm

Sacchetto Boutique wrote:how come nobody post a doubles recipe yet :D

all i know is the doubles bara dont be fresh dough.....it needs to "rest" overnight......

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » March 13th, 2013, 3:27 pm

Any idea where I can get cheese curds? Specifically for poutine

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » March 13th, 2013, 7:14 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:

K next time..

This is the procedure.. Take seasoned breast and dredge in flour > then dip in beaten egg > THEN breadcrumb mix.

And yes.. pan sear means just enough Fat (oil/butter) to coat the bottom of the pan, because remember these meats give off their own fats and juices during the cooking process. Now especially with breading, you don't want too much liquid involved because you don't want the breading to slide off as I see it happened to yours. The first dredge in flour helps the breading stick too.

Nice I hadda try this one.

gtiracer

Postby gtiracer » March 13th, 2013, 7:33 pm

How do you tell when chicken (breast) is cooked.. tried baking (Gas Oven + Electric oven), frying, grilling (george foreman), and every time it comes out stiff and dry.. even the pan sear like above.. Most of the time have to defrost then, season then cook in a short space of time.. What am i doing wrong?

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 13th, 2013, 7:44 pm

You're killing the meat by overcooking it.

Use a meat thermometer.
Pan sear it, stick it in the oven and cook until 160F internal in the thickest part. Very very very juicy.

http://www.tastumgoodum.com/2012/12/par ... icken.html

This recipe made a tender, moist chicken with a nice crisp on the skin.

LikaStick

Postby LikaStick » March 13th, 2013, 8:00 pm

I absolutely love sushi and would like to try making my own....where can I get the bamboo mat, nori/seaweed wrap etc. to purchase?

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » March 13th, 2013, 10:37 pm

LikaStick wrote:I absolutely love sushi and would like to try making my own....where can I get the bamboo mat, nori/seaweed wrap etc. to purchase?

Happy gourmet valpark

BrandonSingh

Postby BrandonSingh » March 14th, 2013, 12:06 am

dougla_boy wrote:made this last night.......

Fettucini pasta

i made a bread crumb mix with parsley, oregano, basil, black pepper and parmesan cheese and coated the chicken and tried to pan sear it, but it came out fried instead like...... :oops: :oops: :oops:

for the sauce

bought this (cyah make dat nah :oops: ) and i put some garlic, onion, tomatoes and sweet peppers with some bits of breast chicken pieces remained from the breast that i deboned.

and i made a fresh salad with iceberg lettuce, tomatoes and cucumbers, and a little parmesan in it.

i comin by you for food hoss!

Postby Trini Hookah » March 14th, 2013, 12:10 am

Db dey mirin bruh, but I find that pasta looking a little too dry eh

BrandonSingh

Postby BrandonSingh » March 14th, 2013, 12:13 am

Sauce fuh dat muh boy

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2013, 12:28 am

I not too sure about that truth in menu jargon,
I own many cookbooks, includings ones from the famous restaurants like French laundry, momofuku and they use very little of that jargon.
Maybe it is a local thing.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 14th, 2013, 8:23 am

pugboy wrote:I not too sure about that truth in menu jargon,
I own many cookbooks, includings ones from the famous restaurants like French laundry, momofuku and they use very little of that jargon.
Maybe it is a local thing.

Nope not local at all..
It's a French Culinary thing.

Let's put it this way.. The more you put on the menu, the more you educate the customer, the more you "up-sell" your menu. If you're at a Ruby Tuesday where the staff isn't as skilled or trained, your menu has to speak for you.

If you're a 5 star restaurant with excellently trained staff, the menu may not carry as much description, because the restaurant mgt would prefer you ask the wait staff, this gives the wait staff a chance to use their training and "Up-Sell" the menu themselves.

The menu is a marketing / sales tool.. pure and simple.
Last edited by ~*Pãñdorą*~ on March 14th, 2013, 8:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » March 14th, 2013, 8:50 am

Pandora, any idea on where may have cheese curds? :D

Postby dougla_boy » March 14th, 2013, 9:11 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Db dey mirin bruh, but I find that pasta looking a little too dry eh

yeah it was a bit :oops: but it was a while since i cooked tho.......i dont cook often again...so this is a step up....lol

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 14th, 2013, 9:14 am

Sumana.00 wrote:Pandora, any idea on where may have cheese curds? :D

Hmmmm..

I can't say for sure but try..

Vanilla Bean Gourmet
#145 Munroe Road, Cunupia
(868) 223-9527

Peppercorns
Ellerslie Plaza (868) 628-5573 / Westmall (868) 633-8120

Malabar Farms
115 Long Circular Road, Maraval, Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
868-622-9309, 868-628-7486

I'm trying to remember where sells Authentic Indian ingredients.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 14th, 2013, 9:20 am

gtiracer wrote:How do you tell when chicken (breast) is cooked.. tried baking (Gas Oven + Electric oven), frying, grilling (george foreman), and every time it comes out stiff and dry.. even the pan sear like above.. Most of the time have to defrost then, season then cook in a short space of time.. What am i doing wrong?

Chicken breast needs very little time to cook..
Much less than thigh or drumsticks (dark meat)..

When cooking your chicken breast.. please please always make sure you weight it down.. for even cooking..
To test for "doneness".. you use your finger and press it down into the body of the meat.
Once the "dimple" you've made with your finger springs back up almost instantly, it's done.

If it stays down, the breast still needs cooking, if it doesn't let you make a dimple enough, you've cremated the breast!

This is how we were taught to check without the use of a thermometer..

http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/th ... s_of_meat/

The Finger Test to Check the Doneness of Meat

There are two basic methods to test for how done your meat is while you are cooking it – use a meat thermometer, or press on the meat with your finger tips. The problem with the meat thermometer approach is that when you poke a hole into the meat with a thermometer, it can let juices escape, juices that you would rather have stay in the meat. For this reason, most experienced cooks rely on a “finger test” method, especially on steaks (whole roasts are better tested with a thermometer). My mother has been trying to get me to test meat with my finger tips for years, and for years, being somewhat of a scaredy cat (won’t it burn my fingers?) I ignored, avoided, ran away from the idea. Then my friend David showed me up. Here’s a guy who loves to grill but doesn’t know how to boil water. (Really. Cannot boil water. Just ask him, he’s proud of the fact.) David taught me how to test for the doneness of meat using this method and these days half the time I don’t even bother with a thermometer. Now the point of this story is not to embarrass David (though that would be fun, if it were even possible) but to encourage you, if like me, you’ve been shying away from trying this approach. This really isn’t rocket science.

This is one of those things that gets easier with practice. The next time you cook a steak, even if you are still planning to rely on a meat thermometer, press on the meat here and there while it cooks, and compare the feeling of the meat with the following finger test. With practice, you will become more confident.

METHOD

Open the palm of your hand. Relax the hand. Take the index finger of your other hand and push on the fleshy area between the thumb and the base of the palm. Make sure your hand is relaxed. This is what raw meat feels like. (Check this out the next time you have a raw steak to cook.)

Now gently press the tip of your pinky and your thumb together. Again feel the fleshy area below the thumb. It should feel quite firm. This is what well done meat feels like when you press on it. (Check this out the next time you overcook a piece of meat.)

Press the tip of your ring finger and your thumb together. The flesh beneath the thumb should give a little more. This is what meat cooked to a medium doneness feels like.

Gently press the tip of your middle finger to the tip of your thumb. This is medium rare.

Press the tip of your index finger to the tip of your thumb. The fleshy area below the thumb should give quite a bit. This is what meat cooked to rare feels like. Open up your palm again and compare raw to rare.

Sacchetto Boutique

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » March 14th, 2013, 10:23 am

^^nice info there!

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » March 14th, 2013, 10:46 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:
Sumana.00 wrote:Pandora, any idea on where may have cheese curds? :D

Hmmmm..

I can't say for sure but try..

Vanilla Bean Gourmet
#145 Munroe Road, Cunupia
(868) 223-9527

Peppercorns
Ellerslie Plaza (868) 628-5573 / Westmall (868) 633-8120

Malabar Farms
115 Long Circular Road, Maraval, Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
868-622-9309, 868-628-7486

I'm trying to remember where sells Authentic Indian ingredients.

Not paneer type cheese curd, like cheese curd to put on top of poutine :D

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 14th, 2013, 11:03 am

Best I can recommend is make it yourself.
You never know, you might surprise yourself.

http://www.cheesemaking.com/Recipe_CheeseCurds.html

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 14th, 2013, 2:02 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:Db dey mirin bruh, but I find that pasta looking a little too dry eh

yeah it was a bit :oops: but it was a while since i cooked tho.......i dont cook often again...so this is a step up....lol

ROFL..
Not mirin at all hun..
I admire you for your effort and then to come here and post it.
EVERY cook must learn to take criticism/advice!

My angle is, as long as I have an ounce of knowledge or know how, I will pass it on to others so that it might help them in their Culinary Exploits. It's up to you if you want to heed.

Postby dougla_boy » March 14th, 2013, 2:28 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:

ROFL..
Not mirin at all hun..
I admire you for your effort and then to come here and post it.
EVERY cook must learn to take criticism/advice!

My angle is, as long as I have an ounce of knowledge or know how, I will pass it on to others so that it might help them in their Culinary Exploits. It's up to you if you want to heed.

i eh shame to post my pics.....when i first tried to cook, was level bun lentils/pigeon peas and chicken.....but say what....i enjoyed my food yes......who vex lorse..... :lol: :lol: