Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thread

Re: Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thre

Postby De Dragon » May 12th, 2012, 6:23 pm

jm3 wrote:nere i also work shift it is hard to get healthy food particularly at night,
but if you count you calories you can still eat sheit when you have no choice,
you just make up for it the next day with either reduced calories or exercise.

Shift guys who use the argument that 'iz only dead it have to eat after hours' just misinformed,lazy or both. You don't have to buy KFC,pizza, etc as simple, healthy meals can be prepared in a few minutes, even the day before. When you really don't have the time, like when you ge that unexpected call out, you can buy an Oven Classics bread, and a tin of tuna in water and make sandwiches, or boil some oats.

Postby Redman » May 12th, 2012, 9:49 pm

Thanks All Trac I will try it

Survived the gym today.
Walk run tomorrow

Later

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » May 12th, 2012, 10:57 pm

any one has any info or link to the nutritional break down for local foods eg. ox tail soup,pealau,etc?
Thanks.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 12th, 2012, 11:33 pm

whyteliver wrote:any one has any info or link to the nutritional break down for local foods eg. ox tail soup,pealau,etc?
Thanks.

I'm pretty sure we eh want to see what the nutritional profile is on we Trini Foods.

Postby r3iXmann » May 12th, 2012, 11:36 pm

GF weighed today. Lost 7lbs and 4 inches on the waist with the diet so far (approx 2 wks) . Started lipo 6 today and hard cardio starting Monday :mrgreen:

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » May 13th, 2012, 12:47 am

whyteliver wrote:any one has any info or link to the nutritional break down for local foods eg. ox tail soup,pealau,etc?
Thanks.

I'm pretty sure we eh want to see what the nutritional profile is on we Trini Foods.

lol...true but it could still help with portion control.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 13th, 2012, 5:45 am

good going there r3iXmann girfiend....most likely water weight initially lost (still a very good thing).....remember once fat burning becomes intensified any toxins stored within the fat cells would be released into the body, so she must drink her water to flush that out....
aye you should post some pics of the progress.......

Trac yuh burnin de ting for meh?

Postby r3iXmann » May 13th, 2012, 7:28 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:good going there r3iXmann girfiend....most likely water weight initially lost (still a very good thing).....remember once fat burning becomes intensified any toxins stored within the fat cells would be released into the body, so she must drink her water to flush that out....
aye you should post some pics of the progress.......

Trac yuh burnin de ting for meh?

yup..she guzzles that water already

i'm taking pics and i'll post them at the end to show the progress

Postby AllTrac » May 13th, 2012, 1:28 pm

good stuff there r3iXmann, im sure she could do it without the lipo6 tho, heard those tablets mess with certian seratonin levels and it affects your mood *shrugs*, when u start her out on that hard cardio her metabolic rate gonne be high and that fire would burn of everything that drops in her stomach.
This weekend was gonna be trying for me as i was helping out a friend and i didnt had time for portion control and counting calories/macros to a "T" like i normally would. So i decided to see how well my metabolism has progressed. Weighed myself friday morning and started my weekend. Friday night had a gyro, went to the movies earlier and had some snacks, m&m to be exact. Saturday had bbq with some fries all the dressings. Then put down a nip with ah pardna. Saturday night, went out on the ave, had 7 mixed drinks and a gyro at 1am. Weighed myself this morning and im the same weight as friday morning so progress shown. Btw i use a Taylor digital scale, every accurate. Ofcourse, everything i had was not the amount i wish i had (which would of been alot more) but i still indulged.
Since i ease up on the drinking 3 months now i getting soft tho, my head get bad by the 5th drink :( normally i could ah done out de bar lol

Vega i burn it for you next week and send u a pm.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 13th, 2012, 10:05 pm

nice man thanks....I'll see to send replacement blanks for you...let me know how many.

Postby dougla_boy » May 14th, 2012, 10:16 am

r3iXmann wrote:GF weighed today. Lost 7lbs and 4 inches on the waist with the diet so far (approx 2 wks) . Started lipo 6 today and hard cardio starting Monday :mrgreen:

whats that meng?

Postby r3iXmann » May 14th, 2012, 10:32 am

http://www.nutrex.com/nutrex/lipo6.asp

using the ultra concentrate

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 14th, 2012, 11:11 am

Great thread guys. Keep it going. Am learning a lot.

Question though. Been back in the gym a few months now. Body responding well to the exercise and I'm starting to bulk up but no matter what I can't seem to lose any weight.
I'm overweight for my height for sure.
Changed my diet. hardly eat snacks now. Little pinch of this and that. No more doubles. Had a piece of KFC recently but I eat small portions. I would lose a few pounds and then gain it back within a couple of days. Still trying to regulate the carbs.

Any advice?

:evilbat:

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » May 14th, 2012, 11:47 am

how many of you know that almost ALL of the LOCALLY produced veggies are NOT healthy for you?
its a known FACT that the farmers drown the crops in Chemicals( excessive and mixing) in order to have them grow faster and "healthier".
Its been checked by suppliers and the levels are off the charts, Highly CArcinogenic and dangerous for you, however local farmers dont care, all they care about is MONEY, so watch what you eat if youre one of those that swear by veggies.............

Postby AllTrac » May 14th, 2012, 1:16 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT, everything in excessive amounts can and will kill you, down to the detergent you use to wash your clothes. We have established that already. Its all about balance, the human body is so resilient that if everything is taken in smaller doses the dangers associated with it can be cancelled out by the bodys immune and natural detoxifying/purging system.

Postby AllTrac » May 14th, 2012, 1:24 pm

toyota2nr wrote:Great thread guys. Keep it going. Am learning a lot.

Question though. Been back in the gym a few months now. Body responding well to the exercise and I'm starting to bulk up but no matter what I can't seem to lose any weight.
I'm overweight for my height for sure.
Changed my diet. hardly eat snacks now. Little pinch of this and that. No more doubles. Had a piece of KFC recently but I eat small portions. I would lose a few pounds and then gain it back within a couple of days. Still trying to regulate the carbs.

Any advice?

:evilbat:

toyota2nr, go to livestrong.com and create an account, track everything you eat, im sure you would see a calorie excess. Before livestrong calorie tracker i could rack up 1800cals before 4pm normal normal. Btw, in your first attempt to lose the weight, try keeping away from the kfc and simple carbs, cut out breads, rice and grains as much as you could. Eat lots of lean meat and veggies then after a few months in when your metabolism has increased you can slowly add back some of those stuff, but initially try your best to stay off it. This worked for me. This is not an easy task tho as it requires a life style change and your grocery bill is gonna be higher cause while you cutting back on bread and rice you buying more meat and meat is expensive.

Postby AllTrac » May 14th, 2012, 4:53 pm

Whats your excuse?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 14th, 2012, 6:26 pm

AllTrac wrote:Whats your excuse?

I'm literally teary-eyed right now. Truly inspirational. Thanks for sharing.

And WOW @ the power of Yoga *googles Daimond Dallas Page*

Postby AllTrac » May 14th, 2012, 10:27 pm

AP i do the p90X yoga, its 1hr 30mins, its not a walk in the park, ill tell you that, im soaked after but for some reason its soothing and i feel more relaxed, you should take a look at it, good stuff.

I came home today, felt just lazy to work out, was actually looking for an excuse not to, like bringing my rest day forward, then i thought of that video and i was fcuk that, if he had the motivation against all odds to get up and get every day, then id be his b!tch not to.

Postby Trini Hookah » May 14th, 2012, 10:42 pm

Excellent thread, keep up the good work everyone.

And thanks for the directions for Vanilla Bean Trac!

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 15th, 2012, 12:22 am

That was a cool video man this girl is my current motivation she has become my friend on calorie count i am amazed of the change she has undergone and she's begining to become pretty hot lol

Postby De Dragon » May 15th, 2012, 2:32 am

AllTrac wrote:AP i do the p90X yoga, its 1hr 30mins, its not a walk in the park, ill tell you that, im soaked after but for some reason its soothing and i feel more relaxed, you should take a look at it, good stuff.

I came home today, felt just lazy to work out, was actually looking for an excuse not to, like bringing my rest day forward, then i thought of that video and i was fcuk that, if he had the motivation against all odds to get up and get every day, then id be his b!tch not to.

I hate 'indoor' cardio (elliptical,treadmill, hell even running in place) with a passion, but I dutifully hit the OrbiTrek before and after the weights. This is also the reason why when I'm playing ball, is 'beast' mode from beginning to end! :lol:

Postby AllTrac » May 15th, 2012, 8:46 am

yea boy dragon, same with me, i cant do the same thing for 40mins. Good thing about my indoor workout program is that it changes, every exercise is a new one so i dont get bored. One day cardio, next jump training, next weight training etc. plus i with out the schedule gym run i could push my workout time an hour later or earlier as i dont have to work with gym hours and i can crank my home stereo up not listen to de kartel de gym does be ponging out, soohani raat gets me in the mood.

Postby AllTrac » May 15th, 2012, 10:46 am

for those of you with a sweet tooth, i found this snack a couple places, its called Dove dark chocolate.

dark chocolate has lots of antioxidants and its good for you. It has about 5 pieces in it and its 38cals a piece. Dont go nyamin down de whole thing now, moderation is the name of the game.
I have one piece of it probably twice a week. Its about $7.50 good chocolate replacement here.

http://www.livestrong.com/article/31238 ... nutrition/

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 17th, 2012, 9:15 am

Fellas I was real against indoor sweating, but with my fscked schedule I had no choice but to do it.
Between work, school and family commitments, my days are shot.

What makes my indoor cardio (I have a S&G Spin bike), is loading up some fast paced tunes on my mp3 player to hold a 180-190 heartrate for 30-40 mins.
These days dubstep on high volume real working for me. I get a really good sweat and don't feel exasperated/bored as I used to before listenting to silence while exercising.

For those who into supplements, try the Universal Nutrition Animal Cuts - it helped me a bit on my journey to date (60 lbs lost between Jan 2011 and today, still going). Maybe it's placebo, but it helped with appetite suppresion in the beginning.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » May 17th, 2012, 9:33 am

This is some good info, I'm currently on a diet but don't know what to eat....I'll be monitoring this thread from now on....bumppp

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » May 17th, 2012, 10:17 am

So i started the gym at the beginning of the year, weighed 270lbs, today I'm at 240lbs...still going but I've been at 240lbs since last month and have started losing weight much slower.
I try to get at least 3 to 4 days workout a week, starting off by burning 500cals in cardio (treadmill or Arc trainer) and then to weights each time.

My diet is for breakfast a bowl of quaker instant oatmeal mixed with a little peanut butter and honey for sum more flavor and 1 or 2 bananas if i have. lunch is usually anything i get to eat but in small moderation, i cut down on soft drink, i drink like about a 20oz bottle a week if so much. The problem is when the night comes i start craving food like crazy, sometimes I'll munch down a half bag of cereal before i go n sleep other times i make a pack of ramen noodles just before sleep. Recently i started working night shifts and all they bringing to eat is level fast foods and that's all I'm eating...

Advice??

Postby X_Factor » May 17th, 2012, 1:57 pm

at nights between 10 and 11 when the cravings hit, i drink a cup of green tea with about 4-5 whole wheat crix in it
based on the info it works up to approx 65cals which is fairly good since i feel full

1oz of oats in water with a little condensed milk for taste is more than double that

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 17th, 2012, 2:44 pm

Dj_Bee wrote:So i started the gym at the beginning of the year, weighed 270lbs, today I'm at 240lbs...still going but I've been at 240lbs since last month and have started losing weight much slower.
I try to get at least 3 to 4 days workout a week, starting off by burning 500cals in cardio (treadmill or Arc trainer) and then to weights each time.

My diet is for breakfast a bowl of quaker instant oatmeal mixed with a little peanut butter and honey for sum more flavor and 1 or 2 bananas if i have. lunch is usually anything i get to eat but in small moderation, i cut down on soft drink, i drink like about a 20oz bottle a week if so much. The problem is when the night comes i start craving food like crazy, sometimes I'll munch down a half bag of cereal before i go n sleep other times i make a pack of ramen noodles just before sleep. Recently i started working night shifts and all they bringing to eat is level fast foods and that's all I'm eating...

Advice??

OMG, please stay away from Ramen Noodles. Its like 60% MSG and sodium and its a high glycemic food, meaning that it offers little to no nutritional value and will break down more quickly, resulting in your increased desire to eat.

To help with your hunger, I advise you incorporate a steady intake of good carbs (complex carbs) to your diet. The more complex the carb, the longer it will take the body to break down and help sustain your energy level as it helps stabilize your blood sugar levels.

You want carbs high in fiber to sustain you throughout the day and combat your hunger. Here are some suggestions:

Insoluble Fiber
Whole Wheat (flour, bread)
Wheat bran
Nuts and seeds (unsalted - flaxseeds, walnuts, cashews, almonds, etc.)
Barley
Brown rice
Couscous
Bulgur
Whole grain cereal

Vegetables (turnips, beets, cauliflower, cabbage, Brussels sprouts and carrots, leafy greens, broccoli, green beans, cucumbers, onions, sprouts, celery, tomatoes, eggplant, bell peppers - best eaten RAW, where applicable)

Fruits (Apple skin,cherries, grapes, pineapple, rhubarb, oranges, melons, date, prunes and berries)

Soluble Fiber
Oatmeal (NO milk or sugar...cook with plain water)
Oat bran
Fruits (strawberries, blueberries, pears, citrus fruits and apples)

If you have to eat bread, stick with the following:

Sprouted grain
Spelt bread
Rye bread
Oat bread
Kamut bread
Whole Wheat
Whole Grain
AVOID KISS WHITE BREAD AND WHITE HOPS BREAD AT ALL COST. It is BLEACHED and highly processed!

Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/27561 ... z1v9ZTZZpf

Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/28490 ... z1v9YpABG2

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 17th, 2012, 2:53 pm

I also wanted to add that since taking probiotics daily, my hunger is close to non-existent. I often have two meals a day - breakfast consist of oatmeal with cinnamon and cranberries and/or egg white omelette with spinach, tomatoes and feta cheese. For lunch, it varies but I either do a chicken wrap with green apple fruit or a protein with veggies. Today I had grilled lamb, fresh salad with balsamic vinegar and some collard greens.

Surprisingly, this will sustain me for the rest of the day. I will probably only have a fruit when I get home. I use the below probiotic daily:

They also have available for men:

•85 Billion Live Cultures
•31 Probiotic Strains
•Colon Health*
•Bowel Regularity*
•Gut-Related Immunity*
•Heart Health*
•Prostrate Health*
•Healthy Stress Levels*
•Gluten Free
•No Soy Allergens