Re: Trinidad Blackout (16 Feb 2022)

Postby hover11 » February 18th, 2022, 10:22 am

Gonzales: Legislation coming to enable solar-powered homes

Alina Doodnath

2 hrs ago

Photo: iStock

Public Utilities Minister Marvin Gonzales said there are plans to amend legislation to allow homeowners to implement solar systems in their homes.

Gonzales was speaking at a media briefing on Thursday at the National Security’s Port of Spain office following a blackout on February 16 which left most of Trinidad in the dark for almost 12 hours, along with spotty mobile network services, inoperative traffic lights and long lines at gas stations.

Gonzales said government will propose amendments to legislation to allow for solar tariffs and the setting up of solar power as an alternative energy source for domestic customers. 

“We will be looking to present to Cabinet a policy to amend the Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission Act to allow for domestic customers to install their own solar systems in their homes, in order to generate their own sources of electricity as opposed to depending on T&TEC’s national grid.”

“It’s about generating electricity and therefore impacts on the Commission’s Act insofar as it relates to the generation of electricity, so this requires an amendment to the current T&TEC Act and as part of the thrust of the government to introduce more renewable power.”

Currently government has allowed for a 100 per cent tax rebate on the purchase of solar-powered water heaters.

Some of Trinidad and Tobago’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are to, by 2030:

Ensure universal access to affordable, reliable and modern energy servicesIncrease substantially the share of renewable energy in the global energy mix, andDouble the global rate of improvement in energy efficiency

Government is also working with Lightsource BP on the development of two solar parks with a planned cumulative output of 112.2 MW.

In keeping with achieving its target of 10 per cent renewable energy in T&T, two solar projects at Brechin Castle and Orange Grove will be built in Trinidad during the period 2021-2022 – government said they are currently among the largest solar projects in the region.

Loop is better in the app. Customize your news feed, save articles for later, view your reading history and more. Click the links below to download the app for Android and IOS.

Related Articles

Environment

Solar company aims to light up rural communities

March 26, 2021 08:54 AM ET

Environment

Piarco International Airport to get €1.5M solar panel system

December 9, 2019 09:23 AM ET

T&T News

Let there be light: Trinidad back up and running after 12hr blackout

February 17, 2022 10:00 AM ET

Recent Articles

Crime

Scoon, partner to be charged by summons for boat party

23 minutes ago

T&T News

Tancoo-'Whole of South being victimised'

46 minutes ago

Entertainment

Erphaan Alves reaches out to fans with EDAY

1 hr ago

More From

T&T News

19-yr-old shot dead while searching for WiFi

Did last night’s blackout result in the death of 19-year-old Antonio Badenoch? Police have reason to suspect that Badenoch was shot dead while trying to find internet service during last night's bl

February 17, 2022 10:20 AM ET

T&T News

Mission accomplished: RBL discontinues employee vaccination policy

Republic Bank Limited (RBL) has discontinued its workplace COVID-19 vaccination policy.  In a statement this afternoon, the bank said they advised employees of the decision on February 11.&nbs

February 16, 2022 04:44 PM ET

T&T News

Final update 10am on Thursday, February 17: Most of Trinidad is back online following an island-wide electricity outage yesterday. While many parts of the island had retained service by 11:30pm,

T&T News

Kamla-island wide blackout a threat to citizens safety.

She says incident must be thoroughly investigated.

23 hrs ago

T&T News

Sisters die in Curepe fire

Two sisters perished in a fire that occurred at Watt's Street, Curepe, on Thursday morning. They have been identified as 30-year-old Amanda Charles and 31-year-old Alicia Charles. Alicia's husba

22 hrs ago

T&T News

TGU: Ghandi Village substation fault to blame for blackout

Trinidad Generation Unlimited (TGU), Trinidad and Tobago’s main electricity supplier, has revealed the official cause for yesterday’s 12-hour blackout.  In a short statement, the company expla

19 hrs ago

T&T News

19-yr-old shot dead while searching for WiFi

Did last night’s blackout result in the death of 19-year-old Antonio Badenoch? Police have reason to suspect that Badenoch was shot dead while trying to find internet service during last night's bl

February 17, 2022 10:20 AM ET

T&T News

Mission accomplished: RBL discontinues employee vaccination policy

Republic Bank Limited (RBL) has discontinued its workplace COVID-19 vaccination policy.  In a statement this afternoon, the bank said they advised employees of the decision on February 11.&nbs

February 16, 2022 04:44 PM ET

T&T News

Final update 10am on Thursday, February 17: Most of Trinidad is back online following an island-wide electricity outage yesterday. While many parts of the island had retained service by 11:30pm,

T&T News

Kamla-island wide blackout a threat to citizens safety.

She says incident must be thoroughly investigated.

23 hrs ago

T&T News

Sisters die in Curepe fire

Two sisters perished in a fire that occurred at Watt's Street, Curepe, on Thursday morning. They have been identified as 30-year-old Amanda Charles and 31-year-old Alicia Charles. Alicia's husba

22 hrs ago

T&T News

TGU: Ghandi Village substation fault to blame for blackout

Trinidad Generation Unlimited (TGU), Trinidad and Tobago’s main electricity supplier, has revealed the official cause for yesterday’s 12-hour blackout.  In a short statement, the company expla

19 hrs ago

Sponsored Stories

A saucy Christmas: 3 things to dip in French’s Honey Mustard Sauce

Finger foods are a Christmas lime staple. You put them out early on, sometimes while the main dishes are still bubbling. Potato chips and salsa are popular, but French’s Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

Sponsored ByAMCO

First Citizens Foundation strategizes next steps

Directors of the  First Citizens Foundation along with the Chairs of its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) Committees met on Friday, January 21, in a retreat to strategize and chart

Sponsored ByFirst Citizens

How has COVID-19 affected you? UN, gov't collaborate in online survey

From healthcare to job cuts, the COVID-19 pandemic has affected the socioeconomic structure of Trinidad and Tobago. The United Nations in Trinidad and Tobago is collaborating with the Min

Sponsored ByUnited Nations

Pita Pit opens 9th location at Piarco International Airport

New location provides a healthy eating option for travellers

Sponsored ByPita Pit

The Caribbean’s Most Downloaded News App

Stay Connected

Facebook Twitter Instagram

Loop NewsPrivacy PolicyTerms of UseComments PolicyAbout UsContact UsSubmit an Article

COPYRIGHT 2020 BY DIGICEL | ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience

By clicking the Accept button, you agree to us doing so.

More info

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/gonzale ... ered-homes

Postby hover11 » February 18th, 2022, 10:23 am

Why now though this could have been enacted for years , why are we so dependent on t&tec ?

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » February 18th, 2022, 10:45 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Did they blame kamla

I believe they should overlook this, as of recent not enough emphasis is being placed on this undeniable cause!!!

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » February 18th, 2022, 10:51 am

Mmoney607 wrote:If this was sabotage or a hack, would the pnm really admit that?

heard somebody pushed some buttons in a control room and deleted the cam footage, investigations are going on.

Postby hover11 » February 18th, 2022, 11:03 am

I seeing alot of ppl posting online about RIC compensation for 60 dollars and 600 dollars for businesses.
Don't look out for that money. As the last line reads " T&Tec is excluded from paying compensation if the fault is caused by a third party". Meaning T&Tec is already blaming Trinidad Generation Unlimited which is a "third party" supplying electricity to T&Tec.

Postby The_Honourable » February 18th, 2022, 11:21 am

This is in the realm of rumor but seeing whatsapp messages that there was a mystery vibration and possible explosion at TGU which caused the blackout. It goes on to say that we are only being supplied by Powergen and Trinity.

Now if that is true, I would like to believe others in the area experienced that "vibration" and if it was an explosion, residents would have seen some smoke or fire.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » February 18th, 2022, 11:51 am

The_Honourable wrote:This is in the realm of rumor but seeing whatsapp messages that there was a mystery vibration and possible explosion at TGU which caused the blackout. It goes on to say that we are only being supplied by Powergen and Trinity.

Now if that is true, I would like to believe others in the area experienced that "vibration" and if it was an explosion, residents would have seen some smoke or fire.

I can confirm that there was an explosion and fire at TGU and a turbine was damaged. Our company does business with TGU. My coworker's brother works there as well and when we realized it was a nationwide blackout, she called him and he told her about it. It was confirmed also by a buyer in TGU we called just after and he said they had emergency personnel currently trying to out the fire. But that is not being mentioned anywhere.

I also saw a video by ivan toolsie of an interview with a woman in grants tr claiming that a tree fell and pulled down the high voltage wire near her house and that caused the blackout... that sounds a bit sketchy

Postby Redman » February 18th, 2022, 12:11 pm

hover11 wrote:I seeing alot of ppl posting online about RIC compensation for 60 dollars and 600 dollars for businesses.
Don't look out for that money. As the last line reads " T&Tec is excluded from paying compensation if the fault is caused by a third party". Meaning T&Tec is already blaming Trinidad Generation Unlimited which is a "third party" supplying electricity to T&Tec.

TGU is a state enterprise.

Postby hover11 » February 18th, 2022, 12:14 pm

Redman wrote:
hover11 wrote:I seeing alot of ppl posting online about RIC compensation for 60 dollars and 600 dollars for businesses.

TGU is a state enterprise.
Redman,

Slippery slope this. Electricity is heavily subsidized here. What if the government is to take that away.

Postby Redman » February 18th, 2022, 12:20 pm

Then I suspect electricity will cost more.

Your question is too broad.

Postby bluefete » February 18th, 2022, 12:52 pm

hover11 wrote:Why now though this could have been enacted for years , why are we so dependent on t&tec ?

Because we have one set of backward, corrupt, dotish, chupid thinking politicians.

Watch and see which minister fren or pardner getting a big wassy contract to solarise government ministries.

Postby Chimera » February 18th, 2022, 12:57 pm

relax allyuh self
we have one of the lowest electricity rates in the caribbean

want better service? prepared to pay for it?

Postby bluefete » February 18th, 2022, 1:04 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:relax allyuh self

The plan has been to remove the subsidy all along. It is just that Covid came along and forced them to put things on hold.

Ditto for WASA.

Real rates coming up real soon.

That is why the people we voted for on both sides making sure their bank and extra accounts real fat.

Postby Redman » February 18th, 2022, 1:04 pm

GORTT owns the entire supply chain from Nat Gas to TGU to TTEC

Any alternative supply chain -solar,wind will begin to dismantle the shell game.

Nat Gas Subs and Elec Subs compound with Fuel Subs to enable the whole economic shebang to work.

Postby hover11 » February 18th, 2022, 1:09 pm

bluefete wrote:

The plan has been to remove the subsidy all along. It is just that Covid came along and forced them to put things on hold.

Ditto for WASA.

Real rates coming up real soon.

That is why the people we voted for on both sides making sure their bank and extra accounts real fat.
Don't forget the devaluation

Postby Chimera » February 18th, 2022, 1:09 pm

Minister of Public Utilities : We are aware that the blackout on Wednesday caused alot of stress to the citizens, the fact is that a lot of our equipment needs upgrading and we have been operating at a loss for several years, electricity is heavily subsidized and our workers are being paid on 2013 salaries. With this in mind we will be looking to regularize our rates . Free vaseline with every bill payment. Thank You

Postby bluefete » February 18th, 2022, 1:23 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Minister of Public Utilities : We are aware that the blackout on Wednesday caused alot of stress to the citizens, the fact is that a lot of our equipment needs upgrading and we have been operating at a loss for several years, electricity is heavily subsidized and our workers are being paid on 2013 salaries. With this in mind we will be looking to regularize our rates . Free vaseline with every bill payment. Thank You

There we go!

Postby sMASH » February 18th, 2022, 2:12 pm

Redman wrote:GORTT owns the entire supply chain from Nat Gas to TGU to TTEC

Any alternative supply chain -solar,wind will begin to dismantle the shell game.

Nat Gas Subs and Elec Subs compound with Fuel Subs to enable the whole economic shebang to work.

initial set up for renewables is very very costly, and tho running costs tend to be low, the replacement tends to be 10y down the road and also very costly.
so, the contractors can get pay out for the short term, for the set up which can take a few years well.

they will not be able to dig out we eye continuously... unless they get a build/maintain contract. and invoice the govt 2000 per day for a labourer to dust off solar panels, for a 250 a day

Postby timelapse » February 18th, 2022, 2:44 pm

I really hope those geniuses don't push for nuclear nah.Trinis too slack.That would be a disaster waiting to happen

Postby K74T » February 18th, 2022, 2:45 pm

FB_IMG_1645209882581.jpg

Postby MaxPower » February 18th, 2022, 2:47 pm

Phone,

Makes no sense to pay for a better service with the same Trinis employed.

Whether you pay more or less, that should NOT determine how rude or how efficient you are to be.

If we want better service, we need to hire foreigners.

Postby RedVEVO » February 18th, 2022, 3:11 pm

Phone,

Makes no sense to pay for a better service with the same Trinis employed.

Whether you pay more or less, that should NOT determine how rude or how efficient you are to be.

If we want better service, we need to hire foreigners.

Max you are soooooo correct - well again :mrgreen:

The increase in rates will NOT get you better service lil iPhone puppy :D

The rate increase is to pay salaries - not to improve service . .. duh !

They greedy NOT needy !

In Miami we have FPL which is private company with shareholders to satisfy ..

Hence better service and increase rates !
Last edited by RedVEVO on February 18th, 2022, 3:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » February 18th, 2022, 3:13 pm

Vevo how your wife going? With the high winds and that blackout must be was real pressure for you.

You know they does say to tie down all loose items when the winds high.

Postby RedVEVO » February 18th, 2022, 3:15 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Vevo how your wife going? With the high winds and that blackout must be was real pressure for you.

Both my wives are fine !

Yours lie down and tie down solid like a star fish .

The regular service with a broom stick is how we role with her in high wind :lol:
Last edited by RedVEVO on February 18th, 2022, 3:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Kenjo » February 18th, 2022, 3:16 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Vevo how your wife going? With the high winds and that blackout must be was real pressure for you.

Wow

Postby RedVEVO » February 18th, 2022, 3:18 pm

Kenjo wrote:

Wow

The WOW factor is in the service :lol:

We used a 20" - 50" weight with 2-5 TTEC employees in a 24 hr rotation and she did NOT experienced Blackout .

Postby Chimera » February 18th, 2022, 3:39 pm

Yuh sell the ranger? I dunno how you could drive that van again after that incident na.
Heartbreaking

Postby Redman » February 18th, 2022, 5:43 pm

timelapse wrote:I really hope those geniuses don't push for nuclear nah.Trinis too slack.That would be a disaster waiting to happen

Nah

The 5th gen Nucs walk away safe since in the 60s.

The 2020 versions are dummy proof

Postby sMASH » February 18th, 2022, 8:52 pm

dogg wrote:Believe everything this guy says.

He always speak with a straight face!

17647585-1-1024x828-g.jpg

like he ketch sumting from cuffie